Customer Reviews


247 Reviews
5 star:
 (178)
4 star:
 (30)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (19)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extremely entertaining show!
I had some doubts about True Blood. I hate the Twilight series and how there seems to be a overly large fanbase for vampire romance, but when I saw how popular this show was and also its critical acclaim, I decided to give it a try and see what the fuss was all about. It turns out it is actually a very good show! I like the fact how there is a cliffhanger in every episode...
Published on 9 July 2011 by D. Diep

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars If you love the books don't bother.
I have now watched the DVDs of seasons 1 and 2 and wonder what relationship they have to the stories of Charlaine Harris whose novels about Sookie Stackhouse I thoroughly enjoyed. HBO have used some of Charlaine Harris's characters and that's all. If you are hoping to get a TV telling of the books, forget it. The stories could have held their own but I guess that...
Published 2 months ago by Jan Burgess


‹ Previous | 1 2 325 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The only season worth watching, 15 Jun. 2014
By 
T. Locke "Gemi" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: True Blood Season 1 (HBO) [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
As far as I am concerned, this is the only season worth watching.
It could almost stand as a movie in it's own right.
Worth a watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars These vampires don't sparkle..., 18 April 2012
By 
A. Bohn "bluenirvana" (Long Beach, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: True Blood Season 1 (HBO) [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
After too much 'Twilight,' it's nice to see a vampire show that celebrates what everyone loves about vampires: sex, blood, and the American South. The vampires in 'True Blood' aren't noble beings that feast on the blood of animals or sparkle in the sunlight. Bill and his kind are violent, sexual beings that make us remember what it was like to be afraid of these blood-sucking monsters. This show is long on atmosphere and it doesn't take long before you are drawn into this swampy, sweaty world where humans interact with vampires, sometimes with harrowing results.

There is a misconception about American television that it is chaste and boring however, people forget that this is the country that has produced 'Dexter,' 'Sex and the City,' and 'Weeds.' 'True Blood' carries on the fine tradition of gritty TV that isn't afraid of sex, drugs, and violence. I had almost given up on American television before stumbling onto these gems and of them, 'True Blood' is one of the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars True Blood, Hot Stuff, 8 July 2009
By 
Ian Williams "ianw" (Sunderland, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: True Blood Season 1 (HBO) [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
The latest cult tv series, which has just started to air in the UK, arrives on Region 1 DVD and is it worth the hype that's been generated about it? Is this really the greatest fantasy series since Buffy?

For the first three episodes I wasn't sure. It took a little while to get into it, partly because of the way it was filmed; lacking the glossy image of film, it almost seemed cheap. The local Louisiana accent seemed somewhat stilted to me too. Then, of course, there's the introduction of a whole new bunch of characters and for a while I sometimes got confused between two of the male leads. It also seemed a lot darker than the books (or so memory tells me) while remaining quite faithful. I was enjoying it certainly, but it didn't click home until around episode 3 and then-

Wow, this is really good!

It also makes Buffy look like the Sarah Jane Adventures -tea-time viewing. True Blood is rough stuff. The violence alone will earn it an 18 rating when the UK DVD is finally released. But then so will the explicit sex which verges on being soft-core porn with its nudity and positions other than the missionary one. And also the language which, if not quite as frequent as Goodfellas, is nevertheless frequent. Put together this series is not for the sensitive and squeamish.

Gore and sex alone, however, do not make for a good program. Though they don't hurt either. The characters, once you get to know them, are strong and interesting and well played by the leads with excellent support such as Sam, the sympathetic bar owner with a secret, and Tara, our heroine's best friend and motormouth and my favourite character. There are more, in particular Lafayette, Tara's cousin, cook at Sam's bar, and also tough guy, effeminate gay, and drug dealer -I like him too. Then there's also Josh, Sookie's black sheep brother. These are the key characters but then is also a large supporting cast with important roles to play.

I'm deliberately not going to write too much about the plot because it's best enjoyed with as few preconceptions as possible. I will tell you that it's likely to go in directions you don't expect including people you thought would be in it to the end. There's much more to it than just a supernatural love story. There is a very blatant subtext which two items make explicitly clear. A sign that reads: God Hates Fangs. Remove the 'n' and what have you got? Then there's the news item where Vermont makes vampire marriage legal. And that Alan Ball, the talented creator of the series, is himself openly gay. Vampires have always been a commonly used metaphor for the outsider figure but here the metaphor is very specific. By the way, this isn't a criticism, I like the very pointedness of it. It gives the series an extra resonance.

At the end the ongoing serial killer thread is resolved and elements have been put in place for season 2 and, I've since learned, there's going to be a lesbian vampire Queen of New Orleans appearing. And I've got to wait a whole year to see it. God dayum.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars what twilight wants to be when it grows up!, 14 Jan. 2010
By 
Mr. R. W. Graham (Lincoln, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
first of all, this is a very silly series. but it also manages to be completely addictive too. it's basically twilight for grown ups, not much originality, but it is a lot of fun and be warned, strictly for adults only. there are twists and turns throughout, and performances are excellent. anna paquin is a revelation, in fact it's hard to believe that this is the same girl from the piano, which by the way is an excellent film and well worth a watch. based on the sookie stackhouse books by charlene harris, i was more inclined to read these then i was the twilight saga. have only read the first book, but it's good enough to want me to read the rest and it's the same with the tv show. absolutely terrific entertainment providing you don't take any of it seriously.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hooked!, 28 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: True Blood Season 1 (HBO) [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
Having being a big fan of Buffy the Vampire Slayer, someone recommended this to me as "it's like Buffy but more adult". They were right. There is quite a lot of sexual content, nudity and violence (I guess, as you would expect with Vampires!) so the 18 rated label is definitely appropriate, however I am completely hooked! There are some great story lines, some big laugh out loud moments (as some of the characters e.g. Jason Stackhouse and Lafayette are hilarious!) and it always ends on a cliffhanger so you can't wait for the next one. Having watched season 1 on DVD, I was lucky enough to find the following seasons on Sky so am now up to Season 3. The only down side is I can't wait for the next one! If you like Vampires you'll love True Blood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sexy, hilarious and suspenseful, 28 Jan. 2009
By 
Z. Amiruddin "ZA" (Brunei) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: True Blood Season 1 (HBO) [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
What a brilliant show. I was hooked immediately. I've only read the first book and can say the show has a lot more sex in it than the book, sex sells I suppose. Bill is also potrayed alot nicer in the show, than in the book.

Not comparing it though I think this show is excellent and had me wishing for the next one immediately. More more more, I can't wait for the second season to start. Along with it being suspenseful, it is also hilarious. Since I love to laugh, I think it's brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars If you love the books don't bother., 17 Feb. 2015
This review is from: True Blood Season 1 (HBO) [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
I have now watched the DVDs of seasons 1 and 2 and wonder what relationship they have to the stories of Charlaine Harris whose novels about Sookie Stackhouse I thoroughly enjoyed. HBO have used some of Charlaine Harris's characters and that's all. If you are hoping to get a TV telling of the books, forget it. The stories could have held their own but I guess that ratings rule. What a disappointment!

The delightfully quirky Sookie of the novels has been diminished to a bit-player: a dumb blonde with attitude. Bill wouldn't stir anyone with a heart. Other characters have been given a prominence unfamiliar to readers of the books.

If you loved the books don't bother, you'll just end up cross.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Good, 4 Feb. 2013
This review is from: True Blood Season 1 (HBO) [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
I bought this for my Wife. She tells me she loves it and is hooked!

Particularly likes that it is set in the an unconventional location, the deep south.

Lots of sex, mystery and a great story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My all time favourite series. Makes the world of Vampires, 25 Nov. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My all time favourite series. Makes the world of Vampires , faeries and (in later seasons) Shape Shifters and Werewolves totally s believable and drag you in . . . and you want to stay there . . .

The film script sticks pretty close to the boos (as the author , ~Charlaine Harris, collaborated with the producers) for the first few seasons - which I found refreshing/
k
An amazing array of Characters - all brilliantly cast - suspense, discoveries, sexual tension and plenty of humour (ALL types).

I will sorely miss this series and although I can't wait to watch the last season - I almost want to treasure the waiting for it . . .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars True Blood, 16 Jan. 2010
By 
Spider Monkey (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: True Blood Season 1 (HBO) [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
It has to be said that HBO and Alan Ball create some great TV programs and after the stupendous `Six Feet Under' I couldn't wait to get my hands on this series. The style and direction was reminiscent of SFU at times, but generally this has a feel all of it's own. This follows life in Bon Temp, a Louisiana town, after vampires have come out of the closet and live openly amongst humans. The main character is Sookie Stackhouse who is telepathic, falls in love with a Vampire and starts to realise some of the dangers and complications this may bring. There is also another storyline where people are being killed in town and of course the vampires are the main suspects. The other characters are great to watch, whether it be Tara who is hard and cynical, Bill the charismatic vampire love interest, Sam the local bar owner who secretly loves Sookie, Lafayette who is the local drug dealer, short order cook and deliverer of some hilarious one liners or Jason who is Sookies brother and a bumbling ladies man. They are all great characters and there are also a whole host of other town folk who compliment the main cast. Some people criticise this series for it's sexual nature and no doubt this has plenty of nudity and sexual scenes, but this is mainly in the first half, relevant to the story and people seem to forget that the erotic nature of vampires has been a theme of the myth for years. This is a good series and highly watchable and you are soon immersed in the world created for you and as the series progresses plenty of surprises and twists are thrown up. There is a brief mock-u-mentary on the extras, as well as the obligatory commentaries but to be honest the extras are a little sparse overall. If you a fan of Alan ball then you won't be disappointed and if you enjoy well written, constructed, acted and directed TV series' then this is well worth considering.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 325 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

True Blood Season 1 (HBO) [DVD] [2009]
True Blood Season 1 (HBO) [DVD] [2009] by Anna Paquin (DVD - 2009)
£10.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews