Customer Reviews


124 Reviews
5 star:
 (93)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars BRAVO!
Hugh Laurie gives a truly remarkable performance as the curdmudgeonly Head of Diagnostic Medicine Dr Gregory House. Season Five is perhaps my favorite, as we see a slightly softer side to the character, and Laurie is given a chance to demonstrate some of his incredible range (see him in Stuart Little, Jeeves & Wooster, to really appreciate this actor's many gifts -- he...
Published 2 months ago by Sequin

versus
13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This House Needs a Bit of Renovation
As season five of House MD. Grinds to a halt, series six is already due to be shown on our UK screens merely weeks after it began in the US. This may be due to the power advantage that Sky1 has over the show's previous UK recipients FIVE. Not everyone has Sky1, whereas most people with a decent television reception, even without digital can receive FIVE. This may be one...
Published on 28 Sept. 2009 by Ant Etches


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars BRAVO!, 2 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Hugh Laurie gives a truly remarkable performance as the curdmudgeonly Head of Diagnostic Medicine Dr Gregory House. Season Five is perhaps my favorite, as we see a slightly softer side to the character, and Laurie is given a chance to demonstrate some of his incredible range (see him in Stuart Little, Jeeves & Wooster, to really appreciate this actor's many gifts -- he also happens to be a top-notch musician, a writer, and a former champion rower... is there anything this man can't do?). But Laurie is not the only competitive advantage of House... the writing is superb, directing is usually excellent, and the rest of the ensemble cast is superb, particularly Lisa Edelstein as his boss, Dean of Medicine Dr Lisa Cuddy and Robert Sean Leonard as his sidekick Oncologist Dr Wilson. (The show is loosely, and cleverly, based on Sherlock Holmes). For a bitter, leftist, atheist, amoral, porn-loving, hooker-hiring, drug-addicted main character to win over the hearts (and in some cases, libidos) of the American public is a huge win, and surprise. I thought their appreciation of anti-heroes was about the same as their appreciation of irony... i.e. seldom-seen. I was wrong (and happy to be). Don't miss this excellent series... it's full of gimmicks and medical gadgetry, melodrama, and bodily fluids... but it's done exquisitely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


114 of 140 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As Always, Amazing., 14 May 2009
By 
Caleb Williams (Liverpool) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: House Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
Up to season 5 House was known as focusing a lot on the comical witticisms of House as he insulted his colleagues and his boss. This particular season takes a more serious turn, and although there does exist the comedy that it's famous for, there is a more serious aura around the entire season and its characters as all is not well in the land of Dr. Gregory House. For a medical drama, House is pretty special as it retains a very formulaic style of storytelling and wholly stays away from soap opera dramatics; instead replacing them with casual love stories, complex medical cases and an even more complex main star.

Just when we think we know House, the show takes another massive turn and shows us a completely different side to him that we never thought existed. Season 5 seeks on exposing a new emotional side to House. At the end of season 4 we saw the end to Wilsons girlfriend, Amber and what we are lead to believe to be the friendship of House and Wilson. Season 5 opens with our worst fears, Wilson quits and tells House that they can no longer be friends and in order for Wilson to be truly happy, he must have House out of his life.

In comes a private investigator hired by House to spy on Wilson in his new life and also his team. The split doesn't last for long and House & Wilson end up back to their old tricks of childish friendship antics. Chase & Cameron gain a more prominent role in this season as their relationship is explored in more detail as Cameron struggles with the possibility of a permanent relationship as she still can't let go of the memories of her husband who died a few years prior to their relationship. This presents a higher purpose for them still remaining in the opening title sequence and hopefully, this increased prominence will mean they become a stronger part of the team in season 6.

Thirteen is also forced to struggle with the fact that she has Huntington's disease, and to a certain point takes it very badly. Foreman also gains a bit more purpose in this season and develops a relationship with Thirteen, but I felt like this relationship was only brought into the picture to avoid having to fire him as even now his presence just seems pointless. Taub and Kutner are their usual selves with nothing really important happening to them other than House torturing Taub over his affair. There are quite a few delightful surprises that take place during the season, some are more important than others, but they're all designed to keep us watching to the next episode.

As with every TV show, the finale is always the most special episode that will keep you wanting more up to when the next season starts. House is no exception to that rule and although most TV shows may create a cliff-hanger to keep you wanting more, they would also wrap a few stories up so they don't have to be revisited. House very rarely does that. Instead it gives us riveting cliff-hangers that makes us question the true brilliance of what we have seen, yet if you're not a fan of the primary cliff-hanger, there's also a few other stories that you will want to know what happened next. This is a truly brilliant season that exposes a more emotional and loveable side to House that have only briefly been explored in previous seasons. There is one massive shocker that most reading this review will have probably heard about by now, but it's just an overall great season and worthy of any House fans DVD collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's House - - In It's Fifth Season, 24 Oct. 2009
By 
Andrew Kerr (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: House Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
After the explosive, unexpected, tear-jerking, and edge of the seat final two episodes of season 4, it's safe to say that I was very eager for season 5 to begin. It picks-up approximately two months after seasons four finished and House owing to the fact that he hasn't spoken to Wilson since Amber's funnel, is on edge when Wilson comes back to the hospital for the first time.

I felt that the season had a slightly shaky start. The first few episodes while decent fail to inspire and were not the strongest point in the history of House. Thankfully when things get going, they really get going and its well worth sticking through it.

The season is considerably more serious than those before it and has a number of darker undertones. Foreman seems to be failing as the head of a department, Thirteen is trying coming to terms with her Huntington's disease, Taub is unhappy, House finds his world collapsing around him towards the brilliant final few episodes, and Kutner - well I'll just say that you'll be shocked and disturbed with episode twenty.

A benefit to the series is that we get even deeper into House's character as well as the other main cast. We begin to see more of Cameron and Chase through the season which I was glad to see as they were almost non-existent in season four.

Highlights of the season include Wilson loosing his temper, House hiring a Private Investigator, Cuddy adopting a baby, and House trying to be nice to his patients. However the most enjoyable scene was watching Wilson drunk and enjoying himself with a striper.

Everything that made House so good in the past continues in the fifth season, with perfect acting, amazing plots, and that comic element that Hugh always manages to inject.

But for me the best part has to be the season final, I knew it was going to difficult if not impossible to top the end of season four, but the story is so unexpected and shocking it makes for a real cliff hanger.

However there were a number of small issues that I wasn't happy with in this season, nothing that serious but a few things I feel that I should still mention.

I don't like what has happened to the character of Doctor Eric Foreman who seems to have been dumbed down considerably and comes across as more of a less vocal, less confident, and less intelligent character than in previous seasons. Quiet often you'll see him sitting down staring into space adding little or nothing to the team efforts.

At one point House is forced to diagnose a 'patient' at gun point, while the episode and its story is good enough, I was surprised at House's attitude and in your face defiance with the gunman. Considering that he was shot several seasons before, I feel that it would be highly unlikely that he would have such composure when faced with another gun.

I'm also really beginning to dislike the very repetitive tread for characters to be fired, or resign only to be rehired several episodes later. They've used it so many times for so many of the cast that it's lost all impact.

However after all that is said, I'm still perfectly happy with House and it remains one my favourite shows.

It's great that House is still going strong after five seasons with such a committed fan base. While I do have a few small issues with this season, I still feel that it's one of the best shows on television and an essential DVD boxed set to buy. If you're new to House than I suggest that you begin with the first season and work you're why up to this point, it won't take long when you get hooked. If you're a House fan then this season is a welcome addition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


49 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a peculiar season, 13 May 2009
By 
This review is from: House Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
Season 5 is straight up weird. It's rich with hints and clues that not all is well with House, and the season finale ends on the mini-mother of all cliff hangers. Season 6 opening episode is going to be unmissable. American tv shows always end a season with a cliff hanger, but so often they're appallingly slapdash. Not so with House. From about mid way through the season, it's subtly hinted at that there is something profoundly amiss, and it culminates in a dark and surprising final few scenes.

Anyway, back to the beginning. At the start of the series, Amber is gone, and so is Wilson. In his place there's a private detective, Lucas (played wonderfully by Michael Weston) who is sardonic and clever (actually a match for House) and, apparently, is being given his own spin off series. That's officially Good News.

Chase, Cameron and Cuddy get more of a look in than they did in season 4 - it's no longer incongruous that their names are in the opening credits... although, Cameron and Chase are largely spent fine-tuning and/or imploding their relationship. Season 5 also introduces a relationship between 2 more of the main cast... and the violent loss of another. Apparently in the States it was widely touted as a "Very Special Episode", with ramifications that would ripple throughout the rest of the season. They set up a bit of a red herring leading up to it, so it is a genuine shock but, somehow, that whole storyline is a little unsatisfying. That being said, House's situation is possibly predicated on it, so maybe there are huge, House-shaped ripples we've yet to fully see.

The team still solve the unsolveable, House still offends anyone with ears (and, indeed, someone without), and it's still fiercely clever and frequently funny. The entire season feels a lot more chaotic than the others - almost as if they wrote much of it on the fly, but it's no poorer for that. It's still House, it's still wonderful, and it deserves no less than 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bringing the House down yet again, 17 Aug. 2009
By 
pepemia (scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: House Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
Now on its 5th season I was expecting House- like many other series before it to be losing its sparkle.However I was very ,very wrong and amazingily it the same quick pace, and gripping episodes with a freshness to keep you hooked.I think part of the sercret of House being still so good as that it progress in a natural way as real peoples lifes do- that and the amazing acting .
In the series their is the initally- "will Wilson leave or talk to House" cliffhanger.
Fortunately the writers dont drawl this out and its resolved within about 3 episodes.With a terrific road trip thrown in.
Meanwhile House employs a detective Lucas- who is utterly hilarous and the banter between House and lucas is electric.
Sadily Lucas soon leaves , which I did feel was the one bad point of the series.
Then another progression Love- House in Love with someone rather than himself ? Not giving away to much but this is well played out.
Intereastingly a lot of the cases Houses takes are solved by a sycronicity in Houses own personal life, and this is a lovely human touch to him. Again we learn deeper about House and wonder more what really makes him tick.On the other hand we get to gloat at his wondeful sharpness and witty hostilaty to everyone around him.
Secretly we would all love to be House, being so direct not caring what we say and really smart.Which is part of the addictive quality of house watching it and thinking " I wish I could say that ". With many of these moments in this series.

Again Cameron, and Chase are still there but as sad as I am to say this I am starting ot think its time they moved on a bit.Foreman meanwhile manages to get rescued from his background position by the relationship he strikes up with Thirteen ( which is gripping ). He was such a strong charachter that its a shame he doesnt get more of this, or more of the sparring he used to have with House.
Again equal time is given to all the other charachters ,with each of them featuring highily in at least one episode each. Taub shows another slightly tragic side to him .While Kutner ( who has never really emerged as a strong charachter ) causes a huge shock that has rippling effects on everyone.
Overall this season has more House at his best.
Human storys, tradgies, sit up in your seat moments, and still has the power to make you gasp.
Its this winning cimbination that makes this still one of the best series on Tv- I dont want to spoil it for you- but really its fantastic and I loved every episode.
So overal buy it- any doubts I had about season 5 were quickly dismisssed and I proudly add this series to the other 4 series Dvds I have.
And whats more can hardly wait for season 6- if only all TV was as good as this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This House Needs a Bit of Renovation, 28 Sept. 2009
This review is from: House Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
As season five of House MD. Grinds to a halt, series six is already due to be shown on our UK screens merely weeks after it began in the US. This may be due to the power advantage that Sky1 has over the show's previous UK recipients FIVE. Not everyone has Sky1, whereas most people with a decent television reception, even without digital can receive FIVE. This may be one reason that the show's ratings have suffered this time around. But more to this reviewer it seems more likely that the show is in need of a transfusion of creativity. (I have done my best to review this season without spoiling the major shocks, plot twists, etc.)

The show picks up straight from where season 4 left off, with House (Hugh Laurie) and Wilson's (Robert Sean Leonard) friendship now in pieces following Amber's death. House being who he is hires a private investigator to keep an eye on Wilson's activities. These first two episodes are by far the weakest of the series, as the chemistry that existed between Wilson and House is evaporated. Hugh Laurie doesn't even look as though his heart is in it for these first two episodes, which is quite disheartening. The PI that House hires (played by Michael Weston) is a failure. He is badly written and he fails to gel properly with House on screen. He seems like he was simply added to try and create a character for a spin-off. Which is exactly what he was brought in for, although how such a simultaneously bland and irritating character could generate an entire series is baffling.

The good news is that the series gets better after this below par start. Many will be pleased to know that there is more from Cameron and Chase this time around, even if all they do is provide a bit of on-off relationship angst. Speaking of relationships, the House/Cuddy situation threatens to turn into something more interesting than the usual chemistry the two have. The disappointing thing is that after the drama over her adoption saga, she pretty much disappears until the penultimate episode. And without wishing to divulge too much of the plot to those who have not yet seen the series, another relationship begins between two main characters that is devoid of both credibility and chemistry. The actors are both decent, but it's just a shame that the writers wrote them such a mundane and unrealistic relationship that no one will really care about.

Now some of the readers of this review may be wondering why I have given this product 3 stars whilst criticising it so much. Well, this is because the series is still good. When the writers add in new scenarios and situations for House and the cast, the unpredictability makes the episode a lot more interesting. The complex medical conundrums are still expertly done, with some extremely good guest appearances from Meat Loaf, Zeljko Ivanek (from Damages - Season 1 [DVD] [2007], playing a manic gunman who demands treatment) and Mos Def. The latter is particularly impressive in the episode `Locked In', where much of the episode is seen from his perspective, as a patient incapacitated by Locked In Syndrome. In terms of acting, the standard has pretty much stayed the same. Emotion is conveyed convincingly by all the actors, the strongest remain Hugh Laurie and Lisa Edelstein as Dr. Cuddy. At times though, it does feel like the writers are struggling to include all the characters in the plot. Foreman hardly says or does anything until the middle of the series, and then he promptly fades back out again.

All in all, this may not have been the medical maverick's finest series. However, the positive news is that season 6 has been set up for an interesting new development in Gregory House's story by the finale of season 5, which should provide a radical new direction for at least the first few episodes of the series. Perhaps this drop in quality will be looked down on as a transition from something more conventional to something a lot more daring. House is still a strong and reliably good drama, but there definitely needs to be an injection of new blood in order to keep the show at the top of its game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars House gets serious, 14 Oct. 2009
By 
Sean OToole (Derby, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: House Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
The fifth season of House starts us off on a different path than the previous seasons, following on from the dramatic and emotional end to season 4. The overall feeling of the show changes from what we know of a happy-go-lucky House to what we've all expected since the third season, that there is a darker side to his nonchalance, and even more problems with his drug taking.

House isn't the only one who is having more serious problems, Thirteen's knowledge of her Huntington's disease cause her to have to find ways to deal with the fact that she's going to die, which shows us a more desperate side to her than we have seen before, and the payoff from all of the bisexual jokes we've had in previous episodes.

Even Kutner could not escape the season's more serious tone, and though we don't see it as much as the others throughout the season, the shock of it all at once is not to be missed.

Original cast member fans will be pleased to know that Chase and Cameron are involved in this season much more than the previous one, with more information on their relationship and the kind of people that they are now, but more importantly more screen time.

Though the overall feel of the season is a lot different from those previous, the show stays true to it's nature of storytelling, and most episodes follow the same formula as all of the others, giving us lots more medical mysteries and problematic patients, though guessing a patient's problem four or so times, checking and double checking test results and finding something hidden is starting to wear a little thin.

Overall, season 5 of House is a definite must see, and for House fans a definite must own boxset, though the formulaic endings and the 18 certificate do detract from the boxset slightly, though definitely not enough to not own it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: House Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars house dvd, 9 Jun. 2014
By 
D O'neill "D.oneill" (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: House Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
house great box set Hugh Laurie at his best i have the complete set would recommend this to anyone as its first class tv box set
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Entertainment through and through, 12 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: House Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
Intriguing story lines and engaging characters make this a real treat. I really like being able to watch a disc at a time through an evening. Much better than waiting for next weeks episode to be broadcast and cheaper than cinema...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

House Season 5 [DVD]
House Season 5 [DVD] by Hugh Laurie (DVD - 2009)
£9.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews