Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

  • Wrath
  • Customer Reviews

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars28
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 February 2009
First things first, for those of you out there that believe Lamb of God went "mainstream" or have "sold out" for any album after 'As the Palace Burns' this album is not for you. This is the sound of a maturing band that have managed to develop there sound into a groove-laden, technical-riffing, saw-throated metal behemoth, taking the best parts of all there previous albums (including the Burn the Priest album) and compiling them into this modern masterpiece. I'm going to be honest in saying that I am probably quite biased in the praise of this album being a huge fan of Lamb of God and also a musician who respects them for their individual skills and songwriting but this truly is an album in which old fans and those of you who have never experienced LOG should delve into. First track 'The Passing' will shock a lot of you. It shocked me certainly. It's not at all what you would expect to hear on a Lamb of God release, it is, however, beautifully written and the perfect build up to launch the listener straight into the crushing 'In Your Words' which has my favourite intro of any LOG song yet. All the songs hold their ground very well but I'm sure everyone will be able to find their highlights. For me 'Grace' has a refreshing use of melody while retaining the heavy-as-hell sensibilities that Lamb of God are loved for. For those of you that simply could not 'get-into' Sacrament (like myself, not for lacking of trying) this album should allow you to restore an immediate appeal. On that note for those of you who fell in love because of Sacrament should fall in love all over again. Basically what I'm trying to say can be summed up very simply - this is a great album. Most of you should enjoy it. Those of you who are not sure should still try it. And those mentioned before for accusing LOG of 'selling out' - unlucky because you're missing out on a genuinely superb collection of material. Buy now!
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2009
I've been listening to this kind of music and to almost all of its subgenres for as long as I can remember. My favourite bands are Pantera, Machine Head, Metallica, Mastodon, In Flames, Sepultura, The Haunted, Nevermore and of course Lamb Of God. Lamb of God are currently I think on the peak of their career. After creating astonishing albums like As The Palaces Burn and Ashes Of The Wake they were due to create their best album ever sometime. And Wrath certainly is that album - maybe even the best metal album along with a really few others. In Wrath LOG demonstrate an outstanding creativity with their playing being flawless. Their best riffs are in this album and certainly it is a GIANT step forward. I liked Sacrament, but apart from a few tracks the predecessor of Wrath draws its power mostly from the gloomy atmosphere that is evident on the entire ambum, rather than by some truly genuine ideas and riffs. It is a great album, but nevertheless it could have been produced by a number of other bands as well. With Wrath LOG really take their music to next level: 11 tracks that are equally impressive (okay maybe Set To Fail is a bit weak compared to the others) and all in all, an album that will remain unsurpassed. I've never listened to an album before that would make such a positive impression on me from the first rehearsal. This album is Set To Rule..
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2009
Lamb of God have gone from strength to strength, and this album is no exception. Brutal and heavy like Palaces, but Randy's vocals are stronger and more precise then ever. An essential purchace for all Lamb fans, and I advise any metal fans to listen. Increddible album, right from the start.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2009
Ok first thing first...this is a different sounding Lamb of God than the old skool fans would recognise, especially pre Sacrament release. Is this good, is this bad? Its totally down to personal taste, I for one love all the bands work and believe this new "maturity" makes them a better outfit and more valid in todays ever evolving age of Metal.

Wrath opens like any muscial masterpiece, with something so unexpected and outrageous that you may actually think you put in the wrong CD. "The Passing" gently guides the listener into an album that is sure to leave a lasting impression. From hereonin the rest of the album is as heavy, brutal, and hardcore as we now come to expect from LOG, something which has made them the torch-bearers of metal. Absolutely insane guitar work, masterful riffs and change-overs that we again; come to expect from Mark and Willy, those guys are legends. But for me Chris on the drums steals the show, how that guy can walk after a set i do not know! Its something you have to listen to to really appreciate.

Its true, this album is "cleaner" in a production sense, it sounds like a band who have been around and finally settled on a studio / recording sound they are all comfortable with. The sound quality is amazing and definatly has a "live sound" effect to it. Randys voice is much more audible and everyone will be able to understand what he says (lets be honest, every metal hater always comes to "I cant even understand what they are saying" - not a problem here). His scream and guttural cries will still have you in throat bleeding awe though. If there is a better microphone rapest out there, i have yet to hear him/her.

Stand out tracks are "Set to Fail" "Contractor" "Grace" and "Everything to Nothing". This album feels different than actually sounding different to previous LOG work, the songs however totally fit with who and what LOG are. I saw them live for the 3rd time in February, and playing a couple of "Wrath" tracks, they completely fit in with the rest of the set, and just added to the epic that is LOG live. People say with Sacrament and Wrath LOG have gone soft...you go into the pit at one of their gigs and tell me they aren't as brutal as ever!

In a nutshell this album is for people who love metal music, ingenius brutal pit crushing tracks that will have you begging for more! LOG have progressed from their Burn the Priest days and each album signifies this progression. Wrath is their most recent and most poignant example of this trend, and a piece of work the band should be very proud of. BUY IT
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2009
Right now Lamb of God or L.O.G as us metal afficiandaos call'em are at the top of their game.

This is a kicking album that shows a fine evolution of their sound. Some wicked riffing. You can hear the speed metal and hardcore punk influences amid the anger onslaught. The singer has the range of a pissed off Nick Cave, with lyrics to match. Chris Adler's drumming is the best yet imho. Only downside is there are no guest solos from Chris Poland.

The tragedy for these guys is that they are succeeding at a time of internet downloads and even more rubbish pop music. They are a beacon of refined energy in a sea of manufactured pap.

They have to tour all the time to survive. They are deserving of your hard earned $ Buy this album!
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2009
I got this cd yesterday and boy was I impressed! I really liked Lamb of God's earlier albums but this is a real leap forward in their sound and is heavier than their last release Sacrement. There is a hint to a more melodic old school metal sound, eg acoustic sounds and dual guitars etc. but it also sounds really fresh and original. This record to me is reminiscent of early Pantera in that the playing is precise and tight but also really groovy. Like Pantera I feel that Lamb of God are out there forging their own path and sound. Please if you are a metal fan you need this album in your life!!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Wrath is Lamb Of God's sixth full length studio album. Picking up where Sacrament left off and adding a lot more speed, some more acoustic bits here and there and a lot of straight up metal riffs, the album is a triumph from beginning to end.

Randy's incredible vocals are particularly strong on this new album, in fact he has never sounded better as he Shouts, Screams or Talks (in that creepy Phil Anselmo way) his way through the album with many more voices and sounds than on previous albums. The lyrics are similarly stronger than on previous releases in addition to the vocal patterns being some of the strongest the band have had to date making this album Randy's tour de force.

The production is also superb, the guitar tone is the perfect mixture of clarity and heaviness, the drums are all audible and professional and all the vocals and instruments just gel perfectly.

Lamb of God may be espoused by the kind of people who overuse the word `Brutal,' and Journalists who like to use nonsense phrases like `Guitars that melt your face off,' or `Listening to this will ACTUALLY kill your Grandmother,' but that shouldn't detract from your enjoyment of what has to be one of the most exciting and enjoyable Metal bands out there.

Their musicianship is of such a high standard, every member is an expert at their instrument and no one feels like a weak link, the bass is better than you would expect, the guitar solos are musical and have a more classic rock feel to them than you'd expect, the riffs are entertaining as hell and the drumming is particularly impressive.

The album has a lot of variety from the clean, dual guitar harmony featuring opener, to the super hard and fast `Grace,' and the mixture of twisting build ups and straight metal of `Broken Hands,' to the very diverse album closer `Reclamation,' you'll never be bored by samey songs or one dimensional riffing.

Wrath is an excellent mixture of the catchy and politically charged style of Ashes of The Wake and the brooding, dark and ultra professional style of Sacrament; with songs like the unbelievably catchy `Contractor,' discussing the situation in the middle east to the sound of a fast, chuggy verse with groove metal choruses, sitting alongside the dark and atmospheric closer `Reclamation,' with a more biblical/flood theme and a mixture of acoustic guitar interludes, slow building post rock passages and good old fashion metal finishing the album in style.

Wrath is an absolute joy to listen to, its one of the best albums of 2009 and its one of the best Lamb of God albums out there. Highly Recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2014
My musical taste was and is far too varied for me to commit to any particular tribe, I'm no metal headbanger, maybe that makes my opinion more objective? To put things in context, I bought this cd, a Wu-Tang album and a Fabric mix all at the same time. A good rule of thumb for myself is, if you can dance to it I'm probably going to like it.

The great thing about this album and the element that really draws me in are the grooves, which happen to be killer, seriously, enough to rival Pantera. This is extreme metal for sure but you just can not help your toes from tapping and your head nodding. The musicianship is excellent, twin guitar virtuosity and the rhythm section are awesome, on this album the sound achieved is kind of like a hybrid of thrash with a nod to early 80s NWOBHM. Randy's vocals are much improved with more 'singing' amongst the growls and screams, I can understand most of the words this time! It's an accomplished piece of work, there have been accusations of selling out but I don't hear any compromise and I'd rather witness a band develop rather than continually produce a slight variation of the same stuff ad infinitum. I can see this album attracting more admirers without losing the hardcore who have been long time devotees, just a great album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2009
This album is what you get when you take Pantera's crushing groove and aggression, Children of Bodom's violent death metal growling vocals,and Slipknot's pounding rythym section.
The Great Southern Trendkill
HatebreederIowa
Those are links to the music this is descended from.
This is one of the best albums of this decade, and really shows that lamb of God have progressed from writing slow trudging songs in layers, to progressive riff driven metal music.
Personally the vocals are the best part for me. Randy Blythe's voice is a true death metal growl, which is actually very melodic when performed right, unlike the skilless mindless yelling of Avenged Sevenfold, and Trivium.
The guitars are very good, but we rareley get to hear the guitarists performing solos to really show us how good they actually are. I am a guitar player myself and could easily play most of the riffs in this music.
Overall this is a very good album, with the song Everything to Nothing being the best Lamb of God track in their discography.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2013
Upon hearing this album at first my reaction was literally HOLY S***!! It is so heavy and fast like most LOG records but this one really kicks it up a gear and its also amazing in terms of lyrics and music! It opens with an acoustic song ''The Passing'' which is a superb opener to this metal album and builds up to the Awesome ''In Your Words'' which is one of my personal favorite LOG songs. Every other song on this album is nothing short of amazing so I highly recommend you buy this record if your a fan of metal, if your new to it, its a good place to start! I would imagine most LOG fans would already own this anyway, 5 stars from me, Awesome album from one of the best metal bands around today!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)