Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars57
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£3.20+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 November 2015
Excellent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2009
Again, looking for something a bit different from my usual Coldplay, Kings of Leon, Snow Patrol, Keane.. and I'm glad I did. This is a musical feast. Moody rock, with strong all round sound, strong vocals.. and I haven't found a bad track on it yet!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2014
Faultless
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2009
I have played this CD continuously for three weeks - unheard of for a music fan who has been always looking to buy innovative, different or thoughtful quality music. I have two early Doves albums but this is in a different league. It stands alongside a number of albums that I regard as "classics" in terms of lyrical content and musical expression. A cracker of an album and truly memorable.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2009
Doves music has always of high quality, never seeming to get the recognition they deserve, this album is no different. From the soaring Jetstreaming and title track this is an album that sounds better each time you listen. No two tracks sound alike and you seem to pick up on something new with each listen. Enjoy
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2009
Not as strong as The Last Broadcast or even Some Cities still a solid album, with the same walls of noise -interflacing multiple instruments with the drum prescence always there.

Vocals not as strong as could be, and unlike previous albums am not humming the tunes now so only a four.

But I like it.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2009
Brilliant Album all round with so much to listen out for time after time. Each track seems to build on the last, creating a brooding layered assault. Lovely melodies from Jez, the usual heartfelt vocals and booming bass from Jimi and Andy's best all round drumming by far, glued together with Martin Rebelski's synths and beautiful string arrangements. Not one filler on the album and my standout tracks are The Greatest Denier, THE FANTASTIC Spellbound (Signature Doves) possibly their best song ever!, Compulsion (Sandinista-esque) and House of Mirrors. This album has it ALL.

Thanks Chaps. Lost Souls took some beating, worth the four year wait!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2009
doves fans have been made to wait since 2005 for this album, is it worth the wait? yes! a superb effort! there is something in it for most people seeing as it has some traditional "dovesy" stuff like the title track, some chilled stuff like birds flew backwards, some electronic stuff like jetstream and some rock stuff like house of mirrors.

a must for old and new fans, for me this is their second best effort (after the last broadcast), but all their albums deserve 5 stars. enjoy!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2009
Doves' fourth album has been worth the weight. More consistent and a little more experimental than its predecessors, not surprising with producer Dan Austin on board, it has a string of stand out (singles) tracks yet feels more like a linked body of work. The title track and 'Winter Hill' are the obvious radio-friendly singles, with 'Jetstream', 'The Greatest Denier' and 'Birds Flew Backwards' pushing the band forward.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2013
As with most of the current manchester scene, Elbow included, this LP contains one good song and the rest is album filler!
22 comments|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)