Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars vortex manipulator toy
This is a really awesome toy and it is a shame that they stoped producing and selling it. Its looks so cool when you put it on and play with it. I would recomend it to anybody.
Published 23 months ago by jason

versus
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Meh
I got this as a Bday Pressie for my Doctor Who obsessed son as it was one of the things he said he wanted. He was very happy with it although I felt slightly disapointed as all it does is have one button that makes a light come on. If your kid is as obsessed as mine they will probably be very happy with it otherwise it's not all that great.
Published on 5 April 2009 by Loonielass


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars vortex manipulator toy, 6 Jan 2013
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Character Options Doctor Who Captain Jack's Vortex Manipulator and Sonic Screwdriver (Toy)
This is a really awesome toy and it is a shame that they stoped producing and selling it. Its looks so cool when you put it on and play with it. I would recomend it to anybody.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good toy, 23 Mar 2013
This review is from: Character Options Doctor Who Captain Jack's Vortex Manipulator and Sonic Screwdriver (Toy)
This toy is the best toy for any Dr who fan. it features light effects and is a great replica of the vortex manipulator
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 22 Oct 2013
By 
Emily (Dudley,West Midlands, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Character Options Doctor Who Captain Jack's Vortex Manipulator and Sonic Screwdriver (Toy)
love this product very authentic. its part of my costume and deffinantly looks the part. id recomend this to everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars captain jacks vortex manipulator and sonic, 27 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Character Options Doctor Who Captain Jack's Vortex Manipulator and Sonic Screwdriver (Toy)
Absolutely brilliant and well made products.Already has batteries in them when they arrive.My son is happy with them and could'nt wait to show them to his friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars dr who, 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Character Options Doctor Who Captain Jack's Vortex Manipulator and Sonic Screwdriver (Toy)
bought for step sons xmas and he loved it, leather strap also came with s sonic screwdriver as described fast delivery
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Meh, 5 April 2009
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Character Options Doctor Who Captain Jack's Vortex Manipulator and Sonic Screwdriver (Toy)
I got this as a Bday Pressie for my Doctor Who obsessed son as it was one of the things he said he wanted. He was very happy with it although I felt slightly disapointed as all it does is have one button that makes a light come on. If your kid is as obsessed as mine they will probably be very happy with it otherwise it's not all that great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Doctor Who Wrist vortex manipulator and mini sonic screwdriver, 9 Mar 2010
By 
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Character Options Doctor Who Captain Jack's Vortex Manipulator and Sonic Screwdriver (Toy)
I got this as the sonic screwdriver looks similar to the one I wanted to buy but was for some reason really expensive on the day so I got this instead. However the sonic screwdriver that comes with this is a mini one which doesn't extend and doesn't make a noise (but it does light up). The actual wrist Vortex Manipulator was more fun but it had fake controls on it and was a bit of a disappointment. The 4 year old boy this was bought for enjoyed it on the day but I think it's the type of gift that is more akin to a younger boy as it doesn't make lots of sounds or light up properly overall disappointed with what it was able to do. If you want something for pretending then the one red light on the vortex and the one blue light on the screwdriver may be enough for most kids. Perhaps as I had the all singing and dancing screwdriver first (that extends, shines a blue light and makes a sound) this seemed a bit of a let down. However value for money wise it would make a great bday gift for a school mate i.e., not spending a fortune but looking better than it actually is!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Manipulator good, Sonic bad., 1 Jun 2013
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Character Options Doctor Who Captain Jack's Vortex Manipulator and Sonic Screwdriver (Toy)
The Manipulator is decent but the strap is hard to fasten. I am a little disappointed with the fact that you can only press one button to light up one LED, but that did not stop me from liking it as it is a great replica of the vortex manipulator seen on doctor who. On the other hand the sonic screwdriver that came with it is terrible. It's much smaller than I was expecting and is basically a penlight with a redesigned casing. A complete waste of money.

The price is my biggest problem with this product. Can I just say that this was not worth the £35 i paid for it. Ok the manipulator is good but not brilliant but the screwdriver is utterly terrible. You want to buy this for someone who'll use it for more than 5 minutes? Get it for who's A) young, and/or B) a really big fan of doctor who.

Overall, I think you should only buy this product if you're a massive doctor who fan like me, because otherwise you'll want your money back almost immediately.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not bad to look at, nothing to listen to, 27 Jan 2009
By 
Graham Rutland (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Character Options Doctor Who Captain Jack's Vortex Manipulator and Sonic Screwdriver (Toy)
The ex-Time Agent's 'space-hopper' is here and in terms of looks it certainly works, imitating leather as best as it can with plastic, which, for the record, pongs a bit but certainly feels robust. Just like the 'real' thing a flap opens to reveal the inner workings with two blue LEDs that light up with a button press. While the manipulator isn't too uncomfortable to wear it's hard work to fasten round the wrist, and not the easiest thing to button back up either - younger hands will need some help, and there's no sound to boot. The mini-sonic screwdriver makes less sense in this package than it does with the Journal of Impossible Things, and I'd rather that Character had spent the extra pennies putting a couple of sound effects in. As the title says, it really looks the part on one's wrist, and indeed has the same build quality as the next Doctor Who toy; shame it doesn't sound it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not that great!, 11 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Character Options Doctor Who Captain Jack's Vortex Manipulator and Sonic Screwdriver (Toy)
As with most stuff that is Official Doctor Who it sucked lol it was made of cheap plastic and was very shiny... I expected fake leather as a standard but it was completely super shiny plastic and it looked fake... it was also way way too smalm to be the Vortex Manipulator and was extremely tight!

My wrists are probably smaller than a child's with my eating disorder yet once I actualyl got it on it felt like the blood flow had stopped...

I brought it for the 50th at the cinema and ended up giving it to a little kid there... really not worth money... something you'd expect to find in a happy meal!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews