Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars54
4.9 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£24.99+ £1.26 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 May 2009
It's clear from the numerous gags rattled off by The Pub Landlord about 'The War' that Al Murray has more than a passing interest in the Second World War: in this double dvd set, he clearly and ably displays his passion.

But don't expect geezer-banter about teaching the Huns a lesson. This is Oxford University History graduate Al Murray presenting, not the boozy diatribe of the Pub Landlord, and appropriately, there are no laughs in this ten part series.

However, this is a far from dry regurgitation of textbook history. Interspersed with original film footage, Murray's series sees him tootle from battlefield to battlefield in an original wartime jeep, visiting the key points and bloody milestones that led to Berlin.

Murray's wide-eyed, genuine interest and respect for the subject matter shows through, none more so than when he interviews veterans from all the fighting nations: from pigeon-chested, elderly British paratroops reliving the pathos of Arnhem to an aged but still fiery, bemedalled Russian recalling Berlin street battles.

This type of documentary could easily have gone the way of a gung-ho Boy's Own adventure, but refreshingly, Murray keeps the story in perspective, interviewing a weary, Jewish former slave labourer and a German who saw his father shot whilst attempting to surrender . Most poignantly, while touring the site of the Bergen Belsen concentration camp, Murray suddenly deviates from the script and ends the visit.

This is a great lesson in how to revitalise history, retelling the story in an engaging, entertaining and attention-hogging manner, whilst educating the viewer and perpetuating the remembrance message in a lively and memorable way.
0Comment|39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2009
Al Murray shows another side to his talents in this well thought-out and perfectly presented account of the Allied Forces bitter struggle to take Berlin and in so doing, put an end to the war and liberate Europe from the shackles of Nazi oppression.

Al presents this series in a tactful,considerate and informed way,taking us through significant strategic battle sites viewed from the passsenger seat of his WW2 Willys Jeep on the long journey to Berlin. it would be so easy to for a comedian to fall back too heavily on humour when handling such a serious subject matter. but Al shows a true professionalism in finding the perfect balance and you have to respect the man for it !

Interesting,informative,and entertaining,this would be an ideal xmas present for Al Murray fan or Historian alike.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2013
You can tell Al Murray's interested in WWII as his passionate about the subject.

A joy to watch.

I'd recommend it to a friend.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2013
Having done this journey myself (minus the jeep) its good to see a celebrity bring it alive for a wider audience. Al knows his stuff and is obviously enthusiatic without ever glorifing the war per sea or resorting to jingoism. His knowledge of the men of the era and thier hardware and fortifications is excellent. I loved the bit where he was explaining about the rough finish on the Soviet T34s' compared to the prettier but ultimately out fought German tanks. Would highly reccomend this.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2010
I watched this on a coach on the way back from a Battlefield Tour to Normandy. Al Murray really brings the series to life, not just from the Allies' perspective but from all angles. He touches on everything from weapons and equipment used to the personal stories of veterans from many nations involved in the war. I wish I'd seen this before I went to Normandy, it filled a lot of the gaps in for me. Interesting, alive and and at times heart-rending - this is a must see!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2014
Al Murray has a brilliant knack of explaining the important happenings on this DVD set in such an attentive grabbing manner. That it it translates into an authoritative and captivating history lesson made easy. His immense knowledge, but more importantly, his respect for the men he is talking about, and their deeds of bravery from the D-Day beaches of Normandy to Berlin, is over overwhelmingly obvious. Just watch, listen,learn and enjoy. Brilliant.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2010
This is a must see series, the best I have seen. Not being from the generation that was alive in the war, this is so interesting, moving and memorable series. If you haven't visited Normandy watch this first, and then go, history will come alive for you, as things have not changed much in Normandy as they have recreated their flattened towns as they were before. The museums are the very best to visit, put it on your to do list!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2010
I searched the web for this product after seeing a couple of episodes on TV. I found it on several sites but Amazon came out tops for value. I couldn't believe Al Murray was such an all round talented guy. He interviews various survivors of the 2nd World War, English, Russian and German. He skillfully sets the ambience of the scene and the viewer is transported to what it must have been like in those awful times.
My impression of "The pub Landlord" has gone up a thousandfold and would recommend this video to all enthusiasts of factual and historic war material.
Amazon provided a first rate service, which, in my view, couldn't be bettered.
A big thank you to all concerned.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2010
I've never had any real interest in war history but as Al Murray was named on the programme, I decided to watch it. I was fascinated and captivated by it. He made the conflict human, interesting and understandable. I would recommend anyone who is interested in this subject to have a watch. A real education for me. Well done Al Murray.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2011
just watched all episodes back to back - couldn't stop. Al shows great compassion at times in what is a difficult subject matter. I understand he studied history at Oxford and his enthusiasm for the topic shows through. brilliant - he should look to have another series on the earlier aspects of WW2
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)