Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars worked well for a bit of fun
my grand kids loved it for a bit of fun the batteries go flat quite quickly but a bit of fun
Published 13 months ago by Mr. B. Hughes

versus
15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed by size and speed
My children nagged me for some months to by this as they had seen adverts of it dashing off to hide under the sofa and running away from clapping. When they actually saw it they were disappointed.

It is much smaller than they imagined - the size of a child's palm.
It can only run on very smooth, hard surfaces and has a hard time on any carpeting...
Published on 12 Feb. 2013 by SilverFox


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed by size and speed, 12 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hexbug Hexbug Crab Electronic Toys (Toy)
My children nagged me for some months to by this as they had seen adverts of it dashing off to hide under the sofa and running away from clapping. When they actually saw it they were disappointed.

It is much smaller than they imagined - the size of a child's palm.
It can only run on very smooth, hard surfaces and has a hard time on any carpeting.
When it runs into the dark to "hide" it will stay there until light strikes it or you pick it up. Not very amusing for them once it's disappeared under the sofa!
It does change direction when you clap loudly in front of it, but that's not very amusing on its own!

I would instead recommend the Hexbug Lava - which can be set up with an obstacle course, backs away from things before it bumps into them, will work on carpet and makes an amusing wiggling motion. Or the Hexbug Nano which is tiny, but buzzes off all over the table or hard floor, buzzing through toilet rolls and round and round in circles with each other. Masses of amusement for small children and cats to watch as well!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Looks good, but the action is underwhelming, 21 Aug. 2010
By 
Dr. L. MCCAFFREY (Barnsley, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Hexbug Hexbug Crab Electronic Toys (Toy)
I bought this for my six year old, who wanted a black one specifically. Who knows why?
The Crab looks good, but makes quite a bit of mechanical noise, as if clockwork. It makes its way slowly across the floor, sometimes randomly changing directions. It does change direction on a hand-clap, about 50% of the time. When it gets to a relatively dark place, it stops moving. It seeks inactivity. My son played with it for 10 minutes and then found something more interesting, and I couldn't really blame him.
I happened to buy a proper mechanical wind-up crab for our other son, and we had just as much fun, but wih it costing £1.50. Hexcrab is great if you are interested in expensive toys - but I recommend you save your money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit fiddly., 23 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hexbug Hexbug Crab Electronic Toys (Toy)
The kids like it, but it doesn't work well half of the time. Sometimes it refuses to move at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars worked well for a bit of fun, 23 Feb. 2014
By 
Mr. B. Hughes (dorset) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
my grand kids loved it for a bit of fun the batteries go flat quite quickly but a bit of fun
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Cute crab, 10 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hexbug Hexbug Crab Electronic Toys (Toy)
Really moves like a crab. My son is a bit unsure of it but he'll get to like it I'm sure as he is fascinated by crabs. Is quite life-like.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good product, 11 Dec. 2009
By 
B. Khan (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Hexbug Hexbug Crab Electronic Toys (Toy)
If you like crabs, you'll like this product. We've had it for over a couple of months now and it's still working well and enjoyed by my 4year old son.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Product but beware they come from Switzerland !!!, 30 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hexbug Hexbug Crab Electronic Toys (Toy)
I have given the Hexbug Crab Electronic Toys only 3 stars as the box arrived from Switzerland damaged ! The reason for the damaged box was that it was opened by customs and had a sticker on the box from Switzerland saying "maybe opened officially".
It was taped with security tape and I felt sure the items would be damaged. However, the great packaging that Hexbug toys have had protected them so all is okay.
They arrived on time and look cute and my grandsons will, I know, love them. Had the box not had such damage and security tape I would have given them 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Failed within hours and it is not batteries, 23 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hexbug Hexbug Crab Electronic Toys (Toy)
This item arrived in good time and was enjoyed by my grandson, but for only 2 hours, then it failed to work at all. replacing the batteries made no difference. Waste of money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 25 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hexbug Hexbug Crab Electronic Toys (Toy)
Excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hexbug Crab, 6 Sept. 2012
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hexbug Hexbug Crab Electronic Toys (Toy)
This toy is a good educational gift which is durable. I recommend this as a cheap toy to get your children interested in robotics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hexbug Hexbug Crab Electronic Toys
£9.12
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews