Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle  Learn more Countdown to Prime Day Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars8
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
5
4 star
2
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 February 2005
Having read a number of books on the subject and very quickly becoming flumoxed by the jargon this book was a little bit of a light relief, but I think a little too light technically to be of any real use, but a nice lead into heavier texts
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2005
This book is very well written and just at the right level for someone new to working with SANs. Covers all the main areas of SAN design, management and maintenance extremely clearly and suggests a number of places to go for more detailed information. Don't expect this to give you all the detailed technical information you need to be a SAN administrator, but then that isn't the purpose of the book.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2011
I starting reading this book as I ahve effectively gone from 1st line support to second and one of my first projects is to implement a SAN. I knew what a SAN was and what it was for but did not know all the lingo.

This book is brilliant and keeps everything nice and simple, After reading this i found that the HP SAN design ref guide made a lot more sense. The book goes through the underlying need for SANs, Types of SANs, the terminology, The technologies available and various reccomendations on implementations.

Just what i was after.

Only gave it 4 stars because the style of writing tries to make jokes and puns and i dont particulary like that.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2009
This is just the right book if you are new to the subject of SANS. It gently introduces the subject and allows you to explore various options. It even goes into enough depth as to allow you to make some initial technical judgements. It is pretty vendor neutral and I feel this helps to make it more objective. However technology moves fast so some of the technology discussed is somewhat outdated but in many sectors legacy SAN Systems can still be found. Overall this is a good book and well worth the £9.99 that I paid for it from Amazon.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2011
I bought this book for a colleague new to the team and new to the Storage environment. Looking at the content before handing it over, the subjects covered and the breadth and depth looked just about right for someone with a vague understanding of what a storage network is.

He found the book extremely useful, easy to understand and helped explain some of the concepts he was learning on the job.

Well worth the money!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2014
There are not many books regarding general topics on Storage Area Networks, and this one is most actual and comprehensive. It helps to order knowledge and information not only on storage networking but wider on storage and backup issues.

Recommended for every IT personnel who is in touch with SAN/storage/backup technologies
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2009
I started this book with just a very basic knowledge of SAN's, etc...."it's for storage, right?"
The book proved to be excellent for moving me (you) on to a good understanding of NAS, SAN, SCSI and iSCSI.
If you are working in this field already - you won't learn much from this book - but if you are a manager or someone who uses SAN's as part of some other implementation (VMWare, for example), this book is for you.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2014
Excellent condition
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)