Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A grand tour of Ireland in song
Daniel O'Donnell probably became familiar with most of these songs from a very early age, but he clearly enjoyed recording these songs, mostly between 1985 and 1990, but with some more recent including eight dated 2001 or 2002. The vast majority of the songs feature Irish place names from (it seems) every part of the island disregarding the political border. I'm not sure...
Published on 31 Mar 2009 by Peter Durward Harris

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Easy listening, could have some better known songs
There could have been, in my opinion, a wider range of 'well known' Irish songs, but all those recorded suit Daniel's voice well, and as a double album, it works well for easy listening. I would advise for Daniel fans the Ultimate Collection album over this - there are more of Daniel's Irish hits on the Ultimate album.
Published 10 months ago by M. Fraser A. Macdonald


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A grand tour of Ireland in song, 31 Mar 2009
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Irish Album: 40 Classic Songs (Audio CD)
Daniel O'Donnell probably became familiar with most of these songs from a very early age, but he clearly enjoyed recording these songs, mostly between 1985 and 1990, but with some more recent including eight dated 2001 or 2002. The vast majority of the songs feature Irish place names from (it seems) every part of the island disregarding the political border. I'm not sure about the origin of These are my mountains, which doesn't mention place names but always makes me think of Scotland, and which is a popular song there too. Whether it is originally Scottish or Irish, it can be interpreted as being about either, so I'm not complaining about its inclusion here. One of the most famous songs here, Forty shades of green, is definitely not Irish in origin, being from the pen of Johnny Cash, but it most certainly belongs here as it is all about Ireland. Clearly, Johnny was most impressed by what he found on one of his visits to Ireland.

Generally, I prefer to hear Daniel singing ballads, but there is a mix of tempos here and I cannot fault any of Daniel's performances. The most famous song here is Danny boy, which I've heard performed by many different singers, not all of them Irish. Of course, I didn't buy this collection for that song, but it had to be included. I am much more interested in the songs that I don't remember hearing elsewhere, especially those with delightful titles like Come back Paddy Reilly to Ballyjamesduff, Cutting the corn in Creeslough, The banks of my own lovely Lee, Pat Murphy's meadow and Lough Melvin's rocky shore. I love those songs about rural Ireland, and this collection contains plenty of them.

Many Irish singers record their share of Irish songs, so there are plenty of similar albums to choose from, but this certainly one of the best. If you love Irish songs, you might consider Susan McCann's Sentimental Journey, which also contains 40 tracks and only four of the songs are the same as on Daniel's collection here. Between the 76 different songs, five of them have Galway in the title. Daniel sings Galway bay, Heaven around Galway bay and Dear old Galway town, while Susan's collection contains Galway races and My own dear Galway bay. Never having been there, I can but wonder as to why Galway in particular is such an inspiration for songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful lyrics., 24 Jan 2013
By 
J. W. Mcdaid (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Irish Album: 40 Classic Songs (Audio CD)
Very easy to listen to. The lyrics are mwaningful, if you like that sort of song. Not everyones taste, but it is easy on the ear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Everybody's Favourite, 22 April 2010
By 
Mary O'shea "Contrary Mary" (Wimbledon) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Irish Album: 40 Classic Songs (Audio CD)
This is great if you are holding a St. Patrick's do or looking for something for the end of an Irish Funeral (These are my Mountains, Danny Boy, I'll Take you home again Kathleen). The only ommissions are Going Home and She Moves Through the Fair. The latter is great for weddings!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Irish Album: 40 Classic Songs (Audio CD)
very good thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars mothers day pressie, 30 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Irish Album: 40 Classic Songs (Audio CD)
i spent 10 days as the other half of the D O'D fan club - i thought it was bearable but the mother was over the moon!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, 16 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Irish Album: 40 Classic Songs (Audio CD)
once again a greta variety of songs to just let play and have no worries about too much noise - stop times l am surprised at the songs and pick out some to listen to again and again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Daniel O Donnell brings Ireland home, 3 Jan 2014
By 
H. M. Follis "heatherm" (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Irish Album: 40 Classic Songs (Audio CD)
Beautifully sung songs of Ireland. A really good collection of classic Irish songs with some less well known additions to please all lovers of the emerald isle
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Easy listening, could have some better known songs, 8 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Irish Album: 40 Classic Songs (Audio CD)
There could have been, in my opinion, a wider range of 'well known' Irish songs, but all those recorded suit Daniel's voice well, and as a double album, it works well for easy listening. I would advise for Daniel fans the Ultimate Collection album over this - there are more of Daniel's Irish hits on the Ultimate album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Irish Album., 27 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Irish Album: 40 Classic Songs (Audio CD)
If you are a fan of Daniel O'Donnell you will love this CD. It has 40 tracks on it. And they are all good songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Item, at bargain price, 25 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Irish Album: 40 Classic Songs (Audio CD)
Great Item, at bargain price, ordered one day, here the next morning. It made a great and appreciated gift for me to give.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Irish Album: 40 Classic Songs
The Irish Album: 40 Classic Songs by Daniel O'Donnell (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews