Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Subscribe and Save Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars15
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CDChange
Price:£4.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 February 2013
A quick word of warning about these discs. They are not 'Red Book' compliant so they may not play on your CD players - they're 87 and 85 minutes respectively, more than the 79 allowed by the spec. Not one of the players I own would register the disc, nor would my play-litterally-anything DVD player. The only device I could get it to work on was the DVD-R on the computer. However, the discs don't have the 'Compact Disc Digital Audio' logo so technically they're not claiming to be audio CDs.

3 Stars for this 'cos the tracks are good, but it'd would've been 5 if not for the massive faff in trying to actually listen to them.
0Comment7 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2010
I have been after something like this for a while. It is all the classic "Boys Own" productions and remixes in one handy set. One disc is originals and the other is remixes. They are both quite different in their own way. If you were a fan of Baggy and Madchester and all those sorts of thing then you will like this.
22 comments11 of 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 28 October 2012
JBO was one of the most innovative and original British dance labels to grow up during the 90's, highlighting the rise and rise of club culture and its gradual invasion of the charts. Over 2 lengthy CDs the label's story is stretched out with love, care, and great music.

The story begins with the roots of the label and the people who made it all happen. As a consequence this isn't just about the record label (as that was just the result of a collective deciding upon another way to express themselves). Many of the included tracks weren't even on the label itself, but by the people who were central in its development and creation. It was a lot more than just the label, and here is the proof.

Early examples include Primal Scream and Happy Mondays which are seminal moments in the development of dance culture in the UK. Although Junior Boy's Own is a dance label its existence was thanks to understanding where the boundaries between indie/rock and dance could blur and connect. Primal Scream's "Loaded", here in its majestic Terry Farley mix form, is a classic example. The fact that there are also ones from James and The Farm there as well just illustrates the point further.

As the music develops, and the time moves forward, the music moves more consciously towards mainstream dance. The inclusion of Outrage's lovely "That Piano Track", Pete Heller's "Big Love", "In Your Bones" by Fire Island and Farley & Heller's "Ultra Flava" are great examples of this. It also higlights the diversity and fragmented nature of the scene. The inclusion of The Chemical Brother's monumental "Leave Home" - a definitive Big Beat anthem - and The Ballistic Brothers "I'll Fly Away", a magical Drum 'n' Bass track show this perfectly.

This is a great history of a label and a scene itself. The track selection is a nice mix of familiar big hits and underground anthems. Something here for most people and a garuntee that if you were out and about in the 90's you may well have leapt about to at least one of these. A great way to celebrate an inspired label at a ridiculously cheap price.
0Comment4 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2012
Too good to be true I thought...maybe a couple of great tracks on either CD but NO this is a must have for anyone into the history of UK dance music.

Anyone into the future of dance music should check it out as an example of great music that still stands up 20 years on.

Too many great tracks to mention but I am hooked.

Hope, love and rhythm...
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2013
Brill album. Not the normal mixes I'd expect here, progressive funky house, still sounds as fresh as a bell air prince
And the price.........I feel guilty for not paying more

Excellent
Recomended if u like 90s prog funky house. J b o does themselves proud
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2016
The sound track of my youth & clubbing years music that appeals to all ages , music that has as stood the test of time & will continue to do so ! For people that know what good clubbing music was & still is I personally recommend it as you will not be disappointed !
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2013
Brilliant complilation CD that will evoke many a memory of the music that shows 90s dance music at it's very best & what a steal at this price too ! You won't be disappointed !
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2014
Great Album - made all the better that its got a piccie of me in the Album inlay.

Take me back. Those were the days.....
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2014
thanks for prompt delivery cd not that great
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2014
Quick delivery, cd as advertised
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.