Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Find it; play it. Don't keep it hid!
On a break from his regular gig - as half of the Black Keys - Dan Auerbach has made a real gem of a record. Deliberately low-fi it may be, sounding like it was recorded in your neighbour's garage, it swings and sways delightfully: it sounds wonderful.
"Keep It Hid" is a storming mix of southern gothic soul channelled through Tom Waits side-by-side with some fragilely...
Published on 2 Mar 2009 by Tiernan Henry

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Keep it Hid
I bought this with high hopes. Decidely average in my opinion compared to Black Keys stuff generally.
Published 5 months ago by Alan S. Waldron


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Find it; play it. Don't keep it hid!, 2 Mar 2009
By 
Tiernan Henry (Galway, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Keep It Hid (Audio CD)
On a break from his regular gig - as half of the Black Keys - Dan Auerbach has made a real gem of a record. Deliberately low-fi it may be, sounding like it was recorded in your neighbour's garage, it swings and sways delightfully: it sounds wonderful.
"Keep It Hid" is a storming mix of southern gothic soul channelled through Tom Waits side-by-side with some fragilely whispered songs that have more than a whiff of Fleet Foxes or the more angelic leanings of My Morning Jacket about them. So there you have it: fuzzed up guitars and drums that sound as if they are being played standing up (listen to the prowling, stomping beat of "I Want Some More" to see what I mean), delicious soul-flecked sing-alongs ("Real Desire") and a band that seems to have absorbed the Stax vibe, more than a hint of Creedence and the Allmans and the heft of the Band in full tilt. Auerbach leavens all this rock'n'soul with some gorgeous ballads ("When The Night Comes") that shows off his gentler side. Of course, he follows this with a full on Mean Monsoon that sounds like the soundtrack to an impending hurricane, all bruised skies, rain pounding on tin roofs and a band that just won't quit.
It won't change the world, it won't provide any answers to any of the big questions - other than "Yes, I would like to dance" - but it will leave you in a great mood and it will raise your spirits as only dirty down-low rock and roll can.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Somewhere between Tom Waits and J J Cale, 5 April 2009
By 
KalteStern (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Keep It Hid (Audio CD)
Low down, guitar-led swamp rock, with vocals that match old Tom for sheer gruffness at times.
Polished, over-produced and sleek - no
Lo-fi, rhythmic, melodic, heart of rock'n' roll/boogie/R'n'B - yes!
'I want more'.... !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it, turn it up loud and enjoy!, 15 May 2009
This review is from: Keep It Hid (Audio CD)
Brilliantly crafted album by one half of the Black Keys. A must for fans of blues and rock. Saw him live at the Islington Academy with his band the fast five band and what a show! Buy it, turn it up loud and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rare greatness, 3 Sep 2009
By 
Sean (Liverpool) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Keep It Hid (Audio CD)
When buying a solo CD of a 2 man group its always a wonder if you will notice the difference. It is not the case here. After a few listens you realise that the softness and rawness that Dan Auerbach can produce does not always require the spitfire drums of Patrick Carney. That it can excel on its own. As other reviewers have stated; "Don't keep it hid", heed their advice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice sound, 31 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Keep It Hid (Audio CD)
This is a strong album, almost great, but let down by a couple of average tracks. However the songs that are great, deliver nice 70s sounding guitar riffs, strong vocals & a garage / live feel to the album. Definitely worth a purchase if you are a fan of the Black Keys or like older 70s sounding garage bands.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent debut solo album!, 4 Mar 2012
This review is from: Keep It Hid (Audio CD)
Absolutely diamond album! If you like the black keys you'll definitely love this solo album by Dan Auerbach. I'd recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Keep it Hid, 6 July 2014
By 
Alan S. Waldron "dustbowlsinger" (Norwich, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Keep It Hid (Audio CD)
I bought this with high hopes. Decidely average in my opinion compared to Black Keys stuff generally.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great album, 30 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Keep It Hid (Audio CD)
bought this as a big fan of the black keys,i was not dissapointed not as full on as b,k,a little more laid back,love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 2 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Keep It Hid (Audio CD)
A must have for any Black Keys fan. Dan Auerbach has an amazing sound. The lyrics on this album are SO good. This is one of my top 5 favourite albums of all time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars New one on me!, 9 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Keep It Hid (Audio CD)
This was recommended by my stepson who is really a fan. After listening to this I now know why - add me to Dan's list of fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Keep It Hid
Keep It Hid by Dan Auerbach (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews