Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I've gone back to it and its still great
The original game was a Christmas present back in 2005, and it was great fun. With the expansion packs and the mods it continued to be an enjoyable time consumer. But my computer hardware moved on and it got wiped off my hard drive. I was tempted this Christmas (2009) to try Modern Warfare 2, but after reloading the first Modern Warfare again, it limitations became...
Published on 14 Jan 2010 by O. A. Robinson

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Buy stand-alone edition.
Mulitplayer servers are down, and the expansions are useless, due to the fact EA have taken away support for the game. Buy a basic edition for cheaper, as it looks like you get expansion packs but you actually don't.

Good for the single player, however Battlefield 2142 is superior in gameplay.
Published 15 months ago by Lewis Steele


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I've gone back to it and its still great, 14 Jan 2010
By 
O. A. Robinson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Battlefield 2: The Complete Collection - Classics (PC DVD) (Video Game)
The original game was a Christmas present back in 2005, and it was great fun. With the expansion packs and the mods it continued to be an enjoyable time consumer. But my computer hardware moved on and it got wiped off my hard drive. I was tempted this Christmas (2009) to try Modern Warfare 2, but after reloading the first Modern Warfare again, it limitations became apparent, I opted for the Windows 7 operating system instead. Modern Warfare (and I suspect version 2 is the same) is played on such a small stage that it begins to feel claustrophobic after a time. There is no feeling of space.

Now Battlefield 2 has some wide open spaces, from cities to desserts and stretches of water. You can get into and operate loads of different vehicles, tanks, jeeps, helicopters. You can hide in the bushes or on top of buildings, in bunkers or aircraft carriers, be on the edge of the action with your sniper rifle or deep behind enemy lines with your Special Forces gear.

Practice offline against the computer, and then discover your limitations as a battlefield trooper when you play it online (of which there are plenty of servers). The better you hardware the smoother the action, its great fun and a steal at the prices on amazon.co.uk
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best FPS out there., 13 Dec 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Battlefield 2: The Complete Collection - Classics (PC DVD) (Video Game)
This version of Battlefield from back in the day (2005) was and still is the best one ever produced, the new ones and the new Battlefield 3 do not compare to this and especially their cheap version of Strike and Karkand and the other maps (Sharqi Peninsula, Gulf of Oman and Wake Island) not any of these maps compare to the 2005 version even though 6 years down the line you'd think the graphics would be so much better which they are not.

Even the way your soldier moves on the new ones isn't the same plus the downside is that online its quite "laggy" for the PlayStation 3 unsure whether that's their network or the actual game as I have a 30 Meg line and never have any problems with any other game not even MW3.

All I can say is that BF2 is and always will be the best FPS that is out there for now I thought BF3 would of been at least in the same league but unfortunately it isn't.

Don't do the same silly mistake as me save yourself money and buy BF2 as you will enjoy it more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love this game and great value, 15 Aug 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Battlefield 2: The Complete Collection - Classics (PC DVD) (Video Game)
Love this game and great value what more can I say. The battlefield series are games that are not for the intellectually challenged with aspects of squads and commanders so strategy comes into play instead of other modern first person shooters where a monkey could play. As a software engineer with not much free time, I happily donate some of it to the enjoyment of this game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Item is great, 20 Feb 2010
By 
Mr. U. Ali (Birmingham, England, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Battlefield 2: The Complete Collection - Classics (PC DVD) (Video Game)
Although this is meant to be one of the most online played games, its 'ok'. I enjoy playing combat arms more, as it is more fast paced. But it you want, tanks, vehicles, team commands and etc, then this is a fun game. Dont get me wrong, i do enjoy this game alot, but i dont play often.

This game runs fine on windows xp. However, the booster packs will not install as you wont need to, you will just need the latest patches for the game (this had frustrated me trying to install the booster packs, and later realised it was in the update).

You will need gamespy arcade in order to play the booster packs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Buy stand-alone edition., 11 Sep 2013
By 
Lewis Steele "Novasol" (Wednesbury) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Battlefield 2: The Complete Collection - Classics (PC DVD) (Video Game)
Mulitplayer servers are down, and the expansions are useless, due to the fact EA have taken away support for the game. Buy a basic edition for cheaper, as it looks like you get expansion packs but you actually don't.

Good for the single player, however Battlefield 2142 is superior in gameplay.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars old but still fun, 12 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Battlefield 2: The Complete Collection - Classics (PC DVD) (Video Game)
Lots of play, plenty levels for a ridiculous price. Killed original cod when they both came out.
Will play on almost anything even my old laptop.
Well packaged next day delivery
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cannot get to work on Windows 7! - without trouble, 27 Nov 2009
By 
R. Howe (IOW, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Battlefield 2: The Complete Collection - Classics (PC DVD) (Video Game)
I would like to write a good review about this game as the original battlefield 1942 gave me many hours of fun with my friends. However out the box, this game does NOT work with windows 7, i've been trying to find help online with techies to no avail yet. this is not to say that you wont have better luck, just warning you as a individual

ADDITION:

time and persaverance have shown me that is possible to get this game working on windows 7 with abit of research and know how. others have succesfully installed it with no problem so I maybe a minority.

game play is fantastic, with improvements from the classic Battlefield 1942. a large variety of Vehicles from buggys and humvees to Helicopters and sports cars. variety of classes to choose from aswell which encourage working as a team and not going solo and a intuitive communication system if you don't like microphones whilst dont like getting shot whilst trying to type to your team mates "he's there...".

If your a casual gamer like me and not a hardcore gamer, you may find you get slaughtered in the online games. but never fear if your anti-social like me as there's a bots system which allows you to play most of the maps against 16 computer players (there is a mod you can get where it allows you to play on more maps with upto 64 computer players). The bots do have a good bit of intelligence and aren't thwarted by a small wall or several trying to get into one door, whilst at the same time not being the worlds best sniper taking you down on the other side of the map in the mountains with a pistol!

An excellent game for a pick-up and put down where you don't want to get caught into an in-depth story and end up playing till 4am realising you still havn't had breakfast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 2 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Battlefield 2: The Complete Collection - Classics (PC DVD) (Video Game)
Does the job and fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Complete Battlefield 2 collection, 15 Dec 2009
By 
D. W. Barlow - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Battlefield 2: The Complete Collection - Classics (PC DVD) (Video Game)
Bought this game as I had it several years ago. I thought I would go for the whole bundle as it is cheap. Problem is that it wont even install. This is on the same computer that it was originally installed on all that time ago . Disappointing really. I have searched the EA forums to no avail. I will try and get my money back now and give up
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Hmmm....... mabye 5 years ago, 29 May 2010
By 
Mr. D. Kerwood "Kerwood" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Battlefield 2: The Complete Collection - Classics (PC DVD) (Video Game)
Bought this game as i missed it the first time it came out 5 YEARS AGO... and i wanted a decent shooter so i though i would give this a try... and omg i really dont like it, take lots of bullit to kill people, hit boxes are terrible and just overall a DATED game, would have been good 3-4 years ago lol ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Battlefield 2: The Complete Collection - Classics (PC DVD)
Battlefield 2: The Complete Collection - Classics (PC DVD) by Electronic Arts (Windows Vista / XP)
£6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews