Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good old classic
I started off my city building career with Children of the Nile and worked backwards from there. Zeus: Master of Olympus was as far back as I cared to go as I found the distance building restrictions on Pharaoh and Caesar III annoyed me too much. With Zeus you have the freedom to have workplaces anywhere on the map - without having to build housing infrastructure to go...
Published on 20 April 2009 by Carol Evelin

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Would be AWESOME if... it WORKED.
Loved this game as a child so bought it to play again. Does not work on windows XP, 7 ect. :(
Published on 11 Dec. 2012 by Shona Mcloughlin


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good old classic, 20 April 2009
By 
Carol Evelin (Misery, Switzerland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zeus and Poseidon (PC) (Electronics)
I started off my city building career with Children of the Nile and worked backwards from there. Zeus: Master of Olympus was as far back as I cared to go as I found the distance building restrictions on Pharaoh and Caesar III annoyed me too much. With Zeus you have the freedom to have workplaces anywhere on the map - without having to build housing infrastructure to go with it. There are several different campaigns to play of varying lengths and difficulties, each of which presents its' own challenges but all can be overcome. I had heard of the Atlantis add-on, but had trouble finding it so to finally see a Gold edition with both the original game and add-on meant I had to buy it. Atlantis adds more campaigns, different buildings in some cases and, of course, more fun. Sierra made a very successful series of these games and they're still great to play; my favourite being Emperor: Rise of the Middle Kingdom.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Favourite, 7 Jan. 2011
By 
Beaudoghouse (The Netherlands) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Zeus and Poseidon (PC) (Electronics)
After my sister (accidentally) destroyed my former copy of this game I was forced to play the online demo. With the magic of internet I found out that this game still was being sold. What can I say about this game, I'm over the moon! After playing games like Simcity, Age of Empires and Age of Mythology I found this game combining all the good parts. It gave me hours and hours of playing pleasure. A great tip for everyone out there. It's a must have classic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great timewaster and introduction to greek mythology, 27 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zeus and Poseidon (PC) (Electronics)
A short summary of what Master's of Olympus is? A predecessor to the current city builder games and a glimpse of what a city in ancient Greece may be like.

Unlike the warlike city builder games of the civilization series or the ancient empires series, Impressions Games created a set of games designed to create a city, not an army. While both Masters of Olympus and the Cleopatra series do have aspects of intercity conflict, the game centers heavily on the treatment and resources available to the people in the city. Water, food, clothing, education, religion, wages, expenses, safety.

It also introduces, albeit not perfectly or completely realistically, what an ancient greek may have experienced and what life they might have led. The developers remained true to ancient greek history and mythology, from the War of Troy to the battle of Marathon, to the twelve trials of Heracles and the travels of Odysseus. Even the pantheon of Greek gods plays a role in the game, with the chance to build massive temples to the patron (and matron) gods of your city, although no history is to suggest that Zeus came down for leisurely strolls through ancient Athens.

The game is built around a set of linear missions that usually revolve around the building of a famous city and the trials that it was given during its creation. Earthquakes, tidal waves, and even the occasional horrific monster, are things a player can dread happening.

And not all cities are built alike. Each mission has different landscapes and cityscapes and resources available to them. And if you can't find one that you love, the Poseidon expansion adds a mission creator so you can create your own maps and missions for your friend to play and try to overcome your trials.

If we're comparing it to a spiritual successor, the safest bet would be SimCity. While it lacks the tiers of development and research that it's successors have, a distinct lack of multiplayer, and the graphics are ridiculous by comparison, the game holds its own. While SimCity resources are primarily coal, ore, water, power and oil, the Masters of Olympus game boasts over a dozen resources, including animals with a rudimentary AI, and the Poseidon expansion adds another half dozen resources to harvest and control.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Master of Olympus: Zeus and Poseidon Review, 20 Oct. 2012
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zeus and Poseidon (PC) (Electronics)
Great classic city building game. Reminds me of childhood again. Gods, Heroes and Monsters what's not to like and a great map editor to use to create your own maps to build on.

Each god has its own perks it will bring to you city (pet monster's, private vine yard or silver mine, never hungry etc), each monster has a specific hero needed to defeat them (Hercules is needed to beat the Hydra etc). In order to invite them you need to make a city that meets there needs (Hercules likes a town with good gymnastic access etc) and fast in some cases as the monsters might be destroying you city. Only down fall is the tricky military management that you don't really have control over but it was a game made in the late 1990's so what do you expect.

If you liked Pharaoh and Caesar and other similar games in the Impressions/Sierra series you will love this one. Don't need a high spec pc to play so runs fine on my laptop when away from home. . Nice simple graphics, replay-ability and funny comments made by all the workers, gods, heroes and monsters. If you like a simple city building game I highly recommend this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's like Pharaoh, but better, 9 Dec. 2009
By 
Ms. L. M. Forster "Lyn F" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zeus and Poseidon (PC) (Electronics)
I love Pharaoh. It is one of my favourite games. I bought this game on a whim because it was cheap, and I love this even more. It's a very similar format of game - build a city, complete the goals, and the next time your goals will be more difficult. However in this game there are story arcs where you'll have the same style of mission with set goals, but over the course of 6-8 missions you'll be working from the same city. So any mistakes in building in mission 1 of the arc may impact on your later missions. This greater investment in each city makes the effort matter more - you can't get away with shoddy design or wasting space as you can in some Pharaoh levels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Zeus and Poseidon, 18 Jun. 2009
By 
Joseph Sexton - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Zeus and Poseidon (PC) (Electronics)
I love this game so much. Its so simple, yet never seems to get dull. Got an hour or 2 to kill? Definately a good choice.
I played Zeus yeeears ago with a friend of mine and fell in love with the game. When i discovered there was an expansion for it, i HAD TO HAVE IT. Im so glad i did.

*****
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Zeus and Poseidon game, 13 Sept. 2010
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zeus and Poseidon (PC) (Electronics)
The game is much better than the demo version! You get much more control and there about 20 adventures to complete so there's a lot of versions. It's addictive so I would recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great game!, 15 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zeus and Poseidon (PC) (Electronics)
Love playing these games. My advice is just take your time and plan out what you want to do, get your trade going very quickly as you will need the cash flow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Holistic Thinking for 8-11s, 25 Aug. 2009
By 
Andrew Sillis (Worcester Park, Surrey, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zeus and Poseidon (PC) (Electronics)
My boy really enjoys this game. He has learned about the interactions between farming and trade, the importance of balancing supply and demand, the benefits of peaceful interactions between nations and not a little about Greek mythology. Compelling and (with a little parental support) educational.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A very good simulation game, 20 July 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zeus and Poseidon (PC) (Electronics)
This was one of the first simulation games I played and absolutely loved it. If you liked Age of Empires, be sure to give this a chance. If you like Greek mythology too, then it'll be an added bonus. As usual, you've got missions and then you can also create your own story, so that you can play it forever, building the cities of your dreams, worshipping the gods you want and killing beasts with the heroes who fight by your side.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Zeus and Poseidon (PC)
Zeus and Poseidon (PC) by Vivendi (Windows 2000 / 95 / 98)
Out of stock
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews