Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply unmissable!, 7 May 2009
This review is from: Al Murray's Road To Berlin [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
It's clear from the numerous gags rattled off by The Pub Landlord about 'The War' that Al Murray has more than a passing interest in the Second World War: in this double dvd set, he clearly and ably displays his passion.

But don't expect geezer-banter about teaching the Huns a lesson. This is Oxford University History graduate Al Murray presenting, not the boozy diatribe of the Pub Landlord, and appropriately, there are no laughs in this ten part series.

However, this is a far from dry regurgitation of textbook history. Interspersed with original film footage, Murray's series sees him tootle from battlefield to battlefield in an original wartime jeep, visiting the key points and bloody milestones that led to Berlin.

Murray's wide-eyed, genuine interest and respect for the subject matter shows through, none more so than when he interviews veterans from all the fighting nations: from pigeon-chested, elderly British paratroops reliving the pathos of Arnhem to an aged but still fiery, bemedalled Russian recalling Berlin street battles.

This type of documentary could easily have gone the way of a gung-ho Boy's Own adventure, but refreshingly, Murray keeps the story in perspective, interviewing a weary, Jewish former slave labourer and a German who saw his father shot whilst attempting to surrender . Most poignantly, while touring the site of the Bergen Belsen concentration camp, Murray suddenly deviates from the script and ends the visit.

This is a great lesson in how to revitalise history, retelling the story in an engaging, entertaining and attention-hogging manner, whilst educating the viewer and perpetuating the remembrance message in a lively and memorable way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Al Murray's Impressive Transition From Pub Landlord to Military Aficionado, 27 Feb 2009
By 
This review is from: Al Murray's Road To Berlin [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
This is a really well put together series which I really enjoyed when it was first broadcast on the Discovery channel. I'm delighted to see that it has finally been given the DVD release it deserved. It's also good to see another side to comedian Al Murray's persona. Away from the bar and the endless chat shows, he shows his exceptional military knowledge, as he follows in the Allies' footsteps, from the beaches of Normandy through to Hitler's bunker in Berlin, via Paris, Arnhem and Bergen Belsen, even jumping from a plane, to recreate the heroic action of a Bridge Too Far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Much better than I thought it was going to be !, 5 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Al Murray's Road To Berlin [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
You can tell Al Murray's interested in WWII as his passionate about the subject.

A joy to watch.

I'd recommend it to a friend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great potted history...., 6 Nov 2010
By 
Mr. Pj Clarke (West Sussex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Al Murray's Road To Berlin [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
An excellent DVD with Al Murray fronting. He's enthusiastic and great when talking to those who were involved along the way.
If you have any interest in this subect whatsoever, it's a must have. Thoroughly enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic service and value, 2 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Al Murray's Road To Berlin [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
I searched the web for this product after seeing a couple of episodes on TV. I found it on several sites but Amazon came out tops for value. I couldn't believe Al Murray was such an all round talented guy. He interviews various survivors of the 2nd World War, English, Russian and German. He skillfully sets the ambience of the scene and the viewer is transported to what it must have been like in those awful times.
My impression of "The pub Landlord" has gone up a thousandfold and would recommend this video to all enthusiasts of factual and historic war material.
Amazon provided a first rate service, which, in my view, couldn't be bettered.
A big thank you to all concerned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My history lessons weren't like this!, 21 Jun 2012
By 
Mr. S. Storey "eats beans" (not at work) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Al Murray's Road To Berlin [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
Al Murray shows his cerebral side in this fascinating ten part series. His 'on the ground' tour includes interviews with veterans and demonstations of the equipment used during the fighting. The information is all there for us but it's his obvious love for and understanding of the material that made me watch both disks in one sitting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great dvd to watch, 20 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Al Murray's Road To Berlin [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
love everthing about the war and al murray just has a way with words
who would havw thought he knew ao much
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars dvd, 19 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Al Murray's Road To Berlin [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
The product i have purchased is everything i expected it to be and compliant with the advertisement relating to the goods being sold.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Al Murray, 27 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Al Murray's Road To Berlin [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
Great series and very informative. And really good to see Al Murray doing something serious and factual, very well done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Al Murray road to berlin well worth watching, 24 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Al Murray's Road To Berlin [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
Al Murray presented this documentary very well,
i would recommend it to anybody, if you thought
he was just a comedian then think again, he presents
the history of the war professionally and with feeling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xac7b75e8)

This product

Al Murray's Road To Berlin [DVD] [2004]
Al Murray's Road To Berlin [DVD] [2004] by Al Murray (DVD - 2009)
5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews