Customer Reviews


56 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Skin Deep
Also released as Satan's Skin, Blood on Satan's Claw belongs to that small group of British films which Mark Gatiss defined as "folk horror". Its peers are 1968′s Witchfinder General and 1973′s The Wicker Man, the latter of which is probably the most well-known, with Satan's Claw coming in third. What they have in common is their strong rural flavour, setting...
Published 17 months ago by Amazon Customer

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Tigon's Talons.
Out of Tigon Productions comes Blood On Satan's Claw. Directed by Piers Haggard (who co-writes with Robert Wynne-Simmons) it stars Patrick Wymark, Linda Hayden, Barry Andrews, Michele Dotrice & Wendy Padbury. Story is set in rural 17th century England and sees a village fall under demonic possession after a living one eyed skull is unearthed by the local ploughman...
Published on 30 Jan. 2011 by Spike Owen


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superior Blu-ray transfer, 8 May 2013
By 
Robert (St. Neots, Cambs, ENGLAND United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have the DVD which Odeon Entertainment released a couple of years ago & this Blu-ray is a great improvement for PQ. Good value on extras too.
However don't pay amazon £22.50 for it (-their price as of today, 08/05/13-)! get it from sainsburysentertainment.co.uk as I did and save yourself £6.51!! Surprisingly, it says "amazon verified purchase" but I didn't buy it here! I may have bought the DVD here a while back- there is much confusion on amazon between both formats when it comes to reviews.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars stylish Tigon horror, 15 Jun. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blood On Satan's Claw - Digitally Remastered Widescreen Edition [DVD] [1970] (DVD)
I too discovered this through Mark Gatiss' recent History of Horror series on BBC4. Although I don't think it reaches the same heights as The Wicker Man, it is a really atmospheric film, beautifully and lushly filmed on it's limited budget and small set of country locations - a million miles away from some of those rather wintry-looking grey-blue Hammer exterior shots. A ploughman (Barry Andrews) turns up some half-human remains in a field and Satan soon returns to earth, manipulating and rebuilding himself predominantly through the local children and a few adults who starts to grow the patches of "Devil's Skin". It is an episodic film (disjointed to some), and I especially enjoyed the first half hour in the aunt's house - wonderfully claustrophobic stuff, making much use of low camera angles to reflect the original discovery of "the fiend"'s bones in a ploughed field and aided by a particularly solid performance from Patrick Wymark in his last film role. Good also to see James Hayter (the voice of Mr Kipling in my youth) as a pompous and dim-witted local squire, continuing that noble line that runs from Frankenstein's burgermeisters to the old fools in Herzog's remake of Nosferatu! The next half hour focusses on the effects of the evil on the local children, especially ringleader Angel Blake (a nod to the illustrations of William Blake there in the name perhaps?). She has a nude scene which for once seems totally appropriate and tasteful for a Tony Tenser production (no prudish body-stockings as in the Wicker Man!). There are some stunning images of forest and countryside here - when two boys first encounter young Cathy out picking flowers the shot is beautifully framed with flowering blackthorn or some such bush - and this section builds to the much vaunted rape (tame compared to Straw Dogs, say, but appropriate to the themes of evil awakening in these children). The film loses a little of it's narrative power from here on - maybe a constraint of the budget - and can seem a bit muddled at times. For example, the young hero suddenly gets from one spot to another at the end of the film in what seems no time at all. Also, the maid who has lost two children to the evil seems remarkably composed all things considered and wastes no time in taking in a young witch to replace her daughter. There's a tendency to develop characters in one section and then drop them later completely (the Parson, for example, and also Simon Williams' young nobleman). And I never understood where the aunt went to. But overall the film ultimately keeps on course, builds to a tense conclusion, ends abruptly with a freeze-frame as many Tigon productions do and is most definitely one of the best entries in the British horror canon. Extras include choice of original mono or Dolby 5.1, which seems to lend an eerie phasing to rainfall or strings. There's also a nice long trailer for the film, plus shorter trailers for Dr Terror's House of Horrors (starring Lee, Cushing et al, as well as Roy Castle and Alan "Fluff" Freeman (!) and one of the best horror omnibuses) and The Asphyx, which I hadnt heard of before but which looks dreadful! There's no documentary or commentrary on my copy of the DVD, but a good essay on the making of the film in the accompanying booklet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BUY IT., 13 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent transfer, stunning bluray quality. All other formats and releases have been somewhat dark. Since the first time I saw this film on television ages ago, I just assumed it was supposed to be dark, gloomy 'mood lighting' because of the subject matter. After watching this bluray, I see realistic daylight luminosity, in full sun and cloud-cover. The all-important ritual nude scene at the end of the film reveals ALL which had previously been obscured in shadow. In all other releases I have seen, VHS and DVD, the nude dancer had always been visible only in silhouette; now we see her in the flesh. I suspect this key scene was darkened intentionally in the past, so it could be broadcast on television without needing to edit out the scene entirely. Later, that darkened version found its way to almost all (if not all) subsequent VHS and DVD releases. This bluray, however, has excellent light, dark, contrast, sound and color... and all of the naughty bits, as the film makers intended. Let's face it- with a title like 'Blood on Satan's Claw, aka Satan's Skin', this is not Disney. It's a raw, moody, atmospheric, gothic horror film in the best sense of those terms. The disc comes with a fairly good set of extra features. I am extremely happy that this UK release is truly region-free. It plays on my Samsung and Phillips players in North America fine... BUY IT. WATCH IT. LOVE IT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a true vision of what people feared was real, 12 July 2010
By 
Michael Dobey (colorado springs) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blood On Satan's Claw - Digitally Remastered Widescreen Edition [DVD] [1970] (DVD)
This movie is a really good horror flick. It is very period authentic and it gives a great feel for what people really feared in those days. You can imagine that most people in villages of the late 1600's would believe that every bit of this was possible. They probably sat around and told tales just like this one. Which makes this a fantastic movie that doesn't try to be hip, it goes for a good creepy tale of horror. People were highly superstitious right up until the `1900's in most places only this tale plays it as not a village in hysteria which did happen in those very repressed days, but as a real evil lead corruption. The evil corrupts and leads people into violence ,sex and murder. In reality the hysterias would lead innocent people into getting killed by fearful people who believed stories just like this one!. Which we enjoy today as a horror movie.
That makes this story a eye opener if you watch this flick and look at it like that. I thought the acting was excellent as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Blood on Satan's Claw, 20 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blood On Satan's Claw - Digitally Remastered Widescreen Edition [DVD] [1970] (DVD)
A British horror film that I have seen translated into several foreign languages. Set in 15/16 century agricultural England, when witch craft was supposedly in its hey day
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Folk horror, 27 Feb. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blood On Satan's Claw - Digitally Remastered Widescreen Edition [DVD] [1970] (DVD)
This is arguebly the best horror film ever made. I can write lengthy reviews but is repeating what everyone else is saying if you google. Like everyone said the only negative was the devil in the finale that looked unconvincing. I think the maker of the film share that view too. It was done on a budget and special effect at the time was not good enough. I'm not one for remakes but I would support the idea of updated scenes (like they did for Star Wars episode 1-4) so that they could make the devil look more credible and update the fight scene too.
I wonder if there are additional footage that did not make the cut back then but worthy of inclusion now?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Satan's Claw, 3 May 2005
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A beautiful and atmospheric film set against a backdrop of isolation, susperstition and wild countryside. A semi-human set of remains are unearthed in a ploughed field, which set off a series of macabre goings-on between the young people of the village.
The story is very well acted, and the three characters of the Judge, Margaret and Angel are particularly effective. Presumably given an '18' certificate for one rape scene and various scenes of female nudity, the film is not as creepy as it could have been, given the story matter.
Some parts of the narrative are disjointed with some features having little or no explanation. For example, no tie-up between the frightened girl locked in the attic and subsequent discovery of her acquiring clawed hands was forthcoming, neither was the 'thing' that hid under the attic floorboards. Some actors were left hanging around, seemingly waiting for a part. The ploughed-up remains were never examined beyond the first couple of frames.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An absolute classic British horror, 20 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Always loved this film and the blu-ray version here is well worth buying. It is brilliantly filmed and takes you back to the 1700's, it just has that atmosphere to it. It has an unusual plot but Linda Hayden, Patrick Wymark and Barrie Andrews all excel. Michele Dotrice is on there as well as Tamara Ustinov and Simon Williams plus "Mr Kipling" himself.

The earlier detractors on here criticising the film need to be ignored
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Still unsettling, 11 Oct. 2009
By 
Darren Jones (Lytham St Annes, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blood On Satan's Claw - Digitally Remastered Widescreen Edition [DVD] [1970] (DVD)
One of the best British horror films, in my opinion.
Has a memorably creepy soundtrack which stayed with me for decades. Worth the price of the DVD for this alone.
Only let down is the ending, which I believe was supposed to be much more impressive but they ran out of money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Iconic 70's gem, 16 Aug. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
"Blood On Satan's Claw" is a serious, bleak, nasty and yet stylish exercise in horror, that not only marks it as one of the best British terror movies ever made, but a high point in the Horror genre as a whole.

Not only is the film at times searingly violent and cruel, but also constantly disturbing due to the fact it is children that are the sadistic murderers and perverted followers of Satan.
And it's in this depiction of childhood perversion that the film really shocks.
No other British horror movie ever came close to the uncompromisingly cruel teenage characters we are given here.

Superb performances all round with the 17 year old Linda Hayden being the stand-out.

The few faults the film has are purely cosmetic. The Devil is a nicely different, almost medieval interpretation, but is rather cheap looking and the finale is perhaps a little too low key, despite an excellent use of freeze framing.
But this is easily put into shade by the movies many triumphs.

A must see movie for any fan of British horror films, of 70's Exploitation, and of top class Horror in general.
"Blood on Satan's Claw" is a powerful, vicious exercise in fear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews