Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ballihoo standard syphon
This standard syphon you must have in your kitchen cupboard. It is used for transferring your home brew or wine from your fermenting bucket to your final bottles and then capping off with either screw to or twist of tops. Its great when you finally get to this stage, then you can start to count when the correct date for the great nectar. This is a must and you should keep...
Published 15 months ago by D.H. Stanford

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could have been much better
The rigid straight bit that goes in the wine to be siphoned is a great idea. It can be seated almost on top of the sediment and, because it takes the liquid in from the top, is very good at getting as much out as possible without it being all cloudy. However, the clip is worse than useless. It is almost impossible to keep hold of the bit that is in the fermenter and...
Published 18 months ago by Eleni


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could have been much better, 9 Jun 2013
By 
Eleni (Middlesex, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Home Brew & Wine Making - Balliihoo® Standard Syphon (Kitchen & Home)
The rigid straight bit that goes in the wine to be siphoned is a great idea. It can be seated almost on top of the sediment and, because it takes the liquid in from the top, is very good at getting as much out as possible without it being all cloudy. However, the clip is worse than useless. It is almost impossible to keep hold of the bit that is in the fermenter and then close the clip when a bottle is full. Even when closed it doesn't really stop the flow. A simple TAP (readily available from most places for about 99p) saves a lot of trouble and mess. I just don't understand why Ballihoo don't use them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ballihoo standard syphon, 6 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Home Brew & Wine Making - Balliihoo® Standard Syphon (Kitchen & Home)
This standard syphon you must have in your kitchen cupboard. It is used for transferring your home brew or wine from your fermenting bucket to your final bottles and then capping off with either screw to or twist of tops. Its great when you finally get to this stage, then you can start to count when the correct date for the great nectar. This is a must and you should keep several of these handy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars essential item, 15 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Home Brew & Wine Making - Balliihoo® Standard Syphon (Kitchen & Home)
This item is well designed and is very suitable for the task. Remember to keep the filter base well clear of the sediment in the bottom of the jar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Honest and strong, 31 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Home Brew & Wine Making - Balliihoo® Standard Syphon (Kitchen & Home)
This does what is says on the tin. Perfect for hand bottling beer. This product also was strong enough that i didnt feel like it was going to break.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Does the job, 2 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Home Brew & Wine Making - Balliihoo® Standard Syphon (Kitchen & Home)
Does just what is expected of it. Well constructed and syphons wine well. Tap can be a little tricky to get used to though, but works well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Does the job, I like the cut off clip, 24 Nov 2013
By 
T. Knight (Oxford UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Home Brew & Wine Making - Balliihoo® Standard Syphon (Kitchen & Home)
Not a complicated piece of kit..does the job as expected, I find the cut off clip very useful...it can be operated with one hand easily and makes for a lot less spills etc..very useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not used yet, 10 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Home Brew & Wine Making - Balliihoo® Standard Syphon (Kitchen & Home)
Good quality hose and moulded plastic. Looks like it will do the job and for a fraction of what I would. Have paid in my local homebrew shop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars tube worm, 7 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Home Brew & Wine Making - Balliihoo® Standard Syphon (Kitchen & Home)
never really got used to having a long length of wily tubing-i would have thought there would be a modern 'gadget' for siphoning-if there is then i must be a bit blind or naive-however-like the straining bags-it belongs in your box of 'stuff' and the annoying thing is you always need it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Simple and effective, 23 Oct 2012
By 
Dr. H. Payne - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Home Brew & Wine Making - Balliihoo® Standard Syphon (Kitchen & Home)
There are three parts to this syphon. There is the clear plastic tube one end of which you place in your liquid, the other you suck the liquid through. Next there is a small but effective clip which you clamp down to stop the liquid rushing out the sucking end. I thought this was especially helpful. We are making mead which will be fermenting and maturing over a full year or more. I didn't think it was especially hygenic to place the sucked end of tubing into the mead bucket. Having the clip allows you time to clean it up a bit. The final part is a rigid piece of plastic with a filter on the end. My other half told me that this device is to minimise air entering the filtered liquid at the other end.

It worked well. As predictably difficult to clean afterwards as you may expect, but a good product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant bucket , great price., 30 Aug 2012
This review is from: Home Brew & Wine Making - Balliihoo® Standard Syphon (Kitchen & Home)
Really pleased with the bucket, arrived quickly which was great as I really needed it for my wine making
The price was really good as well and I can highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews