Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Supernaturally Awesome!
It's a scandal that this show isn't on a major TV network. Season 4 of Supernatural looks set to be one of the best seasons for this show. So often with a TV series season 1 is great and one looks forward to another series which usually comes up okay; then comes series 3 and by that time, generally you sometimes forget its on or don't put the tv on in favour of doing...
Published on 27 Jan 2009 by 67Impala

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Season 4 - good idea, bad execution.
Well, having followed the supernatural series from the start I can say I've been a fan of the show for years! and I was literally waiting at my door for this seasons box set to arrive. However, having had a while to brood on it I'm afraid I must confess myself disappointed in the overall.

The series starts off fantastically! I'd say it's no spoiler to tell you...
Published on 4 Jun 2009 by Samuel Griffiths


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Supernaturally Awesome!, 27 Jan 2009
By 
67Impala "AJCAT" (Hertfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Supernatural - Fourth Season Part 1 [DVD] (DVD)
It's a scandal that this show isn't on a major TV network. Season 4 of Supernatural looks set to be one of the best seasons for this show. So often with a TV series season 1 is great and one looks forward to another series which usually comes up okay; then comes series 3 and by that time, generally you sometimes forget its on or don't put the tv on in favour of doing something else - with SUPERNATURAL this just doesn't happen. The first episode of Season 4 "Lazarus Rising" is probably (at the moment) my all time favourite SPN episode. I have watched it over and over. Jensen Ackles is an incredible young actor - co-star Jared Padalecki doesn't slack either - and the quality of the filming, lighting and Kim Manners' direction takes this show out of the ordinary run of the mill scary TV show. Creator Eric Kripke's decision to make the episode "Monster Movie" entirely in black and white was very courageous but it worked so well - a fine tribute to the old Hammer-type horror movies - with a touch of humour added. I can't wait for this DVD. It said there's only 1 but, seriously, if the DVD only has 4 episodes on it... I'd buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Part one of the best season yet!!, 5 Jun 2009
By 
S. J. Pinder "scifihorror fan" (Cornwall,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Supernatural - Fourth Season Part 1 [DVD] (DVD)
To start with i must say, the script and wit in each storyline here has been exceptional making Supernatural the best american television show since Buffy The Vampire Slayer, season 4 has upped the ante (which i thought would be hard to do after the perfect Third Season)and i must praise the ever increasingly good looking Jensen Ackles for the best acting i have ever,ever seen, truely astonishing how he plays Dean after 'doing a Buffy' and being resurrected and brings forth that emotion drawn out from Dean's experiences in Hell is truely magnificent and emotive to watch it lures you into the story.
The chemistry between the two leads is as ever magnificent and makes for cracking entertainment through each episode.
Castiel is an interesting inclusion to the series as he and Dean play off of each other to truely remarkable speed and with such power behind their scenes it creates so much (sexual and dark) tension between the two that makes this arc all the more interesting.
the fight scenes have cracked up several notches too as well as the ever astonishing use of on screen gore as notified in the previous seasons has become a major trademark.
and now for the episodes themselves.

Lazarus Rising-10/10-the best way to start a season ever, from the bewildering and eerie introduction scene of Dean awaking from his grave and in pure 'Twilight Zone style' finding it hard to adapt but quickly coming to realisation of what has happened, there are many twists and turns throughout, loads of tension, action and witty dialogue followed up with slick direction making this one of the best ever episodes.

Are You There God? It's Me, Dean Winchester-10/10-cracking and exciting from the get go, following straight on from the previous episode as hunters have to come to terms with the souls they couldn't save when they return to haunt the hunters in a true spectacularly viscious style, this is yet another perfect Supernatural episode.

In The Beginning-10/10-amazing! more is discovere about the traumatic events of the pilot episode and what lead Dean and Sam to avenge their mother's demise, turns out she was a hunter herself, many more twists are unveiled when Dean is propelled back in time by Castiel,remarkable.

Metamorphosis-10/10-after the cliffhanger of the previous episode we are lead into an episode of self discovery as well as the drk realisations coming to the fore about not being able to save an innocent man cursed with a genetic disorder that causes him to become addicted to raw meat, and human blood.a stunning character analysis as well as slick direction and pure tension making this another corker.

Monster Movie-10/10-time for a lighter toned episode now as the brothers come to confrontation with a mysterious shapeshifter recreating scenes from classic monster movies, this is not your average Supernatural episode but it is the most fun you could ever have.

Yellow Fever-10/10-another humourous episode but also incredibly dark as a mysterious virus is plaguing a town causing them to become scared to death by the least scary of things, more twists are added to the main arc as well as some friction between characters, plus some witty sequences and fantastically paced direction.superb!

It's The Great Pumpkin Sam Winchester-10/10-it's Halloween and that is one of the minor excuses to propell views into an episode filled with the most ghauls possible in an episode which features an fantastic zombie showdown and a confrontation with tweo superb villains n a urder mystery several cuts above the rest, one of the greatest episodes ever as more is added to the main arc and more questions are raised with the stunnng concluding sequence between Castiel and Dean.

Wishful Thinking-10/10-some light entertainment is to be had here as Sam and Dean encounter a town with a mysterious wishing well causing wishes to have darker twists that the victim will not see coming, guest starring Ted Raimi (Joxer from Xena) as a wonderful protagonist for the episode adding humour as well as vulnerability to the role.

I Know What You Did Last Summer/Heaven & Hell-10/10- stunning two parter that is very ar heavy as another villain is introduced and the main arc has yet another twist put to it, Dean reflects on his time spent in hell, while Sam and Dean conide in Ana, a mysterious new character whith a strange gift...to hear the angels, but just who is she?and why to angels and demons want her so badly?there are some brutal sequences here and chuck loads of gory moments, but it helps in the tension caused throughout the episode.

Family Remains-11/10-beyond perfection and another favourite episode of mine, this is a very brutal twist on the average family haunting episode dafying just about everything as the apparent ghost of a woman who commit suicide in the attic of a mansion haunts its recent addition to the house, a family looking for a fresh start, but may suffer a bloody finish.Dean and Sam not only confront the ghostly presence but must also face the dramatic consequences of not being able to save the family.an amazingly scary episode that shows what is lacking in horror films of late,truely exceptional.

pre-ordered season 4 pt 2 already and cannot wait to see how this season will end, purchase today!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars God help me, 4 May 2009
By 
Dr. Vernon M. Hewitt (Bristol, UK.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Supernatural - Fourth Season Part 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I tried at first to ration the number of episodes I could watch. I tried one a week but after the panic attacks and the night sweats I tried two a week. Then I tried watching three on the CONDITION that I watched at least two from series one to three. By now I was off work and twitching violently at the smallest sound. I had also started to think I saw Sam and Dean in random parts of Bristol and in my bedroom but this was obviously wishful thinking. In the end, and despite the TRAVESTY of waiting until September 2009, I watched them all and as with all the other series, words (almost) fail. Depicitng angels must be the hardest thing to do without being naff or just too savvy. Castiel is perfect, Uriel very disturbing, Lazarus Rising is just a fantastic episode, but Yellow Fever shows skill and with a nod at Twin Peaks, the continual flow of irony. Jensen is brilliant, happy with Dean and ready to push him forward a bit. I am probably too obsessed with this to have much of a critical edge left: Monster Movie was clever but a bit slow, and the Hallowean job might have been predictable, but for a man confronted with expensive therapy bills until PART TWO (and then god forbid, until SEASON FIVE) I am just think this is an awesome idea and long may it prosper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Back on top! totally underated this needs more credit! one of the best american fantasy drama's!!, 4 Aug 2009
By 
Mr. D. J. Sutton "reader-review" (reader-review) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Supernatural - Fourth Season Part 1 [DVD] (DVD)
After an up and down third season i had my fears that Superntaural was on its way out. It is not a well advertised or a greatly appreciated programme, not compared to other giants such as Lost or 24. Most people don't even know of its existance and what with poor ratings and constant cuts in budget, it appeared enevatable that Supernatural was on the verge of cancellation. However it still has a loyal fan base and fortunatly it was renewed for a fourth run.

Due to the writers strike season 3 was weaker and began to show it's low budget, poor acting and weak scripts. As a fan from the beggining i couldn't give up on it, especially as 3 ended on a cliffhanger.

At some point, at some time, some where, something amazing happened to the writers, producers and actors and the whole team behind Supernatural because this season comes back with a bang. The central story is the best so far. The new supporting actors and actresses are much better than before. Even the sets and effects seem worthy of Heroes (a show with double the budget!) This could be the best season yet, or is certainly on a par with season 2. Either way its back on top and deserves more credit. I was hooked from the first episode. Gone is the childish comedy, repetative plots and dodgey acting. Indeed this is the type of show that will never run forever. There's only so much you can do with the premise and it had started to appear as if they were struggling for fresh ideas. Season 4 blows that theory out the window.

This looks like a first rate show. Most episodes follow the core plot instead of veering off into self contained story lines in each episode, which was the main theme for all 3 previous seasons. The stakes are so much higher than before and i find it incredible how the makers managed to pull it off and make it so beleivable considering it is basically a low budget tv show. It was a bold and brave move from producer Eric Kripke. I certainly did not see any of this coming and with out giving too much away - the twists are incredible! Depicting Angels and Demons on screen is not easy, in fact it could come off as very silly, but they manage to make it real and beleivable and completly absorb you in this fantasy world. The show stays fresh whilst still giving a subtle nod to classic previous episodes and remains with in the tone the fans are all accustom to.

The two leads do an exceptional job, then again there material is far stronger than anything out of 3. The relationship between the brothers is really tested and plays out well throughout the season, building to possibly the most ambitious and exciting climax yet and it keeps within the traditional shocking cliffhanger. I actually found my self rather emotional at times to see these two characters that i love so much slowly change and move away from one another. One scene envolving Jensen Ackles brought me to tears! He is a brilliant actor and desrves some kind of award.

This season isn't perfect, but it's about as good as a show like this can get. Sure there are a few stupid episodes amongst the bunch, but the comedy works better despite the odd cringe worthy moment. Basically i encourage more to watch this show you will be surprised at how good it is - if you forgive season 3 and the odd bad episode in the past. The show feels richer and classier than before and i storngly feel it should be up there with the likes of Lost. yes it's that good! it needs recognition, praise and awards. above all it needs advertisement to get people watching now.

In general a very entertaining show. Absorbing characters, gripping plots, spectacular effects, great twists and the odd bit of comedy. What more could you want? A great show and i can't wait for the fifth and final season next year. At least now i can be assured it will go out swinging - as Dean would say.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Naturally Super!, 23 Mar 2009
By 
Gavin J. Griffiths "Mini_Bam" (Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Supernatural - Fourth Season Part 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Supernatural HAS to be my favourite tv show, drama based. Fact. I watch Viva la Bam, Wildboys & Jackass and all that stuff is great but this is DEFFINATLY my favourite PROPER show. The whole concept of Dean actually dying and going to hell in Season 3's cliffhanger kept me so damn anxious about season 4 and it's not disappointed. The 2-parter for the opening episodes, the reasoning behind Deans re-ammmergance, Lilith's plans...Sam's dark undertones blackening further...and the humour has been writing sharper than ever. It's faultless and Jensen Akles & Jared Padalecki just work so well together. Season 4 is shaping up to be the best yet as the story develops further, and i can't wait to see what happens when the boys meet up with Lilith for THE showdown....recommend to all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At least someone else understands!, 10 May 2009
By 
Bett Demby "Bett from Finchley" (Finchley, London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Supernatural - Fourth Season Part 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I found myself laughing out loud when reading one of the reviews of this product. It seems that this series does seem to take some srange stranglehold on the senses that blots out everything else that may be going on in the real world. I had watched a couple of episodes when it was originally aired, but found as with many American shows,they require a little staying power beyoned the first couple of episodes and I drifted away. When this 4th season began I picked up again and decided to purchase the complete boxed set of series 1-3.(Available as a great deal on Amazon!) That would be 60 episodes. Surely it can't be natural to watch all of them in about 3 weeks! (when you have a job, children, a husband and a social life!!!). I do however,feel under some sort of mysterious compulsion to watch another, another, and then just one more! I can completely recognize your other reviewers feelings of addiction and compulsion! The only other time I can remember a vice like grip of fantasy addiction like this was when I was (like quite a lot of other mothers apparantly) in the grip of following Lara Croft through her adventures in an Egyption tomb!.
So why? what is the appeal of this series? Possibly because it has very watchable storylines that are funny, scary and well researched, if you are at all interested in things that go bump in the night and strange creatures of magic and myth, you will find everything said about them in the show is accurate as far as legends about these things go. There is the build up of the compelling backstory that has slowly built up bit by bit over the 4 series. There is heaps of witty and clever repartee and one liners that make reference to news headlines, other classic genre movies and the like, these always seems to hit the mark and are delivered with perfect timing. Possibly the best thing however is the acting from the two leads, and it has to be said, plenty of the supporting regulars. The Winchester brothers characters have matured and developed and evolved over time and they are both capable as actors of being really amusing and silly and equally able to move you to tears within the same episode. The rapport and irritation between siblings is captured beautifully and it's clear that they both put absolutely everything into it. So many promising TV drama's are marred by actors who seem to think that if its telly than you don't need to express any depth or range, these two make it all feel real. Yes, despite knowing that the creatures that are being hunted throughout the series probably don't exist, this show makes you want to believe!!!!
My family will probably be writing a counter review soon complaining about lack of hot meals on time, unironed shirts and school uniform that this show has been responsible for, but don't take my word for it, try it yourself and see! but it may be better for your health if you don't try and watch the whole series in one go!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Emphasis on 'Super'!, 11 July 2009
This review is from: Supernatural - Fourth Season Part 1 [DVD] (DVD)
This show only gets better and better. Not only did the showmakers somehow find the inconvenience of the writers' strike enabled them to make some of their best episodes so far, but this new season, the fourth, is taking the show into the most exciting direction yet. Even though the show has been hit by budget cuts, like most television these days, you almost feel that the opposite is true. The writing, the production values, the acting and direction fuses into one of the highest quality and most breathtaking shows coming out of the U.S. today.
Definitely worth a view if you value quality television.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great series - it's only half the season though, 5 April 2009
By 
Keith_Joseph (West Berkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Supernatural - Fourth Season Part 1 [DVD] (DVD)
This set has half of the episodes from Supernatural season 4, just as previous season UK releases were first marketed split into part 1 and part2 [there's 22 episodes in season 4]. Obviously this is an attempt to extract as much money as possible from those who missed the UK TV showing and are desperate to see how Dean gets on. Apparently this season is great, and the best yet, so perhaps it's money well spent [I'm renting the DVDs though, and buying when the full season set appears]. Certainly the first few episodes of season 4 were scorchers. Be careful of which reviews you read here though, as some contain a few somewhat massive 'spoilers'.

This DVD set has a "In the Beginning" series creator commentary, and the out-takes [cut scenes, although these often give away key elements of the plot - so watch them last]. For the complete fourth season try the NTSC complete season 4 sets from Amazon international resellers [NTSC sets are reputed to contain more extras as well]. I suppose we can rejoice the series hasn't been cancelled like so many other excellent shows [Angel, Twin Peaks, The Dresden Files, Tru Calling, Enterprise, Blood Ties....]. Supernatural: still very spooky and still highly recommended. Whilst you're waiting for this DVD set to arrive, do check out 'The Dresden Files', 'Angel', 'Blood Ties' and 'Tru Calling' DVD season sets that my daughter [14] and I rate as at least the equal of 'Supernatural' [i.e. they are superb].
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bloody Fantastic!, 3 Mar 2009
This review is from: Supernatural - Fourth Season Part 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I am not sure what they mean by "Complete Fourth Season Part 1" but I do know that I will be buying this when it is released over here in the UK. I have Season 1 - 3 already, and I have to say that I watched all 3 box-sets, one after the other! as soon as series 3 was released.
Series 4 is currently showing on ITV2 so I am never missing an episode! My favourite episode so far has got to be "Monster Movie" - the whole thing is in black & white!
Supernatural is one of those few programmes that gets better along the way - which after the first series I didn't think that they could manage - but they did with series 2 - then surpassed that with series 3! If what I have seen of series 4 so far is any indication - this is going to be the best series yet!
I can't wait for it to be released!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Much better than the last season., 18 Feb 2009
This review is from: Supernatural - Fourth Season Part 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Having been a fan of this show since the beginning, and having watched all the episodes as they have aired (intially in the UK but more recently in the US) I have to say that I was more than a little disappointed with season 3. It suffered from several poor episodes, and did not seem to have a vast amount of direction. This is likely due to the writers strike since the first half felt slow and the final portion felt rushed.

Regardless it did the wonderful thing of setting up season four, which, I have to say has some of the best episodes so far. Having seen up to episode 4.14 (Sex and Violence) I can safely say that this season has some serious direction and it has some amazing episodes.

This season manages to be hilarious and heartbreaking, often in the same episode. And one of the characters introduced in episode one has the best entrance we have yet to see in Supernatural.

As for the acting, it has improved throughout the seasons. Jared Padelecki, who has sometimes suffered from being considered the weaker of the two actors has come into his own in this season, and we see a side of Sam that has yet to be truly investigated. As for Jensen Ackles, it really has to be said that he breathes life into the character, he brings both great comedic timing and heartbreaking depths to the character.

Another thing that I absolutely adored about this season so far is the fact that it is slowly drawing together all the little clues from the previous season into the mix, and we see that actually the show has been setting up this season from the start.

The only problem I have with this boxset is that they are trying to drag it out for all it is worth, because personally I would rather wait and buy the complete boxset when it's released sometime in the summer. Regardless of this, however, the show is excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Supernatural - Fourth Season Part 1 [DVD]
Supernatural - Fourth Season Part 1 [DVD] by Jared Padalecki (DVD - 2009)
£3.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews