Customer Reviews


62 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Expensive but worth it
This is a very expensive remote, and that is all it is, you have to program it very carefully if you want it to work the way it is advertised, one touch activities are excellent if you have the time to tweak all the controls that you will need. I have had this for several months now and I can't imagine not having it, particularly now that I have started heading down the...
Published on 28 Feb 2010 by C. Gillies

versus
17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice product but you have to remember what it is actually doing
Do not get this remote thinking it is pure play and play - it is not. You need to invest planning and programming time. You need to know the make/model of everything you want to control and think through how you want to control them. You also need to think if you want the 1100 to be your only remote or if you want to continue to use your existing remote - it will switch...
Published on 12 May 2009 by Mr. Jon Forster


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This is the worst thing I have ever bought on Amazon, 27 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Logitech Harmony 1100 Advanced Universal Remote Control (Accessory)
I have never posted a review of anything on Amazon, but I am so disgusted by this product I need to speak my mind

This piece of kit is a waste of money. I bought it after checking some reviews but I could not programme it despite following the instructions to the letter. I asked a professional IT expert who installs AV equipment and TV systems to come and programme it and even after 4 hours of working on it he could not do it. Avoid this like the plague.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars hopeless device, 10 Dec 2012
This review is from: Logitech Harmony 1100 Advanced Universal Remote Control (Accessory)
i bought one of these contraptions a year ago, its taken logitech the whole year to sort out the correct software to control a pioneer cd player, not exactly a rare cd player, everytime i loaded the soft ware it came up as a multiplayer, no matter what model of pioneer i tried, eventually they told me they had fixed the error, but then when i loaded it, it came up blank, only just sorted that problem this week, but even without that problem i find it a total pain to use, all the useful buttons seem to be on different pages, why cant play pause and stop be on the same page? and if i try to put on lets say track 10 i have to change the page, and by the time i have done this track 1 has started, oh so annoying, its a nearly good idea, but the software is a joke, my final view on this device is i wish i had spent the money elsewhere, maybe on a few bottles of jd, in fact JUST DONT BUY IT
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars There goes five hours of my life I'll never get back....., 10 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Logitech Harmony 1100 Advanced Universal Remote Control (Accessory)
I bought this as an additional remote, replacing a Logitech Harmony One which has, in fairness, worked well.

Somewhat unusually for Amazon, the delivery has been at a snails pace - which perhaps sets the scene for what followed this evening. The remote was ordered last Tuesday - showing in stock - but was not dispatched until Saturday morning, some four days later. Eventually arrived a full week after the initial order.

Both the remote and the packaging look great and have a quality feel to them. As to how it works, at the time of writing, I haven't got a clue.

At 6.30 this evening, I initially attempted to use the Logitech software I already had installed on my Mac (running OS X version 10.8.2), to port the settings from my Harmony One to the new remote. When I first opened the software it kept returning an "Unable to display content" error, something I had never seen before with the Harmony One.

Having looked on-line, it would appear that this is a fairly common issue with the logitech software - especially with Macs. Consequently I disabled firewalls, checked security settings and reinstalled the software as suggested, all to no avail.

Given that the online forums seemed to be suggesting that this was a Mac issue, I dug out my old Windows laptop, installed the Logitech software and attempted the setup from there, again getting the same message.

After an evening of continually tweaking and reinstalling software, it's now 11.45 pm, and i'm still no further forward.

A number of postings online seem to suggest that the problem lies with Logitech's servers, having insufficient capacity to cope with customer demand. For a company knocking out remote controls at £200 a pop, which can only be set up online using their software, this is is completely unacceptable.

It may be time for a refund?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Appalling Mac Support - Software does not work., 15 Jun 2012
This review is from: Logitech Harmony 1100 Advanced Universal Remote Control (Accessory)
Logitech have failed time and time again to provide a working solution for anyone who uses a Mac to update their Harmony remote (not just the 1100). I wouldn't recommend a Logitech remote to anybody using an Apple Mac, you will not be able to programme your remote control.

This is what Logitech suggest you do to try and connect a remote that you may well be paying over £200 for.

- Close and Re-Open the Harmony Software
- Disable Firewall and Anti-Virus
- Reboot Computer and place in 32-bit mode( just press and hold 3 and 2 while Mac is rebooting )
- Manually Configure Usb Drivers. Here's the Link on how.
- try using different usb cables and ports
- try using the harmony software 7.7. you can download the older versions of harmony software Here
- If still it is not being recognized by the computer, click Here

Doesn't work, and even if it did, it's ridiculous.

Here's another non-solution:

Connect the Harmony remote to your Mac with the proper USB cable.
Locate and launch Mac OS X System Preferences.
Click Network.
Click Add (+) at the bottom-left corner of the Network preferences window to create a new network adapter.
NOTE: If the Add (+) button is grayed-out, click the lock icon at the bottom of the window and follow the on-screen instructions.
In the dialog box that appears, select Ethernet Adapter (en2) from the Interface drop-down menu.
In the Service Name text field, enter the model number of your Harmony remote.
Click Create.
The new network adapter will appear in the left pane of the Network preferences window.
In the Configure IPv4 drop-down menu, select Manually.
Enter 192.168.142.1 into the IP Address field.
Enter 255.255.255.0 into the Subnet Mask field.
Click Apply.
The connection between the remote and your Mac will be confirmed with a green dot and Connected status indicator.
NOTE: If the Mac OS X firewall is enabled, a prompt may appear requesting to allow or deny the new adapter connection. Click Allow.
You may now quit System Preferences and begin updating your Harmony remote in the Harmony Remote Software.

Before you even think of buying one of their remote controls, please visit the Logitech own forums using the links below, you'll think twice, I assure you.

[...]
[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Set up & Reliability Problems, 25 Jan 2011
This review is from: Logitech Harmony 1100 Advanced Universal Remote Control (Accessory)
The Logitech Harmony 1100 - be very wary of this product. It is extremely difficult to set up and when you think you have it set-up it tends to lose the information and is most unreliable. It has proved to be very disappointing and very unsatisfactory. If you are thinking of buying a Universal Remote I certainly would not recommend this product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bit basic for what it costs, 18 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Logitech Harmony 1100 Advanced Universal Remote Control (Accessory)
On the positive side the unit looks great and is really easy to set up taking less than 20 minutes to get basic functionality.
On the negative:
1: Controling Sky box is nightmare, Givin Skys donimance in the UK market would it have been so difficult to list the main Sky boxes? Insteat you need to try to find the original manufactures details...
2: Very limited what you can do/set-up.
3: Controlling components using the control is harder than it should be.
4: Unit is so slow, Turning a TV, Amp and DVD off takes 5-10 seconds! why?
5: The remote stores the "state" of each device which can cause no end of problems. For example say you change your amp to "play Sonons" via the remote then change the channel to CD. pushing "play Sonos" does not change the amp's channel back to the Sonos channel, instead it does nothing as it assumes the channel is already on Sonos channel... It has a trouble shooter option but that takes long time to run.. I know it can't get he state from the systems but this is a massive step back as most would send a change signal request or a turn on...
6: the PS3 adapter has major flaw in that if you use this control you can't use the PS3 DVD control which is 100 times better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Requires online activation which is rarely available, 3 Aug 2010
This review is from: Logitech Harmony 1100 Advanced Universal Remote Control (Accessory)
Just a word of caution to any purchasers. This product requires online activation before you can use it. I've been (and many others) waiting for 3 days for the logitech activation server to get back online and my calls to logitech over the last days are met with regular "check back again in an hour". Apparently this (server down) happens on a regular basis. I have returned the product to Amazon as I simply can not get it activated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Screen replacement, 18 Dec 2012
This review is from: Logitech Harmony 1100 Advanced Universal Remote Control (Accessory)
Don't buy if you live in a real home. The screen on mine got cracked and a replacement is over £100 may as well buy a new one!!!!
It's great once set up as it enables one touch operation to dim the lights and start up a film etc with your fav settings and output devices but really is it worth the money for the sake of pressing a few buttons.
Great if you live in a show home.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars AN EXCELLENT PRODUCT, SPOILED BY IT'S COMPLEXITY, 3 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Logitech Harmony 1100 Advanced Universal Remote Control (Accessory)
As most reviews here have said, this is probably the best universal remote on the market, that is if you are an expert in electronics.
Having just acquired a 46" 3D HDTV together with Blu-ray player, Yamaha sound projector and Sky HD+ satellite box, I wanted to replace the four remotes with a universal device.
The Logitech Harmony 1100 appeared to have the best reviews, although many have pointed out that it took weeks to configure as required, many gave up and returned the item.
I was impressed, out of the box, but there my enthusiasm ended.
Like most Apple users have pointed out, I found it impossible to set the remote using the software provided. I called Logitech UK and their support team after almost an hour, they gave up. They recommended I speak to their 'Level 2' experts based in Canada, this person, although not entirely familiar with Apple, remained unflustered and found her way through the settings required. This involved removing the firewall and resetting the ethernet codes and after an hour I was on my own, ready to enter devices and settings.
When reactivating the firewall, the set up failed. I contacted Apple support who said it was not a good idea to disconnect the firewall or change the internet settings. However I went back to Logitech who went through the set up once again.
I entered devices and set up basic activities, but that was the limit of my progress. I contacted the technicians who installed my new TV set up and although they used Logitech universal remotes themselves said that it would take them too long to configure the settings required on the basis of cost per hour.
Regrettably I had no alternative but to return the product to Amazon, had I been able to set this up, it would have been a great device.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Complete waste of time and money, 5 Feb 2013
This review is from: Logitech Harmony 1100 Advanced Universal Remote Control (Accessory)
Please dont waste your money on this.....a complete waste of time.....after an hour of setting it up,you think why did i ever bother in first place......save your money,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews