Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.3 out of 5 stars75
3.3 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£2.14+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 1 February 2009
'Max Payne' is based on the video game of the same name and stars Mark Wahlberg as the troubled cop, Max. After his wife and new born daughter are murdered, NYPD detective Max Payne dedicates his life to finding her killers, which leads to a pharmacuetical company that has been making a drug for soldiers which makes them feel no fear, bt also gives them powerful hallucinations.

To be honest I wasn't expecting much from this film - perhaps an hour and a half of brainless action like other videogame movies such as the Resident Evils and Doom, but this one actually had quite a good plot and felt more like an action thriller than a full-on weaponfest. Don't get me wrong, there is a lot of gun battles and explosions but it did feel like the writers had used their imagination a little bit and the end result is a pretty well made, dark, violent and gritty movie that came well above my expectations.

Overall, even if you're not a fan of the game (like myself, who has never played it), it is a very watchable and entertaining film that will be better than you think. I definitely recommend giving this a watch.
0Comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2015
Three years ago, NYPD detective Max Payne's wife and baby were murdered. Max gets himself transferred to the cold case office where he can continue searching for the killer who got away.

He's a loner, but two people reach out to him during a fateful week: Alex, his ex-partner who may have found a clue, and BB, the security chief at the pharmaceutical company where Max's wife worked.

Meanwhile, bodies are piling up, some as a result of a drug on the street that is highly addictive and, for many who take it, brings hideous hallucinations.

When one of the bodies is a woman Payne was the last to see alive, her sister comes looking for him armed to the teeth; Max must move fast...

based on the game that had film noir written all over it, Payne does have film noir elements to it, but the visuals heavily rely on films such as 'Sin City' to keep the audience interested.

Wahlberg is probably the best choice ever to play Payne, as he only really has one expression, disdain, and he spends the majority of the film shouting unconvincingly at one time stars (hi, Chris O'Donnell) and shooting his gun in stylish ways John Woo would be ashamed of.

The doesn't know whether it wants to be a noir like thriller, or Goth horror, and it really confuses itself at several points during the movie.

If you haven't played the video game, no worries, this has barely anything to do with it, apart from the initial story and some of the set pieces, all the rest is Payne maundering through his life and trying to find out why his wife died.

The last fifteen minutes are okay, but not good enough to make up for the previous seventy.

It's pretty to look at, and suitably moody in places, but becomes very dull after a while, which films like this shouldn't be.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2009
The title says it all really.

In terms of style and special effects this film really hits the mark, it is truly an excercise in visual style while remaining true to the graphic novel style of the game, although the overuse of the valkerie special effect at the beginning may leave some audience members a little confused if they haven't played the game, but that confusion wont last long.

The fight scenes when they happen are great, some of the scenes I suspect were inspired by the John Woo school of action. But it does take a little while for the action to get going, and when it does, it does leave you with an aftertaste of 'is that it?' And just how many bullets does hollywood think one clip holds?

The acting and the plot are basic. Everyone sleepwalks through this film, there are no great thesp moments or oscar winning performances here, and the plot as you would expect is basically true to the game. The 'twist' itself you see coming a mile off.

This shouldn't detract however from what is essentially an enjoyable film. The basic plot allows you to follow it through without thinking and just enjoy the action and the stunning visual effects. Basically a worthy film for a blokes night in front of a large HD television and a really big pizza!

I would wait untill it came down a little in price though, whilst I was happy to pay £6 for this I'm glad I didn't buy it straight away!
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2010
Max Payne looks good, but the story is so weak that it could have been a five minute short. Come to think of it, the whole film would have been a lot more enjoyable then.

The action scenes are few and far between, the characters are not sympathetic, after the first 20 minutes I didn't really care if he found the killers or not, I just wanted something to happen that would alleviate the boredom.

The graphic novel extra is entertaining though, if you liked Angela Anaconda you'll get a laugh out of that anyway. That is the only reason I gave it two stars.

For films based on games, I found Hitman far more enjoyable.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2010
To be honest i did not expect much from another Video game to Movie adaptation but i was well suprised when i saw this film as it ticks most of the boxes for fans of the game. Great special effects,strong visuals and a well balanced story.. money well spent and a recommended buy.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 29 April 2010
Like many I have played the Max Payne games and was interested in the film when I heard about its production. Mark Whalberg is an actor I like so it sounded like a good choice to play the title character. However, the film isn't particularly faithfull to the game which is where I think the film falls down. The film does pick elements of the games story - some characters, the drug which plays a critical part in the film as well as the name of the company at the centre of the storyline. I anticipated some artistic licence to be involved in making this film. I didn't expect it to be exactly as the game portrayed but I don't think the changes were done that well. The game had a really engaging story and this just had to be imitated in my view. I don't think there is a great deal of point trying to fix something that isn't broken. However, the insane determination of Mr Payne is done well and he will stop at nothing to ensure 'justice' is served. The film doesn't need a great deal of attention spending on it to follow the re-hashed plot but in general I found the film perfectly enjoyable despite this. It does entertain and in the end that is the point of films. As a result this film is worth a go.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Mumbling Mark Wahlberg is once again the stern-faced dispenser of justice in this moody piece about conspiracies and revenge. There's a decent mystery to solve (though not if you are Norse) at a Raymond Chandler level, a high body count and a nice use of snow.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2013
Coming together to solve a series of murders in New York City are a police detective whose family was slain as part of a conspiracy and an assassin out to avenge her sister's death. The duo will be hunted by the police, the mob, and a ruthless corporation.

Mark Wahlberg (Max Payne) Mila Kunis (Monia Sax) Directed by John Moore ( A Good Day To Die Hard, The Omen 2006)

Max Payne is one of my favourite guilty pleasures
Yeah!...I kinda like it

Recommend if you like Video Games, Mark Wahlberg, Mila Kunis or Guilty Pleasures.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2010
I'd been led to believe that this film was awful, but having watched it I actually thought it was okay. Mark Wahlberg is very watchable as the lead and succeeded in holding my attention in what was at times a rather slow paced film. It starts off pretty well but gets a little bogged down in the middle. Overall though it's not a bad film. It's very stylish and looks great. With five minutes or so trimmed out of the middle it might have been a lot better. Definitely one of the better films based on a video game though.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2015
well I hear lots of mix reviews on this film I grew up playing the video game max payne and loved it so when I watched this film I loved it.
basically max payne (wahberg) plays a lost avenged cop searching for his wife and babys killer and hunting for answers.
and on his investigation the plot story line unravels ...
and the special effects in this are great great cast great shots and angles okay acting but hey its max payne exciting through most of the film.go in with a open mind about this film and if you see it purely as entertainment and fun you will like it . max payne videogame lovers will also like this to.
I loved it personaly dark gritty look of revenge lost minds.

I would recommend it...... I give this a 7.5/10
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)