Customer Reviews


109 Reviews
5 star:
 (91)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An enchanting true story that disney captured for everyone.
Mulan the story of a chinese girl disguising herself as a man an out to save china. this comic story which has been adapted from a true story is full of wit romance and action. 3 important ingredients which makes it a must watch film. its not just for the young but i promise that the adults will be raving about this film after watching it once. Its definatly worth...
Published on 28 Nov 2000 by sab82@yahoo.com

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars mulan
Again bought this for a friends daughter who loves Disney. She has spent hours watching her collection and this dvd has meant more happy watching
Published 4 months ago by Emma Hobdey


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An enchanting true story that disney captured for everyone., 28 Nov 2000
By 
Mulan the story of a chinese girl disguising herself as a man an out to save china. this comic story which has been adapted from a true story is full of wit romance and action. 3 important ingredients which makes it a must watch film. its not just for the young but i promise that the adults will be raving about this film after watching it once. Its definatly worth watching more than once!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mulan, 13 Mar 2011
By 
Spider Monkey (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Although highly formulaic, `Mulan' is one of the better Disney films of more recent years.

Like `Pocahontas' this film has a female protagonist and she is as independent and free spirited. When the Huns invade China Mulan's father is called to fight, but due to his ill health Mulan sneaks away, disguises herself as a boy and learns to fight in his place. She is assisted along the way by one of her family guardians, a tiny red dragon (voiced by Eddie Murphy, before he became better known as the voice of Donkey in `Shrek').

This film has some nice touches and is animated very well. The voice cast is very good and the music isn't too saccharine or cheesy either. You always know with a Disney film how the story will go, I.e. independent main character wants to find their own way in life, but family loyalty and immaturity holds them back, they go away and learn a lesson fighting an evil character of some description (usually assisted by a cute side-kick), find love and learn lessons and then they come home to a big happy ending family reunion. There may be slight deviations from this from film to film, but this is generally how they tend to go and it is a formula that works.

All in all I enjoyed this film, maybe more so than the previously mentioned `Pocahontas', and whilst it was relatively short, it was entertaining for the duration.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enchanting, 4 April 2005
By 
L O'connor (richmond, surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
When tomboy Mulan is presented to the local matchmaker as prospective bride her attempt to appear as a demure young lady is a dismal failure. Then an envoy arrives from the Emperor of China, the country is under attack from marauding Huns and every family is expected to send one man to fight in the army. Mulan doesn't want her frail father to have to go, so she steals his sword and armour, takes her horse Khan and goes in his place. The spirits of her ancestors send an somewhat undersized dragon Mushu(the voice of Eddie Murphy), to guard her. Mulan struggles through the army training, and eventually wins the respect of her comrades, and is finally triumphant in doing her bit to save China from doom.
This is an absolutely wonderful film, with spectacularly beautiful animation, great characters, a thrilling plot and a splendid score. Mulan is a very attractive heroine, brave and determined, and the supporting characters are all good too. Her parents (unusually for a Disney film, Mulan has a mother as well as a father), are portrayed very humanly and convincingly, and she has a feisty grandmother, who has one of the best lines in the film, when she claps eyes on gorgeous Captain Shang and says "Sign me up for the next war!". The heroine never loses your sympathy, I feel like cheering when, having been told to go home by Captain Shang because she's no use,she finally manages to climb to the top of the pole and throw down the arrow. And there is an almost unbearably dramatic moment when the Huns come sweeping down the snow-covered hill on the little company, and Mulan stops them with a brilliant piece of strategy. Sentimentality is kept to a minimum, this is a rousing tale of courage and triumph over adversity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous. Disney Classic, 23 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another great Disney Classic, good for all ages, fun family film. Highly recommend for young children as it is highly colourful with some great songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mulan, 16 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mulan [DVD] (DVD)
Good family film. The girls love this as it is a Disney Girl Power film. shows them girls can get on well in a man's world
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mulan auf Deutsch!, 2 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mulan [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
I was so glad to be able to find this great copy of a Disney classic.
As I am studying German its is great to watch the film in the language, with the option of German/English subtitles.
Not only can you watch it in German but you can also watch it on this DVD in Italian and French which is brilliant as I am also studying those languages :)
Great film, many languages with an English option.
If you are studying any of the mentioned languages, or you just want an english copy of this classic Disney Film I highly recommend that you buy this DVD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mulan - The Most Underrated Disney Classic, 18 Jan 2011
By 
TheRavingReviewer (Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mulan [DVD] (DVD)
Mulan is a film that'll warm your heart. Set in 4th Century China, during the invasion of China by a Hun Army, the film explores the exploits of a young woman (Mulan) who secretly joins the army in her Fathers stead, at a time when it was forbidden for a woman to fight. If she were found out, it would bring the ultimate shame upon her family. As with the main character in mostly every Disney film, Mulan is confronted with a number of problems along the way and must overcome them to do her duty, and save not only her Father's honour but her country too.
When people think Disney, more often than not they immediately voice their praise for the likes of Toy Story and The Lion King. This isn't to say that they're bad films, quite the opposite, they're fantastic films and deserve the respect they get. However, their commercial success does overshadow other Disney works that were equally fantastic and Mulan is one of those films. Mulan is a film about overcoming the hardships and stereotypes associated with you and showing the World who you are. Thats why this film is an underrated Disney classic, and is a must see for anyone who can appreciate the beauty of Disney.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally!!!, 1 Jun 2005
Mulan is undoubtably my favourite of the Disney heroines. She is feisty kicking, witty, but at the same time, she's a loyal, sweet, confused little girl. My favourite part of the film is the song "Reflection" - sung beautifully by Lea Salonga.
It's a brilliant film, and I would recommend it to everyone: young and old, male and female.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Legendary film, 18 May 2012
By 
Chloe S "Chick Lit Chloe" (Berkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Mulan [DVD] (DVD)
The Huns are invading China, and the Emperor makes the decision that one man from each Chinese family must join the Chinese army to help fight the invasion. Mulan is worried about her elderly father Fa Zhou who, as the only man in the family, will have to step up and fight once more. After a disastrous meeting with the Matchmaker where she becomes convinced she'll never be a bride as she just wants to be her own person, not a typical Chinese bride, Mulan decides to join the army in her father's place, cutting off her hair and disguising herself as a man named Ping. As Mulan learns to fight amongst the men of her village, she's shocked by the devastation she sees the Huns leaving across China, and is worried about whether they can win. The Fa family ancestors have sent their "Great Stone Dragon" to protect Mulan, but unknowingly, a small dragon, Mushu, has taken the deed upon himself, and is determined to save Mulan. Will Mulan be able to keep up the deception of Ping, and will the Chinese army beat the Huns once and for all?

I will start off talking about the animation, because that is really what people have come to talk about when they see Disney films, as well as the story and the songs of course, but it's the animation which makes them so special. Although the film is now 14 years old, the animation still looks amazing and flawless. The Chinese characters are portrayed accurately, and the sweeping Chinese landscapes, battle scenes and family scenes are all given that Disney touch and look spectacular, even on a small TV screen. The characters themselves look wonderful, from the beautiful Mulan to the strong General Li Shang and are all animated to perfection. Visually, this is a masterpiece and will certainly have children glued to the screen to watch.

The cast do a wonderful job with their roles as well. While Eddie Murphy is probably the biggest and most well-known name of the cast, it does boast some other big names including Ming-Na (best known as Dr Chen from ER) as Mulan, George Takei (Star Trek) and Miriam Margoyles in a small role as The Matchmaker. While there are voice actors for the speaking parts, the singing voices of the main 2 characters, Mulan and Li Shang are done by someone else. The wonderful Filipino singer Lea Salonga, who also voiced Princess Jasmine from Aladdin, is the voice of Mulan, and as ever delivers a stunning vocal performance, especially in the song 'Reflection'. Donny Osmond is the singing voice of General Li, and while I didn't recognise his voice, he was pleasant enough to listen to and he did a good job.

I felt Ming-Na as Mulan's speaking voice was very good, giving across a certain innocence associated with the character, but not afraid to have a bit of fun with it, especially when Mulan is being Ping, her male counterpart. Eddie Murphy was fantastic as dragon Mushu, and puts in a typically funny comedic performance. It's very much like his performance as Donkey from the Shrek movies, and the dragon on screen so much suits his voice which is fantastic. Many of the other main actors are Chinese stars, and I haven't heard of them or seen them in anything, but as as ensemble cast, they do a great job in voicing the characters and bringing to life a community in turmoil. The songs in the movie are fantastic, as usual the Disney score writers have produced a soundtrack which is in keeping with Chinese music and sounds authentic, and the original songs written for the movie, Reflection in particular, are wonderful, and add a real sense of occasion to the film.

The story itself is very touching, and causes some issues to come up that you wouldn't perhaps talk about with your children. Harry was very curious about why Mulan couldn't just join the Chinese army as herself, instead having to disguise herself as a man, and it provoked a nice discussion between us about why it wasn't fair, and it shows how much our children do take in without us realising! I didn't know much myself about the rest of the plot, but found it interesting to read more about the Legend of Mulan online, and it's nice to see China and its history in a mainstream film. I can't help but think this film didn't get the recognition it deserved as it is a wonderful movie that highlights not only the plight of women and girls in China, but also how Mulan was strong enough to stand up for what she believed in, and against the odds, makes a success of herself - pretty girls aren't just for marrying and being a good wife it would seem! Harry and I really enjoyed Mulan, and we'll be looking out for more Disney classics, as this one is a triumph. Brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Let's get down to business..., 21 Feb 2012
By 
N. J. H. (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Mulan [DVD] (DVD)
As a child I must have seen every Disney film going, except this one. Why have I not seen this until now? Oviously I was robbed of a Disney gem because this is brilliant. The great thing about Disney classics such as this is that you can have an expectation that it will be pretty good and usually you won't be disappointed. Mulan fits the mould in that sense.

So what's so great about it then? Well, Mulan is the tale of a young girl, disguised as a man, trying to help her family and her country. Mulan is such a loveable character, it's great that she can go against tradition and decide to not be a bride and join the army. I loved that, it gave her such a strong and unique character. Part of what makes this movie so great though is the setting, there are some incredible musical scenes, some breathtaking snowy-mountain fighting scenes and to be honest, that's not something I thought I'd ever be able to say about an animated film. Also, I have to mention how funny it is - at times I found myself laughing aloud and checking the room to make sure nobody had wandered in and noticed me laughing to myself.

In terms of it being a special edition, there a number of extra music videos and downloadable songs but essentially its exactly the same as the original in terms of the movie itself. Is it my favourite Disney movie? Probably not, but it's really close. I recommend this to all ages, to all Disney fans and to anyone new to Mulan. I thought I would be disappointed, I was so wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mulan  [DVD]
Mulan [DVD] by Tony Bancroft (DVD - 2010)
9.04
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews