Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (44)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great game. Buy it.
Having never played any of the other Personas, I bought this game because of how much other people have liked it.
The game has a slow beginning, as with many other JRPGs. There is lot's of dialogue, and you only really see your first taste of combat around 1 and half hours into the game. This is not a bad thing, the story is compelling and the voice acting is...
Published on 28 April 2009 by Mr. A. F. Tomlins

versus
4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Price
Persona 4 is a really good game for the ps2, but it gets repetitive and boring since most of your time you will be doing the same thing everyday if you're not using a guide. I recently bought persona 4 golden (an enhanced version of the ps2 game) and it is ALOT better than this one. I bought a new copy of persona 4 2 years ago for 7 pounds, and now its for 35 pounds USED...
Published 15 months ago by Leylan Sorani


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great game. Buy it., 28 April 2009
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Persona 4 (PS2) (Video Game)
Having never played any of the other Personas, I bought this game because of how much other people have liked it.
The game has a slow beginning, as with many other JRPGs. There is lot's of dialogue, and you only really see your first taste of combat around 1 and half hours into the game. This is not a bad thing, the story is compelling and the voice acting is good.
You're a city boy moving to the countryside to live with a distant relative. As you arrive in Inaba, (The village where the game will take place), you hear of some gruesome murders happening in the area. You are curious about these murders, as are your fellow students in High School. You soon make friends and settle into your new home. I won't go any further into the story to avoid spoilers.
There is deep character development for the characters you meet, the story aspect of this game keeps you interested and wanting more.
The combat system is quite good, you can do the basic attack and guard. You can also set tactics for your companions and summon Personas. A Persona is a magic guardian that you summon with a card. An interesting mechanic of the game is the social links. Personas have different Arcanas (tiers). You can socialize with different people and different friends bring you different Arcanas. By strengthening your relationship with a friend, you strengthen your ability to upgrade your Personas of that Arcana. You strengthen your relationship with that friend by hanging out with them. During your free time you can attend clubs or sports teams, you can sign up for a part time job, study and of course buy equipment and items to use in battle.
I am loving this game and recommend it to anyone that enjoys a good JRPG.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars RPG Perfection?, 8 Dec 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Persona 4 (PS2) (Video Game)
I've had this game for a number of years now. Pre-ordered it for the European March release. Why wait so long to review a game, you might ask? Well, its been re-released with extra content on the PS Vita and if I was in the position to do so, I would snap it up like it was a hotcake made of beer, tacos, skittles and love. But I can't justify that. But some may be able to. And so, hence my contribution.

First, a bit of background. My first MegaTen (thats Shin Megami Tensei, to the ordinary, well-adjusted folks among you) was Lucifer's Call, AKA Nocturne, bought on a whim. Enjoyable, frustrating, punishing unless you learned how to use and exploit the battle system. Turn-based RPG heaven for those of us longing for the days of Final Fantasy. Then I discovered Digital Devil Saga, one and two, which blew me away. I actually imported a US playstation 2 so I could play the great RPGSs that never saw release here in Europse: thats how much I love the genre. Digital Devil was a revelation. Loved the story, loved the characters (even the silent progtagonist which is a MegaTen staple). But the Persona series had, as yet, eluded me.

Then Persona 4 was slated for release.

A title I didn't know much about. The marks of quality werre there: ATLUS software, the company behind my beloved Devil Saga franchise, and the MegaTen label. Cause enough for me to take the plunge and order it.

Best. Game. Purchase. Of. My. life (With the possible exception of Persona 3, which regrettably came after)

I can't begin to describe how fantastic this game is. The English language somehow falls short when called upon to laud such a work of genius. The story, to me, plays out like an anime themed version of Clue: its a murder mustery the main character - you - and his newfound friends must solve...and the clock is ticking. Time is precious and you can spend it in any number of ways, from building up core parameters like courage and knowledge, which help you in important choices or in establishing new social links, or evolving those links by spending time with the person in question. The game world is a suburbial village called Inaba, small but packed full of life. From start to finish, experiencing this world is just a delight, to the extent that I genuinely wished I was the main character in more than a few of the scenes. The characters are fantastic and superbly voiced, all of whom are represented by an Arcana in the Tarot. Your party members, fellow combatants in the battle system, are no exceptionh and are counted as social links like any other. They are all superbly voice-acted too. I have yet to watch the anime based on the game as the second part will not be released until January I think but I will definitely be picking that up too.

In conclusion: the battle system is brilliant. Tried and tested MegaTen. If it ain't broke, don't fix it...and it sure as hell ain't broke. The story is first rate and the characters are brilliantly conceived. Its rare I play through an RPG again just for the story and the players involved but this...this is a work of art. Its sublime. I cannot rate this game highly enough and if a person who owns a Vita (lucky so-and-so) and is an RPG fan comes across this review whilst considering purchasing Persona 4 Golden, well...go for it. You won't regret it. I sure didn't. The sentence 'best game purchase of my life' was not idle bluster.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars JRPGs simply do not get any better than this, 22 Feb 2009
By 
John Clayton III (Greystoke) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Persona 4 (PS2) (Video Game)
Sweet merciful lord this game is absolutely gripping in the best possible way!

I thought Persona 3 was a bit of a fluke with how good it is, as I thought the first two Persona games on PS1 stank to high heaven when I checked them out recently(Maybe they've aged badly, I don't know), but with Persona 4, Atlus have proven that they have the concept that drives the Persona series now down to a fine art, and know exactly how to make the experience better... although not by much in some places it must be said.

Once again placing you in control of an unspeaking character you name yourself, Persona 4 begins with you moving to small town Japan to stay with relatives so you can go to school, and almost as soon as you arrive, people start getting murdered in mysterious circumstances and you seem to be having dreams connected to it. It isn't long before you team up with a group of oddball students at school to investigate the murders and discover a connection to 'The Midnight Channel', a gateway to a world inside the TV made up of the darkness inside human beings(All true folks). This leads to the discovery of your ability to use 'personas'(Monsters that you use to fight battles with) and with that, you're leading a group of pesky kids attempting to find the connection between this monster filled world of corrupted human psyche and the real world murders as you venture into various people's very souls made form in the shape of large dungeons not dissimilar to the tower of tartarus from Persona 3, but smaller(There are a lot of these dungeons though).

Sounds messed up, right? Well, in places it is, but Persona 4's real charm lies in just easy to follow it is. Gone is the messed up 'experiments' and 'secret organisations' of Persona 3 as you have here a group of perfectly normal teenagers thrown into a situation beyond their understanding who struggle to cope with the burden placed on them. The characters in P4 are all so human and believable you really grow to care deeply for them fairly early on. Also unlike Persona 3, the game now has much more of a sense of humour to it's story, with a mostly light hearted approach to a horrifying situation that is occasionally broken up by moments of shockingly grim twists, such as early on the game when you're meeting your classmates for the first time, one them who seems like she'll be as regular in the game is murdered almost immediately. It isn't a game that's afraid to shock.

The game plays identically to Persona 3 with some minor differences, not least of which is you can now control all your characters in battle if you wish, or let the AI do the job yet again if that isn't your thing. The social links, dungeoning, and exploration are all as they were in Persona 3 though, just bigger and more refined. The one real drawback is that the town you live in has a lot less to do and see compared to Persona 3's large city, making the game feel quite small and confined at times.

Visuals are slightly better than Persona 3, with walking around looking a lot nicer than before, but battles looking more or less the same as last time. It's a decent looking game though, with the visuals never getting overly boring over the game's 60-70 hour run time.

The soundtrack though is a massive highlight, with a series of awesome fully vocal songs playing throughout and moody, atmospheric dungeon tunes setting the tone perfectly. The 'battle' music may get on your nerves after a while though.

This game is simply a joy to play, even with it's horrendously long dialogue scenes and initially grating english dubbing(The character's voice actors become noticeably better as the game progresses) it never fails to engage with it's multiple threads exploring friendship, loss, guilt, love and confronting the darkness within your own soul. It's an emotional rollercoaster like few you will ever experience, but it's not going to be for the faint of heart as a huge time investment to play is necessary, as is being prepared to level grind through dungeons more than a few times.

It's a tough game, but the rewards offered are richer than any game you're likely to play. An essential purchase if ever I saw one and the inclusion of a free CD of the game's excellent soundtrack is a true deal sweetener to boot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!!, 30 Dec 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Persona 4 (PS2) (Video Game)
First of all let's be honest, this game came out way too late. By 2009 most people's 60GB backwards compatible PS3 had YLOD'd and everybody else who decided to keep their PS2 for possible future use most likely shelved them with the Christmas decorations and old shoes, or donated them to their two year old nephews or nieces. If this game had come out in 2005, it probably would have been game of the century. Never mind final fantasy or Persona 3, this game excels them all, and here's why

PS2: First off, its on the PS2. What does that mean? It means that a lot of time and effort was spent on developing a fantastic story, believable and extremely likable characters, fluid and easy game play and no online features. In other words all the effort didn't go into fancy graphics and online game play like it so often does these days. It also means a modern game finally that's below age 18 certificate and without people being brutally torn apart and swearing like sailor men. Call me old fashioned, but I find it a grand shame that games like this are missed because people are afraid to turn back to the PS2 game because characters heads are a bit more square. Although unlike some earlier PS2 games and the first two personas, this game boasts some smooth and aesthetically pleasing graphics.

Comparrisons: If you're worried about playing Persona 4 without having played 1, 2 and 3, don't be. Like the final fantasy series, the story in no way relates to the previous games other than the follow on of the traditional Shin Megami Tensei legend. Essentially though, persona 4 is basically persona 3 but with a different story and different characters. In other words the gameplay feels identical appart from a few extra features and a few taken away. There are also repeated characters such as igor, some of the enemies and the two gossiping girls at the school gates! For those who have only played games like Lucifers call or digital devil saga, you'll recognise item names menu layouts and persona's. However unlike in previous Shin games, the monsters are now your allies and the enemy is something completely new. Just like in persona 3, as you progress through the game, more powerful personas become available as you greedily collect them all up. The fusing ability is still available, although with a slightly different 'card game' option which becomes available after you defeat some foes, the necessity to fuse is less so in this game as bigger and better personas are as easy to come by as a drunk in bar. The annoyingly consistent dillema over which personas to say bye bye to when your holding capabilities max out is still as ever present however. As well as being an obvious sister to the final fantasy series (turn based battle systems, interact with people roam around a big world) the game is also quite similar to that of the sims. An amalgamation of the two if you like. Where with final fantasy the character only changes with relation to battle status, in this you can change your character through interacting with people, making friends, investing time in relationships and getting a job etc. All of these typical everyday life activities direct the flow of the game and the story as well as build your character up to open up doors for new storylines, missions and battle skills. A lot of these after school activties are repeated from the previous game with some new ones added.

Gameplay: The flow of Persona 4 can be excessively slow and there's a good reason why the game lasts 100 hours+ It was about 5 hours down the line before I actually had some control over the character, and that was just to save the game so I could finally go to sleep at 2 in the morning. If you're a quick fix shoot em up rookie that gets bored with long stints of dialogue and beguiling narratives, then this game is definately not for you. However, once the initial introduction of the storyline was over, control over the character became increasingly more as the game progressed. The controls of the game are nice and easy, especially when it comes to the battles. The great thing about the persona games is that they don't make the battles too over complicated or give you too many decisions to make. This is a good thing if you haven't that much experience with turn based battle systems before, or if you're just down right lazy like me. While you have to live everyday like a normal person i.e. get up, go to school, have dinner, read a book, the game feels quite fluid and similar in style to Canis canem edit. In fact with the increasing demand on the characters responsibilities and social life, you'll find yourself desperate for some simple reading time (in the game) where you can build up your stats. Like in the sims, your character has many differen personality statistics which determine what you can or can't do in the game. For example, by reading a book in your room you may develop some courage skills (depending on the book). As you develop courage through various other forms you'll eventually reach a level where you move on to a new stage in courage. If during the storyline a decision requires you to be at that stage then you can move the storyline in that direction. If however you're not, then that oportunity will be lost forever. Thats why it is important to use all your free time wisely to make sure you don't miss out on things because you're still a big coward (in the game).

Story: The story is one of the most engaging stories I've come across since FF7. Because there are so many cut scenes and so much dialogue you can't help but get immersed in the persona world. Although at first the storyline may seem a little over the top and thought up by a group of guys in the pub after a few too many, you quickly begin to let go of reality and start to take it all for granted. This is helped by the realistic way in which the characters communicate with each other, and the by the down to earth questions that are posed. The way you can chose how you respond or ask questions yourself as you interact with the characters adds a real sense of involvment. With several different endings as well, it's the kind of game that could potentially last a lifetime.

Graphics and sound: The graphics in this game aren't the best in the world, but they're still good for a PS2 game. With a slightly smaller area to roam around than the previous persona, more effort has been placed in creating a scenically pleasant small Japanese town. The design of the characters is fantastic, as is the way they move and act which is a lot more realistic the classic flailling arms genre of game. The voice actors are brilliant from the beginning and add a lot to the likability of the characters. Your character remains silent throughout the game which unlike star ocean or Cursed king I felt worked exceptionally well as you are pretty much making your character live his day to life. This way you can fit the role of the character without feeling like you're playing as somebody else. The music of the game reeks of cheezy Japanese Pop which while at first sounds pretty funky, starts to grate a little bit after 100 hours of gameplay. But still, it fits the game rather well and must have bee a successful soundtrack as you can buy it seperately for no small price.

Overall: This is an RPG that any self proclaiming RPG fan should own. If you've played the first five hours of the game and are unsure I would strongly recommend sticking with it. This game will provide you with a gaming experience that you will never forget. Get this game now!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stylish, sweet and well crafted., 4 April 2009
By 
H. Bartlett (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Persona 4 (PS2) (Video Game)
This game is excellent even when put side by side with modern, current-gen games. Sure the graphics are certainly out of date but its charisma, art and balanced game design means it doesn't need to upgrade, in fact the low tech graphics add to the charm. The game is about creating and deepening relationships whilst balancing that with dungeon crawling and leveling up, and both improve statistics in different ways. I won't detail it for you.

Yes, you do have to grind occasionally and it can sometimes feel like a chore but the fuel that pushes the player on are the supporting characters and the narrative. The characters might seem like cliches or stereotypes of many anime movies but being able to interact with and guide the characters, sees them blossom into deeper personalities and creates touching bite-sized, sub-plots as well as a bond and a fondness for them. The detective story of the game involves a group of high schoolers trying to find the culprit behind a string of murders, whilst saving the victims by entering the TV world. This provides suspense and intrigue throughout the game as well as a host of new characters. Everyday gives you something to do; socialise, study/work, dungeon crawl etc. And day by day somethings gonna keep you glued in to that seat. All these elements tie in perfectly to become the game equivalent of a page turner.

The soundtrack is the best, most original in-game music I've heard for years. The J-Pop music is exuberent, catchy and unrestrainably joyful, it makes all the epic, orchestral music in many modern games seem stodgy, tired and unoriginal. And it's just one of many things which standout for me. Not to mention the enemy character design is crazy and bizarre, I mean, how did they come up with them?

After many 'next-gen' console games being decidedly dull and underwhelming, this gem is a breath of fresh air that has turned me into an instant fan. This game has certainly shown me what is lacking in many, many cutting-edge games- a sense of humour and vibrancy. I'm not particularly partial to RPGs, I like them but I like everything else as well, and still, I find this game a rare treasure. It's a keeper and it will be remembered as a defining experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Square Enix, you've done it again!, 30 Dec 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Persona 4 (PS2) (Video Game)
Persona 4 is no doubt one of the best RPGs to me on the PS2, right next to Final Fantasy X!

Persona 4 is has very simple story to it, your a transfer student that has to move out of the City for about a Year because your Parents are working somewhere far. So you move in with your Uncle and Cousin. You go to school and such and such, but you soon realize that a series of bizarre murders begin to follow. I'm not gonna say a lot now.

There have been alot of changes in Persona 4. You can now control your entire party. You health does replenish by going back to the main dungeon exit. The reaper only appears in Playthorugh 2. They have also removed the Fatigued system now. And also if an enemy uses a skill that is your weakness and knocks you down, you will not lose a turn.

Yeah that's alot of changes, secondly the game is alot harder.

The Soundtrack is amazing funky songs to mystery solving songs and sexy Striptease songs. If you loved the P3 soundtrack, no doubt you'l love the soundtrack in Persona 4.

So to me,if your an RPG fan and played P3 go ahead and buy. However if you've played Persona 3 well then, P4 will be a breath of afresh air for you.

Overall: 10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!!, 9 May 2009
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Persona 4 (PS2) (Video Game)
Just a note to add to all the other reviews, I am a huge RPG fan and have played most popular (and some not so popular) series from Final Fantasy and Dragon Quest to Paper Mario and have always maintained that Persona 3 was my favourite of all of them. Not any more - after having devoted far too many hours to playing this I can quite happily say it's the best game I've ever played . The characters are likeable, believable and well thought out, the story is dark but not too emo (like Persona 3) and it has some incredibly LOL moments! Worth far more than the 15 you'll spend on buying it! Now I'm off to play it through for the third time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Worthy Chapter in the Persona Series, 19 Dec 2013
By 
Arch Stanton (Nottingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Persona 4 (PS2) (Video Game)
My main target in this review is to examine the quality of this game for fans of Persona 3. If you want a basic review that looks at this game in isolation then there are plenty of other impressive reviews on this site. It may seem a little harsh to judge the game in comparison to its predecessor, but these games are so unique I can't think of anything else to compare them with. And Persona 4 doesn't come off at all badly in the comparison. No sir. In many ways this is the superior game.

First, a question of gameplay and format. This game is divided between fairly standard dungeon crawling and some innovative social gaming tied around the life of a Japanese high school student. The dungeon crawling is a bit repetitive, hindered further by randomly generated dungeons that all look the same. The social gaming is something else entirely. You spend most of your time dealing with time management, dividing your life between schoolwork/social activities and demon fighting. The chance to live out the life of a Japanese teenager is a lot of fun and may leave you with strong flashbacks. I was surprised at how easily I settled back into life as a teenager. Apart from the obvious feeling of control it is hard to explain why this section is such fun. It just is. it's helped by strong side characters and the opportunity to develop stronger relationships with them. Improving your relationships improves your ability to fuse personas of their arcana. This is the same format followed in Persona 3 and, presumably, the upcoming Persona 5. It's hard to argue with success.

After the success of Persona 3 this game tried quite hard to make itself unique rather than just a knockoff sequel. To do so it moved the setting from the city to the small country town of Inaba. Everyone knows each other in a small town and this leads to a lot of social stratification. One of the main themes is the gulf between the local kids and those (including you) who moved in from the city. Also moving in from the city is a shopping mall called Junes, which is taking customers away from smaller local stores and causing a lot of resentment. This sort of social commentary was completely absent in Persona 3. A less successful change is the switch from having monsters show up on a full moon to having them show up on foggy days. This feels a bit forced, and makes me hope that future installments will simply list their boss fights in advance so you can better prepare for them. In the end, you usually have about two weeks to complete a dungeon, but it'd be nice to just have them say that since you don't dare count on it less you run out of time.

In another major change the protagonist and his friends are left to discover their abilities by themselves instead of joining a pre-existing team. This leads to a lot of exposition early on that kind of drags the first part of the game. Unlike Persona 3 which gripped me pretty quickly, it took me about fifteen hours to get really into this game. It took over three hours just for the dungeon-crawling segment to appear. By far the biggest change to the game's format is the inclusion of a mystery at the core. There is a serial killer on the loose, one who will murder their classmates through supernatural means unless they can stop him. His identity is a closely guarded secret (though it's a little obvious when you think about it) and provides a continual sense of threat. Another major improvement over the last game is the more psychological approach the game takes to the characters. To gain their ability to use personas characters must confront and accept their inner shadow. This shadow is a mirror of them that reflects their innermost secrets and fears. It is a perfect opportunity to see what truly drives these characters. You get to the heart of them in a way that you couldn't just by talking to them.

The best aspect of the characters in this game is that who they appear to be on the surface is usually the exact opposite of who they are underneath. The most obvious example of this is Kanji, who appears to be a hard dude of legendary proportions but is secretly gay and confused about his masculinity. Something I've always appreciated about the Persona series is its realistic depiction of friendships. Your initial impression of someone isn't necessarily telling you all there is to know about them and their behavior is different depending on who they're with. They even remember to have traits known to one character but not others. For example, Chie always knew about Yukiko's odd sense of humor because she had been close to her for longer, but when Yukiko started being more open she got a little embarrassed at hearing it in public. And then there are passing moments when you realize that you don't know a character as well as you thought, like when Chie mentions in passing that Yosuke calls her up at night to tell her dirty jokes. Yikes. It's as if these characters have lives that don't always revolve around you.

The gameplay has also been improved. Added is the option to control the actions of other characters, which means no more useless game overs because you get hit by a status effect and your teammates are useless. The game still ends if the protagonist gets knocked out, but at least you can reduce your chances of that. There are a few other tweaks to the combat system as well. Now you have to try each different form of attack in order to find out an enemy's weakness. It always seemed a bit cheap to have Yuuka just tell you. Another improvement is the addition of a Defend option, which is so obvious I can't believe that 3 lacked it. Knocking an opponent down is also less effective than in P3 since once they get up they can immediately attack. Fortunately, this applies to your characters as well.

The dungeon crawling is still present in excessive amounts, but instead of just going into different floors on one building (Tartarus) each character you rescue has their own castle. These castles all feature essentially the same thing, but they have at least worked on making each new castle feel unique and structured to that character's personality. For example, Yukiko's is basically a prison shaped like her family's hotel while Kanji's is a bathhouse. They even change the layout of the rooms to better fit the style. Nice. Another plus is that you no longer have to worry about finding a portal every time you want to escape. Instead you use items called Goho-Ms which take you to the entrance. A major difficulty is that the entrance no longer heals you, and paying the fox to do so is reeaally expensive unless you do his missions. So your sessions in the TV realm are quite limited in terms of time.

The feel of the characters is quite different from in P3. In that game you're part of an awesome team of shadow-hunters who hang out in their own dorm and have a great sense of camaraderie. In this game you're chilling with friends and occasionally leading rescue missions into the shadow realm. I love the feel of being part of a team of cool guys but it's hard to argue with the feeling that comes from hanging out with friends. The guys here are not quite as memorable though. Yosuke seems like a somewhat diluted version of Junpei from P3, Teddie is pretty annoying (although he grows on you a bit), and your silent protagonist is a bet too cool and stylish looking for his own good. Kanji was great but I missed the unquestioned coolness of Akihito. The girls are unquestionably better though. Yukiko is pretty much your typical colorless Japanese heroine, but aside from that they all have unique and entertaining personalities. Even Yukiko isn't all bad since her inner struggle is, like all the leads, very good, and she occasionally gets a few quirky character traits. Since these are the romance options this is a major plus as in P3 you could basically go with a girl you don't really know or try and hook up with colorless Yukari or crazy scary Mitsuru. It has to be said that there is a lot less pathos in these characters since, while they're all struggling with something, they never feel like the wounded emotional wrecks the guys in P3 were. This makes it an easier game to go back to since you can slide back in at any point without too much trouble, but it may leave you feeling it's a bit more superficial.

An oddity given the game's plot is that it seems rather lighthearted for the Persona series. The lighting is bright and colorful and while the plot goes to some pretty dark places it always returns to the same cheerful world. It's a little bit incongruous with the moodiness inherent in much of the game. The open and communal SEES dormitory, for example, has been replaced with your uncle's cramped house where it's usually just you and your quiet cousin who sits on the floor watching TV since her dad rarely comes home. It feels very lonely and isolated. But then you hit the menu and everything's golden and fine. :-) This is reflected particularly in the character designs from the main character (absurdly cool instead of wannabe hipster) to Teddie (too darn cute). The mystery-centered plot also seems less epic in scale than the end-of-the-world one in Persona 3. It's more focused in that you know the victims personally, but less widespread in that their number is few. This is a more intimate piece and perhaps this is fitting given the small-town setting.

It's really a toss up for me which game I like best and it often depends on my mood. When I first wrote this review I was firmly in P3's court, but when I went back to that game it was harder to get in than I remembered. The improved mechanics of P4 help at every point and since the characters are more your friends than your coworkers it feels like a nice relaxing summer vacation. Sometimes you want a more intense adventure and that's when you turn to P3, but most of the time I find it easier to just pick up this game. The plot is compelling, the gameplay superior, the town charming. This is a game that stands on its own and does so well. I respect it for continuing the same gameplay as its predecessor while being completely different in plot and setting. It is in every way a success. The mere fact that people can argue about which is the superior game proves that. If you liked Persona 3 try this. You won't be disappointed. If you like JRPGs or the idea of social gaming appeals to you then try this game. It may be a bit slow to take off for plot reasons, but once it does so it is immensely fun and highly addictive.

Is this better than Persona 3? Dunno. Is it better than everything else on the market? Yes. Try it.

All of the Persona games are also available on portable systems: (Persona, Persona 2: Innocent Sin, Persona 3: Portable, and Persona 4: Golden). Only Persona 3 and 4 have social gaming. The other two are more typical JRPGs with a lot of dungeon-crawling and plot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Catch a glimpse of the hollow world, 22 Mar 2009
By 
Mr. Od Smith "d2kvirus" (Coulsdon, Surrey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Persona 4 (PS2) (Video Game)
For me, Persona 3 was the best game to come out last year - it managed to have a plot and gameplay that put Final Fantasy XII to shame, and more ideas than six months worth of 360 and PS3 titles these days. So when I heard P4 was coming, naturally I wanted to get hold of it.

The first thing to say is that it isn't a sequel to P3, so you don't need to play any of the previous games to understand it - the only real references are Igor and the Velvet Room appearing in the intro and throughout the game, as well as Tanaka's shopping channel on Sundays (OK, and some enemies are replicated).

This time, the plot involves a string of disappearances and deaths related to a dense fog that falls on the rural town of Inaba, which begin to happen just as the protagonist moves there from Tokyo. The people who disappear all have one thing in common: they're feeling pressured by life's difficulties, and end up being sucked into a world within a TV, and when the fog comes to Inaba they're found dead. It's a plot that combines Paranoia Agent and Serial Experiments Lain - and, considering the world inside the TV and their doppelgangers reflect their fears, there's a bit of Silent Hill 1-3 in there, too.

The game, however, isn't a facsimile of these by any means - it takes the ball and runs with it.

Just as with P3, the actual plot is half the story, with the rest taken up by your day-to-day life, as you juggle school, your social life and even your job, all of which lead to improved stats, Social Links and money. Social Links work the same as before, with each improvement meaning you can improve your Personas, whilst your stats are more balanced as you also have to improve your Expression, Diligence and Understanding as well as Knowledge, Charm and Courage in order to access further quests, Social Links, and jobs - improved Diligence, for example, means you can spend more time on the fishing mini game that will gain your items.

Combat is similar to before, although this time it's harder to avoid initiating battle with Shadows as a lot of the corridors are quite slim, so against the larger ones you're likely to have to fight them anyway if there isn't a way around them. However, the actual combat is afflicted with the sort of cheesing that made Lucifer's Call so irritating: say an enemy casts a spell on your whole party, and it knocks down one of them because it corresponds with their weakness - then they get a second attack, and regularly use this to decimate your party in the most irritating fashion possible. True, you can also do this to them in return, but this issue didn't exist in P3, and as a result there were far less frequent cases of seeing the Game Over screen at frequent intervals, in the jammiest way possible. Indeed, this is a major let-down in the game, because it was this sort of pseudo-cheating in combat that had me stop playing Lucifer's Call for some time, because it was so frustrating.

However, you do have the option to control all of your team in battle, which at the very least means you can have your team healed when they need it or characters not go out of their way to perform the wrong actions in battle. The problem with this is that you really have to set your party to your control for this reason, especially for boss battles where you need to be on your game.

Also, after you spend the afternoon exploring the TV world, when you return home your character can't do anything apart from boost their social links with the characters at home, or watch the Weather Channel. Again, in P3 you could study after exploring Tartarus - so why can't you spend the evening studying, reading or working? I should also warn you that the animation for entering or leaving the TV world does carry the risk of giving you a headache if you see it at frequent intervals, as it certainly gave me one - and you see the animation a lot in the opening two or three hours as the game is easing you into its world.

Yes, I have a few complaints, but as with P3 the writing is top notch, there's a good balance of the serious and the humorous in the script, and everything in the game is a natural fit for it. There's more creativity on show in an hour of gameplay here than full back-to-back walkthroughs of both Resistance 2 and Killzone 2, and once you get to grips with the game it's supremely addictive due to how it plays, and wanting to see how the plot develops.

As a probably swansong for the PS2, it's a great send-off, simply because it's a great achievement yet feels so effortless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars favorite game of all time, 6 Mar 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Persona 4 (PS2) (Video Game)
this is my favorit game of all time i spend over 80 hours with this game if you think it sounds good you need to buy it cause its that good. i just simple love this game the fighting system is good and satisfying the charectors is some of the best ever created in any game and this game had me crying in some sad moments this is the best game i have ever played do yourself a favor and buy it you wont regred it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Persona 4 (PS2)
Persona 4 (PS2) by Square Enix (PlayStation2)
22.36
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews