Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliantly mad little film
The Czech New Wave bloomed out of nowhere and was brutally suppressed just as suddenly. After Daisies, Chytilova directed a number of films which were duly banned indefinitely before, tragically, kow-towing to her government's ridiculous censors and softening her approach. That she never left her country as many of her contemporaries did (perhaps most famously Milos...
Published on 4 May 2007 by J. Pierson

versus
12 of 39 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Tedious, Pretentious and Over Rated
The scene with the two girls at the start of Daisies looks like something drama students at a sixth form college would cobble together. It sets the tone for this over rated and pretentious film. These self-centred and unlikeable characters serve as vehicles for Vera Chytilová's supposedly feminist ideology. Apparenlty sponging off men in restaurants is 'empowering'...
Published on 21 Nov 2009 by Double Helix


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

40 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliantly mad little film, 4 May 2007
By 
J. Pierson "joe_pierson" (Essex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Czech New Wave bloomed out of nowhere and was brutally suppressed just as suddenly. After Daisies, Chytilova directed a number of films which were duly banned indefinitely before, tragically, kow-towing to her government's ridiculous censors and softening her approach. That she never left her country as many of her contemporaries did (perhaps most famously Milos Foreman) is both inspiring and sad.

Daisies is a mad little film. It's about two young women who take it in turns to go on dates with rich men. The other then invites herself along also and they proceed to wreak cheeky, anarchistic havoc wherever they go. The uninhibited, slap-dash, try-everything invigoration of Chytilova's direction surpasses anything from Godard or Truffaut. I didn't even know there was a Czech New Wave until I found this. It was a wonderful revelation. The film ends with the girls spectacularly trashing a lavish banquet before swinging maniacally from the chandelier. It's allegorical potency need not be specific: I read it as a simple, wonderful freedom. It deserves to become an instigative tag-line:

"Daisies?"

"Daisies." Cue havoc and hilarity.

I don't know anyone else who's seen this. It deserves more attention. I know the French New Wave was hugely significant and seminal (Chytilova was obviously familiar with it) but many other film movements (the Polish New Wave, for example (See Wajda)) seem neglected by the masses. I wonder how this favouriting of the French movement become as total as it did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Daisies without chains, 15 April 2010
By 
A. S. Potts (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Daisies (Sedmikrásky) [1966] [DVD] (DVD)
I disagree with the one star reviewer. That assessment of Chytilova's film-making skills is frankly absurd, so I'm not wasting my time countering those comments.

What is very telling about such a vitriolic attack is the view taken of the two other films that are cited; namely 'Valerie; and her week of wonders' and 'Sweet Movie'. I will comment on those films since so much spite is vented against the supposed weakness of the feminist content in Daisies.

The first is a highly sensual and erotic story of a pubescent girl, some might say titillating, and all drenched in pretty images while the other a visceral naked romp in which the male director finds it necessary, in order to present a 'sophisticated representation of roles' as the review puts it, to strip all the women naked and have them participate in erotic and sexual acts...........

in 'Daisies' however, with a woman directing, the girls are not subject to the male psyche nor a spurious 'sophisticated representation of roles' which requires them to appear naked for our pleasure under the guise of some intellectual pretext. Their self-contained world is not pretty pretty and barely sensual let alone sexual and the characters, through the director, repudiate the predatory male world except on occasions to mercilessly exploit it by having lots of fun.

This certainly makes for a film less appealing to the voyeur but does make for a stunning piece of experimental cinema.

Vera Chytilova just about pulls off one of the most difficult projects in expertly using experimental film making techniques to create a coherent feature length film that is both visually stimulating and entertaining. If that's pretentious, I'm glad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, 24 Dec 2008
By 
Emma B (Sheffield, UK) - See all my reviews
I saw this film on TV when I was about 15 (about 17 yrs ago!) and have been trying to track it down ever since. I didn't know anything about art house films or foreign films back then, but this film totally captivated me. It was so mad, but in a good way because it represented a desire we might all have at times- to have fun and forget rules for a while. It was so refreshing to see women totally free and silly, and literally messing up the order and pomp of the male business world. If you are feeling serious and want to loosen up, this is the film to see. Just wish they would bring out a region 2 version of the film so I could see it again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best examples of the Czech New Wave, 14 Jan 2011
This review is from: Daisies (Sedmikrásky) [1966] [DVD] (DVD)
For anyone interested in Czech film, this is a must. Its great to see difficult films to find being printed by Second Run DVD. Bit of a Marmite film but I definitely loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Swinging Czechoslovakia!, 2 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Daisies (Sedmikrásky) [1966] [DVD] (DVD)
I first caught a snippet of this overlooked gem on BBC2 around 20 years ago and it's been conspicuous by its absence from the schedules ever since. A typically loose plot for the period is no impediment to the childlike hedonism that runs through the film as a viewer with an open mind can simply enjoy the anarchic progress of the lead characters without expecting a conventional narrative.
I suppose in retrospect it can be seen as a frivolous product of the Prague Spring, but it does capture a delightfully naive strain of Swinging 60s optimism that was brutally crushed in 1968, one it would have been impossible to convey on screen thereafter. If you like 'Une Femme est Une Femme' or even 'Help!', you may like this...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Famous surreal film from Czechoslovakia is a bit overrated but nevertheless good, 3 Dec 2011
By 
Andres C. Salama (Buenos Aires, Argentina) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Daisies (Sedmikrásky) [1966] [DVD] (DVD)
Director Vera Chytilova's anarchic feminist film from the mid 1960s (right before the Czech new wave movement was broken by the Soviet Invasion that ended the Prague Spring) is hard to describe in terms of plot. Basically, it's about the various antics and gags of two young women. The victims of their practical jokes tend to be established society in general (which exists even in a socialist system as was Czechoslovakia at the time), and older men in particular. Aggressively experimental, the movie uses several types of film stocks, even in a single scene, as well as in your face editing cuts. There are several anti-phallic gags (with the girls cutting while giggling sausages, bananas, etc.) as well as an apocalyptic food fight (the girls seem to have a particular obsession with food). It's fun, imaginative, subversive, but even at a running time of less than an hour and a half, tiresome at times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A masterpiece of creativity, 23 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Daisies (Sedmikrásky) [1966] [DVD] (DVD)
There are 5 ideas/second in this movie. It is so inventive, you need to pause often to observe the composition of the frame, technique. Czech new wave is lesser known than french new wave but equally interesting one once dive into it. The narrative is not always straight forward but the characters are truly playful. It is also a good buy for fashionistas or set designers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Class Czech film worth owning., 16 Dec 2012
By 
Douglas A. Roy "TheDoug" (Pittsfield, MA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Daisies (Sedmikrásky) [1966] [DVD] (DVD)
Nice set of this classic quirky film from the sixties. If one doesn't already own the Eclipse set that contains this then this is a worthwhile alternative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Naughty, naughty!, 5 Feb 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Daisies (Sedmikrásky) [1966] [DVD] (DVD)
Daisies by Chytilová

V'ra Chytilová, like French Agnès Varda, is one of the still universally rare female Czech film directors, especially in the 1960's. By this, I do not mean to imply that female directors are not behaving like directors, but that their choice of topics and view of the world is bound to have, while not necessarly a gender, non- or anti-masculine touch, a certain feminine dimension.

Chytilová is best known for her Czech New Wave film Daisies (Sedmikrásky, 1966), which became also the film that established her international reputation. The film follows the antics of two characters, Marie I and Marie II, who engage in a series of destructive adventures in a surrealist atmosphere. Such techniques, in Chytilova's own words, "restrict [the spectator's] feeling of involvement and lead him to an under-standing of the underlying idea or philosophy."

Though famous for its experimentation in form and content, Daisies is also marked by witty imagery and visual puns, not unlike the work of the Dada artists of the 1920s who pushed the limits of artistic expression with cleverness and anarchic humor. Film historians point out Chytilová's debt to Luis Buñuel and other Surrealists. The inventive and visually striking cinematography is by Chytilová's second husband, Jaroslav Kucera.

Those familiar with Chytilova's background in philosophy discuss the film as nihilistic or existential, while cultural critics see it as a statement against materialism and consumerism in modern society. Others focus on the antics of the two Maries in search of a feminist reading. Daisies is clearly open to multiple interpretations that do not necessarily contradict each other, but exist as parallel readings of a complex film. ''

''Though completed in 1966, Daisies was not released for a year. Bureaucrats and politicians were disliked the film, most likely because of its complexities and avant-garde style. Officially, one deputy from the Czech National Assembly complained that the imagery of the film revealed a wastage of food (scenes at the banquet setting). As soon as it was released, Daisies won the Grand Prix at the film festival in Bergamo. This would become the pattern of Chytilová's career--while gaining recognition for her work on an international level, she obtained no further state funds in her own country.

PS Let me take this occasion to remind my readers that my grading of films is often a mixture between artistic valuation and historical relevance. Also, I am often short of space - reviews are meant to be kept to a certain average length, with amazon quite tolerant. In some cases like Daisies, I need to reduce my aspects to keep to my length - but then, there is the internet right at your fingertips, and if you start searching for more on the subject, you make me happy, as there is plenty more, easily accessible, and mostly worthwhile.

58 - 5 February 2014
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars How long after seeing a film can you reasonably count it among your favourites?, 2 July 2014
By 
Rob Simpson "noframeof" (Middlesbrough, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Daisies (Sedmikrásky) [1966] [DVD] (DVD)
What the bloody chuff did I just watch!? Two girls decide that since the world has gone bad they should follow suit. What follows is a surreal orgasm of colour, anarchy and rebelliously playful deconstructions of the Czech bourgeoisie. I have no idea whether it's good or not, but the sheer audacity of the ideas and execution had me in glee over the giant 'middle finger' this film is. Its not just an anarchists dream either, the super speed montage work in the film is the work of an editing genius. Super Impressive. One things for sure after experiencing this ecstatic film, I'll certainly be investigating Czech new wave and Second Run's discography at great detail...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Daisies (Sedmikrásky) [1966] [DVD]
Daisies (Sedmikrásky) [1966] [DVD] by Vera Chytilová (DVD - 2009)
Ł11.23
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews