Customer Reviews


140 Reviews
5 star:
 (109)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


70 of 78 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The first great Super Hero game
Batman-Arkham Asylum is a pretty special game. It came out of the gates with the sort of demo that sprung from the shadows, grabbed me suddenly around the waist, shoved a bat mask onto my face before I knew what was happening and firmly insisted in a gruff voice on being played through at least 25 times, or else. So I did. And it was good. Very, very good. By the time I'd...
Published on 2 Sep 2009 by J. T. Houlston-hope

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars still good but starting to feel its age...
having just completed origins i decided to dig this out and have another blast through it. kinda wish i hadnt... now this game is great and deserves all the hype it got when released but after playing city and origins this feels very restricted. batman feels very stiff compared to how he swoops dive and glides in the other games, dosent have half as many gadgets and the...
Published 9 months ago by james b


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

70 of 78 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The first great Super Hero game, 2 Sep 2009
By 
J. T. Houlston-hope (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Batman: Arkham Asylum (PS3) (Video Game)
Batman-Arkham Asylum is a pretty special game. It came out of the gates with the sort of demo that sprung from the shadows, grabbed me suddenly around the waist, shoved a bat mask onto my face before I knew what was happening and firmly insisted in a gruff voice on being played through at least 25 times, or else. So I did. And it was good. Very, very good. By the time I'd played it through only 10 times I had already fetched my childhood bat cape from the attic, dusted off my Michael Keaton/Kim Basinger posters, smashed up my favourite piggy bank and separated out the silver into a clearly marked plastic bag entitled "the bat fund." I was mildly excited.

Lucky for me then that the full Batman game turned out to be a true gaming treat. Great character models, flawless voice talent (care of Mark Hamil et al from the last animated series), inspired mood, lighting, and atmosphere, all tied together by a fluid, intuitive control system. We finally have a super hero game that not only doesn't suck, but that can proudly stand shoulder to shoulder and head held high with the truly great titles of this generation. But it does so with a little borrowing. Regular gamers will immediately sense the influence of other popular titles at work here. The artwork, presentation and atmosphere are heavily influenced by the classic first person-shooter Bioshock, as is the sense cultivated throughout of a world gone slightly mad. The regular use of the Joker's voice on the intercom to taunt you and comment on your progress also harks back to bioshock's Fontaine. No bad thing. Metal Gear Solid throws its hat in the ring next, being the clear model behind the stealth action (albeit with the fantastic twist here that the gunmen know you are around somewhere and are terrified of you, becoming more terrified as you pick them off). The intuitive control system has a distinct sense of Gears of War, and finally, at a stretch, you can even pull out gaming elements and level design from God of War (particularly in the fantastic fight with Scarecrow.) Of course, all of these comparisons are to top drawer, best of their generation titles. The fact that Batman pulls to mind the very best elements of these games speaks volumes for its class, and at worst it certainly presents an overall experience unlike any you will have had before in gaming.

The fact that this is a "Batman" title doesn't unduly carry the game through its ills, either. Yes, its great to have these characters to hand, but the story line that guides you along the game is well written and engaging in its own right (although I won't ruin it by going over it here). The character interpretations are also spot on. A Comic book look rather than photorealism has been adopted, but coupled with the grimy, frightening, brutal design of the Chris Nolan Batman films. There's less spit-shine and "Kabblams!" here than there is blood, violence, death and madness. Of course, whilst this may heartily stoke the excitement of older gamers, do bear in mind that this sort of game may not be suitable for your Bat Youngadult. Its important to look beyond the pointy ears and note that this game has been given a 15 rating for a reason. Uncertain parents should have a quick play themselves first and see what they think.

Other than that there's little else to say. If you grew up with Batman like me, you will love this game. And even if you didn't, well... you will still love this game. Its too good not too.

9.5/10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best Superhero game ever?, 11 Mar 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Batman: Arkham Asylum (PS3) (Video Game)
2009 was a good year for games Modern Warfare 2, Uncharted 2 and Batman Arkham Asylum I feel can join the list of highlights in 2009. This game has been heralded as the best superhero game to be developed but in saying that there isn't much competition in this area if you look at classic titles such as ...errr Ironman and Incredible Hulk!

Not to take anything away from the Batman title as it is a very polished and well presented game. The game area is also fairly impressive with some general exploring to be done and detailed scenery which adds to the whole atmosphere of the game.

The controls are also extremely simple to get to grips with and even the most novice of gamers will be happily bashing buttons and bad guys heads in within a few minutes of putting the disc in the console.

This for me is where the problems are with this game .. apart from the decidedly dodgy end boss fight which I won't spoil for potential buyers or gamers that haven't completed it yet! For me it was just all a bit too easy and dare I say it ... repetitive!

OK there is the useful detective mode ... ahem Condemned 2 anyone... there are a multitude of bad guys which are all fairly useless and couldn't beat up Alfred let alone the Dark Knight!

Point in case before I purchased this game I spent a few mins on a friends version, I quite happily pottered about beating up bad guys and solving the little problems that our hero has to solve. To my amazement this wasn't in the first stages of the game but literally in the latter stages of the game just before you meet a certain lady with a liking for plants.

Not to put you anyone off buying this game as it is still a quality title but don't expect the most challenging few hours of your life when playing this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome game!!, 24 Aug 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Batman: Arkham Asylum (PS3) (Video Game)
Batman Arkham asylum is a fantastic game and has an excellent story. It is very creepy and scary but has awesome gameplay and combat controls. The game also has collectibles like the riddler trophies, interview tapes and concept art. Also batman has some awesome gadgets that help you with stealth and combat along with is gliding mechanics which work like a dream. i definitely recommend this to all gamers who want a good campaign with a good scare factor. That is why I give this game a 9/10!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Batman arkham asylum, 23 Oct 2010
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Batman: Arkham Asylum (PS3) (Video Game)
I think some time has gone though to make this game & the graphics are awesome, so much detail with the art work brushing & shading for 720p! The game play was fantastic, you real can feel & live the batman with all the gadgets etc... It's a shame this game was not available in the 90s when I was a massive Batman fan with the animated series as a child!Batman: Arkham Asylum (PS3)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Batman, 12 April 2010
By 
J. OConnor "Jim" (Liverpool, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Batman: Arkham Asylum (PS3) (Video Game)
There has been a lot written about Batman: Arkham Asylum, and it is true, the positive and glowing reviews of this game are accurate, it really is THAT good.

People have claimed that the game is samey, and that your basically just button bashing right the way through the game, I have to disagree with this although this is a fighting game for the most part, and there are some parts that require button bashing to build up combo's, there is a fair degree of strategy required to silently make your way past the bad guys, or to take them down without alerting their colleagues. Now for me, this is not my normal sort of game, far from it in fact but there is something appealing about this game, to say it is fun would be stating the obvious but, well, it is FUN.

It is easy to pick up a joypad and start playing at the easiest level, to get to grips with the controls, and then once your confident enough upping the difficulty, and there is so much that you can do within the game, from the actual advancing of the storyline, to collections for completion, challenges to beat, and of course, difficulty levels to master.

But there are three things that really make this game as good as it is, a well written story keeping within the world of Batman and Gotham City and using a mix of familiar characters as well as a nice mix of some earlt story villans which may not be so well know, and a cast of voice actors that really do make the characters that more lifelike; most of important of all though is the graphics, the design of Arkham Asylum, it's seperate wings and area's are so beautifully designed with a mix of shadows and light to cast the gloomy darkness over the Asylum that sets the right atmosphere.

This game is one of the best games released recently, some may dislike it naturally, but for the majority of gamers, I do truly think that once you play it, you too will understand fully just why this game has rightfully earned the rave reviews it has had.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I am vengeance, I am the night, I am Batman!, 14 Mar 2010
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Batman: Arkham Asylum (PS3) (Video Game)
And this game most certainly is! Not since the SNES version of Batman Returns has the Dark Knight had a game that even came close to what he deserved (with the possible exception of Batman Vengeance). Every element including the script being written by Paul Dini, and returning voice actors from the acclaimed animated series, make this game every fan's dream.

In my opinion, nobody can do Batman justice more than Kevin Conroy, and nobody but Heath Ledger has portrayed the Joker as well as Mark Hamill. They both do such a good job, that you wince even more at Commissioner Gordon's new voice actor.

Now to the game itself. Without giving too much away, the story begins with you returning the Joker to Arkham Asylum. And as Batman expected, the Joker wanted to go back to Arkham to put his latest scheme into motion. You then find yourself trawling the depths of the Asylum in an effort to restore order before its too late.

This follows two basic styles: the combat and the predator. The former allows you to take down the many Joker henchman in an enjoyable and fluid freeflow-style fighting system. Later when you gain access to Batman's other gadgets including the Batclaw, and explosive gel, combat becomes even deeper as you can further build up your combos with even more diversity.

The latter places you in areas full of armed henchman, who will not hesitate to kill you, should you be discovered. Above you for the most part, will be gargoyles that will provide you with a hiding place to plan your attacks, as you slowly pick-off the henchman one by one. Later, the game requires you to stay on your toes, as the gargoyles become booby-trapped, and henchmen will be alerted to any henchman that has been defeated, requiring you to keep moving.

And not forgetting that Batman is a detective: the game soon introduces the Riddler challenges (240 to be exact) which require you to hunt down trophies left by the arrogant Edward Nigma, decrypt mysterious tablets left by the spirit of Arkham (I won't say who it really is) and solve cleverly worded riddles which unlock bios for the many villains of the Batman universe.

Each individual aspect of the game some would argue, isn't very deep, but they don't have to be when they blend together as well as they do.

In summary, this is the definitive Batman game that finally delivers what so many other efforts have failed to do, and as such should not be missed by any gamer, Batman fan or otherwise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Arkham Asylum, 11 Jan 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Batman: Arkham Asylum (PS3) (Video Game)
Great game. I am not really a batman fan but this game is full of action. The moves that you can do are great and there is a huge variety to the number of ways in which you can take down your opponents. The storyline is good too and it isnt one which you can just complete in one day. It takes time to work out the riddles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars this will take over your life !!!!!, 20 Oct 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Batman: Arkham Asylum (PS3) (Video Game)
best game ive played since vice city absolutly amazing must buy game.
maybe now im in my 30's games dont seem to have the same effect as they did when i were a lad but this one blew me away the story mode is stunning,graphics jaw dropping and the challenge modes will keep you going for an eternity.
just prey they bring out a sequel no other game comes near it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The perfect stealth action game?, 30 Aug 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Batman: Arkham Asylum (PS3) (Video Game)
I had to chuckle at the question Amazon ask before you can submit a review: "Are you over 13?". Well, yes, I'm well over 13. Multiply it by 2 and you're still not close... three times and you've overshot only slightly. Why do I bother mentioning this? Well, because I sometimes feel a bit too old for video games, as if I seen everything any game can possibly offer. Many "triple A" titles of late have left me completely cold. I found Metal Gear Solid 4 too weird with rather stilted animation on the main character, the recent re-release of Chronicles of Riddick felt clunky and drab and the less said about Splinter Cell the better.

Yet Batman: Arkham Asylum makes me feel like a 13 kid again, and I love it. If you were ever a fan of Batman, be it the DC comics, the camp TV series starring Adam West, the Tim Burton films, the dreadful cash-in sequels or the decent reboots with Christian Bale - the game is the Batman you always carried around in your head - an invincible crime fighter of super hero status without being blessed with any special powers.

This is no simple brawler; neither is it a simple stealth game - it's both of those and so much more. Additionally, where I normally detest any and all fighting games, particularly of the "stroll along, beat up some guys, rinse & repeat" variety, Batman: Arkham Asylum manages to make it enjoyable. I can normally never be bothered to master "combos" and end up mashing the buttons. Somehow, Batman: Arkham Asylum has convinced me to learn "combos"; and I have, and I have enjoyed using them. I think it's also the very first game in which I have been able to pull off "counter moves" with ease. The stealth gaming is of the friendly sort; you're Batman, so being stealthy comes easily to you, allowing you to concentrate more on your strategy in the areas where a straight fight would end in certain death. Then there are the "detective" parts, which could feel "tacked on" but they don't, adding further to the sense of immersion in the game environment.

The graphics are up there with the best I have seen on the PS3. Nice and crisp with Batman showing off some particularly smooth animation. Arkham Asylum manages to look suitably dark and dingy while also being colourful and wonderful to look at. It particularly avoids the typical "shades of brown" that so many other recent games have resorted to.

The story isn't going to win the Booker Prize, but it is certainly Grade A comic book fare. I think many games these days try too hard in this area and lose my interest, whereas this relatively simple tale kept me gripped until the end. The voice characterisation is spot on and the story is gripping in a comic book sort of way. I must particularly commend Mark Hamill for his work as the Joker, particularly as I simply cannot picture Mark Hamill doing that voice - a tribute to his skills as a voice over artist (I also enjoyed his performance in Lucas Arts' Full Throttle many years ago).The music is also very good - I didn't look up who actually wrote it, but it's reminiscent of the Danny Elfman score to Tim Burton's Batman.

Two months ago, I really wasn't expecting much from this game and certainly didn't think I'd be buying it writing this glowing review. The demo (available on Xbox Live and the PS3 store) gives you a good taste of what to expect from the fighting and stealth but the final game has much more than this and there have also been some further refinements made to Batman's movement (although I didn't find anything particularly wrong with it in the demo).

Throw in the Joker Challenge levels (on the PS3 version only) and you've got a game that offers tremendous value for money. I wouldn't hesitate in recommending this to anyone with a passing interest in the world of Batman.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I feel like Batman..but not THE Batman, 29 Aug 2009
By 
Samuel Morgan "wiggle n giggle" (Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Batman: Arkham Asylum (PS3) (Video Game)
This game (not demo) is, without doubt, marvellous.
'Does exactly what it says on the tin', is a perfect phrase to use, when describing this game. The gameplay is easy to pick up, the graphics are fantastic, sound and music fit the mood and feel of the source material perfectly and this all contributes to the overall success of the game.
Its a well written plot too, the premise, that Im sure you all know from reviews etc, is perfect for this type of game. Its not'Batman does God of War' as some reviewers will have you believe. Any game in which you can dispose of the henchmen without being seen in most of the game, can never be levelled with this description. If one must give it a brand as it were, I would describe it as 'Batman does Metal Gear', no sneaking or stealth in the Boss battles, but plenty in the game.
The good points covered..BUT
Im am still waiting for the Batman game to end all Batman games. A sandbox, GTA style game, a fully explorable Gotham, coupled with another comic-inspired plot, and of course full use of the Bat-Vehicles etc. Past attempts on the PS1 &PS2 have been weak, mostly because they have been based on the films, and have bitten off more than they can chew. This game is a good start to rejuvenating the Batman-Video game brand.
Arkham shows us the direction, hopefully someone will take advantage of a sole-PS3 release, and create a game of epic proportions.
Maybe just a far-flung dream? Maybe something that will finally unlock the full potential of the PS3.
Verdict: buy it, its great (simple as)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Batman: Arkham Asylum (PS3)
Batman: Arkham Asylum (PS3) by Eidos Interactive (PlayStation 3)
Used & New from: 3.13
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews