Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Soulful "Boot"
Nightmares on Wax is one of those legendary one-man bands who crop up every now and then (also known as George Evelyn, but that doesn't sound as cool). Even the "merely good" work by people such as he is astounding, inventive and really fun.

And "Carboot Soul," his third album, is no exception: it's an amazing mixture of chillout electronica and acid...
Published on 18 Jan 2006 by E. A Solinas

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Worth having ...
This album has grown on me. Initially I was pretty disapointed, but the more I listen to it the more I find I appreciate its delicate and smooth qualities. It makes ideal background music. I hadn't even heard of Nightmares on Wax before making this purchase - it was the price and customer reviews that instigated my risk buy. I have no regrets now. Its neither...
Published on 25 Jun 2000


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Soulful "Boot", 18 Jan 2006
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Car Boot Soul (Audio CD)
Nightmares on Wax is one of those legendary one-man bands who crop up every now and then (also known as George Evelyn, but that doesn't sound as cool). Even the "merely good" work by people such as he is astounding, inventive and really fun.

And "Carboot Soul," his third album, is no exception: it's an amazing mixture of chillout electronica and acid jazz. It's a bit less hazy than his 1995 "Smoker's Delight," but that isn't surprising -- here Evelyn pulls on various influences to flavour his music. The title fits this album: it's soulful, yet it has as many influences as a "carboot" rummage sale.

It begins on a symphonic note in the epic "Les nuits," which seems to herald a new music direction. Don't be deceived. The symphonic build-up leads to funky grooves and jazzy flavours in "Morse," which continues to the brassy "Easejimi," the mellow murmurs of "Finer," and the wonderfully peculiar "Argha Noah." Say that last title out loud, and you'll understand the joke.

But there is a slightly more delicate style near the end, when Evelyn switches to the gently rippling guitar of "Fire in the Middle," the melancholy acid jazz of "Survival," and the eerier, more symphonic sound of "Capumcap." Evelyn ends the album on a high note, with those sensitive, lower-key songs.

It's hard to find groups as good as Nightmares on Wax -- scour the top hundreds, and you won't find anything like this. I personally found "Carboot Soul" in a tiny hole-in-the-wall music store, in the "used" bin, although it's hard to imagine why anyone would discard an album like this.

Despite the chillout label, Evelyn's music has a sort of relaxed warmth that counterpoints the icy sound of many other bands. He also has a good ear for samples and beats, lacing them with razor-sharp drums and some wonderful brass instrumentation. Sara Winton's rich voice is used well, crooning, "A bottle like a model shipwreck/where did it come from?/Where will it go?/A face without a name/survival..."

"Carboot Soul" is another triumph by Nightmares on Wax, and another wonderful display of George Evelyn's considerable talents. An absolute joy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars divine sounds, 22 Sep 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Car Boot Soul (Audio CD)
Along with Global Communication's '76:14', this album is arguably a contender for the greatest chill-out album ever made. After a few listens the mesmerising tunes have found a way to your heart and you will wonder how you ever managed without them.
As the title suggests George 'EASE' Evelyn has trawled through hundreds of old records to find the samples he uses to construct the gorgeous soundscapes of this album. Highlights are too many too mention, but suffice to say that this album transcends musical boundaries and tastes - I've yet to find a single person who hasn't fallen in love with this album upon hearing it.
Oh and I'm not some obsessive fan writing to heap praise on an idols latest offering - my musical tastes range from hip-hop to techno to rock.... This album however has earned each and every one of it's five stars. As the saying goes, if you only buy one album this year, buy this one and let the love affair begin...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful chilled-out sounds for a summer evening, 8 Jan 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Car Boot Soul (Audio CD)
This is a stunning album of relaxed, chilled out songs. You don't need to be into any particular type of music to appreciate this - classicists to hip-hop heads will enjoy. Unreservedly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly chilled and funky album, 13 Oct 2001
By 
C. Warren "claire_warren" (Sydney, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Car Boot Soul (Audio CD)
Everyone had been waxing lyrical (ha ha, it wasn't intended honestly!) about Nightmares on Wax and told me this album was FAB. I had to check it out for myself and they were right. Les Nuits is a fantastic opening and you think it can't get any better after that. You are wrong. Finer is great too, not saying the other tracks aren't but that's what's playing on my CD player at the moment. I could talk about all the tracks being amazing on this album but I'd be here all day. This album redefines chillout. It's funky and laidback like no other. It's an asset to my collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deliciously relaxing, rather mind-altering..., 1 Mar 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Car Boot Soul (Audio CD)
This album is an absolute dream. Lazy, sexy hip hop beats are accompanied with some mouth-wateringly funky hooks, lush, juicy basslines and lovely strings and brass - mmmmmmm!
It makes a fantastic alternative to drugs, as all the stresses just melt away as soon as it comes booming out of the speakers.
The tunes are mostly instrumentals, but there are one or two vocal tracks on there and a few sampled bits and pieces.
It could be argued that it is simply background music, but I always like to crank up the volume and let its warmth flood into the room like sunshine.
Gorgeous, gorgeous, gorgeous, I keep coming back to it time and again, and so will you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sublime sounds to surrender to!, 3 Sep 2001
By 
timheidi@nutshell.net (Macclesfield, Cheshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Car Boot Soul (Audio CD)
There are very few compositions that grab you by the throat & make you love them...but this is one. I cannot fault this album. I cannot stop listening to this album - and unlike the hoards desperately clamouring to claim the 'chilled' crown, Car Boot Soul was born to it. Think iced coffee on a balmy summers afternoon...people, this is almost perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a cool CD!, 6 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Car Boot Soul (Audio CD)
Just the music for a chilled out summer evening. Massive beats, subtle vocals and influences from all over the place make this an album to own and savour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars much much more than chill out -, 7 Mar 2001
This review is from: Carboot Soul (Audio CD)
Nightmares on Wax have achieved a materpiece on this album, soulful, blissful grooves that re-energize not patronize. Sick of 'porcelain'? Someone tring to shove David Gray down your throat? get real, get this album, tell everyone else, or keep it secret, like me! Start to finish it melts like nothing else ive heard, chilling voices, cinemascope strings pinned to Amsterdam Coffe Bar hip hop/ jazzy groves. I love this record, you will not be disapointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Essential, 13 July 2011
This review is from: Car Boot Soul (Audio CD)
I first heard Nightmares On Wax on MTV, no less, a couple of years ago. Les Nuits came on while my brother and I were browsing the music channels and I was transfixed - it became one of my favourite songs in an instant.

I finally got around to purchasing the album and I was not disappointed at all. This album is brilliant for watching the sunset on a Saturday evening or... well, any other evening for that matter.

If you're looking for chilled out music, look no further.
If you're looking for great music, look no further.

I would recommend this album to total strangers and I can absolutely guarantee that everybody you know will like something from this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Must Have Album, 22 Jun 2008
By 
K. Wilcox "Kat" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Car Boot Soul (Audio CD)
I couldn't bring myself to give this 5 stars despite feeling it definitely is one of those must have albums. Funky, down-tempo and perfect for lounging and entertaining as its extremely inoffensive to the ears. just downright soothing, will have you horizontal in no time. It's not a perfect album but should be in everyones music collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Carboot Soul
Carboot Soul by Nightmares On Wax
Buy MP3 Album7.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews