Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars John Inman :A Much Missed Talent
John Inman stars as Graham Jones,male secretary to tycoon boss,the divorced,Joan Warner(Rula Lenska)in this early 80s comedy.

Graham is just an extension of Mr Humphries,though not as outrageous. Miriam Margolyes in an early TV role,plays the Italian nanny,Maria, to Rula Lenska's daughter,Lucy.
John Inman can play to great comedy effect even when the...
Published on 17 Mar. 2009 by Gregory Shanley

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Take a Letter Mr Jones, the Complete Series
John Inman was obviously a comic genius and national treasure, but I have to say this particular sitcom from the early eighties left me feeling somewhat cold compared to his other gems, like 'Are You Being Served?', 'Grace & Favour' and 'Odd Man Out', all of which are infinitely better and more funny in my opinion. I think this one being set in an office (which to me is...
Published 3 months ago by Chris625


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars John Inman :A Much Missed Talent, 17 Mar. 2009
By 
Gregory Shanley (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Take a Letter Mr Jones: Complete Series [DVD][1981] (DVD)
John Inman stars as Graham Jones,male secretary to tycoon boss,the divorced,Joan Warner(Rula Lenska)in this early 80s comedy.

Graham is just an extension of Mr Humphries,though not as outrageous. Miriam Margolyes in an early TV role,plays the Italian nanny,Maria, to Rula Lenska's daughter,Lucy.
John Inman can play to great comedy effect even when the script isn't too strong,so the four stars aren't for the writing,rather for John Inman's performance.

The catchy theme tune is very amusing according to some lyrics Graham's "a computer and a wife!".
A lot of people say this show was not a success,not quite true,Southern TV lost its francise,which saw the death of "Take A Letter Mr Jones" and "Worzel Gummidge"(though Worzel returned in New Zealand a few years later)
Glad to see this forgotten comedy finally come to DVD,I hope John Inman's other comedy,"Odd Man Out" makes it to DVD too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An astonishing 'model sectetary', 1 July 2009
By 
This review is from: Take a Letter Mr Jones: Complete Series [DVD][1981] (DVD)
Step back in time...it's 1981, Margaret Thatcher has been in power for barely two years, the country, and the wider world is changing fast. 'Take A letter Mr. Jones', written by the Chesney and Wolfe writing partnership who brought us such classics as 'On The Buses' and 'The Rag Trade' simply could not have been made, even a few years previous in the 1970's. In itself it makes this comedy series quite astonishing. That being said, it could hardly be described as liberation for those (not me!) who may have been offended by 1970's British, sexist, racist stereotype bases comedy (just watch the opening credits for example!) And at the same time listen out for one of the most catchy theme tunes...ever...it will drive you mad!

The plot, being quite basic is based, mainly around an office in a fictional company called 8-Star, who deal in wide range of markets from audio/visual media, to travel - could this be forward thinking to a Richard Branson 'Virgin' type company, who was still to conquer the train, airline, cola markets etc? Joan Warner (Rula Lenska) is a divorced, single mother, as well as a busy top female executive (and annoyingly, refers to herself as such, frequently!) who is keeping a balance (or trying to) between her professional life and her personal one. At home she has a six year old daughter called Lucy and a 'mad' over-excitable Italian maid called Maria (Miriam Margolyes). John Inman plays her secretary (Graham Jones)

Situations border at times on the slapstick (squeezing sausages into a suitcase at one point!) and whilst being enjoyable to watch, I felt little sympathy for any of the characters, except for John Inman's. Joan grossly oversteps the mark on a number of occasions using Graham as little more than a slave and nanny and a vehicle in which to make herself look better and further her career, and while this may be a refreshing role reversal, does little to further the cause of women in the workplace, which one feels that the writers are consciously trying to highlight. Miriam Margolyes (Maria) is given very little slack with the script and situation, her daughter Lucy, whilst being very sweet is nothing more than a manipulative little Madam! - like her Mum.

John Inman...ahh...Mr Inman, is simply superb. Watching John Inman at work makes up for most weaknesses in the script writing. He wins the audience over completely...just listen to the audience reaction when he realises that he has missed his holiday flight.

So in short, don't look into it too much, see it as something a little different, from an era where change was the keyword. Definitely worth the purchase...ironically, Thatcherism did little for women in the workplace!

Episode 1: The Interview Originally aired 5 September 1981
Episode 2: The Protector Originally aired 12 September 1981
Episode 3: The Holiday Originally aired 19 September 1981
Episode 4: The Japanese Contract Originally aired 26 September 1981
Episode 5: The Trade Fair Originally aired 3 October 1981
Episode 6: Business Before Pleasure Originally aired 10 October 1981
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rather funny stuff, 23 May 2009
By 
Mr. Mg Reynolds "Carry On fan" (Oxfordshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Take a Letter Mr Jones: Complete Series [DVD][1981] (DVD)
For John Inman fans this will be a joy to behold. I had forgotten this little comic gem and so had quite a few laughs watching it. John Inman is pretty restrained compared with his Are You Being Served performances - it is Miriam Margolyes who goes totally off her head. Ruth Lenska is fine as the boss to John Inman's male secretary and you get many pleasing comic scenarios to help pass the time. This show is not the strongest of sitcoms and the fact it only lasted one series should come as no great surprise. Neither has it aged that well being a real product of its time. But there are worse ways to pass the time than in the comic company of the late great John Inman.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not Inman's best, 8 Jan. 2014
This review is from: Take a Letter Mr Jones: Complete Series [DVD][1981] (DVD)
While taking a breather from 'Are You Being Served?' in 1981, John Inman teamed up with Rula Lenska to make 'Take a Letter Mr Jones'. The premise is that Graham Jones works for one of the very few female executives in Britain, namely Joan Warner, who works for a company called Eight Star. Graham is not only asked to take dictation, answer phones, and field calls; he is also roped into taking Warner's bratty ginger daughter to the dentist, picking her up from school, and even picking out intimate underwear for his boss!

If you're a rabid John Inman fan, this is something you'll want for your collection. Still, you'll wonder just why Inman took this role. And you'll also find yourself shouting at the telly, "Hit the stupid kid! Hit her! Child abuse be damned! Strike the little s***!"

Also, your jaw will drop when you recognise Miriam Margoyles. Yep. Professor Sprout (Harry Potter) is in this programme.

I only give this four stars because I am a rabid John Inman fan. And it was mind-blowing to see him actually walking instead of mincing, doing comedy that was not camp. It's just...surreal!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a lost classic, 20 Jun. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Take a Letter Mr Jones: Complete Series [DVD][1981] (DVD)
I had not heard of this sitcom. I really enjoyed 'Are You Being Served' so i thought i would give this a go. John Inman is great in this and is the star of the show. I wish they had made more than one series. I am so glad i bought it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Take a Letter Mr Jones, the Complete Series, 18 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Take a Letter Mr Jones: Complete Series [DVD][1981] (DVD)
John Inman was obviously a comic genius and national treasure, but I have to say this particular sitcom from the early eighties left me feeling somewhat cold compared to his other gems, like 'Are You Being Served?', 'Grace & Favour' and 'Odd Man Out', all of which are infinitely better and more funny in my opinion. I think this one being set in an office (which to me is rather uninspiring) coupled with the conceptually weak and unfunny script, let John's comic talent (which even in this poor show was obvious and still shone through) go to waste - although I gather he himself apparently did enjoy working on this show at the time! But for John himself being in it, I'd have only have given it one star. Nevertheless, you could easily watch him in all his other classic sitcoms again and again and yet remain bowled over by his unique character and wonderfully natural comic timing - a genuinely funny man and a great gift for all of us...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars real British humor, 31 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Take a Letter Mr Jones: Complete Series [DVD][1981] (DVD)
First part is getting used to, but otherwise it's a nice series
John Inman is a ferry good actor in this series.
A beautiful era of the eighties in an office.
An unknown series in Netherlands
an asset for me as a fan of British humor
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'm a John Inman fan, 10 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Take a Letter Mr Jones: Complete Series [DVD][1981] (DVD)
I love anything that features John Inman and I had nearly forgotten this, everyone remembers Are You Being Served and little else. It was lovely to see these comedies again - what a shame they only made one series!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Take A Letter Mr. Jones, 30 Aug. 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Take a Letter Mr Jones: Complete Series [DVD][1981] (DVD)
John Inman is as brilliant as ever in this comedy. Every John Inman fan should own this series. I can only hope that BBC video releases "Odd Man Out" so that we can further enjoy this marvelous comedic actor!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It's hard to see where all the bad reviews come from..., 4 May 2013
By 
Anubis (Melbourne, VIC Australia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Take a Letter Mr Jones: Complete Series [DVD][1981] (DVD)
This is quite good, given the doubtful likelihood of the subject material.

John Inman shines in this, as he shone in 'Are You Being Served?' and 'Grace and Favour'.

However, the eternally gorgeous Rula Lenska tends to steal the limelight from him in most of the scenes that they do together.

I found it to be an acceptable series, with a good many laughs.

Inman rules....Rula is Hot!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Take a Letter Mr Jones: Complete Series [DVD][1981]
£12.68
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews