Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle  Learn more Countdown to Prime Day Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 22 December 2010
I should start with the single disappointing aspect of this very impressive speaker set. Which is the power supply is two pinned American. So you have to buy a separate bulky adaptor or costly replacement to plug it into UK sockets. That may sound a little trivial but to pull this very good looking kit out of its made to measure case and then have to source an extra component to actually make it work, that then bulked out the case, was quite frankly annoying. If you sell kit in the UK it should come ready to work in the UK, for my mind.

Onto the speakers. This is a 2.1 system so you get two speakers and a subwoofer which is the long cylindrical bit, thinner than a kitchen role tube but about the same length. This is understandably the heaviest part of the unit. You plug the power into this and the device of your choice via the supplied 3.5mm to 3.5mm jack cable. I used an Ipod touch, Blackberry, Galaxy Tab and my laptop. These speakers only support 3.5mm input.

After the subwoofer you have two very small satellite speakers which are surprisingly light. They are closer to golf ball size than tennis ball and I was a little concerned about their quality. But there was really no need. These little speakers give you excellent stereo sound that seems much bigger than they are. You have no concerns over any tinny noises at all, and I sat intently listening through many different sound sources and levels. At all times the quality and range of sound was incredibly impressive. What really makes the overall sound is the subwoofer. The words that come to mind are deep and strong. This is advertised as a portable speaker package but you could viably place these on a desk as a permanent space saving set attached to your PC. They have a quality that surpasses by a long margin any speakers you would get built into a monitor as well as many units designed specifically for sitting on your desk.

The case that comes with this version of the speakers, you can buy them without the case, makes packing the speakers very organised, protected from damage and much like taking an extra laptop. Much better than loose in a bag and only adds a couple of Kg's inc the speakers to the overall weight.

All in all a great option for space saving desk based speakers or to take on the road. If great quality sound is important and you don't want to be constantly tethered to headphones while on holiday balconies or poolside or in a hotel room, these are definately going to please.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2009
I bought these because I wanted something with a bit of oomph. These are not it. The sound comes out of the little round balls, which are actually tiny, and the sound is also pretty small. Apart from that you do get a bass boost from the subwoofer. So all in all very disappointing, and I think you could find a better sound for the money.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2013
This arrived with an EU plug and no adapter which was my first hurdle. Once I managed to rig something up I couldn't get any sound from the unit. I returned it and received a refund without hesitation from the seller so a disappointing buy for me which ended with good customer service in its return
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2009
I bought a 23" Samsung LCD TV which is a good quality but has quite tinny sound. I wanted a set of additional speakers to use with the TV but which weren't too bulky and obtrusive. These are perfect for the task. The two spherical satellites are about the size of a small orange and virtually disappear in front of the TV. The equally discreet unusual 'tube' subwoofer is only about 11" long and 2.5" in diameter and fits out of sight behind the TV.
The sound improvement is remarkable ..... the TV now sounds as if its five times the size. The sound is detailed but not too bass heavy which is just what I wanted. I would expect that these would also be great with a laptop and they have the advantage of a neat carrying case for when you are taking your laptop away with you.
Really pleased with the purchase.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2013
Great sound quality from these little unobtrusive speakers. Highly recommended. I have two sets, one I use with my laptop and the other with a PVR and 19" TV in the bedroom.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2014
This product significantly improved my speaker system not a particularly loud volume but adequate for my needs. Able to largely conceal it which is an advantage. Good buy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2013
It brings alive my laptop and give surround sound to my movies!! the only criticism is the leads for the two satellite speakers are too short but heh fabulous
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2012
Purchased to make week long stops in hotel rooms bearable, this speaker system is more than loud enough to provide a decent quality sound system from net-book, MP3 player or Android pad. The supplied case makes transportation easier, without it damage could result.

The choice of two types of 3.5mm connecting leads, short and long, allow connection to any device with a standard 3.5mm speaker/headphone output.

Connection of the satellite pods is by a multi-pole plug and Y lead. This is just long enough to place the speakers either side of most laptops, and more than long enough for net-books or tablets. The satellite speakers are quite light weight and their Y lead is not the most flexible so getting everything facing forward can be an issue.

To get the best from the bass speaker it needs to be placed close to a solid wall or corner, not facing the listener...one lives and learns.

The sound output close up (i.e at a bent arm's length) gives fair directionality, using the speakers as a room filler looses any stereo effect; the bass response is more than adequate to back most rock music or spoken word performances; some may feel it too dominant. It is so much better better than the usual thin strained noise offered by small devices with built in speakers.

An old Asus 904 net-book, which gained positive reviews for the reasonable quality of its standard set of speakers, shows a marked improvement. Most modern personal music players can provide a balanced good quality sound from the compressed and slaughtered dynamics of MP3 files, when connected to better quality speakers/headphones. How the Edifiers sound with loss-less files on a Cowan D2+ player, remains to be discovered.

As this system is semi-portable it seems a poor design to make the bass tube/amplifier of cast metal and the satellite speakers from moulded plastic. I am contemplating weighting the satellites with some of the 'liquid' weight, as used by OO railway modellers, filling the recess in their bases, which may also tame the recalcitrant Y lead keeping everything facing forward!

The 4* rating is awarded because the lack of weight in the satellite speakers and the relative rigidity of the connecting Y lead.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2013
Bought as a low cost home cinema set up. Subtle design hides behind the TV and sounds pretty good too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 2 answered questions

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)