Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well worth buying, for the more obscure songs
Lou Reed has made some, shall we say, inconsistent records over the years. But they all contain one, maybe more, almost perfect song. I find it strange that "Perfect Day", the song itself, is so popular when it is not even in my top-twenty Lou Reed songs. Other than missing the fabulous "Bottoming Out", and the paranoid masterpiece - you really must hear it - that is...
Published on 30 Dec 2009 by Little Cat Voom

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Lou
Only a couple of tracks that I think are any good. You have to be a Lou Reed fan to like all tracks.
Published 10 months ago by Rob A Menter


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well worth buying, for the more obscure songs, 30 Dec 2009
By 
Little Cat Voom (The middle of England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Perfect Day - The Best Of (Audio CD)
Lou Reed has made some, shall we say, inconsistent records over the years. But they all contain one, maybe more, almost perfect song. I find it strange that "Perfect Day", the song itself, is so popular when it is not even in my top-twenty Lou Reed songs. Other than missing the fabulous "Bottoming Out", and the paranoid masterpiece - you really must hear it - that is "Waves Of Fear", this collection is a very satisfactory overview of Reed`s work up to the mid 80s, with a lot of the filth taken out. Personal highlights are "Men Of Good Fortune", "How Do You Speak To An Angel", "Real Good Time Together", and "Sad Song".

My only sensible recommendations would be that you trust the people responsible for this release, and don`t buy the albums that some of the these songs were originally from - you don`t need "Sally Can`t Dance" in your collection, any more than you need "Metal Machine Music"! Also, no Reed collection should be without "Street Hassle", which is quite possibly the greatest achievement of Reed`s long and varied career.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lesser known gems, 29 Mar 2007
By 
Pieter Uys "Toypom" (Johannesburg) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Perfect Day (Audio CD)
Besides the poignant title track, Perfect Day includes some lesser-known but brilliant tracks from a wide spectrum of Lou Reed albums. The choice of songs is unusual and interesting. His softer side emerges on songs like Coney Island Baby, Men Of Good Fortune and the sorrowful Sad Song from the Berlin album.

The best rock numbers are Rock `n Roll Heart, Vicious Circle, the powerful and rousing Temporary Thing and the ominous Gun which comes from the Blue Mask album. What I consider to be Reed's conversational style is exemplified by songs such as Growing Up In Public, Legendary Hearts and Downtown Dirt, no doubt related to (Uptown) Dirt from the Street Hassle album.

The great thing about this compilation is the fact that it contains some truly brilliant compositions from a number of neglected albums or those that were dismissed by the critics. Fact is, all of Reed's albums contain at last one or two great numbers. Perfect Day thus brings to light some gems of his oeuvre that might otherwise have remained buried. It is a strong collection for the devoted fan that wants to delve deeper and investigate Reed's work beyond the familiar hits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lou Reed-Perfect Day, 30 Sep 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Perfect Day (MP3 Download)
I took a chance on this album,not being a great fan but love the track Perfect Day; to my surprise i love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Artist. Good Song Selection. Great Value., 16 Feb 2011
This review is from: Perfect Day - The Best Of (Audio CD)
This well-priced non-chronologically-ordered compilation includes 36 tracks spanning his 1972 solo debut up to 1984's New Sensations. 14 tracks are taken from his first 3 albums, with the 22 remaining tracks formed of 2-3 song selections taken from each album released up to Lou Reed's early-80's solo peak. Lou Reed's song writing shows wry wit, tenderness and clever characterisation, which I adore equally as much as the killer musicians that play along side him! Great price. Great content.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Perfect Mix, 24 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Perfect Day - The Best Of (Audio CD)
This album epitomises a so talented artist...RIP Lou Reed your songs are powerful and emotionally charged...well worth buying..Get it !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars perfect day, 19 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Perfect Day - The Best Of (Audio CD)
Only two decent tracks on the two CD. I am afraid it was disappointing and would not recommend it. Sorry
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect Day, 17 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Perfect Day - The Best Of (Audio CD)
An excellent CD if you like this kind of music, which I do. I seem to hear David Bowie's influence or maybe he influenced Mr Bowie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Lou, 26 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Perfect Day (Audio CD)
Only a couple of tracks that I think are any good. You have to be a Lou Reed fan to like all tracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lou Read, 11 Dec 2013
By 
brendan s (Co. Cork, Ireland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Perfect Day - The Best Of (Audio CD)
So sad lou is gone. Had so much more to give. At least we still have Lou in his music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars superb, 7 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Perfect Day - The Best Of (Audio CD)
superb album spreading over his career,very diverse and interesting range,from the late sixties up to recent times,great one for my collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Perfect Day - The Best Of
Perfect Day - The Best Of by Lou Reed (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews