Customer Reviews


140 Reviews
5 star:
 (109)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


70 of 78 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The first great Super Hero game
Batman-Arkham Asylum is a pretty special game. It came out of the gates with the sort of demo that sprung from the shadows, grabbed me suddenly around the waist, shoved a bat mask onto my face before I knew what was happening and firmly insisted in a gruff voice on being played through at least 25 times, or else. So I did. And it was good. Very, very good. By the time I'd...
Published on 2 Sep 2009 by J. T. Houlston-hope

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars still good but starting to feel its age...
having just completed origins i decided to dig this out and have another blast through it. kinda wish i hadnt... now this game is great and deserves all the hype it got when released but after playing city and origins this feels very restricted. batman feels very stiff compared to how he swoops dive and glides in the other games, dosent have half as many gadgets and the...
Published 9 months ago by james b


‹ Previous | 112 13 14 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A really enjoyable game, 12 Dec 2009
This review is from: Batman: Arkham Asylum (PS3) (Video Game)
I really enjoyed this game it was fun.

On normal play the difficulty settings are just right, I have played games before where its very hard to progress and that is no fun, i want to finish a game and Batman allows you to do this.

The graphics are excellent and the story line is true to Batman. I read a review on here saying that the fight scenes are just a matter of pressing the button and Batman does the rest, this is true. But I am an ordinary run of the mill gamer who wants to turn a game on play it and enjoy and not spend days learning different moves and actions to get past a small fight scene. My Nephew who is 30 years younger than me says that a game should be big challenge that takes almost months to finish. So if you are like my Nephew then you need to do the Riddler challenges in each section which would greatly lengthen game play.

If you buy this game you will enjoy it and it is almost worth the five stars I have given it, perhaps 4.5 stars out of five would be more correct.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the Best TItles, 12 Nov 2009
By 
Christian Olf - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Batman: Arkham Asylum (PS3) (Video Game)
this game is awesome, great, and stunning at the same time.
It is just fun to play batman like in this game, with fighting, stealth, riddles and his gadgets.
The Story is good and keep you always interesting to play further.
PRO:
- Technically perfect
- terrific voice acting
- great action
- the riddles
- the boss battles ...
CON:
- ...wich i wish would be more and often (like Bane more then once, and Harley Quinn)

at the bottom line it is to say: Amazing game!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 2 Oct 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Batman: Arkham Asylum (PS3) (Video Game)
In this game, you are the "dark knight" ! Graphics, musics, environments, characters everything is great. I wish it was a little bit longer, but still i had fun from the start to the end, and that the main purpose of a game, isn't it?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love Batman!!, 22 Sep 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Batman: Arkham Asylum (PS3) (Video Game)
I didn't preorder this game, but having read the reviews I decided to give it a try. I have been playing this now for two weeks and I absoloutely love it. The quality of the game is excellent and the controls are flawless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 15 Sep 2009
By 
Mr. H. Riyait (Leicester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Batman: Arkham Asylum (PS3) (Video Game)
I got Arkham Asylum with my new PS3 slim, and I have to say it not only the best comic book inspired game created yet, but it's also one of my favourite games so far.

The premise is simple. You're trapped in Arkham Asylum with all the killers, crazies and costume freaks, all of whom are being led by the Joker. However, the actual journey to the Joker is far from simple. You will take down inmates with brutal fights, battle bosses in brilliantly realised set pieces and solve some tough riddles (200 in all) set by the Riddler. There are lots items to find, and secrets to discover. I particularly enjoyed unraveling the history of the Asylum itself.

When you're not playing the story mode, you can test your fighting skills in the challenge rooms, attempting to achieve a high score against other players that are ranked online. You can also perfect your silent predator skills in large areas that require you to dispose of multiple bad guys, whilst completing objectives, all as quickly as possible.

The game also looks fantastic. All the characters have a solid look and the settings are detailed and imaginative.

If you're a reader of the comic books, you will find a lot of references to the Batman universe, including other characters from the books. There is a very detailed and loving respect of the comic book.

Arkham Asylum is very dark, violent and adult themed. This game is not for kids.

This is an action packed, white nuckle thriller of a game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than expected, 11 Sep 2009
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Batman: Arkham Asylum (PS3) (Video Game)
Having played the demo I wasn't overly impressed with the game - seemed like a glorified double dragon to me!

However, given the lack of good new games around and after reading numerous 5 star reviews for this game I thought i'd give it a go.

And i'm glad I did. There's so much more to this game than just building combos against easily defeated bad games - there's puzzles, stealth and difficult bosses to defeat as well as the excellent challenge rooms and jokers riddles.

So I thorougly enjoyed completing this game and along with Call of Juarez this can go down as a game that far exceeded my expectations.

Buy it, you won't regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How about it BATS.....!!!!, 5 Sep 2009
By 
Mr. A. J. Wilson "Jay" (Manchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Batman: Arkham Asylum (PS3) (Video Game)
To be honest i really wasnt expecting too much from this game,after having played the demo i was unimpressed. However the full game is a different kettle of fish. The storyline is very engaging and keeps you coming back, this is backed up by some truly stellar graphics (quite a feat for a multiplatform game)The sheer amount of things to do and ways of doing them is what truly holds this game above some of its contempories. You can fly,run,take out criminals with batarangs, flying jumps,cross ravines with your batrope and loads of other little gadgets and special ways of getting from A to B. Special mention to the voice acting too which is quite simply brilliant, all washed down with an astounding classical musical score.

Put simply, you must own this game...!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars INCREDIBLE, 5 Sep 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Batman: Arkham Asylum (PS3) (Video Game)
i bought batman the other day and iv gotta say its one of the best games iv played on ps3. buy it. trust me it WONT be a waste of money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding. Best Batman title yet., 2 Sep 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Batman: Arkham Asylum (PS3) (Video Game)
I am always a little dubious when superhero games are announced. I saw the excellent graphics and played the demo but I still wanted to reserve judgement until I played the finished product.
I have been hooked since loading it on the release day. I had played the demo to death and was afraid that the games depth might only be what was in the demo. Thankfully there was a lot more. One of my favorite parts of the game is solving the Riddlers puzzles and finding every trophy and patient interview tape. I solved the Riddlers puzzle and found the ghost of Arkham today and was quite impressed at the outcome.
Arkham Asylum itself is one of the best designed backgrounds to play in. It looks great and there is plenty to see for the observant gamer especially if you know your Batman comics. From photo's and newspaper cuttings on the walls to the scratchings in the patients cells, every detail looks great and gives the player an incentive to spend time in an area and look around.
There are loads of super villains to see from the obvious Joker through Killer Croc, Harley Quinn, Poison Ivy, Scarecrow, Bane and more. Also there are lots of character bio's and models to unlock that give background on the Batman story.
Sound in the game reflects Batman perfectly and could have come straight out of the most recent Batman films.
The games combat is simplistic at first but with the unlockable skills and evolving henchmen, things soon become a bit more in depth with some nasty combos and takedowns and counter moves. Batman might not kill the bad guys but that doesn't stop him from breaking bones.
The stealth element of the game is good fun and there are lots of ways to take down the enemy silently. Use either Batmans martial arts or his gadgets and you will see some brutal and funny stealth takedowns. My personal favourite is the inverted takedown and then using a Batarang to knock the hanging bad guy down onto another one. I also like chaining the explosives together to get multiple knockdowns.
The challenge rooms are excellent and very addictive and give the player something more outside the plot to achieve. PS3 owners get the Joker challenge rooms which are the same layout as Batmans but Joker doesn't have all the gadgets of Batman so you have to reply more on traditional stealth skills and combat techniques. Jokers fighting style is very humerous.
My only gripe with the game is that the boss battles are not very difficult and normally revolve around waiting until they charge and hitting them with batarangs. It would have been nice to see the player have to work out how to hurt the enemy and have to use the environment more to finish them. This is just a minor fault through.
I recommend this to every PS3 player whether you are into Batman or not. A damn good game and strong contender for game of 2009.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This game is near perfection, 25 Aug 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Batman: Arkham Asylum (PS3) (Video Game)
This game is the best game so far for the PS3!
It is very well structured and the graphics are incredibly life-like.
The actions in the game are extremely good for example: opening vents, suspension, hanging from gargoyle's and the stealth attacks. The camera views are brilliant.
The detective mode is very helpful and the controls are easy to grasp.
I stongly recommend this game.It is my favourite game since Call of Duty World at War!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 112 13 14 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Batman: Arkham Asylum (PS3)
Batman: Arkham Asylum (PS3) by Eidos Interactive (PlayStation 3)
Used & New from: 3.13
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews