Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Nostalgia!
I bought this DVD mostly because the wonderful Kathleen Harrison is in it and I wasn't disappointed, she along with the rest of the cast put in a great performance and though it was made long before I was born made me wish that I had been there to take part in the fun. Films like this so easily reward the viewer and I think that there is something more 'real' about the...
Published on 8 Jan 2012 by A. Bear

versus
41 of 41 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Where there's a will.
Another of a long line of 1950's Great British comedy films. For me this is a rarely seen black & white gem with a great cast including George Cole, Kathleen Harrison, Dandy Nichols, Lesley Dwyer, Sam Kydd & Thelma Ruby with an early screen role for the young Edward Woodward.
Without giving too much away, the plot involves a Cockney family inheriting a run down Devon...
Published on 24 July 2010 by A. C. Mason


Most Helpful First | Newest First

41 of 41 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Where there's a will., 24 July 2010
By 
A. C. Mason ""House Carl"" (WA. Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Where There's A Will [DVD] (DVD)
Another of a long line of 1950's Great British comedy films. For me this is a rarely seen black & white gem with a great cast including George Cole, Kathleen Harrison, Dandy Nichols, Lesley Dwyer, Sam Kydd & Thelma Ruby with an early screen role for the young Edward Woodward.
Without giving too much away, the plot involves a Cockney family inheriting a run down Devon farm. Alfie (lesley Dwyer) wants to make a 'go' of it. His two sisters (Thelma Ruby, Dandy Nichols) & Brother-in-law (George Cole) in an early showing of his 'Spiv' character aren't so keen, but, with the help of the farms housekeeper (Kathleen Harrison) and a missing Will Alfie keeps his country life.
The Acting is top notch, as is the story line and direction by Vernon Sewell.

How-ever my enjoyment was spoilt by the poor quality. 'Renown' Pictures Ltd have made a bad effort transferring this gem onto DVD. Too much contrast in the picture and a noticeable hissing sound spoilt my enjoyment by their amateurish efforts. Give me an iMac computer and I could make a better job of it!
If you can put up with poor picture and sound quality I would still recommend the viewing of this gentle comedy.
Where There's A Will [DVD]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Nostalgia!, 8 Jan 2012
This review is from: Where There's A Will [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this DVD mostly because the wonderful Kathleen Harrison is in it and I wasn't disappointed, she along with the rest of the cast put in a great performance and though it was made long before I was born made me wish that I had been there to take part in the fun. Films like this so easily reward the viewer and I think that there is something more 'real' about the black and white films of this era than many of the ones of today - even with the benefit of HD I am sure that if this film was remade today it would be ruined with sexual content and bad language. Get this film if you enjoy a laugh without the crudity that many modern films feel they have to toss in!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars That's entertainment!, 28 Dec 2012
By 
Quackers (Scotland, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Where There's A Will [DVD] (DVD)
This is a much-underrated little gem of a movie; I defy anyone not to enjoy it.
A good yarn, it's true entertainment with acting of the highest standards throughout.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars nice, 5 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Where There's A Will [DVD] (DVD)
good for nostalgia and i do love black and white films a time of carefree when we can all sit down and watch them. no blushes, esp on a cold winters day
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it!, 29 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Where There's A Will [DVD] (DVD)
I love old films of this era, but hadn't seen this one before. What a delightful little gem it turned out to be. The casting is perfect , the storyline simple and engaging with comic overtones. Lesley Dwyer better known to younger audiences as a member of the very succesful Hi- De- Hi T.V. comedy series gives a wonderful performance ably supported by a cast who need no introduction from me. I sat back, feet up Guinness in hand , was thoroughly entertained and not a single swear word in sight. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A lovely happy ending, 2 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Where There's A Will [DVD] (DVD)
Of cause you have to allow for the obvious town meets country set in the mid 1950s when life minus officials from the Ministry Of Agriculture' was simpler and a pint of ale was a shilling but with a splendid cast and fast moving plot this film is really entertaining to watch . George Cole never far from the 'flash 'ary' type wheeling and dealing to sell-up and pocket the proceeds. Leslie Dwyer hard working ordinary bloke whose never had much money first finds he's in luck, he's been left a farm by a relative he never met but then finds debts overtake the property and seem to snatch ownership of the farm to a well off neighbouring land owner. But then after various ups and downs with the assistance of wonderful Kathleen Harrison as the house keeper who 'comes with the farm' finds all his problems solved by the discovery of another later will and land title so no going back with the rest of the towny relatives to London , he can stay happily on the farm.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Old film, 4 Dec 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Where There's A Will [DVD] (DVD)
Interesting to see those great actors again. Also a small part by Edward Woodward - must hav been his first!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa73b3c30)

This product

Where There's A Will [DVD]
Where There's A Will [DVD] by Vernon Sewell (DVD - 2009)
9.08
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews