Customer Reviews


121 Reviews
5 star:
 (93)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic voice, the best album I've heard in years, and a great live act too.
Take one part Patsy Cline, one part Ella Fitzgerald, add a dollop of Suzy Quatro, back with a really rock'n'roll beat and add a no-nonsense attitude...

I've just returned from the cornbury music festival where Imelda and her band did two sets. Having *never* heard of her previously, i was initially a reluctant listener, but by the end of the first number i was...
Published on 10 July 2008 by Andrew

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wasn't a fan until..........
Recently went to the NEC (awful venue) to see Joe Bonamassa (recommended). Imelda was the support and she was absolutley brilliant -what a superb voice. I wasn't into her style of rockabilly/skiffle/blues at all, but her voice made the long wait for JB totally tolerable.
Published on 14 Nov 2008 by Mr. K. Collins


‹ Previous | 1 2 313 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant and Fresh, 2 Mar 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love Tattoo (Audio CD)
Was blown away - so bought her first album ! Then saw her live amazing performance and energy ! Love Imelda May !!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars IMELDA MAY - LOVE TATOO, 18 Aug 2009
This review is from: Love Tattoo (Audio CD)
This is a fantastic album and well worth a listen for a new artist. After all she has supported Dave Edmunds
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars True Class, 4 July 2009
By 
Mr. S. R. Charlton "stupot" (Bognor, england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Love Tattoo (MP3 Download)
To see this lady live is a true pleasure. She lights up your life with a lust for life that is hard to beat. Her band are as tight as a drum leaving you wanting more until your toes cant take any more. This lady is a STAR.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love Tattoo by Imelda May, 22 Jun 2009
By 
This review is from: Love Tattoo (Audio CD)
A fantastic first cd by a very talented artist.
Once you have played the tracks a couple of times you cannot get the tunes out of your head.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Imelda May, 8 Jun 2009
This review is from: Love Tattoo (MP3 Download)
I downloaded this lady and was not disappointed. It's a very upbeat and fun selection of songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love Tattoo... brilliant!, 4 Jun 2009
By 
E. J. K. Cook - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Love Tattoo (Audio CD)
I bought this CD having heard a few of the tracks on the radio and seen Imelda May live. The CD is absolutely fantastic. It contains a real range of styles, but all tracks feature the wonderful, belting voice of Imelda. If you've got as far as looking for this CD on Amazon, then you should definitely buy it. Also, if you get a chance to see her live you should definitely take it... the best gig I have ever been to!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Astounding Versatility, 16 Mar 2009
By 
R. Elliott "Rellio" (Dursley, Glos. UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Love Tattoo (Audio CD)
This is a wonderful album, astounding in its versatility and all the more praiseworthy given that it is almost entirely self-penned. Imelda May puts in a superbly polished performance, easily moving from upbeat, throbbing numbers to slow, sensitive and thoughtful songs. It's also a sensual performance with Imelda's throaty voice attacking and caressing the vocals in turns. A final mention for her musicians who are all highly talented and supportive in what is, for me, one of the best albums I've heard in a long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thumping Bass, 28 Jan 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love Tattoo (Audio CD)
I agree with all of the positive reviews of this album. There is nothing I can say about the excellent Imelda May (aka Imelda Clabby) that has not already been said in other reviews here - however I don't think anyone has paid tribute here to another person on this album without whom it simply would not be the same...the Double Bass playing of Al Gare (aka 'Slap Happy') is fantastic. The bass thumps and thuds through out the whole album in a wonderfully positive way (just listen to him on 'Johnny Got A Boom Boom' and try to NOT tap your feet!). A great taster for honest Rock'n'Roll/Jazz Bass. Nuff said.
A great album, a great singer ... and an excellent Bass player.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oh yea!, 8 Nov 2008
By 
Martin Long (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Love Tattoo (Audio CD)
Just want to echo the positive vibes from the other reviewers. She can sing and the band can swing. What more do you want! Also you cool cats may want to checkout "Talk to me" By Blue Harlem as Ms May features.

Enjoy :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just brilliant, 27 Oct 2008
This review is from: Love Tattoo (Audio CD)
Imelda May and her band rustle up a bit of everything on this fantastic debut: rockabilly, blues, boogie-woogie, cuban-style brass and even Patsy Cline-type country vocals, delivered with real energy and passion. This is probably the best CD of 2008 so far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 313 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Love Tattoo
Love Tattoo by Imelda May
Buy MP3 Album5.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews