Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A CHILD'S PARADISE LOST
How much rehearsal time does Ivan Fischer get with his Budapest Festival Orchestra? I raise the question simply because his Mahler recordings show such infinite and loving attention to detail in these, the most detailed of scores.

His Mahler 4 is no exception. The little squeezes of crescendo/decrescendo on small phrases or even single notes are all carefully...
Published on 8 Sep 2010 by Klingsor Tristan

versus
4 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Characterless
In his fourth symphony Gustav Mahler aimed to express a child's vision of heaven (included the fear, suffering and death that gets one there), and a conductor needs to bear that in mind. Unfortunately Fischer captures nothing much of that. The first movement is rhythmically unstable (but in the wrong way), the second unexceptional, the third affectionate but not...
Published on 31 May 2011 by Eric Shanes


Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A CHILD'S PARADISE LOST, 8 Sep 2010
By 
Klingsor Tristan (Suffolk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mahler - Symphony No.4 (Audio CD)
How much rehearsal time does Ivan Fischer get with his Budapest Festival Orchestra? I raise the question simply because his Mahler recordings show such infinite and loving attention to detail in these, the most detailed of scores.

His Mahler 4 is no exception. The little squeezes of crescendo/decrescendo on small phrases or even single notes are all carefully observed. So, too, the many little caesuras in the score as well as the variety of different emphasis markings - dots, sforzandi, little decrescendo marks. It all helps to characterise every phrase, every theme. His affection for the Mahlerian portamento/glissando, shown in previous recordings, is also here in abundance (though almost always only when marked in the score) and even extends to the voice in the last verse of the final movement.

This is not enough to make a great Mahler conductor, of course. But Fischer shows himself to be just that throughout the work. He always seems to make it sound so natural. The subtleties of tempo variation are a sheer delight. For example, just before the dash for the line at the end of the first movement there are no less than 10 modifications of tempo in as many bars - rit., subito a tempo, accelerando, rit.. molto rit., langsam, another rit., sehr zuruckhaltend (holding back a little), a tempo and poco a poco stringendo. Fischer moulds it all into a moving and naturally flowing whole.

In his essay in the accompanying notes, Fischer talks about the chamber orchestra feel of the whole symphony and of `the lightness of the whole orchestra'. This certainly comes through in the playing. Which is not to say that he eschews the darkness and angst of the piece: this is perhaps a Child's Paradise Lost. At times, especially in the first movement, I was reminded of the darker side of Humperdinck's Hansel and Gretel, which Mahler had conducted at the Vienna Opera the season before he started work on the first three movements of the symphony. It is the scale, not the content, which is smaller than in other Mahler symphonies. And, as befits a chamber group, some of the soloists deserve special mention - the 1st Horn, who plays the many solos and important counterpoints gloriously, and the clarinettist, who captures the perkiness of a Carinthian town band in the second movement to perfection.

Many of the other reviewers have found the final movement something of a let-down. It should be pointed out that this movement was written seven or eight years before the rest of the symphony and was very much the seed from which the rest of the work grew, thematically as well as emotionally. You should perhaps argue that the slow movement, sublime as it is, is a little too weighty for its context. Mahler gave two important instructions in the score at the head of this last movement: `It is of the greatest importance that the singer be extremely discreetly accompanied' and `To be sung with childlike and serene expression, absolutely without parody!' Both these criteria are admirably realised, by Fischer in his accompaniment and by Miah Persson in her singing. As it gently rocks the symphony to its close, one is left (with a tear or two I must admit) reflecting on a great performance, superbly played and wonderfully recorded.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superlative Mahler 4 in great sound, 19 April 2009
By 
Colin Fortune (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mahler - Symphony No.4 (Audio CD)
This is one of the most ravishing Mahler discs that I have heard for some time. The playing of the orchestra is stunning and the balances favour some wonderful wind and brass detail whilst delivering the full impact of the whole orchestra when required. Fischer is ia sensitive interpreter, rounding the phrases in the music most pleasingly with a bracing first two movements.

The third (adagio) movement is played so well on this recording that Fischer makes it sound like the greatest movement Mahler ever wrote! It encapsulates all the joy and pain of life as it moves towards the huge "Gates of Heaven" climax just before it drifts into the final movement. This is remarkably good playing and conducting.

And then... Well we have the song finale with Miah Persson as a charming and very clear soprano soloist. For me the trouble was that the third movement was so overwhelmingly good that this charming movement, almost like an intermezzo, was something of an anticlimax. To be fair you could claim that this is a problem with the unusual structure of the symphony as much as anything else and this could indeed be the case. But Fischer's conducting also sounds just a little matter of fact at this point with a fairly speedy overall tempo that is just a little unyielding in approach. This may be an over-critical reaction but if it is, it is because of the comparison with the wonderful intensity of the other movements, particularly the Adagio.

Despite this (slight) criticism I believe that this is a disc full of delightful insights from Fischer and his Budapest Festival Orchestra and that this disc will provide great satisfaction. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A superb Fourth from Fischer, 30 Oct 2009
By 
Musica Vita (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mahler - Symphony No.4 (Audio CD)
First of all, the technical quality of this recording is first-class. Every nuance of Mahler's delightful score can be heard, without undue emphasis to any of it. Just listen to the accompaniment to "Death's Fiddle" in the second movement, or the gurgling trio sections! The Fourth is basically a chamber symphony, with very few really loud climaxes: there are really only two, one in the middle of the first movement and the other near the end of the third. Ivan Fischer never tries to exaggerate any of the dynamics but just presents the music simply, as Mahler might have wished. That does not mean there is a lack of emotion, on the contrary, this is a very moving performance. Miah Persson seems well-cast as the child-like soprano in the last movement, which I too have always found a bit of an anticlimax after what has gone before. (But maybe Heaven is...) Fischer maintains the tension even in the slowest part at the beginning of the third movement, which is more "molto" than "poco" adagio here.

Klemperer's version is still my favourite, but this must come next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An exceptional prformance, 12 Jun 2011
By 
This review is from: Mahler - Symphony No.4 (Audio CD)
The BFO and Fischer triumph once again. I don't remember during my life hearing a better performance of this work. This is for me very close to perfection - I think that I heard two notes in the first violins where I wasn't completely happy with their portamento, but otherwise... I have no reservations about Miah Persson's singing; it fitted the conception of the performance like a glove. Listen and prepare for enchantment!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars stunning, 14 Feb 2011
This review is from: Mahler - Symphony No.4 (Audio CD)
I'm having a Mahler phase, listening to various recordings of his symphonies. This one is quite excellent along with the earlier CR recording of symphony 2. There are heaps of new releases almost by the week from the big labels, but this Mahler series is the one to watch. Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bekenya, 25 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mahler - Symphony No.4 (Audio CD)
good harmony and great soprano!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Heaven, 29 May 2010
By 
avl06 (The Village) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Mahler - Symphony No.4 (Audio CD)
I really feel you can not get a better recording of this wonderful work than this one. Sumptuous recording, and the performance is superb; sensitive to the score, superbly characterful, nuanced, alive. This is a simply wonderful disc, a Great Recording of This Century, if you will.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Characterless, 31 May 2011
By 
Eric Shanes (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mahler - Symphony No.4 (Audio CD)
In his fourth symphony Gustav Mahler aimed to express a child's vision of heaven (included the fear, suffering and death that gets one there), and a conductor needs to bear that in mind. Unfortunately Fischer captures nothing much of that. The first movement is rhythmically unstable (but in the wrong way), the second unexceptional, the third affectionate but not particularly insightful, and the finale is a big letdown. After the excellent reviews this disc received in the press, and the uniformly positive Amazon reviews, I was expecting much, and was consequently very disappointed. It is all beautiful, very well-formed music-making, but it all lacks a true Mahlerian character and insight. Mengleberg, Kletzki and Norrington (except in the finale) come closer than Fischer to giving us what Mahler surely wanted, and Kathleen Battle still remains a matchless soloist in the finale (but her conductor, Lorin Maazel, is fairly mediocre elsewhere). We still await a truly great Mahler 4 on disc. It is undoubtedly the most elusive of all the Mahler symphonies for conductors, probably because they are almost all so far up their own backsides that they lack the humility and imagination to grasp what a child's view of heaven is surely like.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best Mahler Symphony, 21 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mahler - Symphony No.4 (Audio CD)
This recording of Mahler's 4th is a better quality than I expected - I would like to know how high
on the popularity charts it stands.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mahler - Symphony No.4
Mahler - Symphony No.4 by Ivan Fischer & Budapest Festival Orchestra (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews