Customer Reviews


130 Reviews
5 star:
 (99)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic voice, the best album I've heard in years, and a great live act too.
Take one part Patsy Cline, one part Ella Fitzgerald, add a dollop of Suzy Quatro, back with a really rock'n'roll beat and add a no-nonsense attitude...

I've just returned from the cornbury music festival where Imelda and her band did two sets. Having *never* heard of her previously, i was initially a reluctant listener, but by the end of the first number i was...
Published on 10 July 2008 by Andrew

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wasn't a fan until..........
Recently went to the NEC (awful venue) to see Joe Bonamassa (recommended). Imelda was the support and she was absolutley brilliant -what a superb voice. I wasn't into her style of rockabilly/skiffle/blues at all, but her voice made the long wait for JB totally tolerable.
Published on 14 Nov 2008 by Mr. K. Collins


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic voice, the best album I've heard in years, and a great live act too., 10 July 2008
This review is from: Love Tattoo (Audio CD)
Take one part Patsy Cline, one part Ella Fitzgerald, add a dollop of Suzy Quatro, back with a really rock'n'roll beat and add a no-nonsense attitude...

I've just returned from the cornbury music festival where Imelda and her band did two sets. Having *never* heard of her previously, i was initially a reluctant listener, but by the end of the first number i was a fan. By the end of the second i was hooked.

while its a studio recorded (i.e. not a live) album, this cd manages to successfully capture much of her live act's spark.

Its very difficult to categorise her sound but if you like a broad range of music that includes blues through to lively rock'n'roll, (or would just like to try something different from bland churned out pop) you should find a great deal to enjoy here.

Give it a try and it won't be long before her voodoo's working on you too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous voice, best album I've heard in years, great live act too!, 26 Jan 2009
This review is from: Love Tattoo (Audio CD)
Take one part Patsy Cline, one part Ella Fitzgerald, add a dollop of Suzy Quatro, back with a really rock'n'roll beat and add a no-nonsense attitude (just check out 'Smokers song')...
I've just returned from the cornbury music festival where Imelda and her band did two sets. Having *never* heard of her previously, i was initially a reluctant listener, but by the end of the first number i was a fan. By the end of the second i was hooked.

While its a studio recorded (i.e. not a live) album, this cd manages to successfully capture much of her live act's spark.

Its very difficult to categorise her sound but if you like a broad range of music that includes blues through to lively rock'n'roll, (or would just like to try something different from bland churned out pop) you should find a great deal to enjoy here.

Give it a try and it won't be long before her voodoo's working on you too.

Tigger/Bandana Guy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lively, refreshing and very talented., 23 Oct 2008
By 
This review is from: Love Tattoo (Audio CD)
Ordered this CD having seen Imelda May on Jules Holland and not disappointed. The best CD I have bought for years, just what is needed for the shortening days. Varied styles giving a mixture of jazz, blues, swing, etc. Obviously a very talented young lady. No matter what your preference in music buy this CD and you will glad you did. Great to hear proper music played by talented musicians.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning Irish singer, 4 Nov 2009
By 
I. H. Milton (Brecon, Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Love Tattoo (Audio CD)
Having seen and been knocked out by Imelda May live in Brecon on 27th September 2009, I wanted to get all her recordings. "Love Tattoo" is mainly her own compositions, which are brilliant. Not only does she have a fabulous husky, sexy voice and a rock solid backing band, but she covers a wide range of styles through from blues and gospel to funk, rock-a-billy and punk. All the tracks are great, but "Falling in love with you again" is particularly haunting and memorable, and the title track is hard, driving rock. She has a refreshingly different image too, thankfully avoiding the barbie-doll look that is currently fashionable!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 2 Feb 2009
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Love Tattoo (Audio CD)
I have this album living in my CD player, this is one album that hits you in the gut from the get go, completely different from the rest of the crowd Imelda May's music just gets right down to the nitty gritty from ballsy numbers "Johnny Got A Boom-Boom/Love Tattoo to the more softer "Meet You At The Moon" and the truely haunting "Knock 123" all delivered with tight feel from a band who has paid their dues

You really need to listen to this album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars IMELDA MAY>>JUST WATCH OUT>, 8 July 2008
By 
P. Clack "pete" (WITNEY, OXFORDSHIRE United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Love Tattoo (Audio CD)
I first saw Imelda May with the wonderful Mike Sanchez band,she's got a fabulous voice.She was performing Mike classic roots rock'n'roll.She was also part of the really great Blue Harlem (just check their album out,Talk To Me,its superb). Then she went solo,with a crack band and what's more performing many of her own material.She appeared at the Cornbury Festival and down a storm,she is such a top rate live artist .So now this album,theres not many female singers quite as goods as this,original,classy and the whole album is beautifully put together mainly using her live band so it all flows along more like a live show in the studio.This really does deserve to be heard and I've no doubt its selling well at live shows.Please those doing radio shows get playing this album because its by a talent well worth catching up on.I just love her version of Lovin Spoonfuls'Wild About My Lovin',just about the best I've ever heard it done.The rest is a mixture of originals that sound like classic roots music,rock n roll,ballads and a whole bit more.This lady is going to be a major star so catch up on her now and tell your friends as well,Dublins never done better than give us Imelda May.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thumping Bass, 28 Jan 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love Tattoo (Audio CD)
I agree with all of the positive reviews of this album. There is nothing I can say about the excellent Imelda May (aka Imelda Clabby) that has not already been said in other reviews here - however I don't think anyone has paid tribute here to another person on this album without whom it simply would not be the same...the Double Bass playing of Al Gare (aka 'Slap Happy') is fantastic. The bass thumps and thuds through out the whole album in a wonderfully positive way (just listen to him on 'Johnny Got A Boom Boom' and try to NOT tap your feet!). A great taster for honest Rock'n'Roll/Jazz Bass. Nuff said.
A great album, a great singer ... and an excellent Bass player.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars added extras are worth it, 24 Sep 2010
By 
M. Bruce - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
the studio album is very good but the live album is worth getting as well - she does a great live show. And writes some of the songs and has a lovely Irish accent floating above a very good band so well done Imelda
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Imelda hits the big time, 12 Nov 2008
By 
I. Hingle (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Love Tattoo (Audio CD)
After many years working the rockabilly and swing circuits, the lovely Imelda seems really ready to find stardom with this brilliant CD. Great arrangements - real instruments, played by humans not computers, great self-penned songs, and the always glorious voice of the lady herself.
You could not ask for more. If you've ever seen her at the 100 Club, Dover Street Wine Bar, or any of the myriad places she's played, then you owe it to yourself to own this album! And I love the way the Dublin accent peeks through in some of the songs...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Astounding Versatility, 16 Mar 2009
By 
R. Elliott "Rellio" (Dursley, Glos. UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Love Tattoo (Audio CD)
This is a wonderful album, astounding in its versatility and all the more praiseworthy given that it is almost entirely self-penned. Imelda May puts in a superbly polished performance, easily moving from upbeat, throbbing numbers to slow, sensitive and thoughtful songs. It's also a sensual performance with Imelda's throaty voice attacking and caressing the vocals in turns. A final mention for her musicians who are all highly talented and supportive in what is, for me, one of the best albums I've heard in a long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Love Tattoo
Love Tattoo by Imelda May (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews