Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars39
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£8.34+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 January 2009
I have been lucky enough to get a promo of this record. The first record was pretty good, they were always so much better live though. This second album is a huge step forward, if you liked the first one you will LOVE this and if you did not get the first album be sure to check this out, it is an awesome rock record.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2009
The great thing about The Answer is they are not just re-hashing '70's rock. This album, like their debut 'Rise' is as fresh and contemporary as you could want. Classic rock never went away, it just needed some new impetus and 'The Answer' are just that, and should be at the forefront of a resurgance of this music.
They have all the ingredients in that they are exceptional musicians. But this is a band album. Some might say the band are all about Cormac Neesons incredible vocals but that would be a gross injustice. He is a team player and the band sound is developing nicely.
I listened to the album first time out loud on a car system. But it was on the headphones that a lot of the subtleties come out. Tremendous individual performances.
I was delighted to see the band allow Cormac to vary his vocal delivery and I am finding this album a wonderful further development on 'Rise'.
I've been lucky enough to meet the boys on tour in Europe a few times now and 4 nicer down to earth guys you couldn't hope to meet. They are living the dream and this album points the way to a very bright future. Be careful if you go drinking with them though. They pick a table and promptly drink you under it! Everyday Demons indeed!

Enjoy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 December 2009
Right, this isn't a criticism...

This is utterly derivative, absolutely no originality, sounds like the best bits of all the hard rock bands from the last 40 years cherry picked, and all ever so slightly songs by number, but.. Buy it.

These guys can play. They can kick up a hell of a noise and have produced an obnoxious sounding hard rock album that will ruin your speakers, annoy your neighbours, have you bouncing around a kitchen whilst doing the domestics or have you yelling at the top of your lungs half cut on a night out. Distil down everything you like about Rainbow, AC/DC, Led Zep, early The Black Crowes, Aerosmith etc etc and mix it up, and you have this at full speed and full volume for nigh on the entire album.

Unsubtle heavy good time rock at it's best. I've knocked a star off as I found a couple of the tracks a little plodding, but as the rest of the album is like being hit around the head with a cricket bat, you'll hardly notice. An amazing live act too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2009
Absolutely wonderful! This album grabs you by the throat with three high energy numbers to start with (On and On might have made an even better opening number than Demon Eyes, in my humble opinion) and then takes pace off with the utterly addictive Cry Out (what a bass line). From there on right through to the rabble-rousing finale, Evil Man, it's a barnstorming series of rock 'n' roll attitude, each of which grabs you hook, line and sinker. If you don't find yourself singing along by the second listening, get your hearing checked as you must have gone deaf!

The double CD is a must - the live recording of (basically) the first album showcases the band in what is clearly their natural environment. It'd be worth the price on its own - and yet the band are giving it away as an extra!

The Answer are the best new band I've come across in a decade - roll on album 3!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2010
I bought their debut cd due to all the hype not really expecting much. I was mildly surprised at how good a debut that it turned out too be.Rise
BUT wait a minute this their second offering is a totally different kettle of fish it is absolutely brilliant i cannot stop listening to it , from the first track "demon eyes" to the last one "evil man" it just truly sucks you in and you just cannot help but tap your feet/fingers to it , i mean 10 seconds into the first track i just wanted to "bang my head". I am an avid fan of groups from the 70,s like ZEP , early ACDC etc etc and these just fit in so well in that genre.
So for all those rockers out there looking for a true rock contender that will take rock music well and truly into the 21st century then look no further than "THE ANSWER".
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2009
I accidentally fell upon this band through regional television! They are from Northern Ireland, and were as far as I was aware something of an unknown. However, that should change if there is any justice. I doubt they will ever reach the mass market, but there are enough people out there who will love this. The singer is like a cross between Robert Plant and Rory Gallagher. And the guitarist could easily match the latters talent or even try his hand with the Zep! The punchy rock is a mix of seventies bluesy rock, with some shifts towards grunge and the type of rock blues that Reef used to produce so well. I keep playing this album, and would recommend it to anyone who likes rock in the slightest, but also to those who are looking to try something different.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2009
This has to be the best rock album for many years from arguably the best rock band around. Don't just take my word try this yourself and hear some classic rock played from an amazing set of lads who just go out and enjoy themselves from start to finish. There isn't a bad track on the album but Why'd you change your mind is an absolute epic song with it's haunting intro which powers into life with it's awesome rhythm section and lead guitar. Add to the studio album the 2nd live disc shows why the band are considered one of the best live bands about. Don't think about it, Buy it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2009
I was chuffed to bits when i heard this album for the first time, i bought it on the strength of Rise and wasnt disappointed in any way. There`s a song for every mood here, these young boys are keeping true rock alive, not only in their music but also in their image! Great guitar riffs, solid drumming, good rythm and a brilliant singer what else can you ask for? Real old school rock (and i should know!!). I would quite happily recommend this, or any of their previous albums to anyone with an interest in real rock music.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2009
I just loved the first album by The Answer and was eagerly looking forward to the follow up but I have to say that overall I am rather disappointed.
Yes the cd starts off well but for me there are too many slow tracks none of which go anywhere. They also constantly break up the momentum of the album.
Fortunately I have the Autralian/Japanese version with the pretty good bonus track 'Highwater or Hell' which is why I've rated the cd 3 stars - without that track I'd have gone down to 2 stars.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2010
BUY IT! You cannot go wrong! If they stay the course, they're going to be BIG! Have seen them live, they're good! The entire CD hasn't got one duff track on it! As far as I'm concerned they deserve far more credit and recognition for this than they've received, all I hope is the next offering, difficult though it will be to better this one,is as good. Well worth the purchase! Tell your friends!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£14.98

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)