Customer Reviews


61 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing experience
Finally I bought my new desktop PC and was ready to give a go on this already 4 years old game.
I haven't had so much fun playing an FPS game (actually 2 games - Crysis & Crysis Warhead) since the Half-life 2 days. In addition I must mention I don't care about multiplayer so all my scoring goes for the single-player version of the game.

Pros:
-...
Published on 23 Jun 2011 by Ivo Vi

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Quick fingers, keep in cover, stay alert...generic sort of game
So many different versions of this game on current release you wonder which one is the best. bottom line is, they're all just about identicle, the bonus packs you get are an extra weapon or two or a slightly enhanced suit mode, all of which you have to march on through the game to unlock anyway so they don't make the game easier to play.

Generic game blueprint...
Published 3 months ago by F. M. Havicon


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing experience, 23 Jun 2011
By 
Ivo Vi (Netherlands) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Crysis - Maximum Edition (PC DVD) (Computer Game)
Finally I bought my new desktop PC and was ready to give a go on this already 4 years old game.
I haven't had so much fun playing an FPS game (actually 2 games - Crysis & Crysis Warhead) since the Half-life 2 days. In addition I must mention I don't care about multiplayer so all my scoring goes for the single-player version of the game.

Pros:
- graphics are stunning
- sound and music (especially in Warhead) are breath taking
- gameplay is awesome. Huge maps allowing you to do a mission in infinite amount of different ways. You get all possible environments - frozen mountains to sunny beaches, big outdoor areas to corridors. There are vehicles that can be driven behind each corner. I found though piloting the helicopter a bit annoying. Weapons and enemies vary in good amount.
- nanosuit - eeeh the nanosuit... so much fun to cloak, sneak, grab, hit, set to armor, shoot, cloak again, grab next one, hit, shoot while using enemy as cover, run fast, set armor and so on.
- suspense is everywhere. Lots of short cutscenes are addding great part to the overall experience
- price - 2 games (actually 3) for ~10eu, no one can beat that
- replay value is high
- story is not great but OK

Cons:
- The only thing I can think of is that playing this game until late night has the effect of me having problems waking up in the mourning to go to work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Ultimate in visual gaming, 28 Aug 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Crysis - Maximum Edition (PC DVD) (Computer Game)
Well to start off this is the maximum addition of crysis , which contains crysis, crysis warhead and crysis wars, all i have to say is it is absolutely astounding. Everything about the game is brilliant, the story in my opinion is excellent,in crysis you play the role of Nomad and follow his story through the jungle and spaceship, then in warhead you follow psycho and follow the same story but it breaks off in a tangent and runs alongside the story of crysis , the gameplay is great allowing you to switch between four suit types, the two games have very similar gameplay without any real variation. The best factor of it is the graphics , they are head and shoulders above anything else out at the moment, although you need a real monster of a pc/laptop torun it at any kind of high level. I have a 1gb HD4870 and it can just run it at very high at a playable 25fps but can be prone to freezing although that could be the operating system (vista ultimate 64). Its capable of running warhead at about 35fps due to the fact that the engine has been refined to be less demanding.
But if you own a pc that in your opinion is good you owe it too yourself to invest in this game as i think it would be very hard to be disapointed by it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mindblowing Graphics, Tons of Action, Great Value For Money - What More Could You Want?, 28 Jan 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crysis - Maximum Edition (PC DVD) (Computer Game)
Crysis was first released in 2007. That's 5 years ago, and yet the graphics are still the benchmark for what PC gaming is capable of. This boxset includes not only Crysis, but its interquel, Crysis Warhead (2008) as well as online component Crysis Wars. As such it's a complete bargain for essentially 3 very high quality games and well worth getting.

Let's start with Crysis. I must admit, I am a latecomer to the Crysis party. I first got interested after setting up a new PC rig, to which my friends responded - 'Yeah, but can it run Crysis?'. I started out with the demo - which features portions of the first level only - and fell in love with it immediately.

Crysis' strong point is the immersive environment it provides you with - flawless graphics even on low settings, surround sound that really places you in the game and an open-ended approach to completing missions. The Nanosuit is also a great plus - giving you the ability to boost your Stealth, Speed, Strength or Armour when battles get really tough.

On to Crysis Warhead - which, rather than being more of the same, offers you a better protagonist, gameplay, pacing, and vehicle and weapons handling, in exchange for a slightly more linear mission experience. Don't let that reduced flexibility put you off though, it's still amazing - and perhaps even better than Crysis (although sadly much shorter). Plus you get to hang on to the Nanosuit - hooray!

Sure these games have their flaws, for example, occasionally the difficulty ramps up dramatically at points of the game - going from Sunday Morning Stroll to World War III in seconds, and the storyline is shabby in places, but overall these games represent some of the finest experiences the PC gaming world has created - and for that reason alone you should consider these titles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars nice quick review of product, 16 April 2011
By 
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Crysis - Maximum Edition (PC DVD) (Computer Game)
This particular Crysis edition box is awesome! The box includes 4 discs: Crysis, Crysis Warhead, Crysis Wars and a Manual disc for each game which means NO huge boring manual book in the box (Manual comes in different languages as a *.pdf files on the manual disc.) Each CD-key for each game is labeled right under the game disc on the CD holder within the box. if you get asked for a Crysis Wars CD-Key and you couldn't find it in the box, don't panic! use the original Crysis CD-key and it will be fine.

Overall, game packaging is a solid 5/5 and the game itself I personally gave it 4/5. Why you ask? Because both Crysis and Crysis Warhead have a pretty short gameplay time. So if you get carried away you can finish both Crysis and Warhead in 2-3 days each. Short but a pretty good story so don't miss out on it!

If you wanna talk graphics, visuals are amazing and VERY realistic. If you own a good PC I REALLY recommend the highest graphic settings.

All in all, very good shooter game in post modern warfare experience. I prefer it over other post modern warfare sci-fi games that aren't on PC. Also don't miss out on the sequel to Crysis, Crysis 2 available now on PS3, PC and Xbox 360.

Should you have any questions regarding Crysis please let me know :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Quick fingers, keep in cover, stay alert...generic sort of game, 13 Jan 2014
By 
F. M. Havicon (Brighton, East Sussex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Crysis - Maximum Edition (PC DVD) (Computer Game)
So many different versions of this game on current release you wonder which one is the best. bottom line is, they're all just about identicle, the bonus packs you get are an extra weapon or two or a slightly enhanced suit mode, all of which you have to march on through the game to unlock anyway so they don't make the game easier to play.

Generic game blueprint here, lurking in city streets shooting at anything that moves (human or alien), trying not to get seen or hit yourself, picking up a few things along the way, end goal is to reach the highlighted target....and that's really just about it. Nothing that requires cognitive input or building anything or creativity. Just enjoy the scenery, because it is good scenery, as you blast everything and try not to miss the occasional dog tag or souvenire lying in the dirt. Good music too, masking the somewhat repetitive nature of the game, so you can shoot away to a different soundtrack and it seems like a whole new gaming experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Requires Flexible Fingers, 30 April 2012
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crysis - Maximum Edition (PC DVD) (Computer Game)
Well, I'm not a huge fan of FPS but I got this game mainly because I wanted to push my new PC and to see what all the fuss was about with the graphics. And they don't disappoint (although there is some screen tearing and I can't seem to find the v-sync option).

What I didn't expect was to have my fingers destroyed but constantly having to alternate between the crouch key and the sprint key, and fiddle with the suit controls to conserve power. The 'lean' keys are almost impossible to use in the heat of battle too. I haven't tried using a game pad yet but will give it a go and the game looks fun (and is fun) to play.

If you're looking for an FPS then I expect you'll love this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great game. Stupid EA., 16 May 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Crysis - Maximum Edition (PC DVD) (Computer Game)
Great game, amazing visuals, great gunplay.

The thing today is linear = better. Which as far as cinematic experiences go, yes, its good.

Crysis is NOT open world , but the levels are huge and gorgeous, allowing many different ways to play.

Recommend this to anyone.

Can run this on my old p4 @ 3.00ghz with a 6200 overclocked. 800x600 everything low with high lighting and natural mod.

Still looks great.

But the experience is soooooo much more if you can play @720, 1080 or 1440. highest settings.

taken a star off for EA drm. I want to still play the gamed after 5 rigs in a decade or so :) like i can with all other pc games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lost two stars because of the bugs., 21 Oct 2012
By 
D. J. MORGAN (wales uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crysis - Maximum Edition (PC DVD) (Computer Game)
Crysis looks amazing, the beautiful textures and stunning water create a very interesting world to explore, its pretty sand boxed level design too. Its fun to play, you can mess around for hours shooting stuff and wandering around and the story is good enough too although maybe they could have tried less Predator references... In fact in would be one of my top games...
However its just so broken I wonder how long EA had its testers on it.
First bug, completely terminal. couldn't find Dll refused to load game... Uninstalled everything, reinstalled everything... Lost all saves.
Second bug, A tank flew up in the air spun around like a top however it still had targeting on me and given its glorious vantage point shot the hell out of me.
Third bug, Blew up a tank, tank flew up in the air and hung there spinning... Mission indicator and map show tank was still alive..
Fourth bug, blew up BOTH tanks... neither shows up as dead on mission indicators, game is stuck.
Fifth bug, blew up BOTH tanks... neither shows up as dead on mission indicators, game is stuck.
Sixth bug, blew up BOTH tanks... neither shows up as dead on mission indicators, game is stuck.
Yeah... Still in the village having killed the tanks again... Apparently I have to follow a river to get the game to work again...
Type in tank bug on Google you will see it there first result. I mean this game was released in 2007, this edition is 2009 re-released with known bugs STILL in it. How about when you re-release a game you throw in a little effort fixing known massive problems?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Something is missing., 17 Feb 2014
By 
John A. Cunliffe "Johnboy/UK" (Cardiff,S.Wales.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crysis - Maximum Edition (PC DVD) (Computer Game)
This collection would be good exept for the fact that the third disc has no code when installing.It tells you that the code is on the back of the user manual but the manual is on the disc and there is no sign of the third installation code,can Amazon contact someone please and find out why!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars FPS gaming at it's very best, 27 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crysis - Maximum Edition (PC DVD) (Computer Game)
What can you say about Crysis and the follow up Warhead?
Brilliant and outstanding in all departments - graphics, sound, atmosphere, storyline, value for money.
There really is no bad news here. None at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xae25c51c)

This product

Crysis - Maximum Edition (PC DVD)
Crysis - Maximum Edition (PC DVD) by Electronic Arts (Windows Vista / XP)
7.47
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews