Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars PROGRAMME IS A CLASSIC - SHAME ABOUT THE AUTHORING
You can buy every series' of "Get Smart" on DVD, which ran in the early 1960s, so it's a bit of a surprise that "The Beverly Hillbillies" (from a similar era) on DVD seems to be limited to collections like this one. It takes some episodes from variuus series and is more of a "best of" than a collection. But that seems to be the same with all DVDs of this series. I...
Published on 28 Mar 2011 by Robert A. Cant

versus
1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars box sets
not a complete set and not always in order, same as one we already had but with different cover. So not happy
Published 17 months ago by Heather Weeks


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars PROGRAMME IS A CLASSIC - SHAME ABOUT THE AUTHORING, 28 Mar 2011
By 
Robert A. Cant "RobfromNZ" (New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beverly Hillbillies 8 DVD Box Set Collection [DVD] (DVD)
You can buy every series' of "Get Smart" on DVD, which ran in the early 1960s, so it's a bit of a surprise that "The Beverly Hillbillies" (from a similar era) on DVD seems to be limited to collections like this one. It takes some episodes from variuus series and is more of a "best of" than a collection. But that seems to be the same with all DVDs of this series. I bought this particular set because it seemed to give me more episodes for my money. As a bit of a collector, I'd rather they released 'complete series one' etc. But anyway, this is all we seem to have for this classic comedy.

The DVD authoring of the set is pretty basic, and that's my criticism. No extras at all (on my sets of Get Smart, there are numerous documentaries, and even a few commentaries from stars), and realistically if you have copies of the episodes on video tapes, and can convert them to DVD yourself, you'd have a product which isn't far inferior to this set. What is particularly galling is the fact the Flatt/Scrugs signature tune "come and listen to my story of a man named Jed, poor mountaineer barely kept his family fed........." is absent. Just some soundaline banjo playing.

But the programme itself is as funny as I remember it. The classic "fish out of water" storyline provides lots of laughs. If you're reading this review, you'll remember the show - of course it's a bit dated, but it does provide a lot of laugh out loud moments. Banker Milburn Drysdale would thrive in the new millenium, and one wonders if he's a role model to the bankers in current times.

The programmes themselves are heartily recommended, but if anyone who has the copyright to this series ever reads this review, please do a better job of producing the DVDs.

Programme itself is 5 star quality. The lack of quality from the authoring brings this set back to 4 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beverly Hillbillies Collection, 14 Nov 2009
By 
Mrs. V. M. Sale (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Beverly Hillbillies 8 DVD Box Set Collection [DVD] (DVD)
great dvd collection with excellent quality picture that works on everyday dvd players without any hasstle. would recomend this set if you want to have a great laugh
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Beverly Hillbilles, 13 Feb 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beverly Hillbillies 8 DVD Box Set Collection [DVD] (DVD)
I purchase this as l am a fan of the Beverly hillbillies l must say it is a great collection l would recommended it to anyone
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great boxset, 27 April 2014
By 
R Davidson "R Davidson" (Kilrea, Northern ireland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Beverly Hillbillies 8 DVD Box Set Collection [DVD] (DVD)
i got this from my sister for xmas i am a big fan of this show,
i have only got past episode 1 of the boxset (but i used to watch it on sky all the time)
great boxset for all fans of the show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Prompt Delivery, 13 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beverly Hillbillies 8 DVD Box Set Collection [DVD] (DVD)
I loved watching them as a kid,nice to watch again instead of all the reality rubbish on TV these days
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars beverly hillbillies 8 box set, 5 Dec 2013
By 
Mr. D. Crook (ENGLAND) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beverly Hillbillies 8 DVD Box Set Collection [DVD] (DVD)
still as funny as when i first watched it years ago brings back happy tv veiwing. delivered on time in good condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars couldnt be better, 11 April 2011
This review is from: Beverly Hillbillies 8 DVD Box Set Collection [DVD] (DVD)
something which you cant get from the ordinary shop a real blast from the past dad loved them brilliant huge box set
5*++
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dont make them like this., 10 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beverly Hillbillies 8 DVD Box Set Collection [DVD] (DVD)
Arrived promptly and well packaged. As for the item itself, there is nothing better on a Sunday evening than watching a couple of episodes, laughing away and reminiscing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgic, 17 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beverly Hillbillies 8 DVD Box Set Collection [DVD] (DVD)
brings back lovely memories of when they were on television as good as ever, would recommend it to all beverley hillbillie fans
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great, 16 July 2013
By 
S. D. Beech "sean beech" (hampshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beverly Hillbillies 8 DVD Box Set Collection [DVD] (DVD)
Brought back great memories of my childhood and still very funny. Shame it does not have the theme tune I remember though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Beverly Hillbillies 8 DVD Box Set Collection [DVD]
Used & New from: £76.69
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews