Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back up to standard!
I must take issue with those claiming that season 3 was less good than its two predecessors - the third season was outstandingly good, making the abysmal season 4 look so much worse by comparison. As a result, I approached season 5 with trepidation, half convinced that David E Kelley had killed off my favourite show on purpose. Fans can rest easy in the knowledge that...
Published on 18 Mar 2009 by Caribou

versus
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Overpriced - not cool
Yes, we all love Boston Legal. It's great.

But, this box set cheeses me right off. It is only half the usual amount of episodes (13 eps), so half a season in comparison to the previous seasons (22 eps), so surely it should be half the price?!

This last season has half the usual episodes simply so the network could get the show up to 100 episodes so...
Published on 10 Jun 2009 by BigStan


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back up to standard!, 18 Mar 2009
This review is from: Boston Legal - Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
I must take issue with those claiming that season 3 was less good than its two predecessors - the third season was outstandingly good, making the abysmal season 4 look so much worse by comparison. As a result, I approached season 5 with trepidation, half convinced that David E Kelley had killed off my favourite show on purpose. Fans can rest easy in the knowledge that the 13 episodes that finish off Boston Legal are tightly written little gems. There's a really good trail of clues to the finale outcomes laid throughout the season, 'fourth wall humour' at its best (and none better than in episode 11, when Carl Sack half mentions 'Boston Legal' when giving an example of a show that features actors over 50, in a superb pop at the networks) and the story of the friendship of Denny and Alan reaching a wonderful conclusion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic but sad, 13 May 2009
By 
FussyMissus (Uk) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boston Legal - Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
A fantastic end to the Boston Legal series - sad that it came to an end (may the fleas of a thousand camels infest the armpits of the maker of this stupid decision, and may their arms be too short to scratch!) but what a way to go.
I won't spoil the ending for you, but I will say this is just as good as any of the previous seasons, and it will be sadly missed and thoroughly mourned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Emotional Magic, 13 Jun 2009
This review is from: Boston Legal - Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
The last episodes in a quirky series, this bunch of episodes excel in sheer entertainment. Boston Legal is surpassingly excellent at delivering laugh out loud humour with bring tears to your eyes pathos as the relationships develop. The topics (cases)are relevent and bang up to the minute in exploring moral dilemmas in our world today. It gives the series an incredible depth and gravitas whilst delivering wonderful entertainment. I cannot recomment it too highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not the greatness that was season 1-3, 20 July 2009
By 
Mr. S. Kerfoot (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Boston Legal - Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
There are television shows that you watch casually. Doesn't matter if you miss them, frankly you can take or leave them. There are many others that you actively avoid. Then there are the gems that make television sets justify the space they occupy. BL is one such programme.

Or at least it was. As with all good things, it's ended, far too soon. The first three seasons I came to rather late. Watching them on DVD, I enjoyed episode after episode. The writing was superb, the acting excellent and the characters, well, they were sparkling.

There were the usual unexplained exits and entrances of characters, as you find in all DEK productions. But, all in all, it was superb.

Then came season four. It's not that the show became unwatchable. There were some great moments, and it was still better than much of the television available. But the US politics took over and the show suffered as a result.

Season five was a return to form, but not completely. I've never been a Carl Sack fan, he compares badly to Paul in 1-3. The cast was reduced in size, which was a shame as much of BL's earliest sparkle was the interaction in the firm. However, the remaining cast are, as always, brilliant.

The writing wasn't quite up to season 1-3 level, but it was always going to be tough to maintain that. So, all in all, these are a fine, final chapters of BL. But, for old times sake, I have to say it one last time;

Denny Crane.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An indecently abrupt ending, 20 Aug 2014
By 
Hamish Adam - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Boston Legal - Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
The end of Season 5, and of the whole show, comes upon us indecently quickly in this shorter-than-average season.

Doubtless, to keep the stories moving briskly forward (and to avoid any distasteful ratings-busting discussion of money), at Crane, Poole & Schmidt there was rarely any discussion about fees and none about invoicing and collection; which in reality tends to dominate the culture of any law firm that hopes to stay in business.

Crane Poole & Schmidt had never seemed to be a financially savvy firm and this fragility, combined with the 2008 credit crunch, forces the partners to raise capital by selling out to a Chinese firm. The litigation department is left to negotiate its future with these new masters and although they secure some kind of an agreement about onward job security, we sense that it won't last. And so Season Five ends. We have the strong feeling that our heroes are about to be cast adrift in a made-in-China lifeboat.

It all seems a far cry from the heady days of Shore vs. The Supreme Court and the eternally undefeated Denny Crane. Their defeat seems total.

Despite the producer's cunning and highly enjoyable plot twists to wrap everything up, there are still lots of unanswered questions. Will Denny really lose his mind? Will Carl and Shirley's marriage hold? Will the litigation team last under the new Chinese management? And if not, is Alan Shore going to make good on his intention to fight for the legal rights of the poor? Will Denny honor his promise to finance that fight?

We must just hope that their Chinese-built lifeboat doesn't sink before they reach the dry land that is a sequel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great series, 20 Jun 2009
By 
Steven Brown (Edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boston Legal - Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
Ah, the bittersweet moment of watching a boxset of one of your favourite TV shows when you know it is the last series they'll make.

It can be quite hard to be objective, as you inevitably watch it through rose tinted glasses.

However, in this case, I have no doubt it's worth a full 5 stars. The plots for the main characters are tied up nicely, with Denny and Alan reaching their logical (and very amusing) conclusion.

Some of the episodes are fantastic. The first part of the 2 part finale is fantastic, and the thanksgiving dinner episode easily ranks as one of the funniest episodes of the show.

Only slight downside was that I expected more of a wrap up from some of the other characters - disappointing not to see Brad or Denise for the finale, for example. Judge Brown should also have made an appearance I think. But that's a minor criticism compared to the numerous high points.

I awarded Boston Legal 4 a four star rating, as I felt it wasn't as strong as the previous ones - but the final season is a superb return to form. Just a shame it's all over!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Alan & Denny - The End or is it ?????, 22 Jun 2009
By 
M. Timmins "Timmo" (Lancashire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Boston Legal - Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
Season 5, brings to an end the fantastic series of Boston legal, we find Alan & Denny among friends again doing what they would have us all beleive as there best, the laughs the puns the Mad Cow, !!!!!, as good as the other series, a resounding Yes,It leads us all to the question is this the end, there are puns within the show that they might return and then again that could be them just playing, one thing is for sure, is that they went out with a very poor ending for what is usually a final balcony scene that gives us all a giggle.

For what it is worth i will miss this program, i will miss the chaos of Denny Crane, i will miss the brilliance of Alan Shaw, and i will miss the end of the week when i used to say, its weekend and it starts tonight with Boston Legal.

But after purchasing all 5 series of this fantastic show, well my Boston Legal will never be over.

Hope the guys decide to bring it back soon, sort your life out America as for were TV goes this is the best thing that they have ever sent over.

Timmo
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Overpriced - not cool, 10 Jun 2009
This review is from: Boston Legal - Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
Yes, we all love Boston Legal. It's great.

But, this box set cheeses me right off. It is only half the usual amount of episodes (13 eps), so half a season in comparison to the previous seasons (22 eps), so surely it should be half the price?!

This last season has half the usual episodes simply so the network could get the show up to 100 episodes so it's more sellable for syndication. As soon as episode 100 is reached, they pull the plug, this happened with Star Trek Enterprise and here with Boston Legal.

Love the show. But, as per usual, we, the weary consumer are being ripped off. This should be half the price; take note evil DVD makers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent dvd set, 6 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boston Legal - Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
Great series
Highly recommend
James Spader is top class in this. Recommend all seasons.
Funny and un PC at times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent quirky and outlandish, 22 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Off the wall and addictive series, surprisingly from 2008, will get prior 4 series as a catch up, hope they are the same standard
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Boston Legal - Season 5 [DVD]
Boston Legal - Season 5 [DVD] by William Shatner (DVD - 2009)
£24.58
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews