Customer Reviews


225 Reviews
5 star:
 (159)
4 star:
 (42)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


114 of 124 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As Always, Amazing.
Up to season 5 House was known as focusing a lot on the comical witticisms of House as he insulted his colleagues and his boss. This particular season takes a more serious turn, and although there does exist the comedy that it's famous for, there is a more serious aura around the entire season and its characters as all is not well in the land of Dr. Gregory House. For a...
Published on 14 May 2009 by Steven Stewart

versus
45 of 54 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Another part season release, beware only 9 episodes on this release!!!
As with Season 3, the release for this season will be in 2 parts, 4.0 and probably 4.5, with 9 episodes on this release with 11 on the next, why they've started releasing them this way is beyond me, the only reason that I can think of is due to the extra money they'll get for doing it this way.

Personally I've a mind to buy seasons 1 and 2 and be done with it,...
Published on 7 Aug 2011 by Dazman


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

114 of 124 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As Always, Amazing., 14 May 2009
By 
Steven Stewart (Liverpool) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: House Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
Up to season 5 House was known as focusing a lot on the comical witticisms of House as he insulted his colleagues and his boss. This particular season takes a more serious turn, and although there does exist the comedy that it's famous for, there is a more serious aura around the entire season and its characters as all is not well in the land of Dr. Gregory House. For a medical drama, House is pretty special as it retains a very formulaic style of storytelling and wholly stays away from soap opera dramatics; instead replacing them with casual love stories, complex medical cases and an even more complex main star.

Just when we think we know House, the show takes another massive turn and shows us a completely different side to him that we never thought existed. Season 5 seeks on exposing a new emotional side to House. At the end of season 4 we saw the end to Wilsons girlfriend, Amber and what we are lead to believe to be the friendship of House and Wilson. Season 5 opens with our worst fears, Wilson quits and tells House that they can no longer be friends and in order for Wilson to be truly happy, he must have House out of his life.

In comes a private investigator hired by House to spy on Wilson in his new life and also his team. The split doesn't last for long and House & Wilson end up back to their old tricks of childish friendship antics. Chase & Cameron gain a more prominent role in this season as their relationship is explored in more detail as Cameron struggles with the possibility of a permanent relationship as she still can't let go of the memories of her husband who died a few years prior to their relationship. This presents a higher purpose for them still remaining in the opening title sequence and hopefully, this increased prominence will mean they become a stronger part of the team in season 6.

Thirteen is also forced to struggle with the fact that she has Huntington's disease, and to a certain point takes it very badly. Foreman also gains a bit more purpose in this season and develops a relationship with Thirteen, but I felt like this relationship was only brought into the picture to avoid having to fire him as even now his presence just seems pointless. Taub and Kutner are their usual selves with nothing really important happening to them other than House torturing Taub over his affair. There are quite a few delightful surprises that take place during the season, some are more important than others, but they're all designed to keep us watching to the next episode.

As with every TV show, the finale is always the most special episode that will keep you wanting more up to when the next season starts. House is no exception to that rule and although most TV shows may create a cliff-hanger to keep you wanting more, they would also wrap a few stories up so they don't have to be revisited. House very rarely does that. Instead it gives us riveting cliff-hangers that makes us question the true brilliance of what we have seen, yet if you're not a fan of the primary cliff-hanger, there's also a few other stories that you will want to know what happened next. This is a truly brilliant season that exposes a more emotional and loveable side to House that have only briefly been explored in previous seasons. There is one massive shocker that most reading this review will have probably heard about by now, but it's just an overall great season and worthy of any House fans DVD collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth every penny!, 25 Jan 2006
By A Customer
I've been a fan of Hercules for a long time, but I've somehow never managed to see any of the first series, and only a couple of movies. So when I saw all five movies, and all episodes of the first series for less than a ten pounds I knew I had to get it. Like most shows, Hercules got better after the first series and is at its most rough here. Iolas is only a recurring character, Ares is largely incorporeal (or a skull on the moon) and there is less of the tongue in cheek humour that makes later seasons so great- but there is still a lot to love. Traces of the future comedic brilliance of Hercules, the origins of Xena and Salmoneus (as well as the actors who later play Gabrielle, Salmoneus, and even Iolas in other roles, along with *two* others from Lucy Lawless) , moments from the credits that you’ve seen a thousand times out of context, Hercules briefly wearing a different outfit… I could go on. There are also commentaries by Kevin Sorbo, and sometimes Micheal Hurst, on at least one episode per disc (making it about one in three), including “Video Commentaries” where they intercut the episode with footage of the actors watching them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


49 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a peculiar season, 13 May 2009
By 
This review is from: House Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
Season 5 is straight up weird. It's rich with hints and clues that not all is well with House, and the season finale ends on the mini-mother of all cliff hangers. Season 6 opening episode is going to be unmissable. American tv shows always end a season with a cliff hanger, but so often they're appallingly slapdash. Not so with House. From about mid way through the season, it's subtly hinted at that there is something profoundly amiss, and it culminates in a dark and surprising final few scenes.

Anyway, back to the beginning. At the start of the series, Amber is gone, and so is Wilson. In his place there's a private detective, Lucas (played wonderfully by Michael Weston) who is sardonic and clever (actually a match for House) and, apparently, is being given his own spin off series. That's officially Good News.

Chase, Cameron and Cuddy get more of a look in than they did in season 4 - it's no longer incongruous that their names are in the opening credits... although, Cameron and Chase are largely spent fine-tuning and/or imploding their relationship. Season 5 also introduces a relationship between 2 more of the main cast... and the violent loss of another. Apparently in the States it was widely touted as a "Very Special Episode", with ramifications that would ripple throughout the rest of the season. They set up a bit of a red herring leading up to it, so it is a genuine shock but, somehow, that whole storyline is a little unsatisfying. That being said, House's situation is possibly predicated on it, so maybe there are huge, House-shaped ripples we've yet to fully see.

The team still solve the unsolveable, House still offends anyone with ears (and, indeed, someone without), and it's still fiercely clever and frequently funny. The entire season feels a lot more chaotic than the others - almost as if they wrote much of it on the fly, but it's no poorer for that. It's still House, it's still wonderful, and it deserves no less than 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Over fifty years old and aged beautifully, 31 May 2007
By 
This is way before my time but when a programme is this good it matters not. I used to watch this sometime in the 1980's with my Dad and it was one of my favourite programmes at the time but it wasn't this series, it was a later one because I can remember it being in colour, but anyway the presentation and music (very uplifting for something so dark) was exactly the same as this. Although I can't really remember all of the stories from those colour episodes, there was one in particular that involved somebody accidentally being buried alive after a plan went wrong and it put me off ever wanting to be buried when I die.

I love the way this series is presented by Alfred Hitchcock, he was a national treasure and I particularly like his witty remarks before and after each episode I really hope they release every series of this on DVD, it would be a tragedy if it wasn't. At the time of writing, this as to be one of the best value for money DVD boxsets ever at (at the time of writing) just under 9. There are 39 episodes at roughly 23 minutes each and a good variety of stories all with some kind of twist at the end. I don't think that this is as well known as say for example The Twilight Zone (another classic that as aged beautifully) or to younger people like myself, but if you like that and anything similar, then even at over fifty years old (and as I have already mentioned this is way before my time) I would recommend this classic programme to anyone.

One last comment is that I am sorry to say to the person asking that there aren't any subtitles on this particular series which is wrong, as I think that they should be on all DVD's as standard but I am not sure about series 2 and whether they will be on the remaining series (if they are ever released), so fingers crossed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lose yourself in these fun adventures!, 26 April 2012
By 
D. Lucas "guidebook vulture" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Kevin Sorbo refers to these episodes as season 2 because he considers the 5 telemovies to be season 1. I call the movies season 0. But anyway, thats an unimportant issue. These episodes are where I was introduced to the world of Hercules: The Legendary Journeys when they first aired on Sky 1. The show has aged surprisingly well, despite the CGI creatures (which I thought were amazing when i was younger!) looking rather stiff and dated, yet still not as namby pamby as a lot of the movies that are turning up on the SyFy channel these days.

This season picks up from where the movies left off. After a pub brawl with his best buddy Iolaus, Hercules comes home to his beloved wife and children, only to see them killed instantly by a fireball sent from the wicked goddess Hera. Hercules vows to make Hera pay for killing his family, and begins his own personal war against her, but it doesn't take him long to realise that what he does to protect mortals from the cruelty of the gods has far more meaning than anything he does out of hatred towards Hera.

Kevin Sorbo as Hercules and Michael Hurst as Iolaus have great chemistry together, you believe they really are best friends who will stick by eachother throughout anything, whether its monsters from the underworld, gladiator contests or vengeful gods. Their friendship is really put to the test when Iolaus becomes infatuated with a certain warrior princess who tries to drive the two best friends apart and have them kill eachother!

Fans of Lucy Lawless will be delighted to know that this season also introduces the character of Xena, right before she heads off to have her own adventures in Hercules' highly successful and iconic spin-off series Xena Warrior Princess.

Other highlights from this season include Hercules' battles against a seductive Medusa-like creature called the She-Demon, a towering Cyclops, the monstrous Stymphalian Bird, a demonic hellhound called Greagas, an army of ghosts and a gang of powerful centaurs. Hercules also befriends the comical aspiring business man Salmoneus, and teams up with the mighty Atalanta to battle the forces of Ares.

The packaging is slightly odd, with some weird looking creatures depicted on the front cover that don't atcually appear in any of these episodes, but if you're in the mood for a light-hearted fantasy with some gorgeous New Zealand locales, creative monster battles and lovable performances, then lose yourself in these adventures set for a few hours. Unfortunately there are no interviews or commentaries, just the episodes in their uncut glory. Suitable for family viewing; the kids will enjoy the action, monsters and humour, while the adults will appreciate the generous amounts of bare skin on display.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great set, great series, great value!, 16 Jan 2007
By 
M. Snabel (Amsterdam, The Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
'Hercules: The Legendary Journeys' is a TV-series that is nowadays often frowned upon or criticised for its clunky SFX, cheesy dialogue and general camp. But I can't help but love it, and I think I'm one of the few fans who prefers this series over its massively more popular spin-off, 'Xena: Warrior Princess', any day. So as soon as I got my hands on a DVD-player that could play Region 1, I also got my hands on this box set, which is vastly superior to its Region 2 counterparts in many ways.

The 5 TV-movies mark the beginning of our hero's journey and also introduce us to the main characters, including Hercules' best friend and partner, Iolaus, his mother, Alcmene, his (future) wife Deianeira and, of course, his almighty father Zeus.

I especially like the very first movie, "Hercules and the Amazon Women", in which we get our first glimpse of the wonderful lifelong friendship between Hercules and Iolaus, which for me has always been the heart of the series more than anything else.

Although the movies can get away with more in terms of blood, gore and swearwords, the 45-minute episodes feel generally darker, which has a lot to do with the fact that the season opens with the fiery death of Hercules' young family by the hands of his evil stepmother Hera, and his subsequent rage at the gods who let this happen to him.

It continues on a slightly lighter note, and these episodes are more family-friendly, tackling issues such as racism, bullying, gangs and arrogance. Towards the end of the season, with darker episodes such as 'Gladiator' and 'The Gauntlet', you might want to send the younger children to bed, though.

Some great episodes in this season: 'Pride Comes Before A Brawl', which Kevin Sorbo jokingly refers to as "Iolaus' PMS episode", in which Nemesis, the hitwoman of the Gods and childhood sweetheart of Hercules, is sent to kill Iolaus for the sin of pride, "The Warrior Princess", which introduced the world to Xena, who seduces Iolaus and turns him against his best friend, and the season finale, 'Unchained Heart' which sets up some great personal dynamics between Hercules, a reformed Xena, a vengeful Iolaus and a cowardly Salmoneus, as they join forces to defeat Xena's bloodthirsty general and his devine ally, wargod Ares.

Kevin Sorbo, though perhaps his acting might not be to everybody's taste, is in my opinion a perfect choice for Hercules. His magnetic and impressive physical presence and his deadpan delivery of humorous oneliners endeared him to me instantly. Michael Hurst as best friend Iolaus stole my heart straight away, and he remained my favourite all through the series. These two actors have a great dynamic between them that works perfectly for the relationship they are supposed to portray.

Anthony Quinn sadly only appears as Zeus in the TV-movies, to be replaced later in the series by different actors, but his performance is better than all the others put together, and I was sad not to see him return.

Fandom favourites such as Lucy Lawless (as Amazon general Lysia in 'Amazon Women', plotting centaur lover Lyla in 'As Darkness Falls', and later, of course, her most famous character, Xena), Renee O'Connor (who would later play Xena's sidekick Gabrielle, now portraying Deianeira, princess of Troy in 'The Lost City'), Robert Trebor (as Herc-worshipping slave Waylan in 'The Lost City' and later as series regular Salmoneus) make their debut in this season, and there are some appearances by actors who have since risen to stardom, such as Roma Downey (star of 'Touched by an Angel', who plays Amazon Queen Hippolyta and Hera in 'Amazon Women') and a young Lucy Liu (star of Hollywood films such as 'Charlie's Angels', here portraying enslaved Eastern princess Oi-Lan in 'The March to Freedom').

Some great extras on this DVD set include audio and video commentaries by its two lead actors, Kevin Sorbo and Michael Hurst. Mr. Hurst especially is very amusing and full of interesting stories. I personally found the video commentaries a bit redundant, as you simply see the actors sitting in front of a TV-screen, watching the episode, and you get to hear more on the audio commentary anyway. I'd rather have had audio commentaries on more episodes.

Overall, if you are or ever have been a fan, this box set is a buy you will not regret, and the start to a great collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic season, 11 May 2012
By 
R. Collings (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A seriously under rated series here in the UK. It is about American football in a high school at its core, but it is so much more. A story of a small West Texas town, its people and their almost religious love of Friday night high school football.

I am writing this review to echo another handy hint from another reviewer. As the PAL versions of this series are not available in the UK, I went to Amazon France and ordered seasons 3,4 and 5 at a much cheaper cost. All you need to do is make the correct audio language choice at the beginning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars COvert Affairs, 27 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I cam across this by accident, catching an episode on tv, and decided to take a chance on the dvd. This is a really entertaining series following the story of Annie, a young CIA operative who speaks several languages fluently. As the story develops we realise that Annie was recruited for reasons other than her language skills, and this sub-plot underlines sseveral of the episodes. Piper Perabo is excellent as Annie, along with some really good regulars such as Peter Gallagher, Anne Dudek (who is shamefully under-used) and Sendhil Ramamurthy from Heroes. Apart from the spy plots, it is interesting to see how the agents struggle with leading such secretive, double lives and the effects the job has on relationships. There are also some fantastic guest stars including Oded Fyer appearing regularly as a Mossad agent who develops a really amusing and interesting relationship with Annie and will hopefully continue to appear, Eric La Salle from ER, and another ex-Hero Santiago Cabrera who I hope will return (quite honestly he could turn up reading a telephone directory and I'd tune in!!). This is a well-scripted, well produced, fun, fast-paced series which has clearly had some money spent on it. I have even been able to watch it with my 11 & 13 year old who love it. I can thoroughly recommend it and we are all eager now for season 3!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AT LAST THE LEGENDARY TV SERIES OF MR H ON DVD!!!, 25 Feb 2006
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Was looking for this WONDERFUL series on DVD for a while & now it's here! FORGET that these episodes are 50+ YEARS OLD and revel in TV of the highest order that will appeal to buyers of other intelligent sci-fi shows like the TWILIGHT ZONE (60s & 1985 series) and JOHNNY STACCATO (not on DVD officially anywhere, why not??). If you think pre 1965 B&W shows are flat & boring you're mistaken!

(Updated Apr 08) This first series has some great episodes, all introduced by cheeky comments by Mr H himself. Many future name guest stars inc John Cassavettes (Johnny Staccato) and Charles Bronson. Some of the episodes later in the set deviate from the mystery & suspense style & are a little disappointing, a few stories do not tie up very well leaving you stranded. Also 2 actors appear as different characters in different episodes very close to their first appearance, making credibility a little stretched if you watch one a day as I did! Some scenarios may initially look a bit dull to the modern viewer, but with any quality old show, it doesn't take long to see it for the quality it is!

Picture quality is fine for the age. The sound can be a bit poor due to the fact nowadays everything must be silent background with no hiss. This heavy-handed restoration mars mainly the intros though a few shows have poor distorted sound, but the best there is left. Most viewers with small TV speakers wouldn't notice, those of us with 15" speakers hear everything!

Will be buying all the series as they are released one per year. It'll take a long time: there are 7 series of the shorter format, then 3 seasons of the longer "Alfred Hitchcock Hour".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, 20 Nov 2005
This box set is fantastic. Contains 8 discs, which has 5 made for TV movies & 13 episodes. For the price, this is brilliant value. If you like Hercules, this is the best box set to start your collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xae1c1b4c)

This product

House Season 5 [DVD]
House Season 5 [DVD] by Hugh Laurie (DVD - 2009)
7.55
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews