Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great game. Buy it.
Having never played any of the other Personas, I bought this game because of how much other people have liked it.
The game has a slow beginning, as with many other JRPGs. There is lot's of dialogue, and you only really see your first taste of combat around 1 and half hours into the game. This is not a bad thing, the story is compelling and the voice acting is...
Published on 28 April 2009 by Mr. A. F. Tomlins

versus
4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Price
Persona 4 is a really good game for the ps2, but it gets repetitive and boring since most of your time you will be doing the same thing everyday if you're not using a guide. I recently bought persona 4 golden (an enhanced version of the ps2 game) and it is ALOT better than this one. I bought a new copy of persona 4 2 years ago for 7 pounds, and now its for 35 pounds USED...
Published 14 months ago by Leylan Sorani


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Something a bit different, 22 May 2009
By 
S. Wheeler (North Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Persona 4 (PS2) (Video Game)
It occurred to me a few weeks ago that I hadn't played a decent RPG in a few years. I'd heard good things about Persona, so I bought this title. I gave it a try one Thursday night, and two weeks later I still can't get the theme songs out of my head!

Unlike other RPGs which put you on limited time, the storyline doesn't take up more than a week or two in the month, giving you plenty of time to do your thang. The key thing though is that this game is absolutely fun, especially the awesome dialogue between the characters. The humour shines through wonderfully and the main characters incredibly heartwarming. I've not felt so emotive towards a game in a long time.

Minor issues are the rapid nature that time does progress, sometimes leaving you feeling like you could do more in the time given. Often you are a passenger in the storyline watching things play out, but honestly, it's got such a great anime style you won't mind taking a break from the battling.

Hopefully, should they do a Persona 5 (god knows Square love a series lol) that game would keep the same elements and just give us more more more; that's what I crave.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great game., 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Persona 4 (PS2) (Video Game)
Arrived very promptly. Just as described. Great game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 30 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Persona 4 (PS2) (Video Game)
The game arrived right on time and in perfect condition. The case was sealed and the soundtrack that was included when it was originally released was there. The disk had absolutely no signs of wear and played beautifully. I was slightly worried about the region though. All PS2s were region locked and I was concerned that it would not work on my Irish PS2 because they never specifically said that it was from the UK region. I bought it anyway based on the given location of the sender and the fact that the pictured box showed the British flag. Obviously, I was right but I wish they had specified the region it was from.

Persona 4 is a fantastic game. It blends the fantastic Pokémon like battle system with the social simulation of the Sims. Obviously, these games are better for either of these things but, as a blend, I've never played anything like Persona 4. I would heartily recommend this game to anyone but they should be warned, while there are no graphic scenes in the game, the story quickly becomes quite dark. The theme however, is light and while the dark things happen, there is plenty of humour and the social aspect is always light-hearted and fun. Even if the rest of the game wasn't amazing, the ending is completely worth the time spent playing it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great JRPG, the PS2's Swan Song, 29 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Persona 4 (PS2) (Video Game)
Good music, great gameplay and perfect characters, this RPG has it all going for it. Half RPG, half socializing simulator, but all fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Worthy Chapter in the Persona Series, 19 Dec 2013
By 
Arch Stanton (Nottingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Persona 4 (PS2) (Video Game)
Is this better than Persona 3? No. Is it better than 99% of everything else on the market? Yes. It may seem a little harsh to judge the game in comparison to its predecessor, but these games are so unique I can't think of anything else to compare them with. And Persona 4 doesn't come off at all badly in the comparison. No sir. In many ways this is the superior game.

First, a question of gameplay and format. This game is divided between fairly standard dungeon crawling and some innovative social gaming tied around the life of a Japanese secondary school student. The dungeon crawling is a bit repetitive, hindered further by randomly generated dungeons that all look the same. The social gaming is something else entirely. You spend most of your time dealing with time management, dividing your life between schoolwork/social activities and demon fighting. The chance to live out the life of a Japanese teenager is a lot of fun and may leave you with strong flashbacks. I was surprised at how easily I settled into life as a teenager. Apart from the obvious feeling of control it is hard to explain why this section is such fun. It just is. it's helped by strong side characters and the opportunity to develop stronger relationships with them. Improving your relationships improves your ability to fuse personas of their arcana. This is the same format followed in Persona 3 and, presumably, the upcoming Persona 5. It's hard to argue with success.

After the success of Persona 3 this game tried quite hard to make itself unique rather than just a knockoff sequel. To do so it moved the setting from the city to the small country town of Inaba. Everyone knows each other in a small town and this leads to a lot of social stratification. One of the main themes is the differences between the local kids and those (including you) who moved in from the city. Also moving in from the city is a shopping mall called Junes, which is taking customers away from smaller local stores. This sort of social observation was completely absent in Persona 3. A less successful change is the switch from having monsters show up on a full moon to having them show up on foggy days. This feels a bit forced, and makes me hope that future installments will simply list their boss fights in advance so you can better prepare for them.

In another major change the protagonist and his friends are left to discover their abilities by themselves instead of joining a pre-existing team. This leads to a lot of exposition early on that kind of drags the first part of the game. It took over three hours for the dungeon-crawling segment to appear. By far the biggest change to the game's format is the inclusion of a mystery at the core. There is a serial killer on the loose, who will murder their classmates through supernatural means unless they can stop him. His identity is a closely guarded secret and provides a continual sense of threat. Another major improvement over the last game is the more psychological approach the game takes to the characters. To gain their ability to use personas characters must confront and accept their inner shadow. This shadow is a mirror of them that reflects their darkest beliefs and mocks their weaknesses. It is a perfect opportunity to see what truly drives these characters. You get to the heart of them in a way that you couldn't before.

The gameplay has also been improved. Added is the option to control the actions of other characters, which means no more useless game overs because you get hit by a status effect and your teammates are useless. There are a few other tweaks to the combat system as well. Now you have to try each different form of attack in order to find out an enemy's weakness. It always seemed a bit cheap to have Yuuka just tell you. Another improvement is the addition of a Defend option, which is so obvious I can't believe that 3 lacked it.

Now come the game's few problems. First off, the characters just aren't as memorable as the ones from Persona 3. I quite like Yosuke and some of the others, but Chie is the most annoying character I've seen. It's not just her dialogue, but her voice. I firmly believe in the importance of actors in conveying the tone of a character. Dialogue alone isn't enough to make them bad. Scraping your fingernails on a chalkboard is very irritating for example, but who doesn't love Quint doing it in Jaws? He was just so cool. Here, Chie is both annoyingly written and has an irritatingly high pitched and whiny voice. Her voice is actually the main thing I remember from watching my roommate play this game on the PS2 as she kept screeching "We're gonna die" while I was trying to work. It didn't exactly endear the game to me. Most of the other characters are better, but I just miss being in charge of a super-cool team of demon-fighting heroes.

An oddity given the game's plot is that it seems rather lighthearted for the Persona series. The lighting is bright and colorful and while the plot goes to some pretty dark places it always returns to the same cheerful world. It's a little bit incongruous with the moodiness inherent in much of the game. The open and communal SEES dormitory, for example, has been replaced with your uncle's cramped house where it's usually just you and your quiet cousin who sits on the floor watching TV since her dad rarely comes home. It feels very lonely and isolated. But then you hit the menu and everything's golden and fine. :-) This is reflected particularly in the character designs from the main character (absurdly cool instead of wannabe hipster) to Teddie (too darn cute). The mystery-centered plot also seems less epic in scale than the end of the world one in Persona 3. It's more focused in that you know the victims personally, but less widespread in that their number is few. This is a more intimate piece and perhaps this is fitting given the small-town setting.

I think it's pretty much the characters alone that make me prefer Persona 3. On almost every other level this game is the equal or superior of that one. The plot is compelling, the gameplay superior, the town charming. But the parts that are superior aren't THAT superior, while the bits that don't hold up drag it down a lot worse. Given the social nature of the game character forms a big part, and there just aren't as many characters that I'll keep in my memory. Look at me, whining about how this game isn't Persona 3. It doesn't have to be. It would have ruined both. This is a game that stands on its own and does so well. I respect it for continuing the same gameplay as its predecessor while being completely different in plot and setting. It is in every way a success. The mere fact that people can argue about which is the superior game proves that. If you liked Persona 3 try this. You won't be disappointed. If you like JRPGs or the idea of social gaming appeals to you then try this game. It may be a bit slow to take off for plot reasons, but once it does so it is immensely fun and highly addictive.

All of the Persona games are also available on portable systems: (Persona, Persona 2: Innocent Sin, Persona 3: Portable, and Persona 4: Golden). Only Persona 3 and 4 have social gaming. The other two are more typical JRPGs with a lot of dungeon-crawling and plot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good game, 27 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Persona 4 (PS2) (Video Game)
I apologize in advance for being so brief.
I bought this for my brother, who had been wanting it ever since it came out. I think the game is good, and totally understand the praise it gets. It's not what I'd personally get into, but I recommend it for the story and characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 18 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Persona 4 (PS2) (Video Game)
Jay, got persona 4 now, leds hop the Persona 4 Golden wil com to PS3, then that wil make my Mellennium haha
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars must buy for a rpg fan, 8 April 2013
By 
Chris Drake (Bradford on Avon Wiltshire UK) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Persona 4 (PS2) (Video Game)
Loving it can't really review it yet since I've not finished it but so far loving the story and the game play is really cool :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the PS2's last amazing games, 14 Feb 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Persona 4 (PS2) (Video Game)
Much like back in 2000/2001 when some of the best games on the original playstation were being released, Persona 4 was a game that came out in Japan in 2008 (and 2009 in the UK), about 2/3 years after the Playstation 3 was released. With the market leaning towards a much more up to date direction in terms of the latest console - Persona 4 became 1 of those games that could have gone under the radar, simply because it's on the PS2 and doesn't look like Black Ops or Final Fantasy XIII in terms of its graphics. But lets cut to the facts; this is 1 of the best RPGs I have ever played, period. I loved its predecessor, Persona 3, with its incredible storyline, interesting characters, Japanese manga character designs, fun gameplay and catchy, incoherent music. With Persona 4, all of those characteristics have remained, only this time the game's tone was lighter, and the characters were more upbeat and funny. It took nothing good in the previous game away, and even developed the gameplay quality to a greater extent. When a video game becomes so popular that it has been remade in other mediums such as an Anime TV series, a Manga Comic series, a theatre play, a light novel, and has been spun-off as a fighting game, you know that there is something to rave about. I would recommend this to anybody, encouraging those who have a PS2 to dust it off and play this, or a PSP Vita or a 60gb PS3. Honestly, it is that good. And if you have never played Persona 3, don't worry, this is 1 of the most unique RPGs you could ever play.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good, 9 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Persona 4 (PS2) (Video Game)
good sequel to the previous, graphics equally as good. follows on well as oppose to some other games that are completely irrelevant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Persona 4 (PS2)
Persona 4 (PS2) by Square Enix (PlayStation2)
17.91
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews