Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Serendipity!
Somebody thinks that classical music is... hem... not properly boring, but ground for intellectual and refined tastes, not viable for amusement.
Well, this selection from Monteverdi is exactly "fun music". Not trivial, but absolutely entrancing and also, yes, intellectually ravishing.
It is a charming challenge listening Monteverdi mixed up in jazz sonorities,...
Published on 11 Sept. 2012 by Mordrain

versus
2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This is an annoying recording. The world (and especially this section of ...
This is an annoying recording. The world (and especially this section of reviews) is full of gratuitous enthusiasm whenever musical styles get 'fused'. As if, in this modern/post-modern age, any act of artistic creation that blends chopped-up elements of different styles is somehow, a priori, to be slavishly enthused over. I do not agree. I believe every musical style has...
Published 6 months ago by Steve Duke


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Serendipity!, 11 Sept. 2012
By 
Mordrain (Milan, Italy) - See all my reviews
Somebody thinks that classical music is... hem... not properly boring, but ground for intellectual and refined tastes, not viable for amusement.
Well, this selection from Monteverdi is exactly "fun music". Not trivial, but absolutely entrancing and also, yes, intellectually ravishing.
It is a charming challenge listening Monteverdi mixed up in jazz sonorities, sung by a countertenor and discovering that it is something absolutely harmonious and that perfectly fits in the listener's ear!
Arpeggiata's members have an absolute maitrise of their art and give in this CD a great example of a lively performance. The singers also are at ease with this repertoire; they approach Monteverdi's pieces not in an operatic way, that would be maybe too stiff and bombastic, but in an intimate, soft, sometimes even ironic way that perfectly fits this repertoire.
Most of all, I appreciated Jaroussky. I have never been fond of countertenor: their sonority was always poor in my ear, a little rigid, and bereft of nuances; muuuuch better Marilyn Horne or Cecilia Bartoli! This was before I listened to Jaroussky, that maybe has not a great power in his strings, but has a so tender, nuanced, allusive voice, that finally I found a meaning in countertenor vocality! Now, in this CD at least two pieces are a wonderful exemple of his interpretative art: Ohimè, ch'io cado (so full of irony!) and Pur ti miro (tender, intimate, allusive). Just these two pieces would be worth the whole CD's purchase.

Try it, at least the preview offered by Amazon, it is really a refreshing musical experience!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have disc, 24 Jan. 2009
By 
Mr. C. G. Veitch (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As someone who really enjoys L'Arpeggiata's performances, this is a disc which does not disappoint. I simply love the interpretation of 'Chiome d'oro', really refreshing and one of my favourite pieces of Monteverdi, 'Zefiro Torna' it really swings along very nicely. If you have not discovered L'Arpeggiata's music, this would be a good place to start. My one regret is that Virgin failed to think that we in the UK would not want or enjoy a DVD that comes as a limited edition in France, I would love to see that!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Jazz influence over-stated, 31 Aug. 2010
By 
Ian Thumwood "ian17577" (Winchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love L'arpeggiata and applaud Christina Pluhar's efforts to endeavour to make 16th and 17th Century music sound vibrant and relevant. Part of the appeal is to rescue obscure material and through a combination of diligent research and original presentation produce recordings that are both scholarly and infectious to listen to. Generally, they play music that makes you want to dance. The "All improviso", "Los impossibles" and the Tarantella CD's are rarely off my player and the chance to hear Monteverdi given a more infectious spinning was too compelling to pass.

As ever , the playing sounds exceptional and this is probably the largest L'Apreggiata ensemble on any of the four groups that I have in my collection. There are moments where the music generates a jaunty swing such as the second track (which even features subtle brush work from a precussionist and some pithy , trumpet interjections) and the wonderful "Chiome d'oro," yet most of this record seems pretty straight forward and probably loyal to the composer's intentions. As good as this music is, this CD lacks the appeal of their other records I have heard and the jazz influence is nowhere near as obvious as the "All improviso" record which benefits from the inclusion of Italian jazz clarinetist Gianluigi Trovesi amongst it's ranks nor on some of the "Los impossibles" tracks which even conjure up similarities with Bossa Nova, not to mention the inclusion of Juan Tizol's "Caravan" (written for Duke Ellington's orchestra) that was arranged by CP. Examples of the walking bass lines identified in some of the other reviews are also more obvious on the other recordings. To my ears, these reservations are largely contributable to the material which only yields it's pleasures after repeated listening as opposed to the physical clout that marks the group's other records. Monteverdi's music has accumulated more respect over the years than some of his contemporaries and there is a degree of reverence in these performances that means the high spirits of the earlier records is lacking. Notwithstanding, the CD is still hugely enjoyable and well recommended to fans of Chistina Pluhar's group. Newcomers should try some of the earlier discs first which I would consider to be essential listening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Monteverdi invented jazz!, 15 Jun. 2009
By 
Mr. R. Wickremasinghe "Stan the eclectic" (Hampstead, London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Monteverdi - Teatro d'Amore [Includes 44 Page Booklet]
For the most part, this is CD is straightforward Monteverdi, beautifully and energetically performed on period instruments. But watch out for track 2- a surprise awaits, based on the idea that walking bass lines, as used in Jazz, were common in Monteverdi's writing. It actually took me a while to twig what was going on! Purists may hate the liberties taken, but come on! Claudio himself would have approved heartily, I am sure!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exceptionally good playing by L'Arpeggiata Early Music Group and Singers, 19 Dec. 2009
By 
David C. Starr "Ringo" (Brisbane, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Teatro d'Amore by L'Arpeggiata, Christine Pluhar and Phillipe Jaroussky is one of the best early music recordings I have heard. The playing and singing is exceptionally good, and brings out the brilliance and intensity of Monteverdi's music. The wind players are unbelievably good on instruments with no valves, as is the continuo playing by Christine Pluhar. The singing is divine (particularly the duet from Poppea). Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Irresistible, 28 Aug. 2009
Quite simply these performances are life-enhancing, musicologically both respectful of the spirit and appropriately disrespectful of the letter.
I challenge any listener not to smile, dance and prick up your ears; this is worth hearing again and again.
We should be grateful for performances like these.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars monteverdi teatro d'amore, 12 April 2009
This review is from: Monteverdi: Teatro D'Amore (MP3 Download)
A stunning collection of songs. Some vibrant voices with unfamiliar and exciting arrangements of these Monteverdi songs. A favourite on my ipod!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marvellous Monteverdi, 1 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
How glad I am to have discovered this wonderful ensemble. This recording is full of beautiful things, especially the exquisite duet from 'Poppaea'. No, not just that... all of it! Buy without hesitation, and revel in an hour of joyful, glorious music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My favorite Monteverdi..., 25 Jun. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Opens with the feastly short "Tocata" which sets the tone
"Ohime ch'io cado" is great because it had some modern jazzy ring to it-without being too obvious- which is a courageous thing to do
Some highlights are "Amor" "Si dolce è 'l tormento" the craving "Pur ti Miro"
I also love the voices of Philippe Jaroussky and Nuria Real
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 8 May 2014
By 
M. Axworthy (Cheltenham UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is probably the best disc I've ever bought in over 40 years of record collecting, an absolute knock-out from start to finish, I had no idea Monteverdi was this good. A revelation. Absolutely wonderful performances from L'Arpeggiata and Christina Pluhar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Monteverdi: Teatro D'Amore
Monteverdi: Teatro D'Amore by Christina Pluhar/L'Arpeggiata
Buy MP3 Album£7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews