Customer Reviews


140 Reviews
5 star:
 (109)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


70 of 78 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The first great Super Hero game
Batman-Arkham Asylum is a pretty special game. It came out of the gates with the sort of demo that sprung from the shadows, grabbed me suddenly around the waist, shoved a bat mask onto my face before I knew what was happening and firmly insisted in a gruff voice on being played through at least 25 times, or else. So I did. And it was good. Very, very good. By the time I'd...
Published on 2 Sep 2009 by J. T. Houlston-hope

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars still good but starting to feel its age...
having just completed origins i decided to dig this out and have another blast through it. kinda wish i hadnt... now this game is great and deserves all the hype it got when released but after playing city and origins this feels very restricted. batman feels very stiff compared to how he swoops dive and glides in the other games, dosent have half as many gadgets and the...
Published 9 months ago by james b


‹ Previous | 113 14 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I remember playing it..., 25 Oct 2010
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Batman: Arkham Asylum (PS3) (Video Game)
I completed this game a few months ago. Obviously if I completed it, it means it's at least a 3 stars however I only seem to remember how repetitive it was and how easy the puzzles were.
No way you can include it into the Uncharted, Assassin's Creed club...
It's a good 3 stars game, so let's call it 3 1/2 Stars for the Batman :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Batman Arkham Asylum Ps3, 29 Aug 2009
By 
A. M. Roose - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Batman: Arkham Asylum (PS3) (Video Game)
I wasn't going to buy this but mate brought it and I had a go. It's class looks great, plays great and is fun to play. When nothing of any cop has come out (except Battlefield 1943). This is a breath of fresh air. Not just for Batman GEEKS. Buy this you won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not very impressed., 2 April 2010
By 
A. Purcell - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Batman: Arkham Asylum (PS3) (Video Game)
I was very disappointed with this game as I was expecting so much more. Once you have swooped up and down a few times it loses its appeal.

The game is too repetitive.

The "puzzles" consist of finding things that are mostly in view you just have to press a button to open them.

The fights just consist of pressing buttons quickly in the correct order with no real strategy.

The challenges outside of the game are again just repetitive.

The detail and facts given about all the batman sub characters and interviews that you find as you go through the game is pointless unless you are massively interested in the comics as its not used anywhere else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Updated after buying the full game.., 10 Aug 2009
By 
Leviathan (Tyne Valley, Northumberland) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Batman: Arkham Asylum (PS3) (Video Game)
I bought this on the day it was released after playing the superb demo from PS Store. I absolutely love this game. It has everything I want from a game.

The controls are easy to master, the combat hasn't been over complicated, but yet the level of what you are capable of doing is still high. You can still do pretty much whatever you want, but it's just very uncomplicated doing it.

I loved the detective mode, the Bat-a-rang throwing, the silent takedowns but I especially liked the inverted takedowns; where Batman drops down from a gargoyle and grabs the enemy, leaving them strung up upside down hanging from the gargoyle... great stuff.

Don't be put off by some of the comments about not having enough of a puzzle element or being too short; this game is plenty challenging and is not too short at all. Nobody I have spoken too has been in anyway disappointed or unimpressed by this game.

My only hope now is for a sequel. I don't want much changed in terms of the gameplay, graphics or controls; but how about a Batmobile driving section (not too much driving though, I don't want it to be Grand Theft Gotham!!), a few more gadgets in the batcave that you have to decide whether or not to equip yourself with them or not, so sections of the game are easier or harder depending on your equipment choices?

I love this game so much, I've not enjoyed a game this much in years!!!

Buy it, buy it now!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GO BATS OVER THIS, 6 Sep 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Batman: Arkham Asylum (PS3) (Video Game)
THIS GAME FROM THE MOMENT YOU WATCH THE INTRO ,YOU KNOW IS GOING TO BE GOOD .THE WHOLE LOOK,FEEL AND WAY YOUR CHARACTER GAINS ABILITIES AND GADGETS JUST BLEND TOGETHER SO WELL .THE PEOPLE BEHIND MAKING THIS GAME REALLY LOOKED INTO MAKING A WONDERFUL ENGROSSING POLISHED GAME , THE ONLY DISAPPOINTMENT IS THAT I FINISHED THE MAIN STORY IN ABOUT 12 HOURS ,BUT ITS STILL WELL WORTH THE PURCHASE JUST TO EXPERIENCE A GREAT GAME AND AS IM DOING NOW COLLECT ALL THE EXTRAS AND PLAYING IT ON HARD ASWELL AS THE EXTRA CHALLENGE MODES WHICH ARE A NICE DISTRACTION. OVERALL THE RATINGS THIS GAME HAS RECIEVED FROM MAGAZINES ETC IS JUSTIFIED LETS HOPE THEY MAKE A SEQUEL WITH THE CHOICE OF BAD GUYS ASSOCIATED WITH BATMAN IM SURE THEY WILL.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars OMG!!! the best gaming experiance ever., 6 Sep 2009
By 
Robert White - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Batman: Arkham Asylum (PS3) (Video Game)
At first i thought this would be not too good. But as soon as i played the demo i was amazed by the game its graphic quality and sond just bloow me away. i quickly orded it and i can soy out of ny hole colection
GTA IV
COD 4
COD 5
HAZE
WEELMAN
SAINTS ROW 2
LITTLE BIG PLANET
KILLZONE 2
JAMES BOND

This by far the best game ever
remember to add my on psn as ZIGAMOR
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bout Time, 10 Aug 2009
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Batman: Arkham Asylum (PS3) (Video Game)
There have been many Batman games but not many good ones, Batman: Arkham Asylum is the first game where you feel like Batman and you get to do all the things Batman can do, you really become the detective and caped crusader that is Batman. This game really has a sence of darkness and the story line is perfect for this type of game. If you are not sure about it then download the demo because if you dont try that you really are missing out on a great game.
Plot: The game begins with Batman capturing the Joker after his latest plot and escorting him to Arkham Asylum for imprisonment. Due to the Joker's recent attack on Gotham's Blackgate Prison, a large number of sane convicts have been transferred. However, the Joker, with the help of Harley Quinn, frees all the inmates and closes Arkham Asylum with Batman and Commissioner Gordon inside. Joker then threatens to detonate bombs all around Gotham if someone tries to enter the building. Batman must uncover the full extent of the Joker's plan while contending with the horrors of Arkham.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This could be the best Batman Game to date! (Based on Demo), 14 Aug 2009
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Batman: Arkham Asylum (PS3) (Video Game)
After hunting for a Demo of this game I took my cue from the other two reviewers here and downloaded it off PS Network.

From the short Demo I can honestly say I can't wait for the full version to be released. It is based on the comic book and cartoon versions of Batman and not the recent films but to me it does have a similar feel to the films.

The gameplay from what I've seen is simply amazing. There something amazingly satisfying in swooping down on an unsuspecting goon and taking him out. The fighting is simplistic which for someone who is rubbish at remembering 10 button combo's is fantastic. With a few button presses The Dark Knight pulls off some visually pleasing moves ranging from punches and kicks to swift take downs.

This demo is just a taster and it has left me gagging for more. Don't take my word for it, download it for yourself. I will be buying this as soon as it's out!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars :(, 9 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Batman: Arkham Asylum (PS3) (Video Game)
Batman: Arkham Asylum order almost three weeks and still no game . ,. . . ., , , , .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 57 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars This is not my Batman!, 3 Nov 2009
By 
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Batman: Arkham Asylum (PS3) (Video Game)
How good is this game?
Based on the reviews here it is outstanding, possibly matching the GTA series. It also captures the essence of Batman. These are wrong on both counts. The game is plodding and predictable. Fights are a matter of pressing the buttons and watching Batman beat them all up. Nothing in the game is challenging. Additionally I have been collecting and reading Batman comics (not graphic novels) for 25 years and no game or film can ever hope to come close to capturing the character in his true light. You all need to grow up and get to the comic shop and learn about the real Batman from comics not films and games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 113 14 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Batman: Arkham Asylum (PS3)
Batman: Arkham Asylum (PS3) by Eidos Interactive (PlayStation 3)
15.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews