Customer Reviews


132 Reviews
5 star:
 (70)
4 star:
 (28)
3 star:
 (18)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


63 of 66 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "We are not animals!"
This prequel completes an Underworld Trilogy which up to this point has been criticised for relying on style rather than substance. But this film which charts the start of the Lycan/Vampire war gives us some character development - along with the dark, violent, yet slick visuals delivered previously.

Our view of the Lycans so far has been one of savagery in...
Published on 20 Feb 2009 by @GeekZilla9000

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Surprising engaging
I wasn't holding out huge hopes for this, the first two films were just about OK, there is no Kate Beckinsale this time, and I wondered if the franchise could stretch to another episode. But in fact this might even be the best of the bunch.

The plot is predictable, but like the first borrows a bit from Romeo and Juliet - never a bad source. By and large you...
Published on 15 July 2011 by Lendrick


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

63 of 66 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "We are not animals!", 20 Feb 2009
By 
@GeekZilla9000 "I am completely operational a... (Doncaster, Yorkshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Underworld 3: Rise Of The Lycans [DVD] (DVD)
This prequel completes an Underworld Trilogy which up to this point has been criticised for relying on style rather than substance. But this film which charts the start of the Lycan/Vampire war gives us some character development - along with the dark, violent, yet slick visuals delivered previously.

Our view of the Lycans so far has been one of savagery in comparison to the refined qualities of the Vampires, this is rebalanced in Rise of The Lycans. We see the Lycans as the slaves of the Vampire, forced to guard them during the day, and collared so that they cannot change form without fatal consequences. The Vampires still appear civilised, but it's clearly seen that their coven is built on a foundation of slavery, corruption, and exploitation.

Lucian - the first of the 'new' Lycans plans to escape and lead his own kind to freedom, only his plan is complicated by his love affair with Vampire daughter of ruling Elder, Viktor.

What ensues is an action / romance with Werewolves, Vampires, and lots medieval slashings and gore. Again a lot of effort has gone into marrying this film into the back-story already introduced during the other two films, and also into Vampire folklore itself. This means that the three films complement each other brilliantly. I've said before that the first two films certainly aren't bad - but they are best viewed together to give a true sense of the epic scope, and now with this film that sense is intensified.

The cast has been put together well and Bill Nighy seems to relish his role as Viktor. He hams it up but instead of feeling overacted, the flamboyancy adds to the Gothic theatrics of the film. Michael Sheen's welcome return as Lucian brings with it the vulnerability and bubbling undercurrent of revolution needed for the character's role. His scenes with lover Sonja are convincing and as an audience, you rally behind him and believe in his cause.

In a nutshell: This fills in some gaps, most of which we didn't know existed until this film. This stands alone as a pretty good film, again (and at the risking of repeating myself) when you view this as part of the trilogy it considerably increases the viewer experience. Sheen and Nighy impress, Sheen is a hero without being too heroic, and Nighy is superbly creepy. The blood spurting action is there, but there's a meaningful story too. We now have three films that create a story across an epic scale from the middle ages to present day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must see movie, 29 Jun 2009
By 
This film is FANTASTIC, the special effects are great and the acting is first class. Even better than the first film in the series and happily received after the second film which I felt was disappointing. I have so looked forward to seeing this film and it is a must for blu-ray. I cannot fault it in any way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definately the best and strongest of the three!!, 13 Feb 2011
By 
S. Williams "sarah33" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Underworld 3: Rise Of The Lycans [DVD] (DVD)
Well written, well directed, well acted, amazing action sequences, a tragic love story and amzing cgi!!! For those who love vampire/werewolf movies then this will satisfy your hunger. It really is the best of the underworld trilogy................to be honest Rhona Mitre completely outshone kate beckinsdale and michael sheen cannot put a foot wrong. Bill nighy was excellent and the supporting cast was also superb. Watch it and then watch it again.....i guarantee that by the second watch it will have become your fav vampire/werewolf film too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great underworld film, 28 Oct 2009
By 
Mr. G. P. Clarke (Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Underworld 3: Rise Of The Lycans [DVD] (DVD)
This latest Underworld film continues the strengths of the first two films with a solid plot line, very well developed characters from very good actors/actresses, and achieves a balance between these elements and the excellent special effects.
Though it slightly lacks the impact of the first two films I watched with enjoyment and enthusiasm, only to find it ended too soon for me, I could have happily watched more. If you are an underworld fan, then I'm sure you will like it as much as I do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Underworld 3, 21 Sep 2009
By 
S. P. Johnson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Underworld 3: Rise Of The Lycans [DVD] (DVD)
A total must buy if you have the previous films, this i would say is slightly better thought of than the second Underworld film and ties in with the rest very nicely.

I would possibly rate this as one of the Underworld films best out of the 3, and gives a good incite into how the lycan and death dealers came about in the modern world from past conflicts.

If you have Underworld 1 & 2 then i would definatly suggest the purchase of the 3rd.

I thought when first purchasing the item that they may have made the 3rd one worse as what can happen with alot of films go down hill the more they make, but nope this is a very well put together film that joins the other two films together quite nicely like a jigsaw.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great film., 21 May 2009
This review is from: Underworld 3: Rise Of The Lycans [DVD] (DVD)
Fantastic film, good action and Michael Sheen is great as Lucian. I think personally it is the best out of the three Underworld films. The story line remains good and the Bill Nighy is good as the our main Vampire, his ruthlesness is chilling and when he condems his daughter to death so coldly, you can see the man has no soul. I loved the film and can't wait to see Michael Sheen in the Twilight series. He looks a damn sight better in this one than he did as David Frost or Tony Blair.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bloody Brilliant, 13 April 2009
By 
E. Townsend "Jentaria" (England, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Underworld 3: Rise Of The Lycans [DVD] (DVD)
This is the 3rd underworld movie and i loved it. Both the first and second underworld movies are good but this just concludes them all and lets you see into Lucians past. The love story is typical romeo and juliet but again i loved it and was almost in tears at the end. It gives it a human element instead of being ure over exaggerated action vamp movie that focuses on just bloodshed alone. Which im sure some people like but i enjoy a story behind the actions. If you liked the first movies then do watch this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good film, 3 July 2012
This takes a different view from the 1st two as a prequel to the war with vampires & Lycans, we are shown what caused the war in the first place, after the revelations of the 1st two films; you have an idea what it's about. Good film in all
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I pretty much like this movie, 31 July 2009
Don't know why so many ppl. are moaning about it? But then again to moan seems to be chic these days. Yes if you have seen the first two films you might allready know much about the plot since the key details have been allready revealed there, but nonetheless is it very nice to see how everything bilds up in a movie. There are some good fighting scenes too. Not all to gory but more than you'd see in most films these days. Picture and sound is as you would expect from a Blu-Ray. And yes it's dark most of the time - but hey it's a film about Vampires.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an actual improment, 16 July 2009
This review is from: Underworld 3: Rise Of The Lycans [DVD] (DVD)
I have a theory that it is imposible for a sequal or prequal to be better then the original but this has actualy proved me wrong as Briliant as Underworld and Underworld evolotion where nether where as epic or as thought out as Rise of the Lycans.

and I must admit I was sceptical - this could be just another 'twilight fan' pleaser but not only did it hold true to the orignals but it managed to stand the test of time as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Underworld 3: Rise Of The Lycans [DVD]
Underworld 3: Rise Of The Lycans [DVD] by Rhona Mitra (DVD - 2009)
3.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews