Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars buy it, read it, and send it to TNA!
This book is great, a very well written highly entertaining read, if you were a wrestling fan during the late 90's then this book will bring back forgotten memories of how the good times turned very bad very quickly due to inflated ego's, bad business decisions and truly nonsensical booking/storylines. I cant praise the book enough. If you missed out on the glory days of...
Published on 29 Jun. 2011 by S. PRICE

versus
2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good read, not great though
good book at giving the insights into how wcw was ran, its rise and fall but i found the constant use of stats like rating figures every paragraph a little annoying.
Published on 21 Jan. 2009 by Jude M. Clancy


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars buy it, read it, and send it to TNA!, 29 Jun. 2011
By 
S. PRICE (U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is great, a very well written highly entertaining read, if you were a wrestling fan during the late 90's then this book will bring back forgotten memories of how the good times turned very bad very quickly due to inflated ego's, bad business decisions and truly nonsensical booking/storylines. I cant praise the book enough. If you missed out on the glory days of wrestling and currently watch TNA wrestling then buy this book and you may see things happening all over again, the "old" guys who wouldn't step aside in this book are very same "old" guys who are still failing to step aside today,14 years later.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Very Interesting and Highly Entertaining Read, 11 Oct. 2012
The Death of WCW is a book that explores the highs and lows of the WCW Company, a Company that was until it ceased trading in 2001.

Personally, I was not a fan of WCW back in "the glory days" (from around 1998-2001 or so). Me, I was a WWF lifer, although I knew of the Company's existence. With this in mind, I found this at my local bookstore and decided to give it a go, believing I would educate myself about WCW in the process.

Was I wrong? Absolutely not! If you want to educate yourself about WCW all the way, from its' creation to its' burial, then this book is for you, by all means. You will learn about the ratings (Monday Night) wars, high-rise WWF stars jumping ship to WCW with the promise of "guaranteed contracts" and, finally, how WCW managed to screw it all up and come apart at the seams, thanks in large to an ageing roster with even bigger egos and nonesensical, ridiculous storylines. It's all here and written in a very accessible, easy to understand language.

Finally, I would recommend this book to any wrestling fan. If you were there back in the day and managed to "see" WCW fall apart, then this book puts things on paper, to use the term. If you weren't there, then this book will surely educate you on the topic. A very interesting, highly entertaining read overall!

Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the very best, 22 Feb. 2010
By 
sean paul mccann "mccanns23" (ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
I love reading wrestling books,even though alot of the auto's are written with ghost writers i still enjoy them. This book was written by superfans so it isnt linked to either wwe or written by someone who worked for wcw before it fell at the hand of vince mcmahon in 2001.
This book is so interesting that i was engrossed for hours and learnt so much, things i thought i knew were sometimes proved correct and sometimes incorrect, this book is one giant learning curve.
When you read the mistakes that wcw made you could almost blush, they are so cringe worthy bad but this helps you understand why wcw fell and fell behind the wwe until it was no more.
This book could well be the best wrestling book i ever read, you would be a lemon if you had an interest and didnt buy this book,sheer class.stunning in every way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Death of WCW, 19 April 2011
outstanding book, very informative and beautifully written so anyone and everyone can understand. After reading this book one feels like they understand what happened to wcw. As a wrestling fan I have read tons of books on wrestling but this one is possibly the best and well worth a read. I recommend this book to any wrestling fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best wrestling book I have ever read., 29 Oct. 2013
By 
pphillips (Leeds England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Death of WCW: WrestleCrap and Figure Four Weekly Present . . . (Kindle Edition)
As a fan of the WWE/F since the early nineties I was somewhat familiar with the story of the "Monday Night Wars" but only from the side of the victor the WWE.

Fortunately this book has filled in the blanks and in a wonderfully entertaining way. It explains the rise and fall of one of the biggest wrestling companies of all time.

The book is extremely well written and whilst entertaining and opinionated it often backs up its points with well researched evidence in the form of attendances and ratings of shows.

I found this book very hard to put down and finished it in two or three sitting. Excellent value and extremely recommended. If you buy one book on the Monday Night Wars make it this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A great read, and a cautionary tale., 28 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Death of WCW is a must-read for anyone interested not only in the history of professional wrestling, but in what happens when a company falls into a holding pattern and has no concept of what its audience actually wants.

Through regular financial statistics, television ratings, pay-per-view buyrates and anecdotal evidence, the book accurately portrays a promotion that appeared to be the strongest force in the industry but was in fact sewing the seeds of its own inevitable demise, thanks to the short-termist greed and egotism of certain wrestlers coupled with overall incompetence and out-of-touch decision-making from an overly-corporate authoritarian presence. Despite having almost every advantage imaginable - great wrestlers, big names, history on its side, and being bankrolled by a multi-billionaire wrestling fanboy - WCW shot itself in the foot repeatedly, letting its most popular emerging talent make their names in the rival WWF because those in charge couldn't see past current trends to think about their own future. Steve Austin, Mick Foley, Chris Benoit, Eddie Guerrero, and Chris Jericho were all misused by the company and would all become major stars for the WWF during the Monday Night Wars, all of them also eventually winning world titles having been told by WCW that they were 'vanilla midgets' who couldn't put butts in seats. Paul 'Triple H' Levesque was also let go in the mid-90's and became a huge asset for WCW's competition. Rey Mysterio, one of WCW's most marketable stars who has since become one of the most decorated men in WWE history, had his legendary luchadore mask removed for no good reason even though it was still selling out at merchandise stands and was then booked into oblivion. Goldberg, the last great hope for WCW having any kind of long-term success, was undermined at every opportunity by jealous colleagues and eventually fell by the wayside as well, despite maintaining his popularity with fans. Even Ric Flair and Sting, the two most loyal and most beloved wrestlers in WCW since the mid-80's - you might even say they were the very epitome of what fans regarded as WCW - were repeatedly buried to accommodate the fragile egos of Hogan, Nash, and others.

When Eric Bischoff, the man who almost single-handedly turned the company into a major force but then subsequently allowed it to tank just as quickly, was finally removed from his duties, Vince Russo came in and hotshot the world title until it became worthless, booked horrible angles that were rarely edited or crosschecked before being greenlit, and removed all suspension of disbelief by relying on 'shoot' (i.e. fourth-wall-breaking) vignettes and promos under the naive belief that everyone watching knew the ins and outs of the business. The result was $62m lost in a single year in 2000. Time Warner then merged with AOL, leaving Ted Turner almost powerless to stop WCW finally being held to account not only for its financial losses, but its ridiculous expenditure that included concerts that drew low ratings, elaborate but pointless mini-movies, and even airline tickets for every wrestler on the roster to every show - even on shows where they were not going to be used.

The main problem I have with the book, though, is that after all of this is said, the authors still seem to hold Jamie Kellner almost individually responsible for WCW's demise, simply because he looked at the bottom line and saw it was in the mire and canceled Nitro. I have no love for Kellner at all, he canceled a lot of really popular shows such as Animaniacs and Pinky and the Brain so he could focus on teenage girls and he also said TiVo was 'stealing' from networks because you could fast-forward past commercials. He's a spiv. However, he deserves no blame for what happened to WCW. He saw a show with declining ratings owned by a company with hair-raising losses in the previous twelve months and he made a judgement call that ANY outsider would have made. WCW killed itself with horrendous booking and warped egos.

As a nitpick, the humour can be a bit off and there's also quite a few really irritating moments where the authors will say something like "bear in mind, what we're about to describe really happened" or "you're probably laughing yourself silly" or "I swear this was true." It's pointless and overly colloquial, even for a comedically-tainted book.

Still though, this is an essential read, especially when the same mistakes WCW made continue to be made today, particularly in the videogames industry (EA/Activision/BioWare, anyone?). Anyone who wants to go into business or provide a public service would be well advised to read this and learn from it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Death of Pro Wrestling?, 1 Feb. 2014
I know what you're thinking, that title is wrong right? Well yes and no, wrestling is still around (and WWE is still making many millions) but since WCW went out of business, the industry has never been the same since. I was never a big fan of WCW, (WWE and ECW fan) but it would be ignorant to ignore the success (and failures) WCW had.

This book tells you HOW to run a wrestling company and at the same time it tells you how NOT to run a wrestling company. With the endless supply of money coming from the very deep pockets of Ted Turner, WCW beat WWE in the infamous 'Monday Night War' for 84 consecutive weeks because it had a huge amountbof talent, groundbreaking storylines and well.... Goldberg. Things got wobbly for WCW during late '98 because those who had a hold of the company weren't higher ups like Eric Bischoff, it was stars like Hulk Hogan, Kevin Nash who kept their top spots while keeping the mid carders like Chris Jericho from forever climbing up the ranks.

Along came Vince Russo who worked for WWE's creative team, things then got worse for WCW because Vince Russo's creativity had far too many holes in them.

I don't want to give the whole thing away, but you should really buy this book, even if you didn't like WCW, it tells you what is necessary to be a success in wrestling and it tells you the things that can destroy a wrestling company.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars WCW...What a joke, 2 July 2010
By 
T. S. Penny (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
In any business other than pro wrestling it is had to imagine a company with so much money, power and potential could be run the way WCW was. I didn't follow the business closely at the time so I read The Death of WCW as a history lesson rather than to find out what was going on behind the scenes of the product I used to watch, and the book is definitely the most complete and accessible way to learn the story of one of pro wrestlings biggest successes, and biggest failures.

I am not familiar with R D Reynolds but I am very familiar with Bryan Alvarez as a listener of his radio show and reader of his newsletter, and while the guy presents information in a light hearted way, he knows his stuff and his style of writing only helps you in taking in just how badly this company managed to screw things up on a consistent basis.

I give this book a definite recommendation to both fans of pro wrestling and to anyone who wants to see how not to run a company (I'm still in a state of disbelief over some of the things they did). On a side note, although he is business partners with Bryan, Dave Meltzer would not put his stamp of approval on something he did not believe was presenting a truthful and accurate representation of what happened, so take some comfort in that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars WCW THE TRUTH!, 26 April 2005
By 
Mr. S. Jessup-peacock "sjpismyname" (Canvey Island) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I am a self-confessed WCW mark! I loved it and hardly missed a show. So when I heard about this book being released I made sure I got it as soon as I could! Now having finished the book I have to say I was quite pleased. The Book deals with the successes and the failures of the company, and does go into good detail over some incidents such as the Hogan incident at Bash of the Beach!
However towards the end of the book, it feels like the authors are running out of space as they seem to rush to finish of WCW.
But Overall it is a must for any EX-WCW fan, Or Current WWE fan!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars How to recall history fairly (or something close to it. Kidding.), 14 May 2010
By 
C. Hajdar (Bolton, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'll get something off my chest right away. In comparison to WWF, I didn't watch any where near as much WCW because there wasn't as much progamming as the WWF put on (not that I ever saw anyway). I did however play the video games on Playstation before I got round to playing the WWF ones (One was WCW Mayhem which I enjoyed at the time, I was 11 after all, the other one I can't remember the name of). Oh, and I did read loads of magazines articles about how poorly the promotion was doing compared to the WWF. What was I going on about? Oh yeah the book. If you want an accurate and fairer portrayal of how things really went down then it is a must read for ALL wrestling fans. It's a story of how the promotion was born, developed, rose, fell and died in 335 pages and also describes how the diabolical Invasion storyline killed WCW for good. It's very funny as well but then RD Reynolds doesn't run Wrestlecrap.com for nothing does he?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews