Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars24
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£10.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 March 2007
Raquel Welch has not looked better then in Hannie Caulder except possibly in 100 Rifles. Hannie Caulder is a very entertaining spaghetti western with some great turns by well know character actors including Ernest Borgnine who gives a very funny over the top performance. Again, Raquel Welch owns this film and is just incredibly sexy throughout. Christopher Lee also turns up in a nice cameo piece and even gets involved in a shootout. The bad news is that this is a very poor effort by Anchor Bay. While I'm very glad to finally have a copy of this film on DVD, the transfer is far from DVD standard. It's obvious that this is taken from a rather worn print. Some print damage is evident from time to time but not to distracting, the picture image can appear very soft in places and at times appears almost out of focus with grain apparent during some night scenes. It's not all bad though and definitely not enough that it would prevent me from enjoying the film again until a better DVD transfer comes out. If I had seen this DVD version prior to purchase I would still buy it anyway especially at the budget price it retails for. The disappointment for me is with Anchor Bay, a company I would of expected better from as I was expecting a nice crisp transfer rather than something that a lesser distributor would of put out.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2010
Christopher Lee says that this is one of his favorite roles...I guess 'cause he finally gets to play a "good guy." Unfortunately he's only in it for about 3 minutes. The bulk of this violent, revenge western is carried on the capable shoulders of the bee-yoo-tee-ful Ms. Welch -- at the peak of her career. Just don't expect much skin. Borgnine, Elam and Martin are outrageous as the murdering-raping-looting brothers. It was a bold move to humanize these monsters. The film is okay. It can't really decide if it's a comedy or a drama. The rousing title score, however, is excellent (bravo, Ken Thorne) and the photography is pretty good -- although a few too many day-for-night shots for my taste.

Now, on to the DVD. Odeon Entertainment go the old Anchor Bay disc one better by presenting the film in an enhanced-for 16:9 picture that is fine if not extraordinary. The print is speckled with lines and grit throughout although nothing too distracting. The mono audio is ok if a bit hissy. The package with it's ridiculous cover art is bare-bones as is the disc which presents the trailer as an extra. Altogether, the price is a bit steep for a Yank like myself but it played fine in my region free player. Probably the best way to view this title which is unavailable in the States as I type. Essential viewing for Raquel Welch fans...recommended with caution for Spaghetti Western fans.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2011
'Hannie Caulder' directed by Burt Kennedy in 1971 was Raquel Welch's third venture into the western genre, the first being Bandolero!, the second, 100 Rifles and trust me it is not a bad little movie.
The storyline is quite simple, raped and left for dead by three sleaze-bags Ernest Borgnine, Jack Elam and Strother Martin.
It is essentially a story of revenge with Hannie looking for the proper gun and how to handle it.

Robert Culp plays the sympathetic guardian angel to our Raquel and teaches Hannie how to shoot and dress, complete with Poncho (ring any bells?) and shoot she does with a specially designed pistol made by 'Bailey' our gunsmith, Christopher Lee in a very small guest role. The rest of the story revolves around Hannie tracking down 'dem dirty rapists' one by one.

The trailer for this movie gave the impression that it was another spaghetti western, not so, it was pure Hollywood. Watch out for a small cameo role by the great Stephen Boyd as the gunslinger in black, but doesn't utter one word.
The movie has a familiar theme and it has been done before and since. Thats not to take away from 'Hannie Caulder' as this movie can stand on its own. If you like Raquel......Then its luvley jubbley !!
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2007
You better beware because first of all this is the french version of the film (the titles at the intro are in french but the audio is in english) and though the main titles are in the original format of 2:35 the rest of the film pan and scans to a 1:85 format. There are no extras of any sort and the audio is in (bad) mono. A total waste of your money. Avoid at all costs!
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2008
HANNIE CAULDER was an international production, with funds coming from France, Spain, Britain and the USA. The result was an extremely gimmicky spaghetti western, but one of the most entertaining films ever made. The film is loaded with gunfights, chases and cliches. Raquel Welsh looks great as the home steader who is raped and let to die by bungling bandits the Clement brothers (Ernest Borgnine, Jack Elam and Strother Martin).
After enlisting the help of the bounty hunter Thomas Price (Culp) to teach her how to shoot, Hannie goes gunning for her attackers. The plot is a very conventional one that is made fresh and new by the performances of Welsh, Culp and especially Strother Martin. My main disappointment was with the disc itself. There are no extras or talent bios or even a chapter menu. Anchor Bay could have done much more.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 17 February 2014
Ah sue me! I think it's great. Raquel Welch plays Hannie Caulder, a gorgeous cowgirl who is raped and left widowed by three scuzzy brothers played by Ernest Borgnine, Strother Martin and Jack Elam. Hell bent on revenge, Hannie hooks up with smooth bounty hunter Thomas Luther Price (Robert Culp excellent), learns how to fire weapons and pursues her quarry to the day of reckoning.

That is it, it is what it is, Welch is stunningly beautiful and sexy and director Burt Kennedy wastes no opportunities to capitalise on this fact. If we are honest she's miscast, but it really doesn't matter, nor does finding Christopher Lee in the picture as a wily old gunsmith!

The mix of humour with a rape revenge storyline is a little uncomfortable at times, but not insultingly so, while Kennedy has a good eye for action. Edward Scaife photographs (Panavision) pleasingly out of Almería in Spain, and Ken Thorne's musical score trundles along without intrusion.

It's off-beat, even unique, and while it misses the chance to be a feminist Western of some standing, there's a real good time to be had here for those willing to buy into the daftness of it all. 7/10

Footnote: Unfortunately the Anchor Bay issue is a barely adequate transfer and it's in the wrong ratio.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2013
This western from the 70s is often over looked which is i feel a little unfair.The movie has a great cast that includes RA QUEL WELCH,ROBERT CULP, ERNEST BORGNINE, STROTHER MARTIN, JACK ELAM, and even CHRISTOPHER LEE. Directed by BURT KENNEDY this movie has action comedy and a love story all in the one movie.The story think of a female version of DEATH WISH but as a western.The disc itself has very nice picture and sound by the way this is the disc from AUSTRALIA and is in the right 2.35.1 format as i know this movie is out from other companys. On the extra front we get the trailer for the movie also in scope.So if you enjoy a good western give this disc a go i dont think you will be sorry you did
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2013
This film has a good story line, still a good film even after all these years.
Better than the weak sexy female lead who is just in the film for eye candy.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2010
This is an old western with a female lead actress that looks a little bit dated.
This is for people who like Raquel Welch.

You should buy the Australian Region 0 DVD from Umbrella Entertainment for transfer quality if you like this movie. The Australian classification translates into UK 15.

Make sure you watched the trailer.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2014
Again a fan of RACQUEL WELCH films and have watched this film on various Tv networks,A more serious acting role for RACQUEL WELCH because of the films content She acheives the seriousness that her role demanded very well.Again a very credible storyline.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)