Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Answer by name, the answer by nature.
I had to listen to the album twice when I first bought it; second time simply to confirm what I'd just heard, that this band are indeed the very worthy succesors to the great heritage we are lucky to have been granted by messrs Johnson, Waters, Berry, Page, Hendrix, Young, etc. Firmly planted deeply in the blues, the cool licks and riffs and grooves of this stunning...
Published on 2 Mar 2009 by Spartacus

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the best.
Not the best album I've heard but okay.I think The Answer are underrated and should be bigger than they actually are.
Classic Rock Magazine think that they might split if they don't make it bigger in 2014, which is a shame.
Published 7 months ago by f1000


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Answer by name, the answer by nature., 2 Mar 2009
By 
This review is from: Everyday Demons: 2CD (Audio CD)
I had to listen to the album twice when I first bought it; second time simply to confirm what I'd just heard, that this band are indeed the very worthy succesors to the great heritage we are lucky to have been granted by messrs Johnson, Waters, Berry, Page, Hendrix, Young, etc. Firmly planted deeply in the blues, the cool licks and riffs and grooves of this stunning offering will have you bouncing around the room. Paul Mahon plays his heart out on this with immpeccable accompanyment from a band surely destined for greatness. Not a week track on it. I didn't think that they'd improve on Rise, difficult second albums and all, but they have. More bluesy and gutsy than even that great mix.

A terrific ride of an album that shows, in complete contrast to the depressing wailings of the trendy indie set, just how joyful and exuberent music can and should be, and how tremendous it can make you feel. There is something for everyone here:

If you're an old rocker, like me, this WILL restore your faith in modern musicianship and give you hope for the future.

If your're young, this is a fine example of just how a band can merge all the great influences and take the blues to a new level, by playing instruments as they should be played, backed by killer vocals. Please, please, take note, I humbly beg of you.

If you're Chris or Rich Robinson, flush your stash down the toilet, drink a litre of orange juice, and weep. For this is the band that The Black Crowes could, and should, have been.

Awesome. Get it. Somehow, anyhow. Today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THIS is rock 'n' roll, 13 Feb 2009
By 
Big Jim "Big Jim" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Everyday Demons: 2CD (Audio CD)
My copy doesn't have the second CD but the single disc is enough to show that at the very least AC/DC are going to have to be at their very best to better this lot on stage. I was fortunate enough to see them live in Camden the other night and it took me way back to the epiphany that was AC/DC at the Glasgow Apollo in 1978.
There is seriously not a weak track on here and it sets the bar really high for future rock albums this year and for many years to come. I cannot praise this album enough. What more can I say?

Hyperbole? Perhaps, but the one problem these boys are going to have is how do they top this?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than Rise..., 5 Mar 2009
By 
Clashcity Rocker "Clashcity Rocker" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Everyday Demons: 2CD (Audio CD)
I always assumed, with the Answers first album being so fantastic, that they would struggle with the 2nd album syndrome.

Have no fear, this album is amazing, as good, if not better than Rise. The band have matured nicely..

Highly recommended. The Special Edition, with the extra live album is well worth getting, if you can find it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Getting there !, 9 April 2009
By 
Sam "Sam" (S.Wales U.K..) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Everyday Demons (Audio CD)
I have seen this band live and I have got to be honest they are awesome. Their cd's do not do them justice.
This second album is as good as their first, you can sense the makings of a great band emerging here. I would say that they are just not quite ther yet hense the four stars. I can guarantee you that soon, very soon they will be THAT band, that one cd that every rock fan wants to own, watch this space, they are on their way and progressing nicely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Live is where they're at.., 25 April 2009
By 
Mr. C. E. Campbell ""WAHWAH"" (LIVERPOOL,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Everyday Demons (Audio CD)
Hmmmm.. I don't know whether it's me not giving this album time or i'm not impressed with this one.. Is it me or do some of these songs sound samey.. I'm not gonna slag the irish raiders but i find the Answer more of a live band now, rather than studio were it's hit n miss.. I implore you to catch them full on(the live disc gives you a taster) and hear them throttle your senses.. I forecast soon that a new sound will develop, shaking off the tag of zeppelin/free sound alikes,who knows.. Anyway purchase with confidence....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Answer owns it own place in the rockworld, no copycats, 11 Mar 2009
By 
J. Talsma (Amsterdam, Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Everyday Demons: 2CD (Audio CD)
I was awaiting this sophomore album eagerly, read about it before its official release and was not disappointed, on the contrary. The comparisons with bands like Led Zeppelin, Free and Black Crowes (i.e. Classic Rock), elsewhere even Cry of Love (I presume their "Brother" album), are endless but to my opinion needless and not correct. The Answer stands out on its own, not by being an cover- and/or tributeband. Maybe they are somewhat flattered by being taken as one of those "supergroups" but this band is slightly different. They specialize in hard driven rocksongs with amazing guitarwork and strong vocals, which sets them apart from the forementioned bands, who had a far wider musical view. Despite the fact that the songs truly are strong, not to say great, monotony sets in because they all are up- or midtempo songs. In that they do even repeat the first album "Rise", which makes a flying start with 3 fast tempo songs to take a little gas back on the fourth song. That is also the case with this second album. Likewise this album, albeit strong, lacks the use of acoustic guitars. Only on the last song "Evil Man" is some mouthharp added, to good effect tough, but this band can more than they show. Listen for instance on "Rise II" to "Into the Gutter", the acoustic version and also "Take it Easy" (not very dissimilar of Led Zep's "Black Country Woman", but surely not a rippof), great tracks! With the use of only an acoustic guitar or two The Answer gives their songs a much needed breath of fresh air. So this album would have been better with the addiction of a couple or replacement of a few songs in an alternate mode. Strangely the quite strong "Highwater or Hell" is omitted, but therefore doesn't make the difference because this one is also in the same vein, like for instance "Immigrant Song" or "Black Dog" and doesn't add anything in what I try to push, the quiter side of the songmaterial. But it seems that this is the chosen direction, because the same goes for the singles and/or outtakes from the "Rise" sessions, which are compiled on "Rise II", with the exception of both mentioned acoustic works all the songs are solid rock, with great speed and formula. The quality of those songs saves the band, the members are certainly outstanding songwriters and performers (I've seen them live in Amsterdam at the end of 2007) but just a little varity doesn't do harm. Still, I love this album from beginning to the end and can recommend this to anyone who likes good and honest hard rock.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars THIS SO ROCKS!!, 30 Jan 2009
This review is from: Everyday Demons: 2CD (Audio CD)
I have been lucky enough to get a promo of this record. The first record was pretty good, they were always so much better live though. This second album is a huge step forward, if you liked the first one you will LOVE this and if you did not get the first album be sure to check this out, it is an awesome rock record.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They're Getting Even Better, 1 May 2009
By 
M. Alldritt - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Everyday Demons (Audio CD)
I thought Rise was as good a hard rock debut as we've seen this decade. It rocked hard, no doubt about that. The follow-up `Everyday Demons' doesn't rock quite as hard, but in my opinion, it's a better album.

Their songwriting has improved and there's a touch more variety in their work. They now have arena anthems and ballads to go along with their typical hard-rocking riffs. There's even a bit of harmonica playing in the final track `Evil Man' that finishes the album beautifully. It's possibly for these reasons that the album may not be as accessible as their debut `Rise'. I would definitely characterise it as a `grower' - it will require a few listens before you totally appreciate it. You should still enjoy the first few listens though!

This is what I like album about this album. The band are showing that they've improved. That they've all developed musically and the songs all have their own character. At this rate of progression their next two albums could be absolutely stunning. Until then, enjoy this in all its glory, for this is as good a rock album as 2009 will see. I'm sure of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Moving forward but most comfortable in old territory, 4 April 2009
This review is from: Everyday Demons (Audio CD)
After their first LP The Answer established themselves as a band that perhaps were not great, but they rocked, they were fun to listen to and awesome live. This second effort shows them trying to branch out from the pounding fast 70's style stadium rock that brought them so many fans. The experiments bring mixed results. The quite-verse-loud-chorus Why'd you Change your Mind works. Cormac singing in a lower key on Cry Out works. The attempt at producing a quiet potential radio friendly song that is Comfort Zone doesn't work, it's weak, and by far the worst track on the album. Though it's nice to hear some more variety on this record, Everyday Demons works best when The Answer stick to the sound that served them so well on Rise. By that I mean big 70's rock anthems that would get a club or stadium jumping, the first 3 songs on the album being a prime example. I cannot decide which record I prefer but Everyday Demons seems less amateurish (apart from the terrible album artwork) and if the band keep honing their craft The Answer could be name we shall not soon forget.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, just not rise, 2 Mar 2009
This review is from: Everyday Demons: 2CD (Audio CD)
Short and sweet - this is an awesome cd, really wicked good rock n roll - a breath of fresh air amongst amongst the travesty that is "modern rock" - if you're into that sort of led zeppelin bluesy rock then by this, it has a modern sliiiightly heavy edge to it - there's one thing that's "not good" for lack of a better phrase about this album, and that's that (rather pathetically) it's just not as good as the last one - go buy "rise" as well if you don't own it already, it's AMAZING. This is still really good and easily worth buying though, this lot are an awesome band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Everyday Demons
Everyday Demons by The Answer (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews