Customer Reviews


64 Reviews
5 star:
 (42)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A truly great game
Graphics, atmosphere, presentation..all superb

I play with the keyboard & mouse & and the controls are pretty user friendly.

Voice acting is just superb, drafting in three people from Batman: The Animated Series, Mark Hamill (Joker), Kevin Conroy (Batman) and Arleen Sorkin (Harley Quinn).
I have to say that Mark Hamills' Joker really does stand...
Published on 23 Sep 2009 by Lominia

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad
Not bad, not great. Struggled a bit with the interface and it was bit repetetive.But for the price Amazon sell it at its a good buy.
Published 6 months ago by Mr. M. Lucas


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'm BATMAN!, 4 Nov 2009
By 
SethKane (Manchester,England) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Batman: Arkham Asylum (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
This game has come off as one of the most perfect console games to be (brilliantly) ported to the PC.

It's Batman, nuff said really but instead of being based on one of the sxxx films its more centred around the whole canon (mainly encompassing the animated series and the comic books with the dash of noir that tim burton plaed up in his film adaptions). There are some voice actors from the animated series and Mark Hammil's joker is superb (noone can arge with that, seriously) the dialogue, both in the story and the extras, henchman convos etc has been written with an eye for detail and a minimum of cliched/hackneyed cheese that usually finds its way into typical video games.

Now, the gameplay:

It playes beautifully a mix of freeflow fighting coupled with some stealth elements, puzzle solving and mayhem (with boss fights thrown in). Every part of it feels well thought out and executed and although vaguely linear it doesn't suffer due to the story driven nature of the game.

I could go on here but i'd just be agreeing and rehashing everything that's been said by other reviewers.

Buy it, enjoy it, complete it, and wait for the sequel and hope it's just as good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Astounding!, 22 Sep 2009
By 
A. M. Sarfraz - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Batman: Arkham Asylum (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
My system
CPU Quad Core Extreme QX6850 3.0GHz OC to 3.6GHz
OS Vista 32 bit
4Gb DDR2 1066 MHz RAM
Graphics Card ATI Radeon 4870 X2
HD Raptor 150Gb
Ageia series 100 PhysX card 128Mb

Update to version 1.1 the Hardware acceleration for PhysX only supports Nvidia graphics cards it recommends series 9800 and higher.

I played with the game settings at max and resolution set to 1680 x 1050.

This is a fantastic game the best superhero game to date. Rocksteady have done an excellent job and have created a game that Batman and the DC Universe can feel proud of.

The voice characterisations are superb having been taken from the Batman cartoon series. The voice of The Batman is done very well but Mark Hamil as the Joker stands out.

I have completed the story part of the game which represents less than 70% of the game. This took approximately 30 hours on hard using a xbox 360 controller and unlocks a bonus. The rest of the game comprises challenges and you can compare your score to others connected via games for windows live.

The combat system is great fun and visually stunning as you control The Batman dishing out justice. One gets to use many of his gadgets such as the batarang and grapnel gun. Stealth is an important part of the game as it should be in a Batman title and the Detective Mode is of great help.

From the moment I received this game in the post I played it non-stop. It has all the qualities of an excellent game, great story with superb characters, amazing graphics, down loadable content allowing game expansion and thus replay ability.

For me this has been the best game of 2009 so far. Outstanding!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb- Game Of The Year (so Far!!), 21 Sep 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Batman: Arkham Asylum (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Excellent game, the presentation just oozes quality. Plays really well, graphics are out of this world and the story and characters make gaming fun again!!
One of those games you just can't put down. Well done Rocksteady.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic !, 21 Sep 2009
By 
D. Brix (Leicester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Batman: Arkham Asylum (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Arkham Asylum is absolutely superb !
Great graphics, Great playability, Good plot...
The infiltration / combat mix makes it the missing link between Metal Gear Solid and Prince of Persia.
Simply the best game of the year !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The PC version beats the console's version, 23 Sep 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Batman: Arkham Asylum (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Batman: Arkham Asylum the PC version is much better than the console's version especially the PS3's,
first I played the ps3 version and it feels like ps2 game, with low frame-rate, and rough image.
but when I tried the PC version, I was stunned with the Graphics "depending on your Graphic card" and the frame-rate was up to 60fps on MAX setting,

forget about consoles, now it's time for PC games era
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars To unhinge from wow, 18 Sep 2011
By 
M. Baldwin (peterborough) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Batman: Arkham Asylum (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
After many years of playing wow, I had enough... but kept going back Grrr! But I've found some top games (cheap! I aimed to play games that cost the same or cheaper than the wow subscription, cunning as a fox me!) that quite frankly have took the edge of that sodding wow game, this is defo one of them, its great! proper got hooked into it, this and Bio shock 1 and 2 are awesome now I'm hooked in on them and waiting for number 3 to come out.. I clearly have a problem! :/

BUY THEM ALL!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So amazing!, 20 May 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Batman: Arkham Asylum (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
I saw a video of the gameplay some time ago and when I saw its price on amazon didn't hesitate. The gameplay is brilliant, the story really catches you. The only downside is that does not work with any gamepad other than the Xbox 360 one, but once you get one, it plays superb! (providing you meet the pc requirements...)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic game, 31 Mar 2011
By 
Will (Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Batman: Arkham Asylum (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
I was surprised how well this plays on PC but it works great. The gameplay is brilliant and it's really fun to play. It's not overly difficult, in fact using the XRay mode the game is pretty easy but still it's huge amounts of fun and the graphics are amazingly detailed. Best superhero game ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very worthy purchase!, 16 Nov 2010
By 
D. J. Sam "DJ $aM" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Batman: Arkham Asylum (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
I just finished the story for this game, and it has been a great experience. Eidos really did pull out all the stops on this one.

First the graphics, Arkham Island looks outstanding, the atmosphere, the level of detail, the physx engine works really well here, things really do look good. The individual fibers on Batman's suit, to the joker's expressions, the level of detail on every person's face. Throughout the game, Batman's costume gets torn up in parts, lodged bullets in others and cuts on his face.

The combat, also is very good. Thugs don't just stand around waiting to get beaten up, they actually do attack, they pick up objects and throw them sometimes, some thugs have knives, some have guns, and in combat if a gun cabinet is nearby, or a weapon, expect a thug to try and take out that weapon and use it on you. The combat is very free flowing and realistic. Countering is also a big part of the game in combat, and upgrades mean you can use some tools as a bit of strategy in combat if that is how you roll (personally, I've always just gone in with fists, and only if I have to, will use strategy). You can chain together big combos which will ultimately mean powerful strikes on the thugs.

The game has actually got a detective element to it, although it isn't very challenging, but it still is nice to see a bit of deviation from just combat. What is challenging is the amount of collectibles there is. Riddler's challenge's are challenging, there are lots to get, it will keep you occupied finishing his challenges, the trophies are spread throughout arkham, if you like collecting you will love this. Not to mention more interview tapes, character trophies and bios to collect throughout arkham.

When you complete story, there is challenge mode to sink your teeth into, which squeezes out that little bit more play and gives you something to work on when you finished. All the challenges have to be unlocked through story mode.

I always wanted this game since release, but Computer problems stopped me from doing so. The game runs well on my intel core 2 duo 3GHz x2, with 2GB ram, and an 8800 GTS 320MB. The game in general is excellent, I recommend anyone who likes beating up games, as well as collecting games to pick this up, it really is a good game, many people feel the same way, so you know what to do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Batman my new hero, 3 Nov 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Batman: Arkham Asylum (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
I've never been a fan of American comic's heroes. None of them ever appealed to me either when portrait on paper or on the big screen. Sometimes, in these occasions, games prove to me to be an amazing mean to present those disliked characters under a different light (...or shadows as far as Batman is concerned) and make them so cool and so in tune with overall atmosphere that my perception of the character changes completely. So this happened to me while playing "Batman: Arkham Asylum". The game in itself is great, packed of action and great graphic, never too predictable and yet not so wacky to feel inconsistent. As player you have plenty of choices either in terms of levels difficulty or in terms of weapons/tools you can use and they are actually all usable so that you never have the perceptions of being overwhelmed by absurd opened options you can never totally grasp. The game offers the players rewards and info. on the Batman's world which, for those who knows him well might seem to obvious and a bit boring, but to me they offer a quick insight into a world I was a bit reluctant to get to know. One note related to Joker: his dubber (Mark Hamill) is just sensational and it gives an incredible edge to the villain and a consequent thrill to the player. End of story? I do love Batman now and I'm looking forward to the next BAA installment next year!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Batman: Arkham Asylum (PC DVD)
Batman: Arkham Asylum (PC DVD) by Eidos Interactive (Windows XP)
£6.58
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews