Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not immediate, but give it a chance. It deserves it!
Like many ambient music artists Plaid require the listerner to be open minded about their work. Compared to 'Not for threes' and the new album this comes out on top. After a few spins you soon apreciate the subtlty of the music. You start detecting the beautiful melodies lying discreetly beneath the complex and often syncopated rhythms. The album is varied and...
Published on 12 July 2001

versus
4 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit hit-and-miss
There's certainly a great deal of variety on Rest Proof Clockwork, perhaps too much. On some of the mellower tracks (convieniently clustered together, tracks 2, 4-8) Plaid display their grasp of subtle musical dynamics and at the same time create som very ear-friendly pieces, while at other times (pretty much from track 9 onwards) they're just plain crap, experimenting...
Published on 20 Nov 1999


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not immediate, but give it a chance. It deserves it!, 12 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Rest Proof Clockwork (Audio CD)
Like many ambient music artists Plaid require the listerner to be open minded about their work. Compared to 'Not for threes' and the new album this comes out on top. After a few spins you soon apreciate the subtlty of the music. You start detecting the beautiful melodies lying discreetly beneath the complex and often syncopated rhythms. The album is varied and intelligently put together. A great chilling out album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 95% excellent!!!, 6 Aug 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Rest Proof Clockwork (Audio CD)
This is one of their best!
This is where Plaid really shine in their own crazy genre.
The album is a perfect variety of mellow, beautiful, fun, fast, manic, friendly, intelligent, interesting electronica that after years of listening, still amazes me to this day. They somehow manage to layer what sounds like random melodies and blend them into amazingly coherent soundscapes!
Its also one of those rare albums of which I love every single tune (except maybe for the hidden track on the last track)
Its an aqcuired taste, but its well worth getting familiar with!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pleasantly different, 16 April 2006
By 
Ben Mccann - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rest Proof Clockwork (Audio CD)
If you like Plaid, and IDM in general, then you might be a little confused at first upon listening to this lovely little gem. The reviews claiming its godlyness are somewhat misleading, but that doesnt mean it isnt a brilliant album, far from it. This is Plaid in a more laid back, less eccentric mode, things like their standout album "Not For Threes" are a lot more varied and meant to be listened -to- as opposed to sunk into. This album is the latter, i had it a while back as i was first appreciating Plaid's intelligent and odd music, and to be fair i didnt get it at the time, but now..craving more of that music i used to adore so much, i've given it another chance, and it really has won me over.

It's a collection of understated and relaxed beats with naturalistic sounds and plinky plonk xylophone style percussion, blended into a trip-hoppy sound with an unmistakeable Plaid personality. It works, there are few "standout" tracks, which serves to make it very addictive, because you're not constantly aware of where you are in the album, and theres always something new to hear besides your "favourite bit", there are however some brilliant tracks which pick up the pace.

All in all, it's a great album to relax to, at very high volume, since it is never jarring or noisy, but it is always interesting and clever, something that is best appreciated by someone in a thoughtful and relaxed mood.

Add it to your Plaid collection with pride, these guys make flawless music of a very unique kind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars On my stereo all the time at the moment!, 20 Jun 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Rest Proof Clockwork (Audio CD)
This one is great for listening to on the train, in the bath, while having a barbecue, doing the washing up, fiddling around inside a computer whilst choking down noxious fumes. I didn't like it much when I first bought it, but about five times in I was hooked. It has variety, moves from fast to slow, and has some melodic qualities. If you like noise music you will enjoy this, maybe not the first play, but it is great music to accompany many activities.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Plaid spanning genres and sounds with ease, 10 Feb 2005
By 
Simon J. Whight "fourfourfun" (Manchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rest Proof Clockwork (Audio CD)
This was at one time never out of my CD player, my favourite album out of the Plaid/Black Dog works and only recently having to share a pedestal with Boards Of Canada. Its genreless, beautiful if melancholic electronic soundscapes drawing on musical inspirations from electro and scratchy hip-hop as heard on the opening track Shakbu to the full orchestral classical inspirations as heard on the spine tingler of a track Dead Sea.
Its a joyous combination of electronic and organic sounds with structures spanning ideas from music through the centuries and happy to jump from hip hop beats to ambience and 3/4 time signatures at will. If you're a Boards Of Canada fan and are looking to branch out, you'll be right at home here. Less hypnotic and grainy hip hop influenced but those gorgeous electronic melodies will sound just right to your ears.
Sometimes it offers music to reflect to, other times I find it gives me a beaming smile and a bounce in my step ... especially as the crazy electric Bossa Nova of New Bass Hippo kicks in.
Plaid definately putting the 'Intelligent' in IDM, probably the best of their standalone offerings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ambient techno meets Japanese RPG, 24 Sep 2001
This review is from: Rest Proof Clockwork (Audio CD)
So, there I was, just beginning to get in to the whole intriguing Ambient/Techno-type scene: it all seemed nice enough. By chance, I was also playing old RPG classics such as SNES Zelda and Secret of Mana. Then I heard this album... Wow! Others may disagree, but for me this is a stunningly worked blend of the usual Plaid pleasantness together with the plot, variety and joy of a classic RPG score. The album is so well put together that you could write a whole story to go with it. (In fact, I did.) Buy this album to help you get up in the morning, to feel that retro-gaming zing, and to convince your parents that not all modern music is unpleasant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars absolute genius, 23 Jan 2008
This review is from: Rest Proof Clockwork (Audio CD)
this is deffo in my top 5 albums of all time... it's superb... buy it !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit hit-and-miss, 20 Nov 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Rest Proof Clockwork (Audio CD)
There's certainly a great deal of variety on Rest Proof Clockwork, perhaps too much. On some of the mellower tracks (convieniently clustered together, tracks 2, 4-8) Plaid display their grasp of subtle musical dynamics and at the same time create som very ear-friendly pieces, while at other times (pretty much from track 9 onwards) they're just plain crap, experimenting with the sort of mid-80s techno that everyone else gave up in, well, the mid-80s. It's not all bleak for Plaid though, they did a corking remix of an Autechre track for Warp's tenth anniversary albums, but they could do with mellowing out a little more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews