Customer Reviews


52 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Skin Deep
Also released as Satan's Skin, Blood on Satan's Claw belongs to that small group of British films which Mark Gatiss defined as "folk horror". Its peers are 1968′s Witchfinder General and 1973′s The Wicker Man, the latter of which is probably the most well-known, with Satan's Claw coming in third. What they have in common is their strong rural flavour, setting...
Published 14 months ago by Amazon Customer

versus
16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Horror Film spoiled by a poor DVD transfer.
I won't go into the movie's worth as entertainment here - suffice to say that I think it's probably Tigon's best horror film, one of the best British horror films and well worth 5 stars. But in this review I'm focusing on the technical aspects which I feel detract from the DVD.

This DVD (ASIN: B000163SAW) features a poor transfer from a film print which,...
Published on 3 Oct 2007 by Ian Cooper


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Still unsettling, 11 Oct 2009
By 
Darren Jones (Lytham St Annes, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blood On Satan's Claw - Digitally Remastered Widescreen Edition [DVD] [1970] (DVD)
One of the best British horror films, in my opinion.
Has a memorably creepy soundtrack which stayed with me for decades. Worth the price of the DVD for this alone.
Only let down is the ending, which I believe was supposed to be much more impressive but they ran out of money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Iconic 70's gem, 16 Aug 2009
"Blood On Satan's Claw" is a serious, bleak, nasty and yet stylish exercise in horror, that not only marks it as one of the best British terror movies ever made, but a high point in the Horror genre as a whole.

Not only is the film at times searingly violent and cruel, but also constantly disturbing due to the fact it is children that are the sadistic murderers and perverted followers of Satan.
And it's in this depiction of childhood perversion that the film really shocks.
No other British horror movie ever came close to the uncompromisingly cruel teenage characters we are given here.

Superb performances all round with the 17 year old Linda Hayden being the stand-out.

The few faults the film has are purely cosmetic. The Devil is a nicely different, almost medieval interpretation, but is rather cheap looking and the finale is perhaps a little too low key, despite an excellent use of freeze framing.
But this is easily put into shade by the movies many triumphs.

A must see movie for any fan of British horror films, of 70's Exploitation, and of top class Horror in general.
"Blood on Satan's Claw" is a powerful, vicious exercise in fear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well worth watching, 16 May 2008
By 
I bought this off the recommendations of the other reviewers and was not disappointed.
BoSC is stylish, well acted and very atmospheric. The scenes of Satanic ritual are still very disturbing (as they should be, no doubt). The film treads the fine line between it's artistic ambitions and more exploitation aspects very successfully, with a great cast carrying it more consistently than Witchfinder General, to which it is in some ways reminiscent.
The film is a little disjointed as other reviewers have said, but it doesn't mar enjoyment of the whole. It's a shame it runs out of steam a little at the end, apparently it was to be more shocking and grisly but Tigon was short of cash.
The DVD release on Anchor Bay was good enough quality for me, and I thought the extras were informative and pleasingly extensive. Good value for money overall for fans of horror films from this last Indian summer of British pastoral shockers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ploughing up Horror!, 3 Jan 2012
This review is from: Blood On Satan's Claw - Digitally Remastered Widescreen Edition [DVD] [1970] (DVD)
Blood on Satans Claw is a very enjoyable British horror classic. If some of your favourite films include Twins of Evil, The Wicker Man, Countess Dracula and Witchfinder General, then I think you'll want to see Blood on Satans Claw. It's a film that's more about atmosphere than plot, and it certainly does bring about some spooky and tense moments and some shocks. No one in this film is safe.
The digitally remastered DVD is excellent quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars RE: Blu-Ray, 28 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Just Brilliant. The Colours just Shine out of the Screen. The Sound Is the Original Mono recording, And Is Huge With lots of Bang for Your Buck. Voices are Held Rock Solid on the Center Speaker. And the Rest Is Nicely Ambient. There Is no 5.1 or DTS Sound on this disc. And there Should not be Ether. Everything Is as Original as can be, Given the Age of the Film. There Is no Grain on the Film That Blights most Films of this Period. The Picture transfer Is Superb. The Whole Restoration Is Fantastically Done. And the Next Best thing Is, It Is UNCUT. Just Buy and Enjoy. For anyone Making or thinking of Making a Horror Movie. Then this Is Your Benchmark. It's Got Everything. I Remember Watching this from Behind the Coach When It was First Broadcast. (My Dad Worked Nights and I stayed up to Keep Mum Company) And It has Remained a Film I have always Wanted. And Now I Own It.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but a tad too long...., 29 April 2012
By 
Tim Kidner "Hucklebrook Hound" (Salisbury, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blood On Satan's Claw - Digitally Remastered Widescreen Edition [DVD] [1970] (DVD)
I'm always saying that I'm not a true fan of horror movies but do appreciate a good shocker and that might let me off writing a decent review. But it doesn't, of course.

I saw this on The Horror Channel and I'm afraid, people, that it's not up there with 'The Wicker Man', which is a true classic, nor quite 'The Witchfinder General'. Both these others are often used as comparatives with 'Blood On...' and certainly they do have similarities; namely the folky witchcraft and devil worship deep in the quaint English (& Scottish) countryside.

Whilst The 'Wicker Man' is superbly paced and there is a real sense of menace throughout and features one of the greatest endings of all time and 'The Witchfinder...' has Vincent Price swooping around on horseback and quite a lot of juicy violence, these aspects aren't as prevalent in this film.

It's still good, of course, though the lack of star names require the actors to work a bit harder for our approval and enjoyment. Patrick Wymark and Linda Hayden are fine and play their roles with gusto and I noticed Mrs Frank Spencer (Michelle Dotrice) had a good and meaty role.

When the sinister acts do occur, they are definitely worth waiting for, with just the right amount of nudity and carnal lust, mixed in with violence and chilling ritual. If I have a gripe, it's as I said, that the pretty landscapes dominate the picture too much and the nitty-gritty take too long to come. The ending and a scene of ritualised rape in the middle were very well done and the final scene unfolded most dramatically.

All in all, a good, but not outstanding chiller, even though horror aficionados may say otherwise. I don't doubt their choice, in their eyes and it does remain one of British cinema's better horror flicks, from an admittedly chequered catalogue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One the best horror films of the 1970's, 17 Feb 2012
This review is from: Blood On Satan's Claw - Digitally Remastered Widescreen Edition [DVD] [1970] (DVD)
Produced by tigon in the early 1970's this really is a great film, not the most well known studio as hammer and amicus were the big players at the time but to their credit this film is on par with if not better than many of the films produced by the pre-mentioned studios despite the absence of big name actors like peter cushing and christopher lee but there are a couple of familiar faces namely linda hayden who appeared in the hammer film taste the blood of dracula and patrick wymark who appeared in the amicus film the skull(both excellent films by the way if you haven't seen one or other of them).As for this film, all the cast put in a great performance with the action kicking off early and continuing right the way through.Overall a well directed film with a great script and performance from all the cast and to top it all off the transfer is good.Highly recommended to any fan of classic horror
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great film and extras., 30 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Classic movie well worth the blu ray treatment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CLAW, 20 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I GIVE THIS MOVIE A GOOD RATING,ACTING WAS VERY GOOD, THE MUSIC SCORE GOOD, AND OF COURSE THE LOCATION. THEY SHOUL HAVE PUT THE DEVIL IN MORE TIMES.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Classic Horror Show, 22 Sep 2013
By 
Joseph R. Norman "bnorman" (Sugar Land, TEXAS United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
By today's standards pretty ordinary fare but for the time a real shocker with good production values for the day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews