Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great music - let down by recording
Such a great album with Doves back on form with some great songs on this album. It begins on a high for a bunch of killer songs, mellows out with some growers which will hook you in with a few listens, and then comes back for a third section which is different again. Standout track has to be Winter Hill which I just love. Wonderful guitar work throughout which is such a...
Published on 21 Oct 2010 by Neppo

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Bit 'samey'
Although I liked this album, the tracks seemed to merge into each other and those on the previous Doves album. Not an album I would listen to anytime, just when in the mood.
Published on 30 Oct 2009 by John Ryan


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great music - let down by recording, 21 Oct 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kingdom of Rust (Audio CD)
Such a great album with Doves back on form with some great songs on this album. It begins on a high for a bunch of killer songs, mellows out with some growers which will hook you in with a few listens, and then comes back for a third section which is different again. Standout track has to be Winter Hill which I just love. Wonderful guitar work throughout which is such a joy to follow. Well put together running order and made for the car in the same way as any Swervedriver album, which is probably just as well: the sound quality!

Such a shame that great songs are let down by shockingly bad recording and hideous compression on this CD. It's bad enough in the car but take it home and play it on a decent system and it just sounds as if my younger brother recorded it on his 20 year old broken portable Walkman! Because the songs are so good I was up for buying it on vinyl too, but figured in the end that as the recording quality was so bad it just wouldn't be worth it. If the market is going to dumb-down and compress for MP3 entirely, then I may as well just give up buying CDs, because this really is pants. I wouldn't care if I didn't care.

The music gets 5 stars, but because the package is flawed by the sound, it's lost a star.

If you can get past that, it's maybe their best album to date.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A pumped up Doves, 28 April 2009
By 
Mr. Gideon D. Brody "twitter me: gideon_" (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kingdom of Rust (Audio CD)
Doves have always felt a little like Elbow's extrovert alter ego; a band happier being at the heart of the maelstrom than contemplating its hung-over afterglow. Whereas Elbow can be characterised more by their cap-in-hand romanticism, Doves have always been better suited to the role of escapists. For Elbow's unabashed honesty, Doves respond in kind with vistas of widescreen imagery. While neither band would claim to represent Madchester's new dawn, both are true products of the city: equal parts self-effacing and brazen.

Bury's finest produce their best when they transplant the region's deadpan wit and warmth into their songs. Doves, on the other hand, tend to concentrate on Manchester's sense of defiance - something rooted in its urban ghettos and marked by the regular occurrence of excitable terrace anthems (Catch the Sun, There Goes The Fear, Pounding, Black And White Town). Though Mancunians would always emphasise the humility of their beloved city, ambition and fearlessness mark it and its music. From the seven-minute, effects-strewn epic to the casual inclusion of a full orchestra, neither band - like the city that bred them - is afraid of pulling punches.

With Kingdom Of Rust, Doves have spent a great deal of time (four years, in fact) holed up in training. As they confidently re-enter the ring as strutting light-heavyweights, they will be keen to dispel any accusations of ring rustiness. In many ways, Kingdom Of Rust feels like Doves might be trying to prove a point. Last Broadcast and Some Cities were both strong albums, challenging enough to be interesting over the long term and speckled with some stellar pop songs. Kingdom Of Rust focuses less on the charts and more on the reinvention of Doves. This is a band with no intention of quietly disappearing into the ether quite yet.

Perhaps reinvention is too strong a term but there can be no doubt that Kingdom Of Rust is leaner and more pumped up than previous efforts. People who have recently grown into Doves may have trouble acclimatising to the new album. Its layering is arguably more indulgent, its melodies are subtle and the whole thing seems less benign than its more immediately satisfying predecessors. If anything, Kingdom of Rust's sweet spots are much harder to discern. It is pretty clear that Doves have spent the extra time working hard to reward its audience in a new way. Like true Mancunians, they make you wait four years and then they have the temerity to ask that you to commit to repeat listens. Luckily, Kingdom Of Rust just keeps getting better with time.

Doves still like to set their sights on larger-than-life subject matter. Even the album's song titles speak of jetstreams, kingdoms, lifelines and being spellbound. Like previous albums, Kingdom Of Rust is quite happy tackling life's extremities. As inane as the idea of singing about a jetstream would appear to be, it doesn't prevent Doves from creating a barnstorming album opener, replete with Chemical Brothers-light electro meddling, swooping flange effects and a steady crescendo that constantly reignites like it were conceived on the shores of Cape Canaveral. The Outsiders bears all the bristling angst of BRMC's Whatever Happened To My Rock And Roll and 10:03's monstrous middle riff - lifted straight out of John Squire's Led Zep book - pounds itself through your floorboards, indiscriminately. The Greatest Denier is, put simply, a four-minute shot of something massively potent.

Doves are able to counter this widespread hysteria with beautifully measured moments such as the album's title track. Kingdom Of Rust's quiet highlight features brushstrokes, xylophones, strings and an illustration of Doves' comfortable grasp of pathos: "blackbirds flew in and to the cooling towers / I'll pack my bags / thinking of one of those hours with you / waiting for you". Aside from the occasional maudlin lull, Kingdom Of Rust prefers to spend its time drifting in and out of a dreamy state of schizophrenia, with very few pauses for breath.

Compulsion is easily the album's biggest surprise. It may have taken four albums and countless years but here is a Doves track you can legitimately shake your hips too - and it works an absolute treat. Borrowing heavily from Blondie's Rapture, its knowingly hip, libidinous baseline and massively reverbed riffage create something of a nympho-infested oasis amid the album's urban landscape of skyscrapers and football stadiums.

With the album's lyrics and song meanings often totally shrouded by a dense nebula of sound, you are often left to simply swoon over Kingdom Of Rust's beautiful and frequently electrifying chord progressions. Its blanketing melodies and unrelenting energy will hit you first, but then that has always separated them from their mates in Bury. Although Elbow are able to put far greater emphasis on Guy Garvey's angelic vocal talents, Doves are fully aware of their strengths and so is Kingdom Of Rust. Even if the album loses its way with its final two tracks, you are left so exhausted by this stage that it almost comes with a sense of relief. By reinventing what they do best, Doves have fearlessly strutted back onto everyone's radar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fine work, 2 July 2009
By 
L. Richardson (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kingdom of Rust (Audio CD)
This album is a far better piece of work than most of the reviews. I've never come across the Doves before so this album has come out of the blue to me. I liked it on first play through and it's still finding favor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's a grower, 1 May 2009
This review is from: Kingdom of Rust (Audio CD)
The Doves are a quality band and I was so looking foward to this release, more so than anything for a long time. The first listen didn't strike me as one of their better albums as there are not any stand out tracks. However after a few plays the penny dropped. You need to immerse yourself in the music to truly apprecuate what a well crafted album this is. For me they have written a magnificent series of songs and stayed true to themselves. It will be a sad day if they ever sell their soles for commercial success. Only slight critisim is that it is very similar to their other stuff which you could argue is no bad thing. For that reason I have given "Kingdom of Rust" 4* plus I like "The Last Broadcast" more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Manchesters finest!!, 25 Mar 2009
By 
Darren (Manchester) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Kingdom of Rust (Audio CD)
It's been a long 4 year wait since the last offering by Doves and I'm happy to report that it has certainly been worth the wait.
Kingdom of Rust sees Doves return with an utter epic album of eclectic tunes that takes you on a journey somehow perfectly painting a picture of the Northwest of England in a way that only Doves can do. I can hear so many influences in this album, the likes of Blondie, Bowie and the Clash to name but a few.
In my humble opinion this is Doves best album yet, surpassing the heights that The Last Broadcast reached. There is not one filler on this album. Personally, for me, Compulsion is the stand out track, that base riff is a killer..
For those of you already familiar with Doves you wont be disappointed. Those of you who aren't then go buy the album, you'll be hooked.
Around the same time last year Elbow released an album that ended with them getting the so richly deserved accolades they had been missing. One can only hope 2009 will prove to be Doves year..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gold Dust, 20 April 2009
By 
Mr. N. P. Robertson "requiem7" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kingdom of Rust (Audio CD)
This is one outstanding albulm. Kingdom of Rust the single released just now from the albulm is sublime. The tracks on the albulm are well placed. Its not often I listen to an albulm and resist skipping tracks.
Every new listen opens up the layers of some of the songs. I am glad I bought this albulm. Doves are a great band. No rust just gold dust on their songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Album, 5 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kingdom of Rust (Audio CD)
One of their finest - I know they've not released that many - and well worth a listen. Has some cracking tracks and is for my money the best of the few (4 if you're a purist and don't include Lost Sides and the live albums). If you know nothing about the Doves and fancy taking the plunge then this album is, for my money, the one to start with. It's slightly less Manchester than the others (there aren't any songs about the M62 or Northenden on it anyway) though still not exactly mainstream.

Just a pity they're unlikely to do any more since taking a break in 2010.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This album is truly incredible, 22 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kingdom of Rust (Audio CD)
I'll be brief, I love every single track on this album, this is very experimental and hip in places and low-key in others, this is on par with their other albums The Last Broadcast, Some Cities and Lost Sides, This band keeps on growing Jimi Goodwin is an incredible so is the one half of the Williams brothers, definitely a great purchase
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Super Doves Album, 2 Sep 2013
By 
Mr. P. Davis "paceypete" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kingdom of Rust (Audio CD)
Back at their best! This album reminds me of Lost Souls, their first and still in my view the best Doves album. A super album with many great songs beautifully woven together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Kingdom of Rust, 29 April 2012
This review is from: Kingdom of Rust (Audio CD)
A fantastic album full of recognisable riffs and surprises, a northern masterpiece that doesn't diminish over time. A very highly recommended addition to everyone's collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Kingdom of Rust
Kingdom of Rust by Doves (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews