Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A truly great soundtrack
My dad was a big fan of Isaac Hayes and indeed a lot of the other Stax artists, as a result, I grew up listening to a lot of music from the Stax label.

So far as Isaac Hayes is concerned and film soundtracks, this really is worth buying. Isaac Hayes shows the depth of his creativity by producing an original soundtrack that has everything in it...vocals,...
Published on 16 Jun 2008 by Cosmic

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bad MP3 format
Avoid this as an MP3 download. I bought this and most of the tracks have the first few seconds missing. Fair play to Amazon who refunded me the cost of the download but avoid this version for the time being. It's still an amazing album though - 5 stars for the music.
Published on 10 May 2011 by M. Blunden


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A truly great soundtrack, 16 Jun 2008
By 
Cosmic (London, UK) - See all my reviews
My dad was a big fan of Isaac Hayes and indeed a lot of the other Stax artists, as a result, I grew up listening to a lot of music from the Stax label.

So far as Isaac Hayes is concerned and film soundtracks, this really is worth buying. Isaac Hayes shows the depth of his creativity by producing an original soundtrack that has everything in it...vocals, instrumentals, lots of strings, horns, excellant rhythym section etc.etc.

Most people will be aware of the 1st track 'The Theme from Shaft' but all the others are great as well. My particular faves include 'Soulsville', 'No Name Bar' and 'Bumpy's Lament' which specifically has been sampled/copied by numerous other rnb and rap artists.

Overall, it's a masterpiece and thoroughly deserving of its Oscar. As for the film........well the less said about that the better!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is the one to get!, 5 Aug 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shaft (Audio CD)
I bought the 'Expanded Edition' of this brilliant soundtrack but as another reviewer said there was virtually no bass on it so I returned it. I bought this one instead and to me it sounds great, just as it should. I'd recommend buying this one and avoiding the 'Expanded Edition. Incidentally, 'Do Your Thing' on this release is the full 19 minute version so it's all good (and you get spared the pointless 2009 remix as well).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not many soundtracks come hotter than this!, 27 Jan 2000
By A Customer
Isaac Hayes once again works his musical genious to produce a soundtrack that is second to none. The best known track is the "theme from shaft", but the others are all equally enjoyable. Definitly money well spent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars no one quite like him, 4 Feb 2010
By 
S. sharp "serenity" (london, Great Britain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Isaac Hayes delivers everything I could ever ask for in music. His combination of sultry soul, slick jazz sounds, cool husky voice transport me to another realm of being. I have every intention of collecting all the albums. The "Shaft" is one of his best. My favourite track is 'Soulsville', though all the others are close to perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Shafted, 4 Feb 2009
By 
Mrs. Rosemary A. Lordan (Brittany - France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Anyone over 40 years old will just adore this music as it brings back memories of ones youth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wasted on the movie, 12 Dec 2006
By 
Julian Stevens (BRISTOL, UK United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
One of my most listened to albums and still absolutely ace after all these years. It's miles better than the dull, dated and cliché-riddled movie for which it was written and was, apparently, the first soundtrack album to be more successful than the movie. The title track features that widely-known definitive wucka wucka electric guitar, with a fab recording too, at Stax Studios down in Memphis, and all written when he was only 28. Tracks such as Soulsville are just absolutely dripping with cool (man), whilst Cafe Regio's is an utter classic of its genre.

Mr Hayes produced and arranged everything (brilliantly), whilst the guest musicians include Lester Snell (electric piano), James Alexander (electric bass), Michael Toles and Charles Pitts (guitars ~ and many of the guitar passages are absolutely masterful), Willie Hall (drums & tamborine) and Gary Jones (bongos and congas). The brass section on a few tracks is ace as well, though who the musicians were isn't credited.

Side 4's 19'38" Do Your Thing wasn't in the movie at all, but somehow it's still an essential element of the album, criminally cut to a quarter of its original length for the otherwise excellent 24 bit DR edition on the Zyx label, almost certainly to accommodate the multi-media photos, artist info and video track stuck on at the end ~ which are okay, but certainly not worth what had to be sacrificed to make way for them.

The sound quality of the 2010 "expanded" edition, including Do Your Thing in its entirety, is a different remaster and the worst I've ever heard, so don't even consider buying that one.

But then, reggaedefender pointed me in the direction of a Stax reissue of Joe Tarantino's remaster, this one without all that spurious video footage and Do Your Thing in its full 19'38" glory ~ so that, without doubt, is the one to get (No. 0025218880220). It even has exactly the same jewel case insert as the Zyx edition (which states the running time of Do Your Thing to be 19'38", even though it plainly isn't). By comparison, the non-DR edition lacks detail, freshness and dynamics and, for a masterwork such as this, you really don't want to forego any of those qualities.

Interestingly (or, to some, perhaps not) a direct A:B comparison between the Zyx and Stax issues of Joe Tarantino's remaster reveals subtle differences in presentation and resolution, in part because each has been encoded at different levels (the Stax one is lower), and I marginally prefer the Zyx one. But there isn't much in it and the latest Stax reissue is without doubt the one to go for.

It's funny, but to this day I've never managed to hear more than the odd track from any other of his albums, except for Hot Buttered Soul which didn't inspire me at all (though Live At The Sahara Tahoe is reportedly very good). Somehow, none could ever measure up to this one. Shaft is a true and enduring classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ageless, 23 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shaft (MP3 Download)
briiliant album! i've got this on vinyl but not played it for years. downloaded the mp3 and it's hardly been off since, early jazz funk? easy listening and very hummable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Memories, 22 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
what can I say, anyone a teenager in the 70s cannot forget our man Richard Roundtree as Shaft. He was a bad mother..... Fantastic tracks, great musicians, this is when people actually played instruments. One to keep playing over and over
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Hey baby Feel The Shaft, 15 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What a quality truly seminal classic album. Great listings and cool songs encapsulating a true 70s vibe. Repeatedly played in my vehicle what cool driving tunes to 70s heaven.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Shaft: Original Soundtrack, 12 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this for a friend who loves this but does not have a copy so got as a present. he'll love it as much as I do, you can't beat Issac Hayes music, funky and brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Shaft
Shaft by Isaac Hayes
Buy MP3 Album3.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews