Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best albums of 2001
I do not see how Basement Jaxx was able to combine so many music styles into one album, and then make it all sound so great! They did it in "Remedy", and again in "Rooty". This is one of the few albums that I own in which I actually listen to every song. It is impossible to label one specific track as my favourite, as all of them are superb. Some of...
Published on 14 Jan. 2002

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too much basement, not enough Jaxx
Hmmm. Their previous offering was awesome, not least in that it had full tracks that followed some sort of coherent musical pattern. This one seems a disjointed affair, a lot of amusing sounds and weird beepy noises but not enough actual danceable grooves. They seem to have taken the idea of humour in music too far - lots of humour, not enough music. Sorry.
Published on 2 July 2001


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Dont get much better than this..., 23 Nov. 2013
This review is from: ROOTY (Audio CD)
This is an excellent album in my opinion. There's something for everyone on it. Most of the tracks are uptempo and every song has a different feel, which for me, makes for a formidable record. No awful album fillers here. If you don't get this, you're truly missing out on a quality, amazing roller-coaster of a record. 5 stars from me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Indescribable, truly timeless, 30 May 2013
By 
Will (St Albans, Hertfordshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: ROOTY (Audio CD)
Who else could use over the top ranting vocals over garage like beats and house melodies. The Jaxx have a truly unique style on this particular album that will go under the true dance classics. Buy this if you want funky, carnival style Garage-House
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars it's ok, 8 Aug. 2013
By 
L. V. Andrews "louisevic" (derbyshire, england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ROOTY (Audio CD)
not quite what I was expecting as it's not as good as i'd hoped it would be. I don't mind listening to 'new' songs, but I found I didn't like quite a few of them :(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good tracks, 1 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ROOTY (Audio CD)
Good album, if you're into Basement Jaxx I recommend this album. So brilliant. Makes you wanna get up and dance
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Funky and entertaining, 27 Mar. 2006
By 
Labal (Nottingham) - See all my reviews
This review is from: ROOTY (Audio CD)
I think that I like this album because it's just a lot of fun. Although not my usual fare I appreciate any sort of music where the artists don't take themselves too seriously and disappear up their own fundamental while churning out the same thing you've heard time and time before.
Basement Jaxx never lose sight of two important things, firstly that an album has to have some variation to keep you interested, and secondly it has to be ENTERTAINING. 2 great tracks on the album are 'Where's your Head at?' and 'Get Me Off' and it's indicative of how good the album is that the tracks are good for different reasons.
Anyway, not one to over analyse, one to stick in the CD player and turn the volume up on...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best dance album of 2001?, 2 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: ROOTY (Audio CD)
The buzz around the latest Jaxx production is growing, and some magazines reckon that it's a two way fight between this and Daft Punk's "Discovery" for dance album of the year.
It's certainly a pretty great album, but isn't as immediate as Remedy. It may take a few listens to totally get your head around it, but the Jaxx's high quality shines through with repeated listening.
The first single, "Romeo", with Kelly LeRock vocals is typical of the "grower" feel of the album and will take the charts on and win big in June, if the success of "Jump 'n' Shout" and "Red Alert" were anything to go by.
A mish-mash of radically different influences from disco, to dub and modern R&B/UK garage shine through on this album (all of which are obvious if you've heard them DJ) and are mixed together with the weird sort of Jaxx samples that made Remedy such an interesting album. This mixture of styles wouldn't work in the hands of lesser producers, but the Jaxx manage to make it work without breaking into a sweat.
Tunes of the album have to be the summery "Jus 1 Kiss" (watch the punters go mad for this in Ibiza) and Do Your Thing (Doop meets the Jaxx!? Sounds a terrible idea in theory, but works like a charm).
More experimental than Remedy, with more than a few nods to their excellent Atlantic Jaxx material make this a top album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 20 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ROOTY (Audio CD)
Great fun and excellent value for money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Jaxx up the Volume, 15 May 2001
This review is from: ROOTY (Audio CD)
In short- I have heard only Romeo, Jus 1 Kiss, Do your thing and Breakaway. First time I heard Romeo I thought of silly tunes like the ones of Aqua. Forget about that it needs a few times and its excellent. The rest of the tracks are pure joy their samples are unbelievable!!! Great Producers. 4 Stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars it's a rooty call, 20 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: ROOTY (Audio CD)
Named after the underground parties the pair have been throwing with their mates in Brixton, 'Rooty' invites you back into the insane sound world of BASEMENT JAXX. The sound is still recognizably BASEMENT JAXX of course : it's just a whole lot more so. Brining in British r 'n b singer and diva-in-the-making Kelle LE ROC they've created 'Romeo', surely this summer's car radio anthem; it's No Scrubs meet Independent Woman at a warehouse rave. Get used to it now, you're going to be hearing it a lot in these next month. Then there's the jumping, shouting bongoloid mentalism of 'Where's Your Head At' : a rough edged punk garage call to arms and the best record THE CLASH never made. While tracks like 'Breakaway', 'SFM' and body bouncing electro cut 'Crazy Girl' confirm their reputation as the most experimental producers to ever grace the top five, the sugary melodies of 'Just One Kiss' confirm they haven't forgotten how to write a killer tune. Destined to be this Summer's Ibiza anthem, we guarantee you'll make new friends to this. Elsewhere, Elliot MAY leads us through the gospel jazz romp of 'Do Your Thing', while Chicago DJ Derrick CARTER keeps it surreal on one of their by now traditional interludes. 'Rooty' might have it's feet on the dance floor, but it's far, far more than simply dance music : this is the future funk, the kind of album PRINCE fans wish their idol could still make. BASEMENT JAXX are back, and so are imagination, playfulness, soul, emotion, guts, songwriting and innovation. It's going to be a beautiful Summer, let's get ROOTY !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a great album. Love Trance? Love this!, 10 Jan. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: ROOTY (Audio CD)
This album is brilliant for the trance loving euphoria seeking madman. Basement Jaxx are a brilliant band. When I heard Romeo I thought it was a good song but they couldn't produce anything thing else decent. That was before I listened to Jus 1 Kiss. That is an amazing song (I think it's one of their best)and is worth ...on its own.
If you only like some bits of Trance then I gurantee that Rooty has it. Remedy was a great album what with Red Alert and all but Rooty really is a lot better. If you are looking to party the night away then look no further. If your looking to chill then BUY IT! is the answer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rooty
Rooty by Basement Jaxx
Buy MP3 Album£7.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews