Customer Reviews


76 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


141 of 145 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant game, totally absorbing!
I've never played this sort of game before (having only used my Christmas-present DS for the likes of Scrabble and brain-training up until now!) and was a little worried that I'd find the game too hard to get into (I'm the sort who really hates reading manuals!) or 'too young' - but after 5 minutes or so of picking up the game (and a quick glance at the accompanying...
Published on 31 Mar 2009 by H. Nye

versus
22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but not enough gameplay
I enjoyed playing the game. It has good graphics and a good storyline. But I completed it in well under 12 hours. Also, a lot of the puzzles are not puzzles as such - e.g talking to the same person three times about something can unlock the next part of the game, so it isn't very challenging. When I compare it with the amount of play I got out of Zelda Phantom...
Published on 28 Mar 2009 by Kath


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 20 Mar 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Broken Sword: The Shadow of the Templars - Directors Cut (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
This is an extremely good port of a classic point and click game. The use of both screens is a very welcome idea in that you see the top screen in close up conversations with characters and the bottom screen as the main window.

Even though I've only played the game for about 20 minutes I can't wait to see what new additions and how the ds will tell the story of one of my favourite games of all time.

Must buy for anyone who likes the broken sword series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can't recommend highly enough, 11 Feb 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Broken Sword: The Shadow of the Templars - Directors Cut (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
After a run of disappointments with Prof Leyton and Pandora's box (not yet reviewed; will have another go at it before I do) and the Titanic disaster, I was thrilled to find Broken Sword on the recommendation of other Amazon users.

It's not easy, but it's not so difficult that you give up either. The story line is intriguing, the game responds to the stylus properly, and there are just enough hints to help you through. Hints aren't limited, but the idea is to get through the game with as few as possible.

I don't play for very long at a time, so it's lasting me well. There are 4 save files so two or more can save their games independently, and these can be deleted when you finish.

The only thing I haven't liked about it was the long hoohah at the beginning with the game credits; but it's a satisfying, interesting, and great-to-play game, which for me is what it's all about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Puzzling Adventure Game Now On The DS, 23 July 2014
By 
Timelord007 (The Tardis) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Broken Sword: The Shadow of the Templars - Directors Cut (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
Broken Sword: The Shadow of the Templars - Director's Cut.
DS Game.

Game Synopsis.
After witnessing the brutal & horrifying murder of one of Paris' richest & most influential statesman, the player will be pulled into a sinister conspiracy rooted in a long forgotten medieval legend.

New puzzles have been added that specifically utilise the DS' unique stylus control, the game also features stunning animated facial expressions drawn by Dave Gibbons, artistic genius behind the comic book and upcoming movie "Watchmen."

Deep and Captivating Murder Mystery Intuitive Controls Redefine Adventure Genre, DS stylus controls create a whole new level of interaction & accessibility to vibrant and detailed settings.

New hint system prevents players from ever getting stuck on puzzles by offering tips & advice when needed.

Exclusive Director's Cut Content features - New story elements & settings - piecing together events before & after the original Broken Sword.

Exclusive puzzles add new depth to the exploration gameplay.

Timelord Thoughts.
I'm a fan of the ole point & click adventures & Broken Sword: The Shadow Of The Templars is a excellent addictive DS game which features sharp crisp clear graphics, a wonderful storyline, humorous dialogue but more importantly features addictive gameplay that's suitable for young or mature gamers & features a simple to use control system for the DS Stylus that adds a great pick up & play element to the adventure.

This game took me around 15 hours to complete in around 5 three hour sessions but was a excellent enjoyable gaming experience that emursed this gamer into this wonderful world of this adventure & I only stopped playing this throughly addictive game to recharge my DS.

This is a excellent conversion of the original Broken Sword ported over to the handheld while adding some great little additions of its own exclusive to this DS edition hence The Directors Cut title that utilities the DS capabilites to perfection.

If you want a alternative adventure puzzle game to Professor Layton then I can highly recommend this classic as Broken Sword The Shadow Of The Templars is a throughly enjoyable entertaining & extremely addictive gaming experience & good clean wholesome fun for the whole family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but not enough gameplay, 28 Mar 2009
By 
Kath (Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Broken Sword: The Shadow of the Templars - Directors Cut (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
I enjoyed playing the game. It has good graphics and a good storyline. But I completed it in well under 12 hours. Also, a lot of the puzzles are not puzzles as such - e.g talking to the same person three times about something can unlock the next part of the game, so it isn't very challenging. When I compare it with the amount of play I got out of Zelda Phantom Hourglass, Professor Layton or Phoenix Wright it just doesn't compare on the value for money front.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, recommend for all ages!, 9 July 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Broken Sword: The Shadow of the Templars - Directors Cut (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
If you enjoy the old style point and click adventure games like Monkey Island you will really enjoy this game. It has a good story and clear cartoon style graphics, which means that you can find the things that you need to pick up to solve the puzzles quite easily. I couldn't put this game down and it was great to find a game that was suitable for an adult too. Probably would appeal mostly to 10+ ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant and a load of fun., 8 Feb 2010
By 
Pyewacket "czarnowice" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Broken Sword: The Shadow of the Templars - Directors Cut (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
I thought this game was superb. The storyline was good, the dialogue in places absolutely hysterical and in general although most of the puzzles were easy to work out, at least two of them stymied me so I had to ask 'Other Half' for help. The graphics are good too.

I took my time playing this game as I was enjoying it so much and was actually sad when I finished it.

Most highly recommended and heaps better than some of the newer and therefore more expensive games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BRILLIANT, 10 May 2009
By 
Mrs. J. JOHNSTONE "Avid reader" (Yorkshire. UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Broken Sword: The Shadow of the Templars - Directors Cut (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
Loved, loved, loved this game it was much better than the tedious professor layton. It felt like I was taking part in a good movie, and I was sad and lost when I completed it, which took me around 12 hours, wish it had taken longer. I hope to find more games like this, cos I'm missing it already!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely fabulous!, 4 July 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Broken Sword: The Shadow of the Templars - Directors Cut (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
Absolutely loved this game! Bought it after reading the previous reviews and am so glad that i took a chance, it was absolutely brilliant and very addictive, I couldn't put it down! Can't recommend this enough and am now looking for a sequel to this fantastic game! A very satisfied gamer!! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars broken sword versus Layton, 18 Aug 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Broken Sword: The Shadow of the Templars - Directors Cut (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
First confession, i haven't played this for DS but i have played on pc and playstation, i want it for ds as i like mobile gameplay and broken sword is one of the best games out there after monkey island and grim fandango.
There seems to be mixed opinions over this game, people who played broken sword first love this, people who were looking for something like professor layton are not that keen.
I actually bought Layton looking for something like broken sword before it was available for DS, i love Layton games but not as much as broken sword. i would argue they are totally different types of game although both labelled as adventure Layton is actually more like brain training and big brain academy with a weak plot thrown in. both brilliant but if you are old school adventure games like me (monkey island, grim fandango etc) buy broken sword.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Back To Paris, 1 Sep 2009
By 
M. G. Hatfield "trekle5" (North Wales UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Broken Sword: The Shadow of the Templars - Directors Cut (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
This is a great game from the early Sony Playstation days Broken Sword centres round an American Tourist travelling around Europe and a French girl.

Nicole is a photo jouaralist who witnesses a killing of an important figure and embarks on a mission to find the killer all this was omitted from the original game this game has parts where you crack codes to read messages you find Nicole and Geroge must work together to find out why two or more people had to die and what have Nicole and Geroge stumbled upon.

This game will keep you trying even though you must read everything in the way of speech but the action follows the same path as the first game on the PS One the graphics are sharp and crisp The DS system make good use of the touch screen.

When the makers decide to use panning which show you the skyline and below both screens are in perfect sync it show near the start when you over look Paris and see the entrie tower.

You may need a notebook close by to jolt down 26 symbols.

Three tips Use the left lock at the river and on the letter the word July is important and right down the symbols and which letter they resemble as you may need the code again later on.

Buy this game and enjoy one of the best games ever made Broken Sword Shadow Of The Templars is a great game and finally on a handheld system.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews