Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Keeps the lad happy
He is having a lot of fun with this plane, it has withstood a few very dodgy landings.
Published on 19 Mar 2010 by Mike m

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Complete let-down
The plane didn't work upon arrival. The light on the remote control was on, indicating that it was ready to go, and the plane emitted some kind of tune, but the propeller never turned and the plane never took off. As this was a birthday present for my son, the disappointment was accute.
Published 6 months ago by Anna Webber


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Keeps the lad happy, 19 Mar 2010
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Silverlit X-Twin Sopwith Camel 2-Channel Radio Control Aeroplane (Colour and Frequency Varies) (Toy)
He is having a lot of fun with this plane, it has withstood a few very dodgy landings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Get The Weight and Throttle Right., 15 Oct 2010
By 
BigMoab (UK, Gloucestershire) - See all my reviews
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Silverlit X-Twin Sopwith Camel 2-Channel Radio Control Aeroplane (Colour and Frequency Varies) (Toy)
As the title says, Im more of an outdoor flying man so i tested it in a little bit of wind on an overcast turn sunny day yesterday. After testing the flights and applying a little weight to the front as it seems to rise nose up in the wind so i weighed it down a bit with some white tac and a little blob of white tac in the cockpit the re-tested the camel in the wind and applying only 50-65% throttle i managed to fly it horizontal and make the ol' bird soar in the bright blue sky. The top wing fell off after countless nose dives into the ground so i just taped the top wing in the middle of the struts which gives it a bit more strength It was in the air for a good 4-6 minutes before letting go of the throttle and seeing it glide down on to the soft october grass. Unfotunately it has war wounds and was unable to fly after more flights but i hope to repair it with some tape and get her back in the sky once again. I cant wait to see what it can produce indoors, It really is a great plane and a good looking model aswel with ATD (Attention to Detail). Hope this review helps others in deciding wether or not to buy this excellent little RC Sopwtih Camel from silverlit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Camels a coming, 11 Oct 2010
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Silverlit X-Twin Sopwith Camel 2-Channel Radio Control Aeroplane (Colour and Frequency Varies) (Toy)
As a long time aeromodeller I am familiar with flying radio control. I am also helping to build a full size Camel for the Shuttleworth Collection at Old Warden in Bedfordshire so this model has two interests for me.
In the winter we fly RC models indoor and so this camel was a must to try out, and was not disappointing.
It comes ready made in a neat package which displays the classic shape of the camel to perfection, and can be used to store the delicate structure in between sorties.
The transmitter is the normal 27hhz unit from Silverlit and has three switchable spots on that frequency. Therefore if a group of friends is buying some make sure you get A B & C so you can fly together.
Detail on the models is superb, the only slight quibble is the RFC roundels on the fuselage sides are, I believe, too far forward. Otherwise the Clerget rotary engine, twin Vickers machine guns, and undercarriage are authentic. Even the prop has a scale outline, and a spare is included. This is attached by means of a 'Prop saver' rubber band device to protect it in a heavy landing.
The rudder is actuated by a magetic coil which gives full left or right movement. To steer a quick dab of rudder is all that is needed as if it is held on it can cause a dive. A spare rudder is included and this just clicks in place making sure the 'top' is at the top or your left will become right!.
This model has caused a lot of interest at our indoor flying sessions at Horsforth, near Leeds, run by the Northern Area of The British Model Flying Association.
Although the model is lightweight it is surprisingly robust, and does need the space of a school hall, but is loads of fun.
The only small criticism is that a more modern radio on 2.4ghz would be an advantage, even only for the shorter transmitter aerial.
John Thompson, Chairman BMFA Northern Area.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Biggles flies again, 20 Dec 2009
By 
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Silverlit X-Twin Sopwith Camel 2-Channel Radio Control Aeroplane (Colour and Frequency Varies) (Toy)
A simple but effective introduction to radio controlled model flight. Made to take moderate knocks care should be taken to avoid propeller when in use. Takes a little practice to extract the best and a fairly roomy area is needed until control is at a reasonable level of ability. Good fun and looks great in flight. Value for money considered excellent and provides hours of enjoyment.X-Twin Classic - Sopwith Camel (3 Colour Asst)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TOYS FOR OLD MEN, 19 Aug 2011
By 
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silverlit X-Twin Sopwith Camel 2-Channel Radio Control Aeroplane (Colour and Frequency Varies) (Toy)
This plane was bought for my 66 year old husband, he has had loads of fun with it. it was well worth the price and i hope will keep him amused for many hours to come. OLD BOYS LIKE TOYS TOO
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fun, 6 April 2011
By 
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silverlit X-Twin Sopwith Camel 2-Channel Radio Control Aeroplane (Colour and Frequency Varies) (Toy)
A very basic plane but it has lasted a whole lot longer than any other plane I have bought my ten year old nephew. He is really pleased with it ! Delivered fairly quickly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect toy for grandson, 17 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silverlit X-Twin Sopwith Camel 2-Channel Radio Control Aeroplane (Colour and Frequency Varies) (Toy)
Grandson aged 8 soon had control - as soon as the wind dropped. And was thrilled. Needs a very still day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Works ok, 3 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silverlit X-Twin Sopwith Camel 2-Channel Radio Control Aeroplane (Colour and Frequency Varies) (Toy)
Have only tried it out once when there was no wind. Flew it for about 30 minutes on one charge. Much easier to launch from shoulder height. Had several crash landings on grass no problem. Plane is very light and did not hurt when it crashed into me! I am still learning how to fly it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sopwith Camel, 29 July 2011
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Silverlit X-Twin Sopwith Camel 2-Channel Radio Control Aeroplane (Colour and Frequency Varies) (Toy)
This is a very light plane and to fly it out of doors you need still airs. My six-year old grandson and I tried ours out for the first time this morning and it outperformed several other planes in this price range we have tried. It took off easily from the ground and (most of the time) was persuaded to land gracefully, the occasional tip up at the end of the landing but nothing serious enough to cause damage. The best plane in this price range we have tried but lighter than most so only for very calm days when you will have great fun with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rc plane, 18 Aug 2011
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Silverlit X-Twin Sopwith Camel 2-Channel Radio Control Aeroplane (Colour and Frequency Varies) (Toy)
Took 3 days to deliever, Around 10 mins charge up, plane it self looks cool, very good for learning. Crashed many times on 1st flight but still in perfect condistion. However i feel like it may become a problem in the future as it doesnt look the strongest of planes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews